Reading Reviews for Help Wanted
  
99 Reviews Found

Review #51, by GubraithianFire Liar, Liar, Table on Fire

31st July 2011:
SHE LET THE FRICKING TABLE ON FIRE.

I knew this already. I did. But, you know, now it's here and now I can review and help you beat me even more badly. And I don't think I've reviewed you before? Have I? Well anyway, now you can have one more from the infamous GUBBEHHH.

Except this review is a bit of a crappy one because all I'm going to say is AAAH SQUEEE FRANKIE YOU EEDJIT AND OMG MR. CONNORS CAN I MARRY YOU? I can't. I just can't. “Hardly. Nothing I haven’t seen before anyway. I was gay once. For a while.” Everyone except David’s mum stared at him and Mr. Connors had shrugged. “What? I went to uni just like anyone else.” I'll be your straight beard, Mr. Connors! I'll be your lover, Mr. Connors!

OR I can just be David's lover. I would like that as well. Who wouldn't like that? Certainly Frankie would like that hehehe. And OOH THE PLOT THICKENS~ Now she's broke! But can she stand to be in love with a man who thinks she's a man? I DUNNO BUT I GUESS WE'LL SEE.

Also, now that I'm Clemence and Gina is Lettie I can't stop seeing us just sitting there, bouncing and snarking forever, with you regaling us with stories about Czech drunks (which you haven't done yet but I assume you will soon because I think you're home today SO YAY).

Suitable blackmail material, no?♥

(ALSO FIRST REVIEW WHAT WHAAAT.)

Author's Response: ITS A GUBBY REVIEW OMGGG FANGIRL MOMENT AHHH

I will never, ever let the fact that she lit the table on fire go. I will use that joke until it is so dead and no one but me thinks it's funny anymore. Because i think it's hilarious.

EEDJIT IS EXACTLY WHAT SHE IS. A LOVABLE EEDJIT YES. Mr. Connors. hahaha, I was in such a dilemma about him, if you remember, about what he should be like. I'm really happy with how he turned out though :D

YESSS. Finally some plot! Poor Frankie, losing her job :(

haha, did we ever talk about those stories? I really don't remember and oh my god that shows how old this review is, I am ashamed of myself.

Thanks Gubby!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #52, by Bob The Irony of Closets and Curtains

22nd July 2011:
Funny story, enjoyed reading it, but prease update.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #53, by thelandbeforecookies The Irony of Closets and Curtains

14th July 2011:
DAVID, TSK TSK. GETTING FREAKY WITH YOUR NEW BOYFRIEND WHO'S ACTUALLY A GIRL. KEEP YOUR HANDS TO YOURSELF, BOY. WHAT WOULD UMMA SAY?

I hate that the dinner's put off until chapter 4, but the awkwardness with the shirt made up for it. Plus, the closet irony and the hypocrisy (DURR why can't I be that quick and snarky in RL? Doesn't have quite the same effect) and hiding from Frankie's mum and the bitterness of Clemence (HOOMG~ Paint chips~ That was my brother's response whenever he thought I was acting weird... not that I ever ate paint chips, though that might explain a few things) and the whole 'ohh hai dere, I'll just Floo my sexy self in, kthx'. I LOVE IT

UPDATE SOON, WOMAN. GODSPEED AND ALL ♥

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #54, by thelandbeforecookies A Deal with the Devil (...er, I mean, David)

14th July 2011:
WAIT MY DIP -

Snerkkk, clearly Frankie knows her priorities. Dip first (not cheese, mind you!) fake boyfriend later. I love Frankie. She's the best girl-guy ever and I am eagerly awaiting all the awkwardness and craziness that is to come - especially the dinner with Umma and David's sister! Will there ever be quite so much awkwardness in their household?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and thanks for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #55, by thelandbeforecookies Clandestine Food Shopping Can Cause Problems

14th July 2011:
HAI DERE GINA'S FRIEND~

So I was told this was the Coffee Prince-inspired (I really should finish it D:) fic by Gina and was like Coffe Prince, hhm? BROMANCE ♥ MUST READ. And here I am!

