Reading Reviews for Falls the Shadow
  
102 Reviews Found

Review #51, by water_lily43175 The Back of Beyond

16th May 2012:
Yay, Cal's Doing Something! More to the point, lots of Cal/Gabe bromance time to come! Happy days. I was just thinking 'Cal doesn't know about Gabe's visions' when Jennifer dropped that bombshell, haha!

FHEIDYSVWOWYSBW TOBY'S ALIVE?!?!

Author's Response: Gabe is much happier when Cal's around. Their bromance is truly mighty - though poor Jen. She'd assumed, logically, Gabe's FRIENDS knew about his visions!

And yes! Mine is an EVEN EVIL-ER laugh!


 Report Review

Review #52, by water_lily43175 The Ends of the Earth

16th May 2012:
No :(

I love Thanatos' genuine remorse for Robb. Again, the fact that he can show some compassion makes it all so much more REAL, somehow.

Poor Gabe, thinking he's brought this about... I love the thing going on with him and Jennifer, they're definitely getting closer... I can't see Wilson being too impressed with this turn of events though!

Author's Response: I originally conceived of a scene where Tanith and Thanatos got drunk together over their dead friends. That just... didn't work (Tanith did not cooperate) so it became this. But yeah, Robb and Thanatos were good mates, they were a terrible twosome, and I thought it'd be 'nice' to reflect that.

Ahh, Gabe. Not used to these pesky overwhelming feelings. Fortunately, Jen has a rather more healthy mental state, generally, than him and the people he normally goes to for help... but no. Nick won't be happy.


 Report Review

Review #53, by water_lily43175 The Hollow Men

16th May 2012:
NO WHAT HAVE YOU DONE?

Author's Response: Ha ha ha! Mine is an evil laugh!

 Report Review

Review #54, by water_lily43175 The Black Sheep

16th May 2012:
... And Cal still hasn't done anything about the fact that Nat is in Azkaban? Disappointing...

Thanatos is so, so... Well, NORMAL. In a way. Like, he's not a total crackpot Death Eater, it's actually possible to understand where he's coming from. He has DEPTH. Which I like.

I feel really sorry for Cal. I mean, if he was anyone else, then yeah, I guess he'd be upset at Tanith not trusting him but he'd maybe understand, but because of who his dad is, I think he feels like he's being unfairly victimised. Bless him...

Author's Response: Yeah, this is the scene where I can probably put in a reference to the Nat stuff. I swear I'd thought it was there. Derpy author.

I have tried to keep Thanatos... believable. I mean, he's EVIL, I don't want people to doubt that. He's still murdered and tortured and done horrid things, and he's still a bigoted bastard. I don't want the humanising of Thanatos to make him seem less evil - I think it makes him MORE evil, it makes him a more mundane, everyday evil (well, in so far as a mass murderer becomes everyday, but y'know).


 Report Review

Review #55, by water_lily43175 The Ace of Spades

16th May 2012:
Aaahh, you had me so worried there that Dimitri was going to be dodgy! Mind, I guess he still could be, but I love him too much to entertain that thought!

Ooh, more David times!

Author's Response: Yeah, I was just messin' with people in that scene. Everyone thought he was dodgy, so it made sense that Tobias thought he might be dodgy! He's so offended.

 Report Review

Review #56, by water_lily43175 The Book of the Dead

16th May 2012:
Oh no! Oh, poor Tanith! At least they can't get away with killing her dad, I guess, but even so that's so sad! And poor, poor Ritter...

Author's Response: Yeah, I wanted this scene to be big and public and thought there was no way they'd kill him like that. They might hate him and he'd done stuff, but even dictatorships need to pick their targets, and he's not hated and friendless enough.

But a Squib is. :(


 Report Review

Review #57, by water_lily43175 The Exception that Proves

16th May 2012:
Yay, Tanith is safe! It's so sad that she's not used to being loved and looked after by her family... But then, if she was, the she wouldn't be Tanith.

Ooh, spies in Russia? Baaad times. Love how Gabe is still giving them all hell!

Author's Response: Yes, a nice little sub-plot of this story is "The Cole Family Get Their Act Together". In their own sort of way.

