Reading Reviews for Shade to Shade
  
142 Reviews Found

Review #51, by Kahlan Epilogue

2nd November 2010:
Yes! I can't wait for this. This teaser was all sorts of original and exciting - and I'd almost forgotten how much i missed following Shade to Shade.

Have fun with NaNo, and I'm looking forward to see more to this! :D

 Report Review

Review #52, by Whimsical Diva Epilogue

2nd November 2010:
Can't tell you how glad I'm that you're writing this again. Haven't found a half-decent novel to read in months. Anyway, can't wait for the sequel. God, I've missed these characters!

 Report Review

Review #53, by Margravine Epilogue

1st November 2010:
ah! ah! I AM SO RIDICULOUSLY EXCITED!

I haven't read or reviewed anything in an age , because I'm insanely busy in the middle of my final college exams and wayy out of the fanfiction loop. So it's spooky that I just was thinking this morning 'in my finals this time last year, I was an emotional wreck over that Slytherin story'.. I wish she'd continued it. A whimsical visit back to hpff, cue SCREAM IN EMBARASSING FANGIRL MOMENT
[/ramble]

Anyway, this was both exciting and cruel and you're a shameless tease but I'm thrilled you are continuing it and looking forward to reading what is coming. Thankyou so very much for not giving up on it, you've set the stage for truly epic and amazing finale and I'm confident you couldn't possibly disappoint! [/jealousy]
~Jo

Author's Response: Muwahahaha! Day 1 hit 4k words. The characters are coming back like a comfortable pair of shoes.

And this story has lived in my head since... oh, about DH came out. It needed to be written. And I got a lot of work on my novel done this year, I was in danger of burn-out, NaNo was looming and I thought 'Hey, you know what I want to write?'

I just hope that, once it's out, it doesn't disappoint!


 Report Review

Review #54, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Prologue

15th August 2010:
I love this! Your writing style is so vivid, its like the words just jump off the page forming a picture in my mind. I like reading stories set in the time of Hogwarts but from OC's point of view. Plus, your story is set in Slytherin house, my favorite to read! My only critism of this prologue was that I didn't know who anyone was so it was kinda hard to follow in the beginning but I'm sure that won't be the case as I continue to read. I'm so glad I found this story completed and I can't wait to continue on.

~Celtic~

 Report Review

Review #55, by Kahlan The Parting of the Ways

21st April 2010:
What? No, you can't do this XD Don't leave us with all your ominous pointers to things that didn't happen, like "He didn't know then he'd fail to keep that promise. At least, not in the way he meant." and "They would, it would transpire, do no such thing, but all nodded in agreement that it was an excellent idea."

You're going to make me cry.

Still, this story is brilliant. I'm sorry I've been a rather sporadic reviewer, but I've loved this from beginning to end. It's nice to see it finished, but I'm torn between that and wanting to know how they end up faring in the war. I'd hate to see more hearts be broken.

Anyway, thanks for sharing this with us, and I'd really love to see something, anything, more from this!

Also, I wish you all the best on your food-on-the-table writing project! ^^

 Report Review

Review #56, by Margravine The Parting of the Ways

21st April 2010:
Oh my God.

I couldn't review the last chapter, amazing as it was, because I was in pieces all over my keyboard. I'm going to endeavour to try and form a coherent review for this though.

the actual chapter - as usual, is sprinkled through with all those insightful little observations (like Toby giving them a month to find better things to do) which are so true to life and really ground this story the way few fanfiction are. Loved the return of the Orb. Can't say I was too surprised by the open T/T ending, but while I desperately wanted them to resolve that affair, I also completely understand how that would have lessened the power of the end. The fact that readers can understand that shows how freakishly good you are at this =P

I love this story so very much. You know that. I simply can't believe it's come to an end, or that I've been following it for months, emotionally invested in it as I have never been in a fanfiction before and may never be again. This is a wonderful, rich, complex, funny, intense, magnificent epic. Your characterisation is rivalled only by your plot and dialogue. (btw I giggled through the beginning of tears at your 'slide out' - thanks for ending it on a happy note.

I very much hope - would demand if I could - you write the next installment (it would be AMAZING to have our freedom fighters and the Occupation), but I completely understand that RL gets in the way. I DO however insist that when your book gets published you inform me (Stalk my author page and PM me from my mta. OR ELSE) so I can get a copy.

