Reading Reviews for Shade to Shade
  
154 Reviews Found

Review #26, by water_lily43175 The New World Order

13th May 2012:
I love the Slytherin/Hufflepuff camaraderie. It doesn't matter what the situation is, sport brings people together like nothing else :) And I love Cal when he's in a happy mood! He's hilarious. Love the awkward moment when Nat mentions guttural moans though. And Tanith definitely needs Nat ... for a start she can fill the friendship-sized hole that Tobias left to an extent, and secondly, she's a girl, she NEEDS a girl friend that's not Ariane and Melanie, regardless of how boyish she is.

Oh no, what did Gabe se?

Author's Response: Cal's so delightfully silly when he's feeling okay, he's a joy to write. And Nat helps - for his good moods, and for Tanith's, and Tanith definitely benefits from female friendship. In many ways she's boyish because of being friends with boys. She went through one of those silly phases of "I'm not like those OTHER girls" and is finally maturing enough to realise that's stupid. And is finally meeting girls OTHER than Ariane and Melanie who can help her out.

 Report Review

Review #27, by water_lily43175 The Long Goodbye

13th May 2012:
Well, I guess this is the end of the four of them as we know it? I'm getting quite sad at that fact. And I like that Cal and Gabe say their goodbyes and then let T/T have their moment in peace without being gooseberries. Aww, it's so sad them having to say goodbye - OHMYGODTHEYFINALLYKISSED! Okay, I'm satisfied! I'm worried about what you do to them NEXT though...

Author's Response: Cal and Gabe might be long-suffering and bewildered about what goes on with T/T, but they are, indeed, not gooseberries (I need to use that term more often). They know when to skedaddle and let them have their issues.

Until the NEXT issue dawns, then!


 Report Review

Review #28, by water_lily43175 The Eleventh Hour

13th May 2012:
Oh no, Cal/Tobias moment. Well this will end badly.

OH. He bumped into ROBB! Well, not quite what I expected... Same principle though.

Oh, calm down, Tobias, he knows what he did was wrong, don't hurt him even more!

Oh Nat, I love you.

I'm glad they've sort of sorted things out. Cal's been punished enough by himself, he doesn't need any more of it from Tobias.

I REALLY love Nat. She heard it all, didn't she?

Author's Response: Yep, while Thanatos was threatening Tobias and Tanith in the wilderness, Cal ran into Robb. But it was the start of the same thing, ultimately.

Tobias couldn't stay angry with him forever. He was a little bit angry with him because that was an anger he could DO something about, while all of his other feelings were tremendously impotent. But when confronted with it... the anger fizzles out, and he remembers their friendship.

And yes, Nat totally heard every word.


 Report Review

Review #29, by water_lily43175 The Last Time

13th May 2012:
"Inches stretched between them, inches she was keenly aware of in a way she hadn't been since a different night alone in the common room a lifetime ago, before death and before Annie and before she'd been so stupid as to know..."

Oh Jeremy. Look what you did.

"She couldn't help but laugh again, with similar bitterness, at the suggestion she might talk this through with Ariane and Melanie."

The prospect of a scene of THIS moment ... oh god. Almost too much.

Oh, that T/T moment was so so beautiful. DON'T GO, TOBIAS. SHE NEDS YOU!

Author's Response: I promise that there will be occasions in the future where Tanith has Deep Emotional Conversations with Ariane and Melanie. It might be a while, but it'll happen. Because I couldn't pass on such an opportunity.

 Report Review

Review #30, by water_lily43175 The Road Ahead

13th May 2012:
I have this wonderful image of Snape with Umbridge-style decor in his office...

I still think Tobias is rushing into this too fast. I love that he acknowledged Annie was a "true Gryffindor". Coming from someone who dislikes the arrogance and rashness of Gryffs - mind you, he's rash himself, I guess it's more Tanith who criticises their gung-ho attitude and she can get away with that because she thinks things through better than he does - POINT IS I like that Tobias said that.

It says just how much Tobias cares for Tanith, that he'd be willing to see Cal made a prefect given what he thinks of him at the moment...

I think Dumbledore hit the nail on the head there, at the end. I think Tobias DOES want to help the war effort, but more than anything feels guilty that he couldn't save Annie, and wants to make up for that...

Author's Response: I should have just done that - Snape never redecorated, because Snape doesn't redecorate, and so he's stuck with Umbridge's decor.

Tobias is rushing things, yes, especially by his own standards. Because he's always been someone to carefully plan out his life - only now that plan's been thrown into disarray and he doesn't know how to rebuild it. I forgot in this chapter how much Snape and Dumbledore are blatantly projecting their own issues ALL OVER HIM, though!!