Gabe's such a snarky git. No wonder they don't like him. ;)


 Report Review

Review #58, by water_lily43175 The Girl of Your Dreams

16th May 2012:
This chapter is AMAZING. The beauty of Tanith clinging to her love for Tobias to try to keep Robb out, and oh the irony that she used the very memory he was looking for to stop him finding it. And then Tobias, willing to do near enough anything to save her... ARGH THE EMOTIONS. And Cal, trying to save the day, bless him. Thank god for Melanie though, for a moment there I thought he was fighting a losing battle trying to get Ariane on side. I hope her dad has the influence he claims to have...

Author's Response: Thanks, this chapter's a favourite. Funnily enough, I like putting these guys through the wringer, and I find this chapter satisfying because crap's being thrown at Tanith - and she's persevering. It felt like I'd put the pieces together properly and my character had earnt the ability to endure, y'know? But that's just me as a smug writer. It's probably not becoming of me to talk about the things about my own stuff I like. ;) But it felt like it worked in writing it, I guess is what I mean, and so I'm glad that came through in the reading!

"Thank God for Melanie". Words I never thought would be uttered!!


 Report Review

Review #59, by water_lily43175 The Domino Effect

16th May 2012:
I'm guessing that Your Song was one that David sang?

Oh, CAL, what are you DOING? I said Perkins was bad news!

Uh oh. Tanith's in trouble. I can't see how she's going to get out of this one...

Author's Response: Yeah, I wish to not define too many of David's songs, 'cos I like the idea of my readers imagining whatever romantic song THEY like, but I wanted Tanith to recognise a song and, hey, a little Elton John never hurt anyone. Well. Mostly.

Cal =/= very smart right now.


 Report Review

Review #60, by water_lily43175 The Far Side of the World

16th May 2012:
OMG T/T TIME AND HE TOLD HER HE LOVED HER AND *SQUEALS*

I enjoyed this chapter, by the way. :)

Author's Response: *nods sagely* I giggled like a schoolgirl writing this scene.

 Report Review

Review #61, by water_lily43175 The Dogs of War

16th May 2012:
I love how much thought you've put into everything! All these intricacies about how the Floo system works... I didn't even think twice about it!

I dislike the sound of this vision of Gabe's...

One thing. The bit coming from Jennifer's point of view. Would it not make more sense to refer to the likes of her and Wilson by first name in this instance? I mean, I doubt she refers to herself by her surname, and she certainly doesn't refer to her friends that way. I mean, Gabe is referred to as Doyle here, because that's how she thinks of him... I know it's probably for continuity's sake but it makes the passage feel less as though it's from HER point of view, like it's more distant. I dunno... Me being picky again, I guess!

Author's Response: I only thought about how the Floo system works when I had to figure out how to abuse it. Magic-Technobabble time!

Hmm. You're right about the surnames thing. I was doing a Thing about the points in which the narrative shifts to refer to them by first names, because MOST scenes of the Lions are from Gabe's POV, or a more generally omniscient POV, but there are a couple of exceptions and considering this scene is really MEANT to be viewing Gabe from the Lions' POV as an introduction... thing... it ought to be closer to the Lions themselves. Considering the narrative's change to first name terms will go along with Gabe's shift to first name terms I'm probably hammering my point home enough. So yes, you're right about the name thing. I ought to edit!


 Report Review

Review #62, by water_lily43175 The Looking-Glass

16th May 2012:
I like this David guy. I think he's what Tanith needs; someone away from it all to talk to.

I love love love the thought of Jennifer & co going rogue and fighting. And I like that they know where Tanith stands, I hate it when people assume she's a pureblood maniac.

WHOA GABE! Yay! How's he ended up with Jennifer Riley of all people? And why didn't he get in touch with Tanith and Cal when he got back from wherever he was? As usual, he provides more questions than answers...

Author's Response: David will, indeed, play an integral role in Tanith's sanity. And yes, starting out with reminding her where she stands, and how to make a stand. Jen, at the least, isn't going to forget what she's done (nor should Nick, but Nick's sometimes dumber).

And Gabe - there will be answers. But he's damn good at questions...


