Reading Reviews for Shade to Shade
  
142 Reviews Found

Review #26, by water_lily43175 The Dying of the Light

13th May 2012:
CRIKEY MOSES GABE SAW ANNIE'S DEATH. I can't believe you just did that! And even worse, how anti-climactic it was, and how Brynmor and Robb just don't give a damn - well, of course they don't, they're Death Eaters. Oh, Cal, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE?

If Tobias turns out to be dead next chapter, I'm going and not coming back. (This may not be true.)

Author's Response: A spot of murder in the middle of the night is no skin off a Death Eater's nose. I rather enjoyed putting together the juxtaposition of how they orchestrate terror and pain - and are so laid-back and calm about it all. And yeah, poor, poor, mistaken Cal...

 Report Review

Review #27, by water_lily43175 The Tables Turned

13th May 2012:
Oh, TOBIAS! He's such a babe sometimes! I love how the minute he sees that Tanith's hurt and upset he just forgets about everything else ... And the fact that their 'moment' is interrupted by something to do with Annie just sums up their relationship. I'm seriously dreading what you have in store for Annie and Tobias though...

Author's Response: Tobias Grey, sucker for the ladies and their waterworks. And good friend.

 Report Review

Review #28, by water_lily43175 The Dark Side of the Moon

13th May 2012:
Yes! Ariane/Melanie time!

I love Nat. That is all. I love that she finally bit the bullet with Cal!

The fact that Tanith and Annie would actually get on well if not for the whole house rivalry and Tobias triangle thing is quite ironic. I very much enjoyed their conversation with Nat until Tanith found out about Tobias and Annie. Sad sad times. And that is so typical Tanith, try to find a way out by doing THE worst thing possible ... I hope things begin to look up for her soon! Not sure how realistic that hope is, mind...

Author's Response: Unfortunately I think this is the last of Ariane and Melanie for the rest of the story, certainly of any significance. Boo. They demanded to come back (with a vengeance) in the next one.

Tanith and Annie share a certain dry sense of humour - after all, for Tobias to like them both, they almost certainly have something in common. I think Nat's adorable in this scene, because she doesn't get 100% what's going on, but she's trying to be a good friend (and potential girlfriend) to Cal by having all of his female friends/girlfriends of friends getting on - and she's achieving it rather well, minus the bombshell getting dropped on Tanith.

Who, yes, goes off to be a complete pillock, as is her wont!


 Report Review

Review #29, by water_lily43175 The Importance of Being

13th May 2012:
Naw, I love Cal/Tobias scenes. They're both a little bit hilarious. I'm hoping Cal and Nat get together properly soon, too! Also, well-written scene at the end, I utterly fail at writing them and it's not often I come across one that doesn't make me want to pull my teeth out! I'm actually liking this step in Tobias and Annie's relationship, I've definitely warmed to them. If only because T&T clearly aren't ready to be together yet and need to mature first, and being with Annie is maturing Tobias :)

Author's Response: With all the Epic Relationships (romantic or otherwise) going on, it gets easy to forget that Cal and Toby are really good friends - in fact, it's because there's nothing epic and dramatic there (usually) that they ARE such good friends. And they bring out the laid-back fun sides of one another, or perhaps I should say Cal brings it out of Tobias, since Cal's is usually out anyway.

One must be judicious with application of writing sexytimes! I think the trick is keeping it to the point - in this case, the emotional journey more than anything else. And you are quite right about T&T. Their story is, as I self-indulgently tell any reader who'll listen, a romance of two people who have the potential to grow up/develop into being perfect for one another, but aren't there yet.


 Report Review

Review #30, by water_lily43175 The Ties That Bind

13th May 2012:
I really feel for Tanith's dad here. I mean, he's seen a lot of the world and knows the dangers that are out there, and at the end of the day he's just trying to protect her. At least she sees that now.

