Reading Reviews for Renaissance
  
92 Reviews Found

Review #26, by shadowycorner Revelations

13th August 2012:
Reviewing this is becoming harder and harder. What do I say? I am completely fascinated at this point. The thought that was put into this is fantastic. The story has so many new layers. I love the whole involvement and addition of the Department of Mysteries. I've been mesmerized by that place for so long, I tried writing countless fics about it, about the Veil too. It's amazing to see it here.

I was drinking in every word Malcolm was saying. Things are getting so epic! What with Stubbs running for Headmaster and all that. He's such an interesting character. Also, Hermione knows Ron's got the sword and that he didn't tell her. She'll be livid, won't she?

Your descriptions are so simple and good, they paint the picture perfectly without being too overwhelming. And the dialogues, they're so snappy and fresh, they always keep my attention. This story is greater with every single chapter.

Author's Response: This is one of my favourite chapters just for how it unveils things, things which have been in place since the beginning of the story, so I'm glad it's satisfying and is going down well. As it's also a big info-dump from Trevelyan and so I'm just glad it's not clunky or anything.

And yeah, Hermione's not going to be THRILLED when she learns Ron has the sword but didn't tell her, but equally, she wasn't planning on telling him about the DoM! They're as bad as each other.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #27, by shadowycorner Confrontations

13th August 2012:
This is so exciting! I was at the edge of my seat when that git Burke appeared. And yay for the house-elves. I wouldn't have thought of that, but as soon as I read that, it totally makes sense that they would aid Hermione like this.

Poor Ron, always so jealous and letting that get in the way of everything else. I understand Hermione's a bit tired of that. But still, I will repeat, this is Ron Weasley! They're still so well-written, both of them. Every chapter gets better and better. The technical details about the magic involved are so creative and plausible. I always had a problem with that. You're so good with the plot! Also the emotions are so clear and understandable on both sides. I can feel and understand their frustration with one another. They're so amazing together, but there's always this tension that must be exhausting from time to time.

Off to the next chapter. This is one of the best stories I've read in a long, long time. :)

Author's Response: I thought it would be interesting to see the ways in which Hermione DID think it was okay for House Elves to work, and the ways in which she'd use them. And quite, Ron's behaviour is - well, he's Ron, this must be accepted! Good that the magical theory is going down well, I do like it to be consistent even if I'm having to make it up as I go along.

Thanks for reviewing, and your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #28, by shadowycorner Competitions

13th August 2012:
Another great chapter. I always cheer when McGonagall makes an appearance. Hermione and Ron were so adult in this chapter. The conflict between them made me sad. I'm mad at Ron for being mean, then I'm mad at Hermione for dumping him through a paper and then starting something with Malcolm, and then I'm mad with both of them, because they're so silly. I really wonder what Hermione's side of the story is, and why she chose to dump Ron through a newspaper. For now, anyway you look at it that's just vicious. But she's Hermione, she basically has a heart of gold, I'm sure there were other things.

Anyway, you write this so well, I can't say that enough. The romance is so subtle and refreshing, I love how the story keeps focusing on the mystery more, totally grabbing my attention, and then these little Ron/Hermione things show up and that gets me in another way. I love reading this, I'm so glad you didn't abandon this story and kept writing/posting.

Author's Response: They ARE silly. But they have both been silly, though the particulars are still forthcoming. It does seem pretty cold at present for Hermione to write a Dear John letter in the open media, so... yeah, a little more to it than that. Glad you enjoy the interaction, and glad you enjoy McGonagall! She's a hoot.

Certainly I did want this to be a story with a PLOT as well as the romance; I like the latter to be driven by the former, I think that makes personal interactions go in interesting places if matters beyond their control are pushing them this way and that. So it's good the plot remains entertaining as well as the personal interactions! And thanks, I'm quite glad I finished this one off as well.


 Report Review

Review #29, by shadowycorner Admissions

13th August 2012:
There was a split second where they were in that familiar moment of joint concern, of worry about how their best friend's life was perpetually dangerous and yet there was nothing they could do about it, and nothing they could say - a concern where they looked to the other to know that they, too, shared it, and were reassured by that knowledge, at least.It was a habit of ten years, this silent point of contact. Aw, yes, that sums up their connection so nicely. I really liked that paragraph.

This chapter was the best so far. As you know, since I wouldn't stop bragging about it, I couldn't wait for the first Ron/Hermione interaction, and I loved it! But what I loved even more was Harry. He was hilarious with his laid-back, calm manner about the entire issue. You really write every character wonderfully. And then when i imagined Ron sitting by Harry's bed, that worried look on his face, it just made my heart swell. It must've been horrible for them all those years to always worry about their best friend what with all the dangerous things he had to go through. I can never appreciate and adore their friendship enough. That's why I loved this chapter, not because of Ron and Hermione, but because of Ron, Hermione and Harry. Even that bit with Ginny and her sad, silent resentment that she had never been a part of this special group. This was perfectly written and damn you, I'm starting to like Malcolm. He seems really nice. But he's not Ron!

Ron is going to work with Hermione at Hogwarts. Let me do a yay!

Author's Response: I'm quite proud of my Trio interactions here. How they have changed but are still the Trio, how even poor Ginny accepts that there are things she just won't be a part of - though such things are, for the most part, firmly in the past in their lives now. I'm also very fond of post-War Harry, I do think now he's killed Voldemort it's going to be very hard for him to be fazed, which would just make it worse for everyone fussing around him.

Malcolm is a pretty nice guy. But you're not wrong. He's just Not Ron. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #30, by shadowycorner Organisations

13th August 2012:
I can see why Hermione would like this guy. it's always nice to find someone you can have these type of conversations with. His manner is very smooth and I kind of like him a little bit despite myself. Hermione is so Hermionish, I love that. It's also good how you keep me hanging! I am still eagerly awaiting the Ron/Hermione encounter.

Your writing is still awesome. It's smooth and sounds really professional. I'm one Hermione/Ron encounter from becoming a fangirl :D

Author's Response: Oh good, people usually just tend to line up to hate poor Malcolm! I do believe Hermione WOULD do well for herself with a partner who could go blow-for-blow with her on an intellectual and cultural basis, but that doesn't mean it's all she'd need in life, and, well, Ron provides for more emotional needs. And is Ron.

Encounter next chapter. ;) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #31, by shadowycorner Apparitions

13th August 2012:
Yay, finally! Ron and Hermione interaction. Seeing how cool and witty you write these characters, I can't wait to read that!

Have I ever told you how much I like your Ron. He's so edgy and Ronnish and sexy, lol! I adore his narration, I really do. And this story just keeps getting more and more interesting. I liked how Ron complimented Nick at the beginning, I think that would be the perfect way to gain his favor. This new ghost element is really mysterious, I wonder what it means. I'd write more, but I'm off to the next chapter.

Author's Response: They'll come together soon enough. And it shall, I hope, prove thoroughly entertaining. I'm glad you like this Ron, *I* like this Ron, I wanted him to have the opportunity to be more competent and mature but, yes, still Ron.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Accommodations

13th August 2012:
Wow, great chapter! You do an excellent job of explaining what went wrong with their relationship, and why they might try again. I love that it ends with the exploding window just when they're about to reconcile!

Author's Response: I do like my dramatically inconvenient exploding doors and windows, it's true. Glad this chapter works well, it's pretty pivotal in both defining the issues of the romance and in pushing them forward, so it'd be bad if it wasn't convincing! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #33, by water_lily43175 Provocations

12th August 2012:
Hermione really, REALLY should have let Harry help her out. I do get that once you've worked out that there is corruption within the Ministry, you just become paranoid about EVERYONE, but this is the Boy Who Lived. And, as un-PC as Vaughn is, there is NO way that he's corrupt. He'd have to sack himself if he engaged in such dodgy dealings.