 Report Review

Review #63, by water_lily43175 The Right Time

16th May 2012:
'In between "fine" and "Harry Potter", there is a whole world of still not bloody fine.'

This line tickled me. Your characters have been blessed with far too much wit.

So, Dimitri has replaced Cal as my favourite character. In fact, he's well in the lead right now!

Perkins creeps me out.

Why has Cal not done anything about seeing Nat yet? Can he not go to visit her? He doesn't even seem to have tried!

Aaahh, that must have been horrible for Tanith! I see both her point of view AND Jennifer's, to be honest... Intrigued to see what Jennifer does next, surely she won't just let Wilson be Kissed?

Author's Response: Everyone either loves Dimitri or thinks he's evil or both. Can't imagine why...

I think I probably cut a line scene somewhere (we're in the section I NaNo'd, I suspect now I may have not done the world's best editing job) which included the Nat thing. It did boil down to 'Thanatos said no and Cal didn't want to piss him off', but it's an oversight that I didn't move it. I may have imagined the scene but I think it was a conversation with Tanith which otherwise went nowhere and I must have thrown the baby out with the bathwater. I wrote a lot of crap for NaNo. I shall have to re-add that detail!

And yes, thus begins the sequence of Tanith's Impossible Choices.


 Report Review

Review #64, by water_lily43175 The Right Place

16th May 2012:
ARIANE AND MELANIE YES. Only they could tell Tanith to brighten up, darling in these circumstances!

In a way, the likes of these two are the most dangerous people in these times. I mean, the people who would have you locked up in Azkaban for even daring to utter a bad word against them are OBVIOUSLY to be avoided at all costs. But they wouldn't be able to do it without the likes of Ariane and Melanie just sitting back and letting them do whatever without a care in the world so long as it doesn't affect them personally. Ugh. So self-absorbed I actually hate them for it. Even if I do see WHY they're that way.

"Tanith just had to think of little baby Leanne" ... isn't she called Leah?

I forgot for a moment, when Tanith was wondering how Robb knew about her and Tobias, that she never got told that Cal was in contact with his dad. I'm guessing that's where the info came from?

Whoa, don't go calling Tanith a fascist, Wilson! What an idiot...

Author's Response: *coughs and waves hand* There is no name error in this chapter! Everything is fine, citizen!

And yeah, Ariane and Melanie are exactly the kind of people who allow this kind of evil to flourish in the world. Bad things happen, and they happen to other people, and you can't DO anything about it, so why fuss, right? Theirs is a very human kind of weakness and self-absorption, and they have no reason whatsoever to change their ways.

Though I still love them.

And yeah, Cal - writing to his father about everything normal under the sun in some forlorn hope he could make a connection with him - would have mentioned T/T - and Robb's no idiot. Tanith rescued Tobias, that's a matter of MLE record, and he's enough of a canny manipulator that this alone would have him try to test the waters. If Tanith was confused, nothing lost. But it worked, so now he has a weapon in his pocket. There need to be means to keep these potentially problematic employees in check, after all, and subtlety works better than brutality!

Nick Wilson: Not That Bright.


 Report Review

Review #65, by water_lily43175 The Quick and the Dead

16th May 2012:
I LOVE DIMITRI.

I was right about McGowan! Yay!

I love how Will was telling Tobias off when the questions weren't good enough. You can tell he's worked for the Ministry...

Author's Response: Dimitri's fun. I guess he's one of the few people who has no reason to be particularly angsty, and is enjoying it! Will, on the other hand - not just a Ministry official, but a former Unspeakable.

Whatever that is.


 Report Review

Review #66, by water_lily43175 The Boy Who Cried...

16th May 2012:
I love how a) Cal takes this mug with him, and b) he takes it in a cardboard box.

Percival McGowan was ... the Clarion guy. Is that the name? The magazine Tobias read. He met him once at a party. The advantages of having only finished Shade a few days ago.

Thanatos is odd. Really odd. The whole "I thought you might want to know that your foster-father is okay" thing. I mean, I know he cares for Cal, but the fact that it extends to letting him know about the man who killed his mother and raised him to be a Muggle lover ... yeah. Odd.

Perkins intrigues me. In a bad way. I think she's bad news...

