Reading Reviews for Renaissance
  
89 Reviews Found

Review #26, by shadowycorner Admissions

13th August 2012:
There was a split second where they were in that familiar moment of joint concern, of worry about how their best friend's life was perpetually dangerous and yet there was nothing they could do about it, and nothing they could say - a concern where they looked to the other to know that they, too, shared it, and were reassured by that knowledge, at least.It was a habit of ten years, this silent point of contact. Aw, yes, that sums up their connection so nicely. I really liked that paragraph.

This chapter was the best so far. As you know, since I wouldn't stop bragging about it, I couldn't wait for the first Ron/Hermione interaction, and I loved it! But what I loved even more was Harry. He was hilarious with his laid-back, calm manner about the entire issue. You really write every character wonderfully. And then when i imagined Ron sitting by Harry's bed, that worried look on his face, it just made my heart swell. It must've been horrible for them all those years to always worry about their best friend what with all the dangerous things he had to go through. I can never appreciate and adore their friendship enough. That's why I loved this chapter, not because of Ron and Hermione, but because of Ron, Hermione and Harry. Even that bit with Ginny and her sad, silent resentment that she had never been a part of this special group. This was perfectly written and damn you, I'm starting to like Malcolm. He seems really nice. But he's not Ron!

Ron is going to work with Hermione at Hogwarts. Let me do a yay!

Author's Response: I'm quite proud of my Trio interactions here. How they have changed but are still the Trio, how even poor Ginny accepts that there are things she just won't be a part of - though such things are, for the most part, firmly in the past in their lives now. I'm also very fond of post-War Harry, I do think now he's killed Voldemort it's going to be very hard for him to be fazed, which would just make it worse for everyone fussing around him.

Malcolm is a pretty nice guy. But you're not wrong. He's just Not Ron. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #27, by shadowycorner Organisations

13th August 2012:
I can see why Hermione would like this guy. it's always nice to find someone you can have these type of conversations with. His manner is very smooth and I kind of like him a little bit despite myself. Hermione is so Hermionish, I love that. It's also good how you keep me hanging! I am still eagerly awaiting the Ron/Hermione encounter.

Your writing is still awesome. It's smooth and sounds really professional. I'm one Hermione/Ron encounter from becoming a fangirl :D

Author's Response: Oh good, people usually just tend to line up to hate poor Malcolm! I do believe Hermione WOULD do well for herself with a partner who could go blow-for-blow with her on an intellectual and cultural basis, but that doesn't mean it's all she'd need in life, and, well, Ron provides for more emotional needs. And is Ron.

Encounter next chapter. ;) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #28, by shadowycorner Apparitions

13th August 2012:
Yay, finally! Ron and Hermione interaction. Seeing how cool and witty you write these characters, I can't wait to read that!

Have I ever told you how much I like your Ron. He's so edgy and Ronnish and sexy, lol! I adore his narration, I really do. And this story just keeps getting more and more interesting. I liked how Ron complimented Nick at the beginning, I think that would be the perfect way to gain his favor. This new ghost element is really mysterious, I wonder what it means. I'd write more, but I'm off to the next chapter.

Author's Response: They'll come together soon enough. And it shall, I hope, prove thoroughly entertaining. I'm glad you like this Ron, *I* like this Ron, I wanted him to have the opportunity to be more competent and mature but, yes, still Ron.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Accommodations

13th August 2012:
Wow, great chapter! You do an excellent job of explaining what went wrong with their relationship, and why they might try again. I love that it ends with the exploding window just when they're about to reconcile!

Author's Response: I do like my dramatically inconvenient exploding doors and windows, it's true. Glad this chapter works well, it's pretty pivotal in both defining the issues of the romance and in pushing them forward, so it'd be bad if it wasn't convincing! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #30, by water_lily43175 Provocations

12th August 2012:
Hermione really, REALLY should have let Harry help her out. I do get that once you've worked out that there is corruption within the Ministry, you just become paranoid about EVERYONE, but this is the Boy Who Lived. And, as un-PC as Vaughn is, there is NO way that he's corrupt. He'd have to sack himself if he engaged in such dodgy dealings.

Course, it's also easy to criticise Hermione because I Know What Happens...

So Hermione trusts Stubbs because Ron does, but doesn't trust Vaughn even though Harry does. She is an utter IDIOT.

Ron is truly AMAZING in this chapter. I love him, I really do. And I swear Barlowe has a screw loose, haha.