Course, it's also easy to criticise Hermione because I Know What Happens...

So Hermione trusts Stubbs because Ron does, but doesn't trust Vaughn even though Harry does. She is an utter IDIOT.

Ron is truly AMAZING in this chapter. I love him, I really do. And I swear Barlowe has a screw loose, haha.

What is it with you and having people blast doors down? Although I do truly love this moment. Oh, I DO like this fic, I know you're not massively fussed about it but it IS really good. :)

Author's Response: Well, she's wrong, of course, but it's not just blind panic that's making her do this. From her perspective, Harry doesn't get the threat that Barlowe is, and is being stubbornly Harry about trusting his friends and co-workers - to her, right now, that's a bias, not an informed opinion. And she's not strictly WRONG - Vaughn might be trustworthy, but more than just Vaughn will need to be trusted. If the Aurors send help, that's multiple Aurors who need to be told, maybe administrative staff signing off on an operation, all sorts. Hermione has every reason to worry one of those individuals could be on Barlowe's payroll even if Vaughn's incorruptible. And if Barlowe learnt they were coming, they would be pretty screwed.

Barlowe is, indeed, kind of nuts. But that makes him a fun bad guy for Ron of all people, Mister Understanding, to be facing off against.

I like my dramatic entrances! What can I say. And thanks - I'm glad the story's enjoyed and goes down well for what it is, even if it's not the centre of my creative focus. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #34, by Ginger Lust Provocations

11th August 2012:
Hi again. I enjoyed this chapter also.
I was so proud of Ron. I love your version of Ron.
So? What happens next? :-)
Great job.

Author's Response: Another chapter will be in the queue soon, have no fear! Only two more to go. Ron is, indeed, awesome and I'm glad he comes across as awesome in this.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #35, by someoneinsignificant Provocations

9th August 2012:
Nice chapter. Thanks for updating.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Georgia Weasley Understandings

8th August 2012:
I really like your characterization of Ron here. He's respected, competent, and intelligent, but still the Ron we remember. His lack of shaving and his relief at not having to teach certain subject matter, was spot on. Even more, the way you've written McGonagall is simply perfect. She's aged, but she's still strong and determined to do what's right for Hogwarts. I am intrigued with the mystery of the Hat, and can't wait to see how this plot develops. And of course, I'm dying to know why Hermione is at the bottom of his list. Something isn't quite right there, is it. Very interesting. I can't wait to read more. Good beginning!~GW

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I like a Ron who's competent and capable in his own right while still being RON, so I'm glad that's come across properly. McGonagall is a hoot to write, too. The mysteries - of the Hat, and of Hermione - will continue to unravel along with the story, so read on!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by shadowycorner Investigations

3rd August 2012:
I LOVED this chapter. Seriously, the thought and originality put into this is incredible. I loved the talking door. That was great. It actually even had a personality. And since you mentioned it was Scottish, I couldn't help reading his lines in Sean Connery's voice. Also, the mental image of Harry screaming at a chair is highly amusing, but not more than the conversation Ron had with the Sean Connery Door.

Ron's voice in this story so far is amazing. I like how slightly grumpy he is, but able to chuckle to himself. You made him interesting and new, which is something really great in fanfiction. He's got this edge that I really like.

Also, adding Phineas was golden. I liked his appearances in DH because he's just so insufferable, isn't he? Great, great job.

I started reading this story because of Ron and Hermione, but I'm hardly focusing on that now, because the mystery premise, dialogues and Ron the Investigator are so captivating.

Author's Response: Yeah, I did have Sean Connery's voice in my head when I was writing Door's dialogue. But it's made of Scottish wood! It'd be Scottish! I do enjoy playing with expanding bits of magical canon, though I try to keep it logical and consistent.

I'm glad Ron's working out. He doesn't often get to be a leading man, and especially not a leading man using his brain. I think he'd barrel through it with humour, but his wits cannot be underestimated.

And why on Earth would I pass up on an opportunity to use Phineas to snark at people? Got to love Phineas. Thanks for the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #38, by shadowycorner Arrangements

3rd August 2012:
I am not going to like Malcolm, am I? If he plans to steal Hermione, then yes, I won't like him!

You did a great job with the Unspeakables. They were just like FBI agents in films, mysterious and really annoying with all their smugness and classified information. It was nice to read about Hermione and her job and dedication. It's canon and so in character and you've written it well.

This story is going so well. It's really interesting and I can't wait to see what happens next. I'm really excited for Ron and Hermione meeting. Also new info about the Sorting Hat and perhaps a connection with the Unspeakables. I'm thinking they have the Sorting Hat? I'm not good at guessing, so I'll just read, me thinks. I haven't read a mystery in so long, though and this is awesome. :)

Author's Response: Malcolm does have his eye on the girl, but this doesn't make him evil. Yet. Just wait and see. I did want to make the Unspeakables kind of Mysterious Government Agents, and I figured having them run in to Hermione, she of the rampant curiosity, would only prove amusing.

I hope the mystery proves worthwhile! There's a good few twists and turns yet. I'm glad you're enjoying it, and the characters, so far, however!


 Report Review

Review #39, by shadowycorner Explanations

3rd August 2012:
Stubbs was a wonderful OC. Also, your descriptions are really painting the picture for me, it's amazing. I'm liking this story more and more. And whoa, a break-up through an interview? Really, Hermione? Now I want to snuggle Ron.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Stubbs! Yeah, Hermione doesn't come across too well in the first bit of the story, it takes a while before we find out what's going on with her. But equally Ron should ALWAYS get a good snuggle.

 Report Review

Review #40, by shadowycorner Understandings

3rd August 2012:
I favorited this story years ago and never got around to reading it. Now that I'm back, and full of new strong love for the Ronmione, I finally started. This first chapter is really impressing. I liked McGonagall a lot, she was very in character. Although I guess they would speak less officialy, maybe, but that's just me. Maybe with Harry, she would. Anyway, the flow is amazing, it read so easily and swiftly. Also, I praise the originality of the idea. Yay for that!

And oh no, are they broken up or something? Off to read another chapter, I'm really excited for this!

Author's Response: I'm glad you've got into this after all this time! I do love me some Romione, as you might indeed guess. I did debate how Ron and McGonagall might talk, but I figured they don't have a personal relationship like she and Harry did - I don't think it's her condescending him so much as they've not yet LEARNED how to talk as adults together. With time, that could change, but when in doubt they relapse to default.

All is explained if you read on. :D Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #41, by Ginger Lust Admissions

1st August 2012:
HI. Love it, love it! You write very well and present a interesting and thought-provoking exploration of the G. Trio when they end up working separatly. And like the others say, you get the characters perfect and show us how they feel about the several situations they find themselves in. -- Did you understand that? Sometimes I don't express myself well---

I am really enjoying this story.

Please, please, please finish it. (read where you said you weren't going to finish it)
Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's been fun writing the Trio like this, and I'm glad that it's come across as compelling and new, while still remaining believably them.

Don't worry, the story will be finished. There's a chapter in the queue right now and I HAVE finished writing, I just need to upload it. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Keale Complications

28th July 2012:
Love to see another update. This was a pretty awesome story.

Author's Response: There will be updates, I promise. Hopefully in a week. The story is finished and just needs posting; I just found myself playing the validation queue juggling trick! But now one story is done, Renaissance will be back in the cycle. So hopefully within the next week or so there should be another.

Thanks for the review and hope you stick around to the end!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Ann Complications

7th July 2012:
Love the story!! Please continue.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! I shall try to get the last 3 chapters posted up in the next couple of weeks, but it's all written, and it will be finished!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #44, by water_lily43175 Complications

23rd June 2012:
"She had to admit, he'd got better in fights over the past few years. She wouldn't have thought of that."

WOW she doesn't think much of him, does she? She so doesn't deserve him!

...

I really do love Burke in this chapter. He's nice when they're all understanding each other and fighting on the same side!

I love the chat Hermione has with Trev, about her and Ron. I mainly like the bit about how the boundaries changed between them when they went from being friends to being in a relationship. It's almost as though they forgot that a bit, when things started to go wrong...

I really do feel sorry for Trev. Because he's LOVELY (when his department aren't trying to kill Hermione and Ron, that is). But ... he's not Ron. Poor thing.

Love how the Hat twitches his moustache. Yes for moustache times!

Author's Response: There's going to be a special sort of punishment for you for this, you know. :P

Yeah, Burke's kind of a dude. He doesn't really act much differently throughout, he's just one of those guys who's much better to have as your ally than as your enemy!

Trev is a bit doomed. And all the guy did wrong was not be Ron. And not be a good enough project leader to stop his colleagues from stalking and attacking her. That kind of put a dampener on relationship prospects, too. But mostly, it was Not Being Ron.


 Report Review

Review #45, by someoneinsignificant Complications

23rd June 2012:
Great chapter and another cliff hanger! Can't wait to read the rest. How many chapters are there left?

Author's Response: I am horrid for cliffhangers, I know. There are 17 chapters in Renaissance in total, so only another 3 to go! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #46, by jkelly Accommodations

20th June 2012:
Awesome! Nice cliff hanger! Keep up the great writing!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #47, by someoneinsignificant Accommodations

20th June 2012:
Thanks for the quick update. A good chapter with a big cliffhanger. I wonder what happens?
For some reason I don't really trust Malcolm and it seems like he might be hiding something.. but I dont know what. Nice to see some interaction between Ron and Hermione. If I have to make a quick guess I'd say that they're probably gonna end up together in the end.. :) Keep up the good work and update soon!

Author's Response: Expect updates, oh, every two to three days. As often as is physically possible. The Department of Mysteries and its Unspeakables are, indeed, mysterious. That's sort of their gig, and they're not very good at appearing trustworthy even IF they are.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by water_lily43175 Accommodations

20th June 2012:
Hello. I am Here. And very 12+ compliant.

Tsk, Hermione CLEARLY underestimating Ron by not letting him be in his flat by himself...

I'M SORRY I COULDN'T HELP IT.

It's SO cute how Hermione has a massive go at Ron for not cleaning the kitchen and then discovers it's because he's done the rest of the house first. RON IS SO ADORABLE.

I know I said this before. But I love love love the Romione moment at the end of the chapter. It's so sweet, and touching, and PASSIONATE, and so well written ... Serious squee moment!

Until the window smashes inwards...

Author's Response: Yes, Hermione is evil and Ron is stupid. That is indeed the hidden subtext under the actual text which may or may not be what I actually wrote.

I do like letting Ron be unexpectedly adorable with things like that. Of COURSE he would have fussed over where she'd have stayed, and to be honest a good portion of cleaning time was probably spent panicking about her coming over at all...

And their scene at the end is definitely one of my favourites in the story. So of COURSE I had to interrupt it with Action and Drama and Woe. YAY and thanks for more reviews!


 Report Review

Review #49, by someoneinsignificant Consultations

19th June 2012:
I just read all 12 chapters. This is one of the best stories I've seen on this site in a long time. Please don't abandon it.. :) Also, update soon!

Author's Response: I assure you, I won't abandon this fic - it's actually finished, it just needs posting! I finished the last chapter this week. I shall be updating it as often as validation allows.

Thank you for your enjoyment, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Maty Consultations

18th June 2012:
This story is really addictive!
I don't really trust Malcom, he seems too nice, he gives me the impression that he is going to reveal his real face at the end of the story.
Anyway nice job!

Author's Response: Ahh, poor Trevelyan, nobody trusts the guy, do they? I guess that's what he gets for having been a manipulative liar to try to get his own way professionally and personally, even if he can come across as equally decent, nice, and moral. He made his own bed.

I'm glad you're enjoying the story, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>