Author's Response: Mugs are important in an office environment. But not as important as your coffee. I have to HIDE my coffee, or people steal it.

And yep, Percival McGowan, editor of the lefty paper the Clarion (because I reject there being only one single media outlet in the wizarding world if you forget the Quibbler), the dude who threw the party Tobias went to. Now becoming a proper troublemaker.

Thanatos IS a weird one. He'll do odd things if he thinks it'll get Cal's approval, and then other things which Cal would like, he'll refuse to do from some petty principle. So yes, telling him Will's okay when he would be HAPPIER telling him "I caught Will and strung him up by his balls in the middle of the Ministry" is just a peculiarity of his mindset. This one he thinks gets Cal's approval and costs him nothing, basically, and he's in a good enough mood to do it.

Couldn't comment re: Perkins!


 Report Review

Review #67, by water_lily43175 The Abyss

16th May 2012:
"It was quite surprising when Tanith realised that, out of the four times she'd met Thanatos Brynmor, this was the first time it had happened in broad daylight." The werewolf thing. Annie's house. The Quidditch stands. And Tanith's flat. So this is time number five? Or did you mean the four times previously in that sentence, and I'm just reading it wrong? I dunno. I'm being picky, either way.

I find it odd that the Death Eaters are willing to let - no, MAKE - people like Tanith work for them, against the anti-Voldy movement, when they know where they stand with it all. Mind you, I suppose they have to retain some semblance of being a respectable government and so they can hardly shove them in prison or something like that without charges, and I guess they need footsoldiers...

"What did you do to make the French love you? Surrender?" PRICELESS.

Happy days that Tobias and Aurora are okay though! It'll be interesting to see what they can do from Russia :)

Author's Response: Yeah, that's me either miscounting or just plain phrasing it badly. I probably forgot about the flat in that count, since there were at least LIGHTS on there, too.

My take on the Thicknesse administration is that it pretends to be Above Board - and they're also playing the long-term game. Everyone but Voldemort (obsessed with finding Harry) on his side thinks they've won. And while they're are dissidents it's more about keeping the peace. They will have to govern, rather than just occupy, and they simply don't have the numbers to only take confirmed loyalists - so, yes, they need footsoldiers.

I'm normally too fond of the French to make cheap jokes at their expense, but that one wrote itself. And yes, lots to come from Russia...


 Report Review

Review #68, by water_lily43175 The Darkest Hour

16th May 2012:
I think this every time; you write duelling scenes very well. I can imagine them all so vividly, which I love. Obviously. Because, you know, that's what makes a good story. Also, I love all the intricate details about how the Russian Ministry works in comparison to the British one. I say law student; actually it's law and politics. So this appeases that nerdy side of things. It's all rosy, as they say.

Seriously excited about how this is shaping up!

Author's Response: Thanks! My fanfic writing history includes a broad stint in some sword & sorcery fandoms, so I probably have more practice in fight scenes than a lot of HP authors! I do fuss a lot about making sure it's clearly described and intricate without becoming bogged down in the details; that's just death to pacing.

I'm glad to appease the nerdy side. It's my nerdy side too (though I was a History student), so it's nice to know it's hitting the right spots!


 Report Review

Review #69, by water_lily43175 The Beat of the Drum

16th May 2012:
I JUST THOUGHT AFTER I PRESSED SEND ON THE LAST REVIEW Tanith mentioned Bill and Fleur's wedding! That must mean Bad Times are about to happen...

Are you not a Britpop fan then? Or is that genuinely just this David guy talking?

OYSTER JAM. DYING.

Oh no. It's all going wrong. Poor Nat!

Author's Response: Good catch on the wedding! It was, indeed, a Clue. I'm fairly ambivalent about Britpop, to be honest (I'm not half the music nut this story would suggest me to be!) but the disapproval is mostly David. He's a rock kinda guy.

And Tanith, with bands like 'Oyster Jam' is clearly NOT. Not yet. :)


 Report Review

Review #70, by water_lily43175 The Getaway

16th May 2012:
I ACTUALLY really love Dimitri. Especially the way he speaks English. So adorable. And I feel so sorry for Aurora, regardless of whether or not she wants people to... But it's like, since she's been denied the love of her life, all she has is work. It makes me think of Tanith...