splinching accident during a high-speed Apparition chase-- LOVEE how you include little details like that and make it sound more... Wizarding and stuff.

and she waved him away with a manicured hand--- UMMA IS THE MOST KICKIN' UMMA OUT THERE - I LOVE HER ALREADY. How she shooed him away - how she caught him. HAA, David, YOU SHOULD BE AFRAID



Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it and thanks so much for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #56, by auma_auma Clandestine Food Shopping Can Cause Problems

2nd July 2011:
OMG!! You are a great writer :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you and thanks for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #57, by Im back Clandestine Food Shopping Can Cause Problems

9th June 2011:
Yep you're hearing from me, that was HILARIOUS! SO funny .. ahhh, excuse me I have to read the rest. Hope you update repeatedly between now and chapter 3. (Lol I can hope for miracles right?)

Author's Response: haha! I'm glad you liked it enough to continue reading and it is always good to know that my sad attempts at humor have made someone laugh :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #58, by Just Passing Through Clandestine Food Shopping Can Cause Problems

9th June 2011:
Not usually my kind of story, but then again I haven't read any of it yet. I'm reviewing to let you know I'm gonna give it a try because of your single line description. "Girls will be boys." I read and paused, then re-read it. Then started laughing my arse off. If its any good you'll be hearing from me again I'm sure.

Author's Response: I definitely felt like I had struck gold when I came up with that tagline, haha. Thanks for giving this a try and I hope you liked it!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #59, by potterhead The Irony of Closets and Curtains

5th June 2011:
wow, this story sounds great ! The plot and the characters are very original , it's refreshing to have OCs as main characters.
The writing is brilliant , I really can't wait to read more .
Hope you will update soon !

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so glad you liked this! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #60, by ericajen The Irony of Closets and Curtains

22nd May 2011:
Look at me, being a good reader and stuff. So much win for me right now.

Anyway, Annie, you know how much I adore your writings, it is no surprise that I am fangirling over this so much. This story is just so fun and so different from anything else on the archive. And the characters really bounce off the page... or the screen. David and Frankie are a lot of fun to read.

And. Also. The closet/curtain thing. Tehee. And the tucking in of the shirt. You weren't kidding about that (not that I ever doubted it. I wouldn't put something like that past you).

I know this is a sad review, but I'm a sad person. >.>

LOVE AND BUNNIES.

Author's Response: lol, toootally just got this mental image of Frankie coming flying out of your laptop screen and you just look horrified hahaha. In the non-literal way though, hearing that makes me happy :D

This is not a sad review! And you are not a sad person!

WE ARE BUDDIES 4 LYFE.


 Report Review

Review #61, by WitnesstoitAll The Irony of Closets and Curtains

21st May 2011:
Ah. I love them. I really do love them whether it's (M)Frankie and David or the real frankie and david... they're lovely. There was something caring about the shirt tucking and tie fixing... I'm with Josie. things are starting to look couple-ly. I really hope that David falls for man-frankie only to find out that she's a she. I cant wait to read the dinner scene!! I'm sure that it will be awesome. Oh and I was talking elsewhere while reading this and said that I couldn't read it straight through because I kept having to stop to laugh. REALLY funny. -note to self, don't read this fic in public- Here's my favorite line: There’s no dust! It’s not like it’s a sty in here. It’s perfectly clean!” Frankie heard him sniffle and rolled her eyes. “And I thought the irony of hiding in a closet might end up killing you." Priceless.

Anyways...lots of love.
Melissa

Author's Response: I know they're my OCs and I'm supposed to, but GAH, I SHIP FRANKIE/DAVID SO HARD. The more I write them, the better they seem to fit together. Of course, considering the situation they're in, things might not work out so well.

I don't know why, but I've always associated people fixing each other's clothes and ties and stuff as a very couple-ly thing to do. I wonder how much Jocelyn has caught on to whats going on though?