The whole relationship between Tobias's mother and this Aurora woman intrigues me. There MUST be something more to it than what Melissa's letting on?

I love Cal's home life. Will seems cool. Definitely the kind of person Cal needs in his life.

And, once again, Gabe is conspicuous by his absence!

Author's Response: Gabe's home life is a mystery I should REALLY TELL at some point. Thankfully your reviews are inspiring me to revisit all those things which lived 'in my head' for a bit too long (like, several years too long).

 Report Review

Review #31, by water_lily43175 The End of the Line

11th May 2012:
I really feel for Gabe here. I mean, these visions are clearly freaking him out, and it's obviously not the kind of thing he can talk to about easily to someone - not helped by the fact that Gabe doesn't really talk to anyone about anything in the first place. Added to that, the other three all have their own issues to worry about ... this is one of those times when maybe being a loner isn't such a good thing! Bless him. The whole thing with his dad is intriguing too.

So, part of me likes Annie. Especially when she's interacting with Tobias, or Cal, or generally anyone who isn't Tanith, because she seems to become a bit immature with Tanith - mind, given their history, it's not a surprise that she's a bit insecure around her. Though there's still a part of me that's not so keen on her. But Nat? Love her. 100%. She's the BOMB.

Author's Response: Gabe has certainly made life difficult for himself. For someone who, for various reasons (it's shocking, looking back, how atrocious my pacing of the reveal of Gabe's Inner Workings has been!), has become focused on being self-reliant, his current situation is just backfiring horribly, because he needs help. In many ways that's why he's gone to Tanith - she, of all people, isn't going to push emotionally, like Cal might have done, without being as potentially cold as Tobias could have been (in his "this-is-so-fascinating-I-forget-there-are-people" kind of way). Her hugs are present, but implied rather than forced upon someone so standoffish, because they're BOTH pretty standoffish.

True, Annie's territorial hackles get up when Tanith's around... which isn't especially unreasonable, but it doesn't bring out her good side. It doesn't get explored as much as it might, but I think Annie is aware on some level that Tanith only needs the slightest poke to become unreasonable, which makes Tanith the bad guy and strengthens Annie's position. Giving Tanith enough rope to hang herself with, essentially. It's not a conscious manipulation on Annie's part, and she'd be horrified with herself if she realised she was doing it, but when the rival for her boyfriend's affection is her oldest friend it's understandable she'd be a bit insecure and irrational.

And yes, in rereads I do forget how awesome Nat is. I did explicitly go "this is a character - and, consequently, a relationship - who does not fall into self-indulgent angst traps". I almost feel I'm lampshade hanging myself with her around...!


 Report Review

Review #32, by water_lily43175 The Life and Soul

11th May 2012:
"Shindig. Hoot-nanny. Ho-down." Nice. EXCELLENT, in fact.

Oh, poor Tobias. He really is hapless with the whole Tanith thing, isn't he? Maybe I'll slightly forgive him for what he said to her...

Author's Response: I ran out of synonyms. Or Cal could have been there a while.

I think it's a pretty good bet, when frustrated with Tobias, to assume 'hapless' rather than 'malicious'.


 Report Review

Review #33, by water_lily43175 The Day Is Gone

11th May 2012:
Oh, Ritter's hilarious with the trick wands. Love how he likes a bit of a laugh here and there.

And I've gotta say, I love the whole "more important things than surviving" thing. I have a fic about the first war, and that's the kind of thing I'm trying to explore in that, so yeah, it's nice to come across another story with the same kind of theme going on.

OH NO DON'T SAY THIS IS THE VISION CONVERSATION COMING UP. I have an ominous feeling about this...

"Because I'm in love with you, and I shouldn't be!"