I thought Clint was dodgy. Trying to work out who A.R is, I'm not having much success so far!

I cannot BELIEVE Tanith would even consider cancelling coffee times with Ariane and Melanie! That girl doesn't know when she's got it good...

I like Jennifer Riley. I really do. Plus, being a law student, I thoroughly enjoyed that chat she had with Tanith about the whole human rights and trials thing. Except it's now made me think of my revision again. DAMN YOU.

Author's Response: Dimitri's a sweetie. His diction's kind of tough to break out of; everyone suddenly starts speaking like him in a scene if I'm not careful! Aurora's life's been crappy, but she's sort of let it be - it's been almost twenty years, and she didn't move on. There's an element of bad luck in there, but there's also an element of choosing to NOT buck up her life. But she is an intentional reflection on Tanith, and especially was in Shade with the comparisons being drawn between her and Tobias' parents, and Toby, Annie, and Tanith. I'm SUBTLE.

Don't worry. There'll be Ariane and Melanie soon. But I'm glad you like Jen Riley, she really does become the runaway star of this story (in that, even I didn't anticipate all she'd do). She makes a great foil for Tanith, too, since they're both forceful personalities but in difficult ways and clash so entertainingly.

Oop. This story might not be the best one to help you not think about revision if you're a law student. I'm a sufficient Politics Nerd & Enthusiast for it to all creep into my writing...!


 Report Review

Review #71, by water_lily43175 The Odyssey

16th May 2012:
I agree with Toby; Russia's walking memos are way better than the paper aeroplanes!

I forgot who Dimitri was for a moment. Then I remembered; he's the one who asked Tanith to the Yule Ball, isn't he? He actually seems quite nice, I'm warming to him, even WITH Tobias' dislike of him.

This Clint seems as though he could cause a problem or two...

Author's Response: I thought the idea was nifty! Paper planes strike me as potentially problematic. And yeah, Dimitri was... actually, originally, a HUGELY more important character who ended up on Latet's cutting room floor and was never more than someone off-handedly mentioned in the Yule Ball chapter. Not much ended up happening between him and Tanith because she didn't want to reject Toby and then have a fling with someone else she only Kinda Liked right under his nose. Tobias is a completely biased observer when it comes to poor Dimitri!

 Report Review

Review #72, by wicKeDwitch1316 The Shot Heard 'Round the World

15th May 2012:
Oh no.

Well, that complicates things, doesn't it? She saved his life and then she took it. Oh Tanith. No one will trust now, will they? A kill is a kill and you can't justify that no matter how hard you try. Or at least, you can't justify it and have Gryffindors as your friends.

I felt like this was the point in the story where you close your eyes and hope that someone will rescue them, that someone will save them. It's the part where you kind of start hating the author for killing someone (see: HP books 4-7). I of course, don't really hate you, but just a little :P

Poor, poor Jennifer. I'm almost a little surprised that scene wasn't more dramatic. I mean, it was fairly dramatic, but if it were me, I'd probably stun Nick or something to stop him. She probably had hope that something would change, that they could defeat the vision since they knew about it or something. How Gryffindor of them.

Brynmor's smart. I love schemes, etc., like that. It's terrible, but I love that he deceived Tanith. Although I hate the guilt she's going to carry around forever because of it. This is such a dirtier version of DH, because even though Harry was the savior, he never did anything that bad. Everything he did was very moral and "good." Tanith and Cal certainly can't say that for themselves any more.

I think I wish Tanith had fought a little more, had drawn the line at murder. Which I'm sure is what the reader is meant to feel. We want characters to do the "right" thing that we can objectively determine as readers, and if we're frustrated and upset when they don't comply, then that's the sign of a great author :)

Author's Response: Hope is an evil thing. Jen might be the one who believes Gabe's visions, but she still hoped that Nick and the others could persevere, that they could somehow beat the odds, and she was frankly a bit too lost and bewildered and guilty to do anything BUT sit there and hope. It is, yes, a rather Gryffindor reaction to go 'Screw the odds!' - but sometimes, the odds are there for a reason.