Haha, that line. David is such a priss sometimes; Frankie is good for him because she's not afraid to take him down a peg. She's ~plucky~ and stuff, lol.

Thanks for review dear!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #62, by WitnesstoitAll A Deal with the Devil (...er, I mean, David)

21st May 2011:
I just reread chapter one of this so that I can FINALLY get caught up with this gem of a fic.

Gahhh. I love the confusion. And the awkwardness and the whole premise of this story. Sorry for the short review... anxious to keep reading. Besides, you know I love this already.

-Melissa

Author's Response: Melll hi!

GOD THE WHOLE THING IS SO AWKWARD IT JUST MAKES MY SKIN ITCH THINKING ABOUT IT. David is lying to his mum about both having a date and apparently about being gay, while he's not really gay because his fake boyfriend is lying about being a guy.

LOVE YOU AND THIS AND EVERYTHING HEEE

Annie


 Report Review

Review #63, by wenderbender The Irony of Closets and Curtains

16th May 2011:
This is a great start! I'm impressed that even though both main characters are OCs they have real personality and interesting back stories. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's always good to hear that the characters I've created have some depth, haha. I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for you kind review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #64, by justonemorefic The Irony of Closets and Curtains

12th May 2011:
Well, I've already read this twice before so anything I say will probably be redundant, BUT STILL VERY DESERVING.

HELLO SEXY HALF-KOREAN MAN STEPPING OUT OF THE FIREPLACE. Why doesn't that ever happen to me? It never does why why why D:

Look! Me and Gubby! I can see the bitterness of Clemence just seep from the page.

CALM DOWN FRANKIE HE IS JUST PUTTING HIS HAND DOWN YOUR PANTS.

You got nom'd for multiple quotes from this chapter! 8D AND YOU KNOW MY FAV. Anything with hypocrisy gets my vote. Teehee, I really wish I could break that out in real life as smoothly as Frankie.


CLOSET IRONY.

HAIR SMELL.

SASSY UMMA.

SQUINTY EYED JOCELYN.



Author's Response: LOL GINA WHAT IS THIS REVIEW EVEN. HAHA ILY

It never happens to me either -michaelcerasadwalk- I must live vicariously through Frankie I guess...

Clemence is the must Gubby that Gubby ever Gubbied. And Lettie probably needs to be a little more cracky and less teenagey to really be you, but eh. She's 15.

HAND. TO. THE. PANTS. WAT DO.

You know, I actually have used that sort of quote in real life before, which is how I got the idea for that one, so, haha

THOSE ALL SOUND LIKE TRAILER HEADLINES HAHA

(H)

ANNIE


 Report Review

Review #65, by halfbreed The Irony of Closets and Curtains

6th May 2011:
I love this! I've actually been looking for this story since I saw the banner but forgot about it momentarily :P It's hilarious and all very believeable. Frankie's pretty much the most amazing character ever. Your whole theme is awesome, and you develop it really well.

Thanks for the fantastic read! I'll be looking out for the next chapter!

Author's Response: The banner is so wonderful! I'm pleased it caught your eye enough for you to want to read :D

Frankie is definitely fun, and she's in for a lot of misunderstandings, I think!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

annie


 Report Review

Review #66, by aisneko The Irony of Closets and Curtains

1st May 2011:
I looove 'The First Shop of Coffee Prince'!!! Such a good drama... And I really like what you're doing with this story so far, changing it a little to fit the circumstances but keeping the plot essentials the same. Keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: Another Coffee Prince fan! It is one of my favorite dramas of all time! I really didn't want to copy the drama exactly, because if people wanted to read that, they should just go watch the original, but i hope I'll be able to put a new spin on the whole thing that people like!

Thanks for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #67, by FoundriaPenguin The Irony of Closets and Curtains

1st May 2011:
HAI DERE ANNIE :)

LOL DAVID STILL THINKS FRANKIE'S A GIRL. snerkkk. This was hilarious. I was getting worried about the lack of updates on this story ;) AND ZOMG jfoewjsdlzoeis I WAS MENTIONED *flails excitedly* Plus, you managed to spell my penname correctly, which is a very commendable feat. :)

AND TROLOL @ DAVID TRYING TO HELP FRANKIE TUCK HER SHIRT IN. Oh my goodness! "Sorry about her, she used to eat paint chips as a baby." LOL. Paint chips? I've never even seen them before but it sounds dangerous and toxic. :O

Poor Frankie. Ahh I can't wait to read what comes next! I hope your goldfish attention span widens to that of ...a whale? XD

--jordan ♥

Author's Response: HAI DERE JORDANNN.

So so SO sorry it's taken me ages to reply to this. My account was flipping out and not letting me post responses until like, yesterday.

Yes yes, this story is still in progress. I'm just lazier than you would ever believe. Been chipping away at chapter 4 for nearly 3 weeks now, haha.

OF COURSE YOU WERE MENTIONED. You're one of the best fangirls everrr. I didn't realize people had a hard time with your penname? It seemed easy enough to me?

DAVID. KEEP YOUR HANDS TO YOURSELF BOY. GETTING FRESH WITH YOUR FAKE BOYFRIEND WHO IS ACTUALLY A WOMAN. TSK TSK. Paint chips are just like, those bits of old peeling paint that comes off of really old walls sometimes. My brother ate some when he was little and I think it explains a lot.

Haha, a whale. Just know that I'm 2K into chapter 4! Thanks so much for your review Jordan! I really appreciate it!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #68, by Aiedail The Irony of Closets and Curtains

1st May 2011:
so basically, you know how i feel about this. one, creepy that he put his hand down her pants. two, so many questions about how the dinner actually went. three, the way that you write makes me wish to squeeze more words out of you so that i can know what happens next :P
i've told you this too, but i like how it switches to "he" when it's from David's pov, speaking about Frankie. Y U SO CLEVER ANNIE?
i love the sisters. they're evil and scheming but i also love them. i would like to understand how one is blond, but that is just me.
also, i would like to know if david puking has any significance greater than i, mere grasshopper, can tell at the moment.
jocelyn is so smart! i can't wait to see if she figures this out before david (though personally i'd like to just say that it seems like anyone and everyone might figure it out before him).


Author's Response: HANDS DOWN FRANKIES PANTS. IT HAPPENED. HE WENT THERE. BAD DAVID OMG. But you know, he's not gay at all. He does that to everyone, not just guys he barely knows that are actually girls but he doesn't know them well enough to know that she's not a guy sooo.

I debated for a long time how to deal with the pronouns. It's so much easier with Korean because they use pronouns much less frequently, so even when other people are talking about the person in question, their gender can remain a bit more ambiguous.

LOL, Lettie can be blonde because she and Clemence are only Frankie's half-sisters, haha. I haven't mentioned that yet because it isn't very important besides the fact that they are much younger than Frankie.

There's nothing much important about the fact that Apparating makes David sick other than it just kind of... popped into my head as i wrote the scene and also i needed them to use his car and of course, who would do that if they could Apparate places? And so. That is why.

David is a teeny bit slow, but you know how it is, you see what you want to.

THANKS LOLY (H)

Annie


 Report Review

Review #69, by Snapdragons The Irony of Closets and Curtains

30th April 2011:
I have to say that I love Lottie and Clemence so far. :) Nice save, Clemence! Also, surprised that David didn't catch on to the "it's HER favorite". Oh well. I guess we hear what we want to?

Looking forward to seeing more of Jocelyn (and, of course, David's mum!). I think it really would be funny if Jocelyn figured it out before David. :P

But they actually look like a couple, eh? ;) Interesting... *coughs* Anyways, wonderful chapter! :) I love this story so far.

Author's Response: DDD: I TOTALLY HAD TO GO BACK AND FIX THAT AND THEN MAKE A FACE AT MY BETA FOR NOT SEEING IT. Toootally wasn't supposed to say 'her'. Thanks for pointing it out!

Umma is definitely around in the next chapter and you can bet that she and Jocelyn are out to cause some trouble! Thanks for reading!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #70, by VioletBlade The Irony of Closets and Curtains

30th April 2011:
Oh, wonderful, you finally updated this! I had been looking for this story for forever, thinking I must have missed when the chapter came through, but couldn't remember the title/your pen name for the life of me. All shall be fixed when I favorite this :) And I truly mean that. This is one of my favorite fics out there, it's pure brillance. I haven't read many OC/OC ships that are as funny, well thought out, and interesting as this one. Besides that the idea is so original! And your writing style always wants to make me keep reading :)

I laughed all throughout this chapter, from the sisters' characterizations to the scene where Frankie has to... hide she's a woman, to keeping David out of her room, to that hilarious line, "I thought the irony of us hiding in a closet might end up killing you." Loved that line, it was my favorite throughout the chapter. Anyway, it's brilliant, and I can't wait to see what a disaster the dinner ends up being and if Jose finds out the truth! I think it would be extremely hilarious if she found out Frankie was actually a woman before David did :P Anyway, please update soon! (even though you just did)

~VioletBlade

Author's Response: I know it took a while for the update! But I'm so happy you were able to find this story again and that you like it so much! I was a bit wary of writing an oc/oc, but the story was stuck in my brain and I just had to go for it! I'm glad it works in spite of that :D

Clemence and Lettie were wonderful in that I had a very vague idea of them and then they just kind of wrote themselves. Their reactions all are very genuine because I don't really have to think before they say/do things on the page. Ah yes, the glamour. I need a substitute for wrapping her chest (though the image of Frankie trying to do that really quickly while David is waiting is pretty funny) and that was what I came up with! As for keeping David out, it always seems to me that whenever there is a boy over, every single piece of underwear I own has somehow ended up on the floor in plain view. So. I feel her pain haha.

Jocelyn is a sharp one! Who knows what she'll be able to figure out!

Thanks for reading!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #71, by grangergirl197 A Deal with the Devil (...er, I mean, David)

29th April 2011:
love the story line. very different :)
can't wait to see some mayhem... :D
awesome so far!

Author's Response: Definitely some mayhem! Maybe even some action and DEFINITELY some UST!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #72, by TallestTower Clandestine Food Shopping Can Cause Problems

20th March 2011:
Annie!! I'm sorry it took me forever to getting round to leaving you the requested review. Choose whatever sincere excuse you'd prefer and imagine I've written it here. Really though, I hope it wasn't too long a wait and I'm sorry :(

I loved the introduction of the characters! Particularly your characterization of David's Umma, she was perfect. Her mannerisms, her dialogue, her history - everything was brilliant. The description about the irritated chink of china introduced her so well too. She was hillarious. Oh god, I loved it in the supermarket (Oh I'm sorry. Grocery store. -bitter mumblings about Britishisms- Kidding!), her reaction to meeting Frankie... I could see the expression so well, just absolutely priceless...! One thing I would say is David called her mother a lot and then mum. While I like the use of Umma, and mother, I think your either a mother or a mum kind of person and she seemed like a mother to me. Just a personal opinion though... this is what happens when I have no useful CC to give... it's your fault for being too good. Stupid talent. I hope you feel guilty now! ;)

The super-grocery-market-shop-store (who said I can't compromise?) was written perfectly. The confusion of Frankie and the embarresment of David didn't actually make the scene any less clear for the reader. I really love the concept, I've personally never read a fanfic like it before (and can't wait to read on). I didn't find the scene difficult to follow at all, only hillarious.

Brilliant first chapter. You gave the reader enough information about David without unleashing his life story, and I really liked his relationship with his Mum. Great plot development with the introduction of Frankie too, can't wait to learn more!

The comedy, the characterization and not to mention your spot on descriptions made this an absolute pleasure to read. Really lovely! Sorry again for the wait xx

Author's Response: Helena!! I had this uber long response all typed up like a month ago and THEN HPFF ATE IT and wouldn't let me reply to any reviews until yesterday -__- However, I can't begin to tell you how sorry I am that it's taken me this long to reply to this review. A thousand apologies.