 Report Review

Review #31, by water_lily43175 The Only Way

13th May 2012:
"You're Tanith Cole. I know you're Tanith Cole... Just by the way you say my name."

OH GOD I LOVE T/T.

The Enforcer interviewer guy talked a lot of sense there. And actually I wish he'd rejected Tobias, because I don't want him to go work in MLE! I don't think he'd be good there.

Oh, poor Tanith... how can Tobias not see that he'll break her heart by leaving?

Author's Response: This scene makes me just want to hug them. Or bash their heads together (I can only take partial responsibility for their actions). Tobias knows he'll hurt her - but he'd be miserable and constrained staying at Hogwarts. There's no Win.

MLE is not the best prospect for Tobias in the long-term - it's a waste of his talents, not to say the Patrol is 'lesser', but it doesn't play to his strengths. However, he can learn some very important lessons there, and be brought back down to earth.


 Report Review

Review #32, by water_lily43175 The Simplest Game

13th May 2012:
Slytherin v Ravenclaw. Oh dear. MLE owls. Bigger oh dear. Poor Tobias, but good on him for being decent about it! Deep down I think he knew it was a long shot. I wish he'd just go for DIMC though, it's where he'd be best! And he WOULD be able to help the war effort from there.

Oh no, Cal and Nat fighting? Oh, Cal, don't do this! You NEED her! I hope Tanith tries to uncover it all! For Cal's sake more than anything.

Author's Response: It's a nice scene for Toby, refusing to let the others feel sorry for him and trying his damndest to not let it ruin what should be amazing news for Tanith. Because, yeah, he knew it was a bit of a pipe dream, and he definitely knows how much it means to her.

Relationship Sleuth Tanith would be hilarious. With Melanie and Ariane as her sidekicks.


 Report Review

Review #33, by water_lily43175 The Right Stuff

13th May 2012:
Probably one of my favourite chapters so far. I like that it's from an 'outsider's' point of view, so to speak. And Tanith certainly held her own there! I think she and Tonks are both right in what they say about Tobias, I just hope that if he doesn't get through, he doesn't find out what she said...

Author's Response: I really liked writing Tonks. I'd write her more, but it MAKES ME SAD.

 Report Review

Review #34, by water_lily43175 The Stars Above

13th May 2012:
Oh, poor Cal :( I can totally forgive him for that curiosity about his dad, I can see why he did it. And oh god does he need Nat in his life. I just hope he tells her what's been going on, and then tells the others too, and that they don't react Too badly...

Gabe time! Yay! It must be hard, to see stuff and yet be told he can't change it ... you write Firenze very well by the way. There are some canon characters who have to be captured so exactly, and Firenze is one of them, and you definitely succeed.

Author's Response: Firenze was fun in that scene. I think the trick with characters like him is that they have to have a specific purpose, something specific to say and do, else it becomes kind of weird.

I really do feel for Cal. At least he has Nat at this point, or I don't know what he'd have done.


 Report Review

Review #35, by water_lily43175 The Day After Tomorrow

13th May 2012:
I can't see Toby as an Auror. I think he's very good at magic and stuff, but like he acknowledged last chapter, he plays by the rules too much. Plus, I think he's too rash at times. I mean, in the circumstances it was understandable but he rushed in to try to save Annie, whereas Tanith was so much more methodical and logical about it all, and THAT'S why she'd make a good Auror but he wouldn't. I think. You're the author, you know better than little old me!

Once more, I feel sorry for Gabe. He's clearly so confused about everything, but Tobias is mourning Annie, Tanith is worried about Tobias and Cal ... well, Cal what? I hope we find out what's going on with him soon, I can't take much more suspense!

Love the last line. So sad, but so true.

Author's Response: Certainly Tobias would have a lot of learning to do to become a good Auror. Some of that is youth, but yes, some of it is temperament. He's stuffy enough that he doesn't deal with his emotions well when they explode; Tanith, on the other hand, exists in an almost constant-state of emotional upheaval, so it's nothing new! But I'm glad, considering where the story goes, that you think Toby wouldn't make a great Auror. It was certainly the point that his scheme to become one was flawed!

 Report Review

Review #36, by water_lily43175 The Sound of Silence

13th May 2012:
I feel so, so sorry for Tobias' mum. Regardless of whether or not Tobias is right in what he says about her ... that's one hell of a lot of bad luck to be served up.