Brynmor is smart - and vicious. He has entirely, entirely won this round. He got rid of his rival, he took down two ringleaders of his enemies, and he punished Tanith without needing to get rid of her, which he won't do unless he has to.

I would like to think this IS a dirtier version of DH, if only because it gets into the nitty gritty of the occupation, while Harry & co were very removed. Then again, Harry popped the Imperius himself a couple times without thinking about it, and even threw the Cruciatus COMPLETELY needlessly... but that's still not the same as killing someone. And although Tanith would have needed to pull a rabbit out of the hat to get out of this one, although it could be EASILY argued that she was no more responsible than Brynmor's wand would have been if he'd done it himself, deeds like that still leave a scar - upon one's self, and upon the people who know about it. And, to be self-aggrandising, unlike Harry's use of Unforgivables, there will be consequences and ripples of this event which are, so far, spanning even from this story and into the next.

I am glad the chapter was entertainingly frustrating and fraught. This mini-arc of the Descent and End of Nick Wilson has been the darkest of the story, and so it needed capping off... suitably!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #73, by wicKeDwitch1316 The Elephant in the Room

14th May 2012:
So this review is going to start off a bit rant-y.

I've come to realize over the past few weeks, that over the past few years (I'm 20) I've come to really appreciate and seek out complicated people with complicated stories, while not really having time for simple people with pampered, black-and-white lives. This applies in real life and in the TV shows I watch regularly. My Sunday night ritual consists of Game of Thrones and Mad Men, which always blow me away with their complex characters and situations. And tonight I read Fall the Shadow after watching those two, and I realized that is why I've fallen in love with your story all over again.

At the end of this chapter, I literally had the same letting-out-that-breath-I-didn't-realize-I-was-holding reaction that I had to those two hit shows, so congratulations to you for crafting such an amazing world.

The plot/romance thickens between Gabe and Jen! The funny thing is that while as a reader I should have a lot more sympathy for Gabe since he's been a main character forever, I find myself on Team Nick...which is shocking. I think it's the nostalgia for something simpler. Or perhaps it's the fact that I don't entirely understand Gabe. He and Cal have always been harder for me to understand, while I've always been able to relate to Toby and Tanith.

Jen's also really growing on me. The poor girl. I think she more than anyone is such a strong, strong character in the silent sort of way that everyone respects but very few characters/people understand. Gabe loves her, so he tries to be there for her, but the hard, numerous decisions that she needs to make at 18/19...I'm in awe.

And we end the chapter with another cliffhanger :P I'm guessing that Gabe foresees a major massacre if they try to go after Lestrange? Hopefully, he stops them. I don't think my heart could take a massacre.

Author's Response: I don't mind a rant to my benefit. ;) I can only be flattered at being compared to the likes of these shows, though I can't deny those sorts of stories have impacted me as a writer over time (and those stories in particular, having been a George RR Martin fan for some 10 years). But I certainly prefer complicated characters in complicated situations; while the war against Voldemort is rather black-and-white, trying to survive in it, and to win in it, is NOT, and I am trying to capture a smidgeon of those moral and emotional challenges.

It's nice that Nick gets some love! He's so obviously the underdog, I think, and while I've portrayed him as occasionally unpleasant, I think it helps that Gabriel is no victim either, and we've seen him be quite nasty, so it stops Nick from being villainised. We know Gabe can give as good as he gets. So they're on even footing, and that makes Gabriel great but complicated, while Nick's just the simple guy in the difficult world trying to hang on to the girl he's loved for a long time.

Jen is the secret star of Falls the Shadow, I think. It wasn't intentional, but she's a real hero, doing the things she's done, making the difference she's made, at such a young age with such a tough time.

We'll see what Gabe sees soon enough. I shall try to not brutally kill my entire cast, however!

Thanks for reviewing, and many thanks for your kind words! They are sincerely appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #74, by wicKeDwitch1316 The Devil to Pay

7th May 2012:
Hiya! (LOVING the regular updates, btw.)

The only thought in my head after reading this chapter: Oh, Nick! Just so much sympathy and pain for him. He's already feeling terrible about possibly losing his long-term girlfriend and then his entire family is killed because of his actions. And not only killed...I really hope nobody lets him see his parents and his little sister. Just devastating.