I've been so surprised at how much people like David's Umma. She's such a fox and man, she is really going to make things difficult for David I think. Mothers always do, in their helpful way, don't they?

As for the Britishisms, I will never forget how weird I thought it was that Rachel called grocery shopping "food shopping" because I had never heard that before in my life. Weirdos, that's all I have to say, haha. The mum/mother thing: the reason I switch is more for narrative purposes, because the story is in an alternating third-person limited style, but I do understand what you mean. The sticking point is that David is neither a mum or a mother person. He's an Umma person, and I tried to use that in the narrative, but it sounded silly, so I was left waffling around with mum/mother. But I'll definitely keep working with it and see what ends up working best.

I SHALL NOW CALL ALL GROCERIES SUPER-GROCERY-MARKET-SHOP-STORES. Also, thank god the scene was readable. I struggled with it like you wouldn't believe and tried it about a hundred different ways, so I'm really relieved to hear that.

I'm so so happy you enjoyed this and please accept my copious apologies for the lateness of my reply. I am going to be irresponsible and blame technology.

Thanks again!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #73, by justonemorefic A Deal with the Devil (...er, I mean, David)

15th March 2011:
MY DIP. BUT MY DIP.

Oh David. Your lightbulb is the bulb of plot and bad ideas. (Like the one in my head. But with decidedly less gay involved.) YOUR PROBLEMS CAN ONLY BE SOLVED WITH A PRETEND BOYFRIEND DAVID. THIS IS WHAT YOUR LIFE HAS SPIRALED DOWN INTO. Okay, so my review is getting a tad random. But this is because you already know I think everything is awesomes ♥

"tried to decide whether he was having a brainwave or an aneurism" Close cousins, Frankie. Close cousins.

J.P.P.P.P. HIM FRANKIE. J.P.P.P.P.~

Teehee, alright, I'll stop embarrassing myself now. SEE YOU ON SKYPE.

Author's Response: TAKE MY EYES BUT NOT THE DIP. Frankie is a girl with good priorities, as you can see. Dip first, fake gay boyfriend second.

I always write the parts where David is thinking "this is so ridiculous. How did I get here?" and go LOOK AT YOUR LIFE. LOOK AT YOUR CHOICES. Because every boy that is pretending to be a homosexual needs a sassy gay friend.

YOU ARE LOVE AND I LOVE YOU.

Annie


 Report Review

Review #74, by marauderly izzy A Deal with the Devil (...er, I mean, David)

13th March 2011:
Hilarious! xD Can't wait for more. I sooo badly wanna see what happens... oh man, poor David. :P I don't know what the heck I'd do in his position.
Awesome. Keep it up =D

Author's Response: Haha, David has certainly gotten himself into a tight spot, but it just goes to show, lying to your mum is BAD, haha.

I'm happy you enjoyed this and thanks so much for your kind review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #75, by Aderyn A Deal with the Devil (...er, I mean, David)

13th March 2011:
My, I don't envy David or Frankie right now. Poor David keeps saying the wrong things. And I'm a bit surprised that Frankie thinks she can keep pretending she's a guy (but that could work :) ) I definitely think that catastrophe is inevitable, even if the degree of said catastrophe is subject to change. The dinner, well, that'll be awkward for sure... I think it'll get that far, but I don't think that by that point David or Frankie will be able to stand each other.

Anyways, those are just my predictions. :) I'd much rather see what you write, Annie!

Author's Response: Their situation is certainly a difficult one, but it is their own doing! I think Frankie assumes she can keep pretending to be a guy because she's been mistaken for one her whole life. If she can be thought of one without even trying, it should be pretty easy, right?

The dinner, hahaha. You are certainly right about it being a catastrophe, but perhaps in different ways that you might think :) David and Frankie do have issues getting along, but it might not be that way for long!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Annie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>