Reading Reviews for Shade to Shade
146 Reviews Found

Review #51, by water_lily43175 The Change of Heart

11th May 2012:
Bletchley is a little bit hilarious. Especially his thoughts on his fellow Slytherins. I like Urquhart too, smacking Cal back on the team. Love the concern about Cal humping him in return though. Also, I feel a bit sorry for Montague! Okay, he was an idiot, and kudos to Fred and George for a hilarious prank, but it was definitely on the harsh side.

Cal's an idiot! TAKE THE CHANCE, MAN. JUST SAY YES. There we go. He needs to swallow his damn pride sometimes. Foolish boy...

Author's Response: Miles Bletchley - your everyday kinda dumb teenaged boy, with a goodly dose of ego to him. And yeah, poor Montague, but it seemed a perfect time to turn the tables of usual Slytherin-on-Gryffindor cruelty. But I do try to not over-egg it, because it's not especially clever to go "ACTUALLY THE GRYFFINDORS ARE THE EVIL ONES" when it's more about highlighting how neither side are saints (and Slytherins are undoubtedly worse!).

 Report Review

Review #52, by water_lily43175 The Truth

11th May 2012:
Wow. Tobias put his foot in it a little bit there! Note to self: always read the news every morning. Jennifer seems fairly decent, actually, given that she's part of that crowd that none of our Slytherins like. I'm still half-expecting you to NOT make Tobias Head Boy, just because that seems like the type of thing you'd do to him... He doesn't seem to be blessed with good luck!

I'm wondering whether things could go a bit wrong, if Cal finds out that his dad killed Tobias' dad...

Author's Response: Yeah, I always feel for Toby in this scene, but people do and will get over it. Evidently I am already making it seem as if I am habitually cruel to my characters (who, moi?)!

 Report Review

Review #53, by water_lily43175 The Plan

11th May 2012:
Oh, poor Tobias! He so deserved to be Head Boy! You are a cruel, cruel person. Cal makes me laugh. "I think I forgot sugar and milk!" Bless him. Gabe off on one of his walks again?

I kinda get where Tanith's dad is coming from. I guess he's used to keeping out of trouble, and he wants his daughter to do the same, and becoming an Auror definitely doesn't achieve that. Having said that, I'd love to know what he HAS been up to, because by the sounds of it there's more going on there than Tanith thinks.

Also, I like the presence of a 'feeding time' category on the clock!

Author's Response: Gabe just wasn't with them in Kittering; off doing Gabe-like things elsewhere. Daedalus Cole is not an unreasonable man; few parents probably relish the thought of their children putting themselves in harm's way for a living... but yes, he has particular reason to be so paranoid, as we shall see!

 Report Review

Review #54, by tydemans Epilogue

21st November 2010:
Excellent! So happy to see you and the gang back.

The problem with teasers, though, is they just start the stalking again and that's not healthy for anybody.

Author's Response: There will be something in early December. Of this I am certain.

I am not convinced I will hit 50,000 words, but I have broken 35,000 words today. I am just at the point of despising what I am writing, but that's nothing a break wouldn't be able to fix. But the gang shall return! You do not stalk in vain.

 Report Review

Review #55, by Kahlan Epilogue

2nd November 2010:
Yes! I can't wait for this. This teaser was all sorts of original and exciting - and I'd almost forgotten how much i missed following Shade to Shade.

Have fun with NaNo, and I'm looking forward to see more to this! :D

Author's Response: I forgot I wrote this epilogue as a teaser. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #56, by Whimsical Diva Epilogue

2nd November 2010:
Can't tell you how glad I'm that you're writing this again. Haven't found a half-decent novel to read in months. Anyway, can't wait for the sequel. God, I've missed these characters!

Author's Response: They were fun to come back to. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #57, by Margravine Epilogue

1st November 2010:

I haven't read or reviewed anything in an age , because I'm insanely busy in the middle of my final college exams and wayy out of the fanfiction loop. So it's spooky that I just was thinking this morning 'in my finals this time last year, I was an emotional wreck over that Slytherin story'.. I wish she'd continued it. A whimsical visit back to hpff, cue SCREAM IN EMBARASSING FANGIRL MOMENT

Anyway, this was both exciting and cruel and you're a shameless tease but I'm thrilled you are continuing it and looking forward to reading what is coming. Thankyou so very much for not giving up on it, you've set the stage for truly epic and amazing finale and I'm confident you couldn't possibly disappoint! [/jealousy]

Author's Response: Muwahahaha! Day 1 hit 4k words. The characters are coming back like a comfortable pair of shoes.

And this story has lived in my head since... oh, about DH came out. It needed to be written. And I got a lot of work on my novel done this year, I was in danger of burn-out, NaNo was looming and I thought 'Hey, you know what I want to write?'

I just hope that, once it's out, it doesn't disappoint!

 Report Review

Review #58, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Prologue

15th August 2010:
I love this! Your writing style is so vivid, its like the words just jump off the page forming a picture in my mind. I like reading stories set in the time of Hogwarts but from OC's point of view. Plus, your story is set in Slytherin house, my favorite to read! My only critism of this prologue was that I didn't know who anyone was so it was kinda hard to follow in the beginning but I'm sure that won't be the case as I continue to read. I'm so glad I found this story completed and I can't wait to continue on.


Author's Response: One of these days I'll come back and edit/revamp this prologue. But not yet! Thanks for reviewing anyway!

 Report Review

Review #59, by Kahlan The Parting of the Ways

21st April 2010:
What? No, you can't do this XD Don't leave us with all your ominous pointers to things that didn't happen, like "He didn't know then he'd fail to keep that promise. At least, not in the way he meant." and "They would, it would transpire, do no such thing, but all nodded in agreement that it was an excellent idea."

You're going to make me cry.

Still, this story is brilliant. I'm sorry I've been a rather sporadic reviewer, but I've loved this from beginning to end. It's nice to see it finished, but I'm torn between that and wanting to know how they end up faring in the war. I'd hate to see more hearts be broken.

Anyway, thanks for sharing this with us, and I'd really love to see something, anything, more from this!

Also, I wish you all the best on your food-on-the-table writing project! ^^

Author's Response: Food-on-the-table is still a work in progress. But the stories are all finished, at least! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #60, by Margravine The Parting of the Ways

21st April 2010:
Oh my God.

I couldn't review the last chapter, amazing as it was, because I was in pieces all over my keyboard. I'm going to endeavour to try and form a coherent review for this though.

the actual chapter - as usual, is sprinkled through with all those insightful little observations (like Toby giving them a month to find better things to do) which are so true to life and really ground this story the way few fanfiction are. Loved the return of the Orb. Can't say I was too surprised by the open T/T ending, but while I desperately wanted them to resolve that affair, I also completely understand how that would have lessened the power of the end. The fact that readers can understand that shows how freakishly good you are at this =P

I love this story so very much. You know that. I simply can't believe it's come to an end, or that I've been following it for months, emotionally invested in it as I have never been in a fanfiction before and may never be again. This is a wonderful, rich, complex, funny, intense, magnificent epic. Your characterisation is rivalled only by your plot and dialogue. (btw I giggled through the beginning of tears at your 'slide out' - thanks for ending it on a happy note.

I very much hope - would demand if I could - you write the next installment (it would be AMAZING to have our freedom fighters and the Occupation), but I completely understand that RL gets in the way. I DO however insist that when your book gets published you inform me (Stalk my author page and PM me from my mta. OR ELSE) so I can get a copy.

And if whatever you write as a follow up, I'll be here to devour.

Thankyou for many hours of procrastination, endless entertainment and enjoyment. This story is pure brilliance, and you should be most proud of what you've achieved.

Author's Response: Not much to answer here other than saying that I hold this review very close to my heart, and I'm ridiculously grateful for all your support and kind words. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #61, by Sad Romantic Fool The Sins of the Father

6th April 2010:
I love you.

I really thought Tobias was going to die and Cal was going to flee in fear! It was so suspenseful that I was trying to prepare myself for the shock.

Author's Response: That would have been pretty horrific, wouldn't it! Thankfully not. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #62, by tydemans The Sins of the Father

29th March 2010:
This was just brilliant.

I can't imagine that little family reunion going any other way. Tense, emotional, rather surreal and wands pointed in all directions. At least the man realized what he missed.

OK, this may sound a bit nuts, but I actually felt Gabe's presence in the scene even though he physically wasn't there - his narration as remembered through Tanith's thoughts along with the note. Wow. He did a little more than 'wing it'.

Not to take away from Tanith. It takes a particular kind of courage to go in knowing the odds are against you and you're most likely going to be tortured. The fire was inspired. Simple but effective. She winged it pretty good.

My question is this, would Gabe have told Tanith if she hadn't confronted him in the library and seen the notes? The potion was already in play so he had to have some sort of plan... unless it was a contingency. Maybe one of many contingencies he was working through?

I wonder what Toby is going to take away from this. His guy got away - again. There is still a lot of anger to deal with. And he and Cal may never know what would have happened because I can see Tanith and Gabe possibly not sharing that bit with anyone.

Thanks for a pretty wild ride here. Looking forward to the next chapter as always.


Author's Response: Gabe was figuring out what to do when Tanith forced the issue. He'd anticipated being incapacitated and so the draughts were considered to be something he might need himself. But it worked out in the end, with everyone doing their part. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #63, by tydemans The Witching Hour

13th March 2010:
Hey, milestone. I'm review #100.

Box? There's a box? What else hasn't he told her?

I'm all tense now.

Can't wait to see what you have crafted for the encounter. Not sure there is much else to say except, 'More, please!'


Author's Response: 100 reviews! Awesome.

And yes, Gabe keeps things up his sleeve. It's Gabe. It's amazing he told anyone anything at all. Of course he's still going to have some secrets.

Next chapter's up. Go enjoy it!

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #64, by Whimsical Diva The Witching Hour

11th March 2010:
You have to update. End of.

Author's Response: Request granted!

...a little while later than intended.

 Report Review

Review #65, by Margravine The Witching Hour

11th March 2010:
Oh dear lord. Will the cliff hangers ever end?
I'm at least as enthralled as always, and you are really to be commended for managing to maintain suspense and interest 40 chapters in. Well done!

Author's Response: They will end. Possibly by falling off.

Next chapter's up. Hope the interest continues. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #66, by Margravine The Long and Winding Road

5th March 2010:
Oh you are such a tease leaving it hanging there. Brilliant as always, this story is maintaining its spot in the very top of my favourites of all time.

Author's Response: I *am* a tease. I only get worse, I fear. The end is nigh, though, so I hope I can bring a conclusion that satisfies.

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #67, by Whimsical Diva The Silence of the Grave

5th March 2010:
Gosh, I haven't been reading much fanfiction lately and caught up with this fic only today. The last few chapters have been brill as usual. Wondering how many chapters are left and how it's all going to pan out. It's interesting, the build-up to the denouement what with Gabe's vision of Cal killing Toby. I don't think that'll come to pass, but one can never tell.

Amazing work. Update soon. :)

Author's Response: I've been lax with updates, I admit, so being not reading much doesn't hurt so much! Not that many chapters left, we are approaching the end (I forget exact number). I think it might be no more than half a dozen.

I am glad the build up is working. Hopefully the pay off will as well!

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #68, by tydemans The Prestige

21st February 2010:
Well, that was Gabe and then some. I'm feeling for him - I'd probably be more than a little unhinged myself.

Definitely worth the wait. Now I'm thinking theory and how they could possibly pull something off. Well done there. Its not your average fic that has me thinking about it that much after finishing the read.

More, please.

Author's Response: Yes, it's definitely... rattling Gabe more than a little. I imagine that's just natural.

Hopefully I'll be better with updates now so the wait won't be so bad. I do like my prophecy and my paradox and other issues of precognition/time travel/that sort of stuff (no, there's no time travel, but plotting it works along similar principles), but I also like it to be RIGHT, so I hope this all works out.

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #69, by Kahlan The Prestige

19th February 2010:
oh dear, things are picking up again! wonderful chapter! i like the interaction between nat and tanith. and boy, doyle's vision has heartbreak-potential.

i'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter! : D

Author's Response: Doyle's vision could go very badly, couldn't it! It was nice to write Tanith being a bit more normal with someone. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #70, by Sadly Romantic The Beat

30th January 2010:
This chapter seems more of a filler/update on the life of Tobias. Am left wondering about the life of Tanith, Gabe and Cal now. I actually thought the party he was going to look in on was one being held by the other three. It seems to me that, with his MLE training and their NEWTs, they've drifted even farther apart than before. He doesn't even mention them in his thoughts in this chapter.

Author's Response: It was necessary for us to catch up with him! And no, he doesn't think of them much, but it's necessary to get the pieces in place on his life. We'll get to the others soon enough.

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #71, by tydemans The Beat

23rd January 2010:
What, no Gabe? You are making me wait for it. Not nice. This kind of suspense cannot be good for my health.


Author's Response: We'll get to Gabe! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #72, by Margravine The New World Order

17th January 2010:
Where did you go? We miss you!

No but seriously, I'm on S2S withdrawal here! Was nice to see the foundations of the next installement being established, and everyone almost happy and normal. Except for Gabe's vision... dum da dum!

Have nothing else constructive to say except, more please?

Author's Response: I eventually came back to finish it, at least! Just took me a while. Thank you for the encouragement and the review!

 Report Review

Review #73, by tydemans The New World Order

14th January 2010:
So glad Nat and Cal have given up the cloak and dagger. I think she's good for Tannith as well - certainly entertaining to see her having to adjust to more regular girl interaction.

Overall this entire chapter was amusing and a good break from the tense ones that preceded it.

Of course, now I really need to know what Gabriel saw from Cal. Next chapter, maybe? Or are you going to make me wait for it?


Author's Response: Nat brightens up a lot of people, from Cal and certainly to Nat, who needs some regular interaction, from women, which helps her brighten up. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #74, by tydemans The Long Goodbye

14th January 2010:
I was expecting the awkward goodbye. I was NOT expecting the kiss.

I'm glad she let go first.

Author's Response: It would have been a bit tragic if she didn't let go first, wouldn't it? But she's taking charge of something in this relationship, for once. It would never work, otherwise.

 Report Review

Review #75, by tydemans The Eleventh Hour

14th January 2010:
I feel like I'm coming in the eleventh hour with this review. What can I say? I do what I can - when I can.

So glad to find out what really happened in the Peaks and after for Cal. That was weighing on me more than the Nat thing. Although I will say for Nat, she still totally rocks.

The fight was so well done - intense and very true to testosterone.

"Actually, I'm the son of two Death Eaters." I get why that didn't amuse Tobias, but that amused me.


Author's Response: At last we do find out the answer. And Cal wouldn't be Cal if he didn't make a joke at the worst of times! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>