What is it with you and having people blast doors down? Although I do truly love this moment. Oh, I DO like this fic, I know you're not massively fussed about it but it IS really good. :)

Author's Response: Well, she's wrong, of course, but it's not just blind panic that's making her do this. From her perspective, Harry doesn't get the threat that Barlowe is, and is being stubbornly Harry about trusting his friends and co-workers - to her, right now, that's a bias, not an informed opinion. And she's not strictly WRONG - Vaughn might be trustworthy, but more than just Vaughn will need to be trusted. If the Aurors send help, that's multiple Aurors who need to be told, maybe administrative staff signing off on an operation, all sorts. Hermione has every reason to worry one of those individuals could be on Barlowe's payroll even if Vaughn's incorruptible. And if Barlowe learnt they were coming, they would be pretty screwed.

Barlowe is, indeed, kind of nuts. But that makes him a fun bad guy for Ron of all people, Mister Understanding, to be facing off against.

I like my dramatic entrances! What can I say. And thanks - I'm glad the story's enjoyed and goes down well for what it is, even if it's not the centre of my creative focus. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Ginger Lust Provocations

11th August 2012:
Hi again. I enjoyed this chapter also.
I was so proud of Ron. I love your version of Ron.
So? What happens next? :-)
Great job.

Author's Response: Another chapter will be in the queue soon, have no fear! Only two more to go. Ron is, indeed, awesome and I'm glad he comes across as awesome in this.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #32, by someoneinsignificant Provocations

9th August 2012:
Nice chapter. Thanks for updating.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Georgia Weasley Understandings

8th August 2012:
I really like your characterization of Ron here. He's respected, competent, and intelligent, but still the Ron we remember. His lack of shaving and his relief at not having to teach certain subject matter, was spot on. Even more, the way you've written McGonagall is simply perfect. She's aged, but she's still strong and determined to do what's right for Hogwarts. I am intrigued with the mystery of the Hat, and can't wait to see how this plot develops. And of course, I'm dying to know why Hermione is at the bottom of his list. Something isn't quite right there, is it. Very interesting. I can't wait to read more. Good beginning!~GW

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I like a Ron who's competent and capable in his own right while still being RON, so I'm glad that's come across properly. McGonagall is a hoot to write, too. The mysteries - of the Hat, and of Hermione - will continue to unravel along with the story, so read on!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #34, by shadowycorner Investigations

3rd August 2012:
I LOVED this chapter. Seriously, the thought and originality put into this is incredible. I loved the talking door. That was great. It actually even had a personality. And since you mentioned it was Scottish, I couldn't help reading his lines in Sean Connery's voice. Also, the mental image of Harry screaming at a chair is highly amusing, but not more than the conversation Ron had with the Sean Connery Door.

Ron's voice in this story so far is amazing. I like how slightly grumpy he is, but able to chuckle to himself. You made him interesting and new, which is something really great in fanfiction. He's got this edge that I really like.

Also, adding Phineas was golden. I liked his appearances in DH because he's just so insufferable, isn't he? Great, great job.

I started reading this story because of Ron and Hermione, but I'm hardly focusing on that now, because the mystery premise, dialogues and Ron the Investigator are so captivating.

Author's Response: Yeah, I did have Sean Connery's voice in my head when I was writing Door's dialogue. But it's made of Scottish wood! It'd be Scottish! I do enjoy playing with expanding bits of magical canon, though I try to keep it logical and consistent.

I'm glad Ron's working out. He doesn't often get to be a leading man, and especially not a leading man using his brain. I think he'd barrel through it with humour, but his wits cannot be underestimated.

And why on Earth would I pass up on an opportunity to use Phineas to snark at people? Got to love Phineas. Thanks for the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #35, by shadowycorner Arrangements

3rd August 2012:
I am not going to like Malcolm, am I? If he plans to steal Hermione, then yes, I won't like him!

You did a great job with the Unspeakables. They were just like FBI agents in films, mysterious and really annoying with all their smugness and classified information. It was nice to read about Hermione and her job and dedication. It's canon and so in character and you've written it well.

This story is going so well. It's really interesting and I can't wait to see what happens next. I'm really excited for Ron and Hermione meeting. Also new info about the Sorting Hat and perhaps a connection with the Unspeakables. I'm thinking they have the Sorting Hat? I'm not good at guessing, so I'll just read, me thinks. I haven't read a mystery in so long, though and this is awesome. :)

Author's Response: Malcolm does have his eye on the girl, but this doesn't make him evil. Yet. Just wait and see. I did want to make the Unspeakables kind of Mysterious Government Agents, and I figured having them run in to Hermione, she of the rampant curiosity, would only prove amusing.

I hope the mystery proves worthwhile! There's a good few twists and turns yet. I'm glad you're enjoying it, and the characters, so far, however!


 Report Review

Review #36, by shadowycorner Explanations

3rd August 2012:
Stubbs was a wonderful OC. Also, your descriptions are really painting the picture for me, it's amazing. I'm liking this story more and more. And whoa, a break-up through an interview? Really, Hermione? Now I want to snuggle Ron.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Stubbs! Yeah, Hermione doesn't come across too well in the first bit of the story, it takes a while before we find out what's going on with her. But equally Ron should ALWAYS get a good snuggle.

 Report Review

Review #37, by shadowycorner Understandings

3rd August 2012:
I favorited this story years ago and never got around to reading it. Now that I'm back, and full of new strong love for the Ronmione, I finally started. This first chapter is really impressing. I liked McGonagall a lot, she was very in character. Although I guess they would speak less officialy, maybe, but that's just me. Maybe with Harry, she would. Anyway, the flow is amazing, it read so easily and swiftly. Also, I praise the originality of the idea. Yay for that!

And oh no, are they broken up or something? Off to read another chapter, I'm really excited for this!

Author's Response: I'm glad you've got into this after all this time! I do love me some Romione, as you might indeed guess. I did debate how Ron and McGonagall might talk, but I figured they don't have a personal relationship like she and Harry did - I don't think it's her condescending him so much as they've not yet LEARNED how to talk as adults together. With time, that could change, but when in doubt they relapse to default.

All is explained if you read on. :D Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Ginger Lust Admissions

1st August 2012:
HI. Love it, love it! You write very well and present a interesting and thought-provoking exploration of the G. Trio when they end up working separatly. And like the others say, you get the characters perfect and show us how they feel about the several situations they find themselves in. -- Did you understand that? Sometimes I don't express myself well---

I am really enjoying this story.

Please, please, please finish it. (read where you said you weren't going to finish it)
Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's been fun writing the Trio like this, and I'm glad that it's come across as compelling and new, while still remaining believably them.

Don't worry, the story will be finished. There's a chapter in the queue right now and I HAVE finished writing, I just need to upload it. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Keale Complications

28th July 2012:
Love to see another update. This was a pretty awesome story.

Author's Response: There will be updates, I promise. Hopefully in a week. The story is finished and just needs posting; I just found myself playing the validation queue juggling trick! But now one story is done, Renaissance will be back in the cycle. So hopefully within the next week or so there should be another.

Thanks for the review and hope you stick around to the end!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Ann Complications

7th July 2012:
Love the story!! Please continue.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! I shall try to get the last 3 chapters posted up in the next couple of weeks, but it's all written, and it will be finished!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #41, by water_lily43175 Complications

23rd June 2012:
"She had to admit, he'd got better in fights over the past few years. She wouldn't have thought of that."

WOW she doesn't think much of him, does she? She so doesn't deserve him!

...

I really do love Burke in this chapter. He's nice when they're all understanding each other and fighting on the same side!

I love the chat Hermione has with Trev, about her and Ron. I mainly like the bit about how the boundaries changed between them when they went from being friends to being in a relationship. It's almost as though they forgot that a bit, when things started to go wrong...

I really do feel sorry for Trev. Because he's LOVELY (when his department aren't trying to kill Hermione and Ron, that is). But ... he's not Ron. Poor thing.

Love how the Hat twitches his moustache. Yes for moustache times!

Author's Response: There's going to be a special sort of punishment for you for this, you know. :P

Yeah, Burke's kind of a dude. He doesn't really act much differently throughout, he's just one of those guys who's much better to have as your ally than as your enemy!

Trev is a bit doomed. And all the guy did wrong was not be Ron. And not be a good enough project leader to stop his colleagues from stalking and attacking her. That kind of put a dampener on relationship prospects, too. But mostly, it was Not Being Ron.


 Report Review

Review #42, by someoneinsignificant Complications

23rd June 2012:
Great chapter and another cliff hanger! Can't wait to read the rest. How many chapters are there left?

Author's Response: I am horrid for cliffhangers, I know. There are 17 chapters in Renaissance in total, so only another 3 to go! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #43, by jkelly Accommodations

20th June 2012:
Awesome! Nice cliff hanger! Keep up the great writing!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #44, by someoneinsignificant Accommodations

20th June 2012:
Thanks for the quick update. A good chapter with a big cliffhanger. I wonder what happens?
For some reason I don't really trust Malcolm and it seems like he might be hiding something.. but I dont know what. Nice to see some interaction between Ron and Hermione. If I have to make a quick guess I'd say that they're probably gonna end up together in the end.. :) Keep up the good work and update soon!

Author's Response: Expect updates, oh, every two to three days. As often as is physically possible. The Department of Mysteries and its Unspeakables are, indeed, mysterious. That's sort of their gig, and they're not very good at appearing trustworthy even IF they are.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #45, by water_lily43175 Accommodations

20th June 2012:
Hello. I am Here. And very 12+ compliant.

Tsk, Hermione CLEARLY underestimating Ron by not letting him be in his flat by himself...

I'M SORRY I COULDN'T HELP IT.

It's SO cute how Hermione has a massive go at Ron for not cleaning the kitchen and then discovers it's because he's done the rest of the house first. RON IS SO ADORABLE.

I know I said this before. But I love love love the Romione moment at the end of the chapter. It's so sweet, and touching, and PASSIONATE, and so well written ... Serious squee moment!

Until the window smashes inwards...

Author's Response: Yes, Hermione is evil and Ron is stupid. That is indeed the hidden subtext under the actual text which may or may not be what I actually wrote.

I do like letting Ron be unexpectedly adorable with things like that. Of COURSE he would have fussed over where she'd have stayed, and to be honest a good portion of cleaning time was probably spent panicking about her coming over at all...

And their scene at the end is definitely one of my favourites in the story. So of COURSE I had to interrupt it with Action and Drama and Woe. YAY and thanks for more reviews!


 Report Review

Review #46, by someoneinsignificant Consultations

19th June 2012:
I just read all 12 chapters. This is one of the best stories I've seen on this site in a long time. Please don't abandon it.. :) Also, update soon!

Author's Response: I assure you, I won't abandon this fic - it's actually finished, it just needs posting! I finished the last chapter this week. I shall be updating it as often as validation allows.

Thank you for your enjoyment, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Maty Consultations

18th June 2012:
This story is really addictive!
I don't really trust Malcom, he seems too nice, he gives me the impression that he is going to reveal his real face at the end of the story.
Anyway nice job!

Author's Response: Ahh, poor Trevelyan, nobody trusts the guy, do they? I guess that's what he gets for having been a manipulative liar to try to get his own way professionally and personally, even if he can come across as equally decent, nice, and moral. He made his own bed.

I'm glad you're enjoying the story, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by water_lily43175 Consultations

17th June 2012:
ANOTHER ONE?

Oh, Ron. DEAD. You cool, cool kid.

Please review faster!

Author's Response: Clearly our complacency as time went along shows.

I do think Ron got some good lines in this chapter.


 Report Review

Review #49, by water_lily43175 Revelations

17th June 2012:
Love McGonagall and Stubbs. LOVE THEM.

You know, it's really nice that FINALLY people other than Hermione (and Harry, I guess) recognise House Elves as more than just servants. I mean, the DoM clearly know what they're dealing with here.

Ah, the birth of Roger. Yes.

The moustache still makes me chuckle.

I REALLY don't see why Trev didn't just go to Harry in the first place with his worry about the relics. I know he doesn't know him from Adam but Harry's one of the people who knows most about the relics, and is loyal to a fault. Then again, I suppose Trev might not necessarily know just how much Harry knows about the relics. Either way, if you can't go to Harry Potter...

Author's Response: McGonagall and Stubbs continue to be just as entertaining in later chapters, I think.

Trevelyan was operating from a position of extreme paranoia, believing he couldn't even trust people in the DoM. Most of the people in his team he trusts he's just FORCED to trust, because they were assigned and he had to take the plunge. This is also an aspect of him being a former ex-pat - although he intellectually recognises the heroism of Harry, he didn't live in Britain during Harry Potter Fever, so to speak, didn't have his name drummed into him in his youth, so not knowing the guy at all personally isn't countered by unshakable faith in the Myth of Harry. It's not a GOOD choice, but being backed up to a wall, he's not made some great choices. The guy IS a researcher, after all. Even trusting Hermione was a matter of necessity and, a bit, a failure of professionalism.

But certainly Renaissance is one of those stories where if people made less hasty errors the plot could have been over sooner. I just hope those errors prove believable!


 Report Review

Review #50, by water_lily43175 Confrontations

17th June 2012:
UNGH another one. WE ARE POTTYMOUTHS.

I have this hilarious image of a load of rampant House Elves chasing Godric Gryffindor across the moors with a bowl of trifle each. This could be another plot thread for Roger's story! I WILL NOT REST UNTIL THIS IS WRITTEN.

I seriously love the image of a load of House Elves charging out of the cave to help Hermione. It's probably up there with Kreacher and co charging out of the kitchens in DH. It doesn't beat the above though. Sorry.

Fair play, Burke really should have gone about things differently...

Author's Response: *hangs head in shame*

A lot of these ideas about the relics date back to when this was a flashback fic with Ron having visions of the life of Godric Gryffindor, and in the end I removed those and almost wrote a Founders' fic using them - but I consequently did a lot of work fleshing out the pre-Hogwarts wizarding world, and 'what exactly were House Elves like before their subjugation' was a matter of curiosity. Feral little blighters was the conclusion.

Burke could have gone about things differently. But being all secretive by nature doesn't do him much good. Don't RECRUIT people you don't have to involve in the conspiracy...


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>