249 Reviews Found

Review #26, by myhorserockyrocks Secret of the Shack

9th February 2014:
Great chapter!! Can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by a fan Secret of the Shack

8th February 2014:
I enjoyed this chapter. I have to say all of your characters are interesting. The one I am most interested in is Kaden. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you like the characters! Kaden is really fun to write about. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by MargaretLane Secret of the Shack

8th February 2014:
*laughs at McGonagall passing people in Divination just because she thinks the subject is stupid* I can totally see her doing that.

I'm looking forward to seeing how your characters do on their O.W.L.S. You are lucky not to have had a long wait for exam results. Here, we do the Leaving in June, get our results mid-August and our college offers the following week. That last week is scariest of all, if you are borderline, because you never know in advance exactly what grades you'll need. It depends on how everybody else applying for the course has done. You can guess in or around, based on what it is most years, but sometimes if a course has got a lot of publicity or if the places on it have been increased, there can be a significant change. I guess it's not QUITE as scary for your characters yet, as they still have another two years before starting their careers, so it's not like "next week I'll find out what I'll be doing from next month", and they have time to rethink if they don't do as well as they'd hoped, but still, pretty scary.

I'm also really looking forward to seeing them choose their N.E.W.T.S subjects, though I guess that's related. I know I've a while to wait though.

And yeah, predicting the examiner's death could just count against you.

LOVE the line about Matt going as white as Nearly-Headless Nick. I wish I'd thought of that one!

When JOHN starts telling you to be more careful, it's a good idea to stop and rethink your actions, I think!

Good on Amanda. I think she's right.

And even KADEN isn't enthusiastic about it. Given how nosy he can be, that says a lot.

I like the fact that Matt is leading the adventure for once. He's usually about the most cautious of the foursome, so it's interesting to see another side to him.

I think you might have meant "extinguish your wands" and not "distinguish"?

Yi-i-ikes, when you hinted there could be another werewolf in this story, I thought about Professor Burke and I thought about Elsie, but it never occurred to me the person hiding in the Shrieking Shack could be one.

And this means that both Youngs could be innocent. It's also possible that the DNA found could be from the hair or whatever Boone is using to add to the potion as you need part of the person you are turning into. I'd forgotten that until now.

Author's Response: I'm looking forward to writing their O.W.L. results! Still haven't decided on everyone's marks, but I've got time. I think in some ways their N.E.W.T. results will be scarier because they'll have their careers picked out and if they fail a N.E.W.T. they might have to change course. I haven't decided on their N.E.W.T. courses yet either.

Yeah, if John thinks it's a stupid idea, it's probably a stupid idea. He's usually up for anything. But John and Kaden are loyal, so they'll go, as will Albus.

I figured it was about time for Matt to take charge and demonstrate why he's in Gryffindor. Even the shy, quiet ones have their moments.

Thanks for pointing out the typo.

Oo, Elsie as a werewolf! That'd be interesting. It would explain some of her oddities. You'll get more answers about the Boone/Young dynamic in the next chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by draco_lover12 Secret of the Shack

8th February 2014:
I think, no know, Stuart killed Michael and maybe the Quidditch player, too.

Author's Response: It's possible. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by ngayonatkailanman Secret of the Shack

8th February 2014:
Aw. Poor poor werewolf. Bless him. Hopefully, Mr. Eckerton will be able to provide help through his office. Poor Matt.

Author's Response: He's had a rough life. Werewolf Support Services could help him, but now he'll face charges for identity theft. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Liana Secret of the Shack

8th February 2014:
I don't think you're sorry about the cliffhanger at all:D Is this a case of the answer to the mystery being so obvious that you can't see it? I wonder if Young will be proved innocent. Why would Boone choose Young as the person he wanted to resemble. So many questions as we get to the end of the story.

Author's Response: Nope, not really. :P The answer to the mystery isn't as simple as you'd think... There is still more to reveal. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by myhorserockyrocks O.W.L.s

4th February 2014:
Great chapter!! Can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: Very happy you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Liana O.W.L.s

2nd February 2014:
How scary to be sentenced to Azkaban when there still seems to be doubt about your guilt. The Wizengamot is no better than our justice system--corrupt. You'd think that with magic they'd somehow have more accurate convictions.