That being said, I kind of love the Nick-Jennifer-Gabe triangle. Jennifer has loved Nick for so long and I think she wants to love him (and keeps telling herself she does), and yet it seems like she doesn't truly respect him. There's just something about Gabe that she can't get out of her head, and it's really fun to watch these interactions. Though once again, poor Nick. I would love to see another scene between Nick and Jennifer :)

I also really liked the brief scene where Tanith thinks about Toby.

"Come back. Come back to me from the far side of the world, when the wars over and we dont risk death every day just to bring a little bit of hope and justice to the country wrapped up in darkness. Then well talk about promises." What a great line!

I love what you're doing here in terms of having these characters grow from teenagers into adults by way of their relationships. Most fanfictions have these 17-year-olds falling madly in love with their first loves and those relationships lasting "forever." But in truth, the strongest relationships are more complicated. Puppy love is wonderful and you never forget your first love, but grown-up relationships between two people who have loved and lost before and who have a better sense of who they are because of that are much more interesting to see. And with N-J-G and David-Tanith-Toby, you have these girls figuring that out, which I really appreciate.

(Of course, I may just be projecting and you may not mean any of that!)

As always, beautiful and heartbreaking.

Author's Response: Yeah, Nick Wilson, that big old bag of self doubt under a veneer of alpha male, someone who has been made a better person due to a horrid war where horrid things happen to people... there's not much more to say about his story than that, which is why he's never been a centre-stage character. But no, while the Lions have the resources to learn specifically what happened (especially since Lestrange WANTS people to know), he would have no opportunity to SEE the scene.

His relationship with Jen is one which probably wouldn't last once they were out of school, but then the war happened, and they remained attached and comfortable with one another, so they neither had the time nor opportunity to analyse their relationship. Perhaps I should see what I can do about a closer look at the two of them, though - because every triangle needs all three corners strong to be decent!

And that is, indeed, the point. First love's intoxicating and world-changing and powerful, but I think people learn things from holding someone else's heart in their hands, and people build on that experience and take it with them into future relationships. One way I've always described the Tobias/Tanith romance in particular is that it's a romance between two people who might BECOME perfect for one another, but they're not done becoming those people yet, and who knows where they'll be down the line. And while some of that Becoming is in learning to be together, or learning to be independent, some of it boils down to learning how to be with other people and with the world at large and - no, basically, I don't think you're projecting. David's important, but if I were to be crass about my own work and summarise what he means, he means 'TANITH GETS TO BE WITH SOMEONE ELSE FOR A CHANGE'. I just like to word it all fancy, like.

Ahem. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #75, by wicKeDwitch1316 The Die is Cast

5th May 2012:
Hi Slide! I'm so glad to see you've started up on this story again! I'm not active any more, but I like to keep up with a few of my favorite stories every once in a while.

Oh, Tanith! Despite my excitement over hers and Toby's two kisses, I totally saw this coming with David. *sigh* As an ardent Tanith/Tobias fan, this wounds me, but in my head it still works out in the end. Tobias had Annie, so I guess Tanith needs to love someone else before she and Tobias can find happiness. Sort of be on an equal foot, I guess. But if she ends up with David, my heart might be broken :P

I love this story and admire your ability to write the day-to-day conversations, the actual plot. It makes each interaction between the original foursome so precious and makes me love each one that much more.

Can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Glad you're still keeping up with this even if you're not much involved in the community! I'm not sure I'd consciously describe David and Tanith as it being Tanith's 'turn' to get some non-OTP romance, but certainly I am not of the school of romance which dictates one love in one's life, ever. Even IF Tobias and Tanith still have a shot in the future, it's certainly healthy for them to both have a bit of experience of the empathy and self-awareness which can make relationships work. I couldn't possibly comment on how it's all going to end up - David is playing an integral role in keeping Tanith sane and stable through horrific times, and that builds a tremendous bond - but certainly the fat lady ain't singing yet.

I thank you a lot for your kind words. This has really been a labour of love and so I'm keen to keep it enjoyable for the people reading. And yes, even in writing, since FtS has had so little interactions between the Big Four, they seem all the more important - and they really do write themselves. I hope this continues to entertain.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>