And if whatever you write as a follow up, I'll be here to devour.

Thankyou for many hours of procrastination, endless entertainment and enjoyment. This story is pure brilliance, and you should be most proud of what you've achieved.



 Report Review

Review #57, by Sad Romantic Fool The Sins of the Father

6th April 2010:
I love you.

I really thought Tobias was going to die and Cal was going to flee in fear! It was so suspenseful that I was trying to prepare myself for the shock.

 Report Review

Review #58, by tydemans The Sins of the Father

29th March 2010:
This was just brilliant.

I can't imagine that little family reunion going any other way. Tense, emotional, rather surreal and wands pointed in all directions. At least the man realized what he missed.

OK, this may sound a bit nuts, but I actually felt Gabe's presence in the scene even though he physically wasn't there - his narration as remembered through Tanith's thoughts along with the note. Wow. He did a little more than 'wing it'.

Not to take away from Tanith. It takes a particular kind of courage to go in knowing the odds are against you and you're most likely going to be tortured. The fire was inspired. Simple but effective. She winged it pretty good.

My question is this, would Gabe have told Tanith if she hadn't confronted him in the library and seen the notes? The potion was already in play so he had to have some sort of plan... unless it was a contingency. Maybe one of many contingencies he was working through?

I wonder what Toby is going to take away from this. His guy got away - again. There is still a lot of anger to deal with. And he and Cal may never know what would have happened because I can see Tanith and Gabe possibly not sharing that bit with anyone.

Thanks for a pretty wild ride here. Looking forward to the next chapter as always.

~Ty

 Report Review

Review #59, by tydemans The Witching Hour

13th March 2010:
Hey, milestone. I'm review #100.

Box? There's a box? What else hasn't he told her?

I'm all tense now.

Can't wait to see what you have crafted for the encounter. Not sure there is much else to say except, 'More, please!'

~Ty

Author's Response: 100 reviews! Awesome.

And yes, Gabe keeps things up his sleeve. It's Gabe. It's amazing he told anyone anything at all. Of course he's still going to have some secrets.

Next chapter's up. Go enjoy it!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #60, by Whimsical Diva The Witching Hour

11th March 2010:
You have to update. End of.

Author's Response: Request granted!

...a little while later than intended.


 Report Review

Review #61, by Margravine The Witching Hour

11th March 2010:
Oh dear lord. Will the cliff hangers ever end?
I'm at least as enthralled as always, and you are really to be commended for managing to maintain suspense and interest 40 chapters in. Well done!

Author's Response: They will end. Possibly by falling off.

Next chapter's up. Hope the interest continues. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #62, by Margravine The Long and Winding Road

5th March 2010:
Oh you are such a tease leaving it hanging there. Brilliant as always, this story is maintaining its spot in the very top of my favourites of all time.

Author's Response: I *am* a tease. I only get worse, I fear. The end is nigh, though, so I hope I can bring a conclusion that satisfies.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #63, by Whimsical Diva The Silence of the Grave

5th March 2010:
Gosh, I haven't been reading much fanfiction lately and caught up with this fic only today. The last few chapters have been brill as usual. Wondering how many chapters are left and how it's all going to pan out. It's interesting, the build-up to the denouement what with Gabe's vision of Cal killing Toby. I don't think that'll come to pass, but one can never tell.

Amazing work. Update soon. :)

Author's Response: I've been lax with updates, I admit, so being not reading much doesn't hurt so much! Not that many chapters left, we are approaching the end (I forget exact number). I think it might be no more than half a dozen.

I am glad the build up is working. Hopefully the pay off will as well!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #64, by tydemans The Prestige

21st February 2010:
Well, that was Gabe and then some. I'm feeling for him - I'd probably be more than a little unhinged myself.

Definitely worth the wait. Now I'm thinking theory and how they could possibly pull something off. Well done there. Its not your average fic that has me thinking about it that much after finishing the read.

More, please.
~Ty

Author's Response: Yes, it's definitely... rattling Gabe more than a little. I imagine that's just natural.

Hopefully I'll be better with updates now so the wait won't be so bad. I do like my prophecy and my paradox and other issues of precognition/time travel/that sort of stuff (no, there's no time travel, but plotting it works along similar principles), but I also like it to be RIGHT, so I hope this all works out.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #65, by Kahlan The Prestige

19th February 2010:
oh dear, things are picking up again! wonderful chapter! i like the interaction between nat and tanith. and boy, doyle's vision has heartbreak-potential.

i'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter! : D

 Report Review

Review #66, by Sadly Romantic The Beat

30th January 2010:
This chapter seems more of a filler/update on the life of Tobias. Am left wondering about the life of Tanith, Gabe and Cal now. I actually thought the party he was going to look in on was one being held by the other three. It seems to me that, with his MLE training and their NEWTs, they've drifted even farther apart than before. He doesn't even mention them in his thoughts in this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #67, by tydemans The Beat

23rd January 2010:
What, no Gabe? You are making me wait for it. Not nice. This kind of suspense cannot be good for my health.

Ty

 Report Review

Review #68, by Margravine The New World Order

17th January 2010:
Where did you go? We miss you!

No but seriously, I'm on S2S withdrawal here! Was nice to see the foundations of the next installement being established, and everyone almost happy and normal. Except for Gabe's vision... dum da dum!

Have nothing else constructive to say except, more please?

 Report Review

Review #69, by tydemans The New World Order

14th January 2010:
So glad Nat and Cal have given up the cloak and dagger. I think she's good for Tannith as well - certainly entertaining to see her having to adjust to more regular girl interaction.

Overall this entire chapter was amusing and a good break from the tense ones that preceded it.

Of course, now I really need to know what Gabriel saw from Cal. Next chapter, maybe? Or are you going to make me wait for it?

Ty

 Report Review

Review #70, by tydemans The Long Goodbye

14th January 2010:
I was expecting the awkward goodbye. I was NOT expecting the kiss.

I'm glad she let go first.

 Report Review

Review #71, by tydemans The Eleventh Hour

14th January 2010:
I feel like I'm coming in the eleventh hour with this review. What can I say? I do what I can - when I can.

So glad to find out what really happened in the Peaks and after for Cal. That was weighing on me more than the Nat thing. Although I will say for Nat, she still totally rocks.

The fight was so well done - intense and very true to testosterone.

"Actually, I'm the son of two Death Eaters." I get why that didn't amuse Tobias, but that amused me.

Ty

 Report Review

Review #72, by Monte The Long Goodbye

28th December 2009:
*crys*

You're so evil. I loved it. I'm sorry this a short review, I just am totally speechless.

 Report Review

Review #73, by Margravine The Long Goodbye

28th December 2009:
Wow. Simply wow. Was NOT expecting that, and while half of me is mentally air punching going 'bout bloody time', I'm not entirely sure how I feel about it. The reason for the second last chapter has definitely become clear =) but I don't trust you anymore not to do horrible things to the ship ;p especially as Toby's gone. Reading Hogwarts chapters(unless you go all ellipse-y) without him will just be peculiar.

Toby's speech and the prefect meeting were perfect, as were the goodbyes in general, every canon and OC is spot on in characterisaton. There's a definite sense of the end of an era and the dawning of something very different.

Quite a welcome Christmas present all up. Hope you had a merry Chrissy and enjoy your NY! (in which you will write and update continually...)
cheers!

 Report Review

Review #74, by Kahlan The Eleventh Hour

26th December 2009:
Ah. Finally we get to the bottom of some things. That we got a decent scrap out of it all was just a bonus. And boy, am I glad Nat and Cal are good and dandy. As you said, one of the couples has to be relatively trouble-free and normal.

Good chapter! And merry christmas (though a little late) to you, and happy new year! ^^

 Report Review

Review #75, by tydemans The Last Time

21st December 2009:
Seriously loved the whole chapter. It was raw and riveting -- "the moment where Tobias had realized that he wasn't only going somewhere else, but he wasn't going to be here any more, either" The last time, indeed.

Shaking off the emotional turmoil you have inflicted upon me, I do hope having Tobias gone will help Tannith focus a little on herself and a lot on Cal - really want to know what's going on there.

Thanks again,
Ty

Author's Response: Thanks! This chapter is a favourite of mine. Trying to compress seven years into one conversation... woo, I'm glad it came across as a rollercoaster, then, because anything else would have been a failure!

There'll be more on Cal soon, I absolutely-dupely promise. And Tanith is going to get some her time and a little her-love. Also promise.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>