Author's Response: Very scary, indeed, especially since the dementors are back. The wizengamot is very corrupt at the moment, though hopefully not for long. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by ngayonatkailanman O.W.L.s

31st January 2014:
Wow. You really know what exams mean. Very descriptive.

Author's Response: Haha, well, I've taken many of them. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by MargaretLane O.W.L.s

31st January 2014:
Love the fact that Professor McGonagall and Professor Flitwick are examiners. That makes sense. I'M actually an Examiner myself. I don't go around to schools, but I correct the Junior Cert. History exams.

I really like the way you show the importance of the exams here. Stories sometimes gloss over the actual academic part of school.

Oh gosh, the waiting is awful. I didn't have any practical exams but I had Irish and German orals and I remember overhearing the person before me in German being asked their favourite period of history and anxiously trying to figure out how to say "when de Valera was Taoiseach" in German, before giving up and just figuring I'd just say the Second World War, which I actually knew the German for. I'd be like Albus; I'd prefer go first and get it over with.

When the bang went off, I thought for a moment it was going to be something serious, like the murderer or something.

And poor Garth. He must be feeling pretty dispirited.

And poor Matt. He seems to be taking everything rather badly. He does have a lot to deal with.

Yikes, I didn't expect things to end like that with Young. I wonder if something will happen to indicate the true murderer before this story is finished or if it'll be an ongoing mystery into year six. I think you'll probably give us a solution in this one though.

Hmm, I wonder if McGonagall knows, or suspects something or if she just doubts the verdict because there are a few questions to be answered, like how he was supervising Cedric's detention at the time.

Author's Response: I can't see Flitwick and McGonagall sitting around doing nothing after retiring, so I figured becoming examiners would be a good career choice.

I hate when stories just pass over the school stuff. Hogwarts is first and foremost a school, so academics should play a big role in stories.

Luckily I never had to wait very long for results. Regents results were always out within days and computer based testing has immediate scores. I had to wait a while for my AP and SAT scores, though. I wasn't too worried about either of those.

Haha, I gave many fake answers in my French orals in high school. It was just easier and it's not like the teacher could accuse you of lying if you said your favorite color was blue instead of pink.

Murder during an exam! Now that would be interesting. My high school had a bomb threat during an AP exam I was sitting once. They had to bus us up to the middle school to finish it.

Well, there are still a few chapters left, so you'll see! McGonagall just doubts the verdict. She believes Cedric. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by myhorserockyrocks The Mystery Potion

27th January 2014:
Great chapter!! Can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Liana The Mystery Potion

27th January 2014:
I have always thought that mandrakes were strange plants. Harvesting them seems gross. They seem human because they scream and then they have to be chopped up. It's just weird. Can you believe you've come this far wih your Albus stories? I'm happy you've kept writing them. I noticed that Burke didn't give a name to his disease. I have an odd feeling that Young didn't murder anyone.

Author's Response: I've thought that, too. It was really weird writing about harvesting them, but it's got to be done. It's strange to think about how long it's taken me to write them and how far I've gotten. No, Burke didn't want to reveal exactly what his disease is. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Karou_Marauder Arrested

25th January 2014:
Hi there!

Your stories are always really good. One thing only: when Albus was talking to Cedric and he didn't mention Matt's hearing and the charm, you spelt it Interperbabble Charm. It's actually the Imperturbable Charm. :) Please keep writing!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you enjoy them. Thanks for pointing that out! :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by MargaretLane The Mystery Potion

25th January 2014:
*laughs* I'm not surprised they don't want to be the ones to actually knock on his door. I wouldn't either.

Hmm, I wonder if that part about Burke looking worse than Matt after a full moon is some kind of hint.

*laughs at Burke saying he's working on too many potions to die soon* It's not funny really; the whole thing is pretty sad, but it's just SO characteristic of him to be more concerned that if he dies, he won't be able to finish his work than about the pain or about missing out on seeing his grandnieces or nephews or whoever he's close to grow up or his family grieving when he dies.

I wonder what IS wrong with Burke. It sounds like something like motor neuron disease, although it doesn't seem to be as quick.

It makes a lot of sense that lycanthropy would have long-term effects. Yikes, it really is unpleasant isn't it? The attack itself, the pain every month, missing out on a couple of days each month as he recovers, the injuries from the wolf attacking itself, the stigma and the need to hide things from everybody and then the possible long term effects and the danger of early death.