Oh, this will be Gabe's vision when he touched Wilson then...

Wilson and McLaggen are idiots (other insults are available but wouldn't comply with the 12+ rating required). Do they REALLY think Tobias wanted this any more than they did?

I like that Tobias actually listened to his mum, and isn't going to mope around. Because that would depress me. He's going to be one dangerous animal now though... the Death Eaters really should have thought of this!

Author's Response: Melissa Hart's story is particularly sad - to throw away her world for the man she loved, only to lose him. And on top of that, Tobias has so idealised the notion of the father he never met that she gets all of the bad, so to speak.

Wilson and McLaggen don't really consciously think ANYTHING, they're just helpless and frustrated and deciding to be pissy at Tobias about it, as he's the best target. Fortunately they're not dumb enough to actively lash out at him, and Riley would have their balls anyway if they did.


 Report Review

Review #37, by water_lily43175 The End of All Things

13th May 2012:
Oh, Tanith. Oh, TOBY...

Author's Response: Yup. Rough for them both.

 Report Review

Review #38, by water_lily43175 The Dying of the Light

13th May 2012:
CRIKEY MOSES GABE SAW ANNIE'S DEATH. I can't believe you just did that! And even worse, how anti-climactic it was, and how Brynmor and Robb just don't give a damn - well, of course they don't, they're Death Eaters. Oh, Cal, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE?

If Tobias turns out to be dead next chapter, I'm going and not coming back. (This may not be true.)

Author's Response: A spot of murder in the middle of the night is no skin off a Death Eater's nose. I rather enjoyed putting together the juxtaposition of how they orchestrate terror and pain - and are so laid-back and calm about it all. And yeah, poor, poor, mistaken Cal...

 Report Review

Review #39, by water_lily43175 The Tables Turned

13th May 2012:
Oh, TOBIAS! He's such a babe sometimes! I love how the minute he sees that Tanith's hurt and upset he just forgets about everything else ... And the fact that their 'moment' is interrupted by something to do with Annie just sums up their relationship. I'm seriously dreading what you have in store for Annie and Tobias though...

Author's Response: Tobias Grey, sucker for the ladies and their waterworks. And good friend.

 Report Review

Review #40, by water_lily43175 The Dark Side of the Moon

13th May 2012:
Yes! Ariane/Melanie time!

I love Nat. That is all. I love that she finally bit the bullet with Cal!

The fact that Tanith and Annie would actually get on well if not for the whole house rivalry and Tobias triangle thing is quite ironic. I very much enjoyed their conversation with Nat until Tanith found out about Tobias and Annie. Sad sad times. And that is so typical Tanith, try to find a way out by doing THE worst thing possible ... I hope things begin to look up for her soon! Not sure how realistic that hope is, mind...

Author's Response: Unfortunately I think this is the last of Ariane and Melanie for the rest of the story, certainly of any significance. Boo. They demanded to come back (with a vengeance) in the next one.

Tanith and Annie share a certain dry sense of humour - after all, for Tobias to like them both, they almost certainly have something in common. I think Nat's adorable in this scene, because she doesn't get 100% what's going on, but she's trying to be a good friend (and potential girlfriend) to Cal by having all of his female friends/girlfriends of friends getting on - and she's achieving it rather well, minus the bombshell getting dropped on Tanith.

Who, yes, goes off to be a complete pillock, as is her wont!


 Report Review

Review #41, by water_lily43175 The Importance of Being

13th May 2012:
Naw, I love Cal/Tobias scenes. They're both a little bit hilarious. I'm hoping Cal and Nat get together properly soon, too! Also, well-written scene at the end, I utterly fail at writing them and it's not often I come across one that doesn't make me want to pull my teeth out! I'm actually liking this step in Tobias and Annie's relationship, I've definitely warmed to them. If only because T&T clearly aren't ready to be together yet and need to mature first, and being with Annie is maturing Tobias :)

Author's Response: With all the Epic Relationships (romantic or otherwise) going on, it gets easy to forget that Cal and Toby are really good friends - in fact, it's because there's nothing epic and dramatic there (usually) that they ARE such good friends. And they bring out the laid-back fun sides of one another, or perhaps I should say Cal brings it out of Tobias, since Cal's is usually out anyway.

One must be judicious with application of writing sexytimes! I think the trick is keeping it to the point - in this case, the emotional journey more than anything else. And you are quite right about T&T. Their story is, as I self-indulgently tell any reader who'll listen, a romance of two people who have the potential to grow up/develop into being perfect for one another, but aren't there yet.