Ohmigod. Poor Tanith! Oh, TOBIAS, no, don't be so horrid! Oh gawd, I get where he's coming from, but it's so heartbreaking... WOW. Way to stick the knife in... Could he have been much more harsh? I dislike him now. I get where he's coming from too though... she put him through hell two years back ... but even so! It's so so sad :(

Author's Response: "Things more important than surviving" is a theme only lightly touched on in Shade, because life at Hogwarts is not quite so dreary and weary, but it will be returned to come Deathly Hallows era. I shall have to check out First War fics, I don't read nearly enough...

Yyyyeaahh. This scene is pretty nasty. Toby reading the worst into it - a little to shield himself, because if he villainises Tanith he doesn't have to over-think the situation... but boy did she blunder into it clumsy and, well, charging after the train once it's already left the station.


 Report Review

Review #34, by water_lily43175 The Ides of March

11th May 2012:
WHOA I'm disliking what Gabe just saw when he touched Tanith! This suggests more bad T/T times, and I can't cope with that! Oh, poor old Gabe ... PRESSURE MAN. I love when he's being all friendly, and advice-giving-y, and stuff. And Tanith ... that's not just a thing, that's lurve. YES, FIGHT. Argh, love this chapter ... there's so much goings-on!

Author's Response: More bad T/T times? Moi? I can't really use French any more, it's an outright indicator of blatant guilt. Gabe does try, rather hard, even if he's going to flounder and possibly fail. It doesn't really come so naturally to him. I'm quite pleased with this chapter, I must admit, it works even when not much is going on IN it.

 Report Review

Review #35, by water_lily43175 The Masks We Wear

11th May 2012:
Oh, it's Ariane and Melanie time. I love these girls. Sheer hilarity ensues whenever they're around.

YES. Cal/Nat time. I love this girl. The funny thing is, he's a perfectly fine conversationalist when he's not worrying about what he's saying! Bless. And he needs some happiness, does this boy, it had better work out between them...

Author's Response: They scene-steal completely! I just start writing and hilarious things (completely irrelevant to the plot) occur. So I can't use them too often, or this would turn into an episode of Sex and the City, Hogwarts style, and nobody wants that. Nobody.

Cal will learn to unclench. If nothing else, because Nat will teach him. And she doesn't take failure lying down!


 Report Review

Review #36, by water_lily43175 The Female of the Species

11th May 2012:
Okay, so the Tanith/Cal/Gabe dialogue here is possibly one of my favourite moments of the story so far. I just like that they're all discussing their problems and stuff with each other. There's not been many moments between any combination of them aside from T&T all story. It's sad. And it is quite funny that Tobias has the most experience with the opposite sex. Cal's hapless, bless him...

DUCKS MAN.

Sometimes I like Annie. Sometimes I don't. Here, I don't. Though Tanith is an utter fool. Still.

CAL-DUCK! I love the Cal/Gabe bromance. It should feature more!

Author's Response: One good thing about the Tanith/Tobias divide - it does drive everyone else to interact more. But yeah, once outside of the Romantic Angst the lot of them do manage to be Good Friends all the more often.

Poor Annie! I fancy she comes off fairly well in this conversation, though I suppose it's hard to not feel SORRY for Tanith being so useful, and thus Annie just looks like she's kicking someone while she's down. But from her perspective Tanith has come up and had a go at her while Annie's not really done anything wrong.

I don't know when I decided upon the ducks thing. But those guys are hardcore, man.


 Report Review

Review #37, by water_lily43175 The Talented Mister Doyle

11th May 2012:
OH HEY GABE.

Aww man, what's he SEEING? Poor, poor dude. Oh, so, like, he sees stuff when people touch him? People's .. futures? That's mental. WHO DIES? If Cal dies I'll be gutted. ACTUALLY gutted. He's still my favourite, even if he is an odd one at the moment!

Author's Response: Certainly physical contact is how his visions are manifesting themselves at present. But I cannot comment as to the specifics, or their accuracy!