Being a vampire crossed my mind for a second when he first mentioned that his condition was like Matt's, but then I realised he'd said it was something he would die of. Hmm, there's still a bit of a mystery as to exactly what's wrong with him.

*laughs at Madame Pomfrey raving about the exam system and stress* That comes up fairly regularly here and actually right now, our Minister for Education is trying to change the Junior Cert. so there'll be more ongoing assessment. That is good, but he also wants teachers to correct some of their own students' work, which creates a concern about conflict of interest and of course, the whole loss of anonymous marking. When I say "right now," I mean the Government was promising to increase training for teachers eight days ago. So Madame Pomfrey's rant is pretty timely to link with debate here.

*laughs at Johnson exaggerating his own heroics*

Maybe Harry'll go back and teach long term is Young doesn't return. After all, even if he is proven innocent, he's still a useless teacher. And with the way things are going in the Ministry and Auror department, Harry might be glad of a break from it.

I would be terrified of harvesting mandrakes. Like if somebody took off their earmuffs, they could be killed by the cries of the mandrake. And I'd be even more terrified of being the teacher in a class like that, because, yikes, there's bound to be some students you couldn't trust to be responsible. Teaching at Hogwarts must be pretty scary actually, as there are so many ways a student could be killed. It always reminds me of this time we were studying the Lowell mills in history in college and our lecturer was talking about all the injuries and stuff that took place and said something, "imagine if ye wrote home to your parents telling them people were injured or killed in accidents here regularly". Hogwarts students must basically be doing that.

Yikes, only four more chapters and there is still so much to happen - the exam results, solving the murders, possibly finding out what is wrong with Burke, although it looks like he'll be back the following year, so we may not find out until then.

I wasn't really expecting that, to be honest. For some reason, I thought he'd be a "for one year only" character. I guess I thought he'd either want to get back to his brewing or else that his secret, whatever it was, might lead to him leaving.

Author's Response: Burke is definitely a workaholic, so dying would be a really big inconvenience for him. He doesn't have much family, so he doesn't particularly care about being around for them. No, just work. It is a neurological disease, sort of like parkinson's, but Burke isn't going to reveal what exactly it is.

Madam Pomfrey loves a good rant and exams are definitely a good topic for rants. They do more ongoing assessment in NY, but that has its drawbacks, too. Kids miss out on classroom time because they have to take so many tests.

Haha, yeah, Johnson likes to exaggerate his own heroics in order to look good in front of Laurentis. I've thought about Harry quitting the Auror department in order to teach full time, especially with Laurentis in charge, but haven't decided.

Hogwarts is definitely a dangerous place to go to school, isn't it? There are so many chances of dying on a daily basis, even from things as simple as going to class. I imagine some Muggleborns are pulled out of school after some of the shenanigans that happen.

Yep, it's almost over! I wasn't sure whether Burke would be a one year only teacher when I started this one, but I want to keep him around a little while longer. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Sophie The Mystery Potion

25th January 2014:
I have two theories about Young: 1 - identical twin (to explain the dual sighting); 2 - we finally know where that polyjuice that Burke been brewing is going. I don't necessarily suspect Burke. No...perhaps someone like Felix or the rest of that lot is using it to frame Young, or pass it on to the adults. Elsie didn't see Young at all, she was told to say that. With the "sighting" they knew who to look for, so they didn't question finding his DNA at the scene. Maybe it's a plot to make Johnson look good orchestrated by Laurentis?

Author's Response: Identical twin! That's a good theory. As for Burke's polyjuice, that's a good theory, too. All of your theories are good, but I can't comment on any of them. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by ngayonatkailanman The Mystery Potion

24th January 2014:
you have managed to make this chapter emotive... life, death, the desperate attempt to forestall death, egc... Well done, you.

Author's Response: Yep, lots of emotions in this chapter. And more to come! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Eliza Arrested

21st January 2014:
Thank you again, for a your awesome writing and chapters. I'm very curious about what's going to happen to Young and how it all turns out.

I'm glad Matt finally told them about their problems. Poor Matt. I know what's it's like to have PTSD and anxiety problems and it's just very tiring, because you're aware that your reactions are sometimes unnecessary, but you can't do anything about it. So I'm glad he has some other people to support him with his panic attacks now.