 Report Review

Review #42, by water_lily43175 The Ties That Bind

13th May 2012:
I really feel for Tanith's dad here. I mean, he's seen a lot of the world and knows the dangers that are out there, and at the end of the day he's just trying to protect her. At least she sees that now.

The whole relationship between Tobias's mother and this Aurora woman intrigues me. There MUST be something more to it than what Melissa's letting on?

I love Cal's home life. Will seems cool. Definitely the kind of person Cal needs in his life.

And, once again, Gabe is conspicuous by his absence!

Author's Response: Gabe's home life is a mystery I should REALLY TELL at some point. Thankfully your reviews are inspiring me to revisit all those things which lived 'in my head' for a bit too long (like, several years too long).

 Report Review

Review #43, by water_lily43175 The End of the Line

11th May 2012:
I really feel for Gabe here. I mean, these visions are clearly freaking him out, and it's obviously not the kind of thing he can talk to about easily to someone - not helped by the fact that Gabe doesn't really talk to anyone about anything in the first place. Added to that, the other three all have their own issues to worry about ... this is one of those times when maybe being a loner isn't such a good thing! Bless him. The whole thing with his dad is intriguing too.

So, part of me likes Annie. Especially when she's interacting with Tobias, or Cal, or generally anyone who isn't Tanith, because she seems to become a bit immature with Tanith - mind, given their history, it's not a surprise that she's a bit insecure around her. Though there's still a part of me that's not so keen on her. But Nat? Love her. 100%. She's the BOMB.

Author's Response: Gabe has certainly made life difficult for himself. For someone who, for various reasons (it's shocking, looking back, how atrocious my pacing of the reveal of Gabe's Inner Workings has been!), has become focused on being self-reliant, his current situation is just backfiring horribly, because he needs help. In many ways that's why he's gone to Tanith - she, of all people, isn't going to push emotionally, like Cal might have done, without being as potentially cold as Tobias could have been (in his "this-is-so-fascinating-I-forget-there-are-people" kind of way). Her hugs are present, but implied rather than forced upon someone so standoffish, because they're BOTH pretty standoffish.

True, Annie's territorial hackles get up when Tanith's around... which isn't especially unreasonable, but it doesn't bring out her good side. It doesn't get explored as much as it might, but I think Annie is aware on some level that Tanith only needs the slightest poke to become unreasonable, which makes Tanith the bad guy and strengthens Annie's position. Giving Tanith enough rope to hang herself with, essentially. It's not a conscious manipulation on Annie's part, and she'd be horrified with herself if she realised she was doing it, but when the rival for her boyfriend's affection is her oldest friend it's understandable she'd be a bit insecure and irrational.

And yes, in rereads I do forget how awesome Nat is. I did explicitly go "this is a character - and, consequently, a relationship - who does not fall into self-indulgent angst traps". I almost feel I'm lampshade hanging myself with her around...!


 Report Review

Review #44, by water_lily43175 The Life and Soul

11th May 2012:
"Shindig. Hoot-nanny. Ho-down." Nice. EXCELLENT, in fact.

Oh, poor Tobias. He really is hapless with the whole Tanith thing, isn't he? Maybe I'll slightly forgive him for what he said to her...

Author's Response: I ran out of synonyms. Or Cal could have been there a while.

I think it's a pretty good bet, when frustrated with Tobias, to assume 'hapless' rather than 'malicious'.


 Report Review

Review #45, by water_lily43175 The Day Is Gone

11th May 2012:
Oh, Ritter's hilarious with the trick wands. Love how he likes a bit of a laugh here and there.

And I've gotta say, I love the whole "more important things than surviving" thing. I have a fic about the first war, and that's the kind of thing I'm trying to explore in that, so yeah, it's nice to come across another story with the same kind of theme going on.

OH NO DON'T SAY THIS IS THE VISION CONVERSATION COMING UP. I have an ominous feeling about this...

"Because I'm in love with you, and I shouldn't be!"

Ohmigod. Poor Tanith! Oh, TOBIAS, no, don't be so horrid! Oh gawd, I get where he's coming from, but it's so heartbreaking... WOW. Way to stick the knife in... Could he have been much more harsh? I dislike him now. I get where he's coming from too though... she put him through hell two years back ... but even so! It's so so sad :(

Author's Response: "Things more important than surviving" is a theme only lightly touched on in Shade, because life at Hogwarts is not quite so dreary and weary, but it will be returned to come Deathly Hallows era. I shall have to check out First War fics, I don't read nearly enough...

Yyyyeaahh. This scene is pretty nasty. Toby reading the worst into it - a little to shield himself, because if he villainises Tanith he doesn't have to over-think the situation... but boy did she blunder into it clumsy and, well, charging after the train once it's already left the station.


 Report Review

Review #46, by water_lily43175 The Ides of March

11th May 2012:
WHOA I'm disliking what Gabe just saw when he touched Tanith! This suggests more bad T/T times, and I can't cope with that! Oh, poor old Gabe ... PRESSURE MAN. I love when he's being all friendly, and advice-giving-y, and stuff. And Tanith ... that's not just a thing, that's lurve. YES, FIGHT. Argh, love this chapter ... there's so much goings-on!

Author's Response: More bad T/T times? Moi? I can't really use French any more, it's an outright indicator of blatant guilt. Gabe does try, rather hard, even if he's going to flounder and possibly fail. It doesn't really come so naturally to him. I'm quite pleased with this chapter, I must admit, it works even when not much is going on IN it.

 Report Review

Review #47, by water_lily43175 The Masks We Wear

11th May 2012:
Oh, it's Ariane and Melanie time. I love these girls. Sheer hilarity ensues whenever they're around.

YES. Cal/Nat time. I love this girl. The funny thing is, he's a perfectly fine conversationalist when he's not worrying about what he's saying! Bless. And he needs some happiness, does this boy, it had better work out between them...

Author's Response: They scene-steal completely! I just start writing and hilarious things (completely irrelevant to the plot) occur. So I can't use them too often, or this would turn into an episode of Sex and the City, Hogwarts style, and nobody wants that. Nobody.

Cal will learn to unclench. If nothing else, because Nat will teach him. And she doesn't take failure lying down!


 Report Review

Review #48, by water_lily43175 The Female of the Species

11th May 2012:
Okay, so the Tanith/Cal/Gabe dialogue here is possibly one of my favourite moments of the story so far. I just like that they're all discussing their problems and stuff with each other. There's not been many moments between any combination of them aside from T&T all story. It's sad. And it is quite funny that Tobias has the most experience with the opposite sex. Cal's hapless, bless him...

DUCKS MAN.

Sometimes I like Annie. Sometimes I don't. Here, I don't. Though Tanith is an utter fool. Still.

CAL-DUCK! I love the Cal/Gabe bromance. It should feature more!

Author's Response: One good thing about the Tanith/Tobias divide - it does drive everyone else to interact more. But yeah, once outside of the Romantic Angst the lot of them do manage to be Good Friends all the more often.

Poor Annie! I fancy she comes off fairly well in this conversation, though I suppose it's hard to not feel SORRY for Tanith being so useful, and thus Annie just looks like she's kicking someone while she's down. But from her perspective Tanith has come up and had a go at her while Annie's not really done anything wrong.

I don't know when I decided upon the ducks thing. But those guys are hardcore, man.


 Report Review

Review #49, by water_lily43175 The Talented Mister Doyle

11th May 2012:
OH HEY GABE.

Aww man, what's he SEEING? Poor, poor dude. Oh, so, like, he sees stuff when people touch him? People's .. futures? That's mental. WHO DIES? If Cal dies I'll be gutted. ACTUALLY gutted. He's still my favourite, even if he is an odd one at the moment!

Author's Response: Certainly physical contact is how his visions are manifesting themselves at present. But I cannot comment as to the specifics, or their accuracy!

 Report Review

Review #50, by water_lily43175 The End of the Beginning

11th May 2012:
Ah, Cal's looking for this bird in the pub, isn't he? Bless him, he's besotted already! Yup, here we go... Also, Tobias is hilarious when he's being witty and not up-tight or self-pitying whatever. Except - no, don't chat with Annie, you fool, this won't end well! See, didn't I say? Oh Tanith you silly billy.

OH. I knew Tanith's dad was up to something! He is one clever, clever man. I'd love to know who he was feeding his information to though! SO MUCH EXCITEMENT AT ALL THIS KICKING OFF. Oh, poor Tanith though... why do you have to do this to her? AGAIN?

Author's Response: Cal IS besotted. And he's promptly useless about it. He and Tobias are good friends in times like this, though, they bring out the best in one another while being supportive - and having fun. They don't get to do that nearly often enough.

I don't think I ever specify who Daedalus Cole was feeding information to, but it would almost certainly include the Order of the Phoenix and trustworthy parts of the Ministry. But he would be far too cautious to officially affiliate himself with either.

I was going to admit that Tanith is one of my favourite chew-toys, but I think they all get their turn...


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>