 Report Review

Review #38, by water_lily43175 The End of the Beginning

11th May 2012:
Ah, Cal's looking for this bird in the pub, isn't he? Bless him, he's besotted already! Yup, here we go... Also, Tobias is hilarious when he's being witty and not up-tight or self-pitying whatever. Except - no, don't chat with Annie, you fool, this won't end well! See, didn't I say? Oh Tanith you silly billy.

OH. I knew Tanith's dad was up to something! He is one clever, clever man. I'd love to know who he was feeding his information to though! SO MUCH EXCITEMENT AT ALL THIS KICKING OFF. Oh, poor Tanith though... why do you have to do this to her? AGAIN?

Author's Response: Cal IS besotted. And he's promptly useless about it. He and Tobias are good friends in times like this, though, they bring out the best in one another while being supportive - and having fun. They don't get to do that nearly often enough.

I don't think I ever specify who Daedalus Cole was feeding information to, but it would almost certainly include the Order of the Phoenix and trustworthy parts of the Ministry. But he would be far too cautious to officially affiliate himself with either.

I was going to admit that Tanith is one of my favourite chew-toys, but I think they all get their turn...


 Report Review

Review #39, by water_lily43175 The Chain of Command

11th May 2012:
I like your attempts to reason why Dumbledore gave the trio all those points in PS. Because, let's face it, it stinks of favouritism. But this ... this makes it more understandable. And he actually just OWNED Tobias there. But he's right, in that Tobias would have drowned in self-pity if O'Neal had lived, and that's why I like this story so much, because none of the characters are perfect, they all have their flaws, and it makes it seem very realistic. Which is A Good Thing. Happy times and all that jazz.

I get the feeling that this chat between Tobias and Tanith isn't going to result in a happy ending. Sigh.

Author's Response: This conversation is one of my favourites. Because Tobias isn't wrong, Dumbledore's not especially done right by the school - but he has been doing the Right thing, and even then, Tobias is personally motivated and doesn't even realise it. I do like these kind of arguments with people hurling truths at one another and neither of them coming out either destroyed or perfectly spotless. Tobias has a lot to think about - and I fancy Dumbledore himself came out a bit rueful about his past deeds, though it was too late to change anything by then.

No happy endings yet? From me? Say it ain't so!


 Report Review

Review #40, by water_lily43175 The Way We Were

11th May 2012:
"He wondered dimly if these things did 'just happen' - perhaps there was an epidemic of students falling onto each others' lips that he'd been previously unaware of." DYING.

Oh. Oh, OH. Tobias/Tanith time - oh, Toby, you IDIOT.

Aww, poor Jeremy! People are so, so cruel. He's only ickle! Toby is ACTUALLY adorable with him. If Tanith had been there to see that, she'd be jumping his freaking bones right now. WHY IS THAT NOT HAPPENING?

Author's Response: That IS true, if Tanith had stuck around for that she would have probably melted, and that doesn't happen very often. Though, those two being those two, the second The Moment had passed they went back to their emotional vaults and began locking things up.

Though Jeremy is a total re-run of Tobias' hissyfit when Malcolm Baddock got booed for being Sorted into Slytherin back in Goblet of Fire. Only this time he gets to do something about it! Like a Head Boy should.


 Report Review

Review #41, by water_lily43175 The Fall

11th May 2012:
I think Tobias is missing the point here. A Death Eater is hardly going to give a damn about whether his or her opponent is out of action for six seconds or not. He plays by the rules too much. Odd, for a Slytherin. Aaaand here we go, Snape says the same. Nice. Oh, so much sexual tension between them! JUST GET TOGETHER ALREADY - WHOA GABE? What have you DONE to him?

My, is this a passage from Gabe's point of view? I don't believe we've had one of them yet! And I can see why, this is peculiar. What's he hearing? Weird. And Cal DEFINITELY met his father, there's no doubt about it. What's going on?

Author's Response: Nope, Tobias is being uptight and mostly a bit prickly that he lost. He's not WRONG, as Snape points out, and if nothing else he has a point because if he'd been operating under the same lack of restriction as Tanith he'd have probably won. But he's predominantly being a sore loser! And Tanith, of course, will never pass on an opportunity to needle him about it.

I think this is the very first segment from Gabe's point of view, yep, though it won't be the last, as there's definitely stuff going on with the boy...


 Report Review

Review #42, by water_lily43175 The Shape of Things to Come

11th May 2012:
I kind of find it odd that the other teachers actually managed to timetable Binns an extra lesson on a Saturday, because he seems so oblivious to everything else going on around him, and so set in his ways... it seems as though it could have been quite difficult!

Okay, I'm not really all that sure what Snape is trying to get at here ... what on earth DOES he want Tobias to do?

Ooh, this gal seems to have had quite an effect on Cal! I have a horrible feeling he's been writing to his father ... oh god, if he becomes a Slytherin nutter I will CRY!

Author's Response: I imagine they probably somehow just steer Binns into a classroom on a Saturday and let him get started. Though that depends on how ingrained his habits are, whether they're just a short-term case of reacting to what's in front of him, or if he has several years' worth of academic timetable entrenched in his ghostly memory and the teachers have to plan entirely around him!

Snape's trying to help, in his clumsy way. He wants Slytherin House to be closer to the rest of the school, because otherwise more of them will likely become Death Eaters. But Tobias achieves popularity by distancing himself from the 'default' Slytherin, so all he changes is universal perception of him, Tobias - rather than their perception of Tobias changing, in turn, their perception of Slytherin House. Of course, Snape doesn't really have an idea how to properly change the House's reputation, and I don't think cares enough to make a HUGE effort.


 Report Review

Review #43, by water_lily43175 The Beautiful Game

11th May 2012:
GET IN THERE, CAL. I like this Lockett girl. She doesn't judge him for being a Slytherin. She'd better stick around!

Author's Response: Certainly Nat Lockett is not bound by conventional societal expectation! Which is made easier by the fact that Slytherins would get on with Ravenclaw best of all the Houses, in my head. So there's less expectation to defy.

 Report Review

Review #44, by water_lily43175 The Space Between

11th May 2012:
Ariane and Melanie seem like they're up to something more than just concern for a housemate here. It's odd. Course, it may well turn out to be innocent but at the moment it seems odd.

Love Pansy's use of the word "plebeians", I'm quite fond of it myself. I'm surprised she even knows it.

I like the end of this chapter. Very dramatic!

Author's Response: Ariane and Melanie are rather childish, in that they see the political wranglings of their parents and then imitate them when they shouldn't be worrying about more than friends and studies and boys (or girls). So they manage to put a clumsy Machiavellian overlay on everything they do. Thing is, they're not NECESSARILY wrong in the current circumstances. The two of them will also go on to thoroughly scene-steal every time I write them, completely independent of anything I, the author, might have planned.

I think Pansy probably heard 'plebeians' from someone and decided she liked it.


 Report Review

Review #45, by water_lily43175 The More Things Change

11th May 2012:
OH GOD CAL DID BUMP INTO HIS FATHER DIDN'T HE? That's the only thing I can think of that would make him go so weird. And now he's going to become a deranged Death Muncher and he's my favourite and if that happens I will be Very Upset.

Oh, Cal, way to create an awkward situation! And on the topic of awkward situations, hello Annie, nice to see you again...

Whoa, he DID meet his dad! Oh crikey, I can barely handle the angst. Poor Cal!

Author's Response: If they were called Death Munchers, then maybe I *would* have Cal sign up! But yes, his life is rather difficult right now, poor guy.

And we'll see a good deal more of Annie as time goes on...


 Report Review

Review #46, by water_lily43175 The Way We Live Now

11th May 2012:
Ah, now you're even making me warm to Snape! I mean, yeah, he turned traitor and was a hero and all that blah blah blah but he was still a complete douche to anyone who wasn't a Slytherin. But he's really nice about Tobias! Even if it is in an attempt to advance Slytherin's interests... But yay, Tobias is Head Boy! I half expected him not to take it, on one of his moral crusades...

Okay, now I don't like Bletchley. Tit.

Cal's attitude is surprising me here. What's happened to him?!

Aww, Tanith's reaction to the badge is ADORABLE. Devoted Tobias/Tanith shipper here. Don't disappoint me!

Author's Response: I'm really NOT a Snape fan, but I seem routinely compelled to be even-handed, even to characters I don't like. And he should be an important presence in a Slytherin-centric story, which he hasn't really been before now.

Bletchley IS a bit of a berk. Cal's circumstances shall be revealed as we get further into the story. And... yeah, when T/T are doing well, they're insufferably cute.


 Report Review

Review #47, by water_lily43175 The Change of Heart

11th May 2012:
Bletchley is a little bit hilarious. Especially his thoughts on his fellow Slytherins. I like Urquhart too, smacking Cal back on the team. Love the concern about Cal humping him in return though. Also, I feel a bit sorry for Montague! Okay, he was an idiot, and kudos to Fred and George for a hilarious prank, but it was definitely on the harsh side.

Cal's an idiot! TAKE THE CHANCE, MAN. JUST SAY YES. There we go. He needs to swallow his damn pride sometimes. Foolish boy...

Author's Response: Miles Bletchley - your everyday kinda dumb teenaged boy, with a goodly dose of ego to him. And yeah, poor Montague, but it seemed a perfect time to turn the tables of usual Slytherin-on-Gryffindor cruelty. But I do try to not over-egg it, because it's not especially clever to go "ACTUALLY THE GRYFFINDORS ARE THE EVIL ONES" when it's more about highlighting how neither side are saints (and Slytherins are undoubtedly worse!).

 Report Review

Review #48, by water_lily43175 The Truth

11th May 2012:
Wow. Tobias put his foot in it a little bit there! Note to self: always read the news every morning. Jennifer seems fairly decent, actually, given that she's part of that crowd that none of our Slytherins like. I'm still half-expecting you to NOT make Tobias Head Boy, just because that seems like the type of thing you'd do to him... He doesn't seem to be blessed with good luck!

I'm wondering whether things could go a bit wrong, if Cal finds out that his dad killed Tobias' dad...

Author's Response: Yeah, I always feel for Toby in this scene, but people do and will get over it. Evidently I am already making it seem as if I am habitually cruel to my characters (who, moi?)!

 Report Review

Review #49, by water_lily43175 The Plan

11th May 2012:
Oh, poor Tobias! He so deserved to be Head Boy! You are a cruel, cruel person. Cal makes me laugh. "I think I forgot sugar and milk!" Bless him. Gabe off on one of his walks again?

I kinda get where Tanith's dad is coming from. I guess he's used to keeping out of trouble, and he wants his daughter to do the same, and becoming an Auror definitely doesn't achieve that. Having said that, I'd love to know what he HAS been up to, because by the sounds of it there's more going on there than Tanith thinks.

Also, I like the presence of a 'feeding time' category on the clock!

Author's Response: Gabe just wasn't with them in Kittering; off doing Gabe-like things elsewhere. Daedalus Cole is not an unreasonable man; few parents probably relish the thought of their children putting themselves in harm's way for a living... but yes, he has particular reason to be so paranoid, as we shall see!

 Report Review

Review #50, by tydemans Epilogue

21st November 2010:
Excellent! So happy to see you and the gang back.

The problem with teasers, though, is they just start the stalking again and that's not healthy for anybody.

Author's Response: There will be something in early December. Of this I am certain.

I am not convinced I will hit 50,000 words, but I have broken 35,000 words today. I am just at the point of despising what I am writing, but that's nothing a break wouldn't be able to fix. But the gang shall return! You do not stalk in vain.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>