Your next update will come on my birthday, which is awesome, because I've been following your stories for over 1,5 to 2 years now :D Yay! But my birthday will be over by the time you post the chapter (because I live in Europe) and thus, I will have a nice post-birthday present :D

Author's Response: Aw, you're welcome! I'm very glad you've been enjoying the story. Matt finally realized that he needed to trust his friends with this particular secret, and that they'd be able to help. They'll be very supportive.

Happy Birthday! It's still your birthday here, so it still counts. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by myhorserockyrocks Arrested

18th January 2014:
Great chapter!! Can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Liana Arrested

18th January 2014:
The situation wih Young is very interesting. I am so curious about who actually committed the murders. Students always know what is going on so I tend to believe Albus and friends.

Author's Response: It is indeed! Haha, weird how the students always seem to know more than the adults. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by MargaretLane Arrested

17th January 2014:
I'm reading this now to procrastinate doing any writing myself. *laughs* Your title is intriguing. I'm guessing it's Young they think is about to be arrested.

That's interesting about panic attacks. Gosh, between the lycanthropy and the panic attacks, Matt must be constantly exhausted. And then studying for the O.W.L.S. on top of that!

Oh, I hope Burke comes back by the end of this chapter. I've a feeling you'll leave us hanging though, just because it seems like there's a lot to happen in this chapter already.

*laughs* Of course Harry knows his kids have access to the Invisibility Cloak. And he also knows how much HE managed to overhear as a kid.

One thing I noticed was that Albus said, "I can still HERE them mumbling."

And that didn't occur to me about Matt.

Yikes, if they've found DNA evidence, it seems rather unlikely the person Elsie saw was just Polyjuiced as Young. I didn't expect that. I'm now wondering if he's actually guilty or if more will emerge. I kind of imagine more will emerge either way.

*laughs at Rose saying Young's too lazy to do a murder* I'm inclined to agree with her. And now, I'm convinced he's innocent. Otherwise I don't think you'd get us all thinking there's some big frame-up going on.

And Burke is back, but we still have to wait to actually find out anything. Oh well, there was plenty else happening in this chapter. And we still have Burke's secret to look forward to. Whether or not he reveals it in the next chapter, which does seem a little unlikely.

Author's Response: Argh, typed out half this response and then Chrome decided to delete the whole thing. Let's see if I remember what I said.

I do that, too! I love writing, but I'm such a procrastinator.

Matt is definitely exhausted. He'll be happy when summer comes. All the fifth years will be, but Matt has had a more tiring year than the rest of them. No wonder Harry was so emotional in Order of the Phoenix. He had even more on his plate.

Harry, unlike Johnson, hasn't forgotten what it's like to be a Hogwarts student. Johnson never would've thought to use a charm on the door. But even Harry didn't think Matt would still be able to hear everything.

Thanks for pointing out the typo!

DNA evidence does make the polyjuice theory seem less plausible, but don't count out any theories yet. The story isn't over. But more will definitely emerge.

Haha, I loved writing that line! Murder, as awful as it is, does require a bit of effort.

Burke is indeed back! There will be plenty more in the next chapter, which I'm off to post now. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Liana Explanations

12th January 2014:
Poor Matt. He's so brave. A lot of other people would've given up by now. I can understand why he has panic attacks. I'm surprised he did't have them earlier. His werewolf transformations are predictable but those anxiety attacks come whenever they feel like it. That makes his life even more stressful.

Author's Response: He did have them earlier, prior to going to Hogwarts, but they subsided for a while. His life is quite stressful, and this certainly doesn't help. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by HPFAN Explanations

11th January 2014:
This was a particularly good chapter from you. Your writing style seems to really show itself when your write about more personal aspects of the characters life. Matt is a great character to focus on, especially now when all thats really going on in the story is studying. Good work. I can't wait to see how this year ends.

Author's Response: I much prefer to write about personal aspects of the characters' lives, rather than the action, so that's probably why it's better. I love focusing on Matt, because he has so many issues. So many things to explore! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by MargaretLane Explanations

11th January 2014:
Yikes, trying to learn new material while revising the old. Not fun. I've been through that for the Junior and the Leaving.


We're lucky in that nothing really "happens" if we fail a subject in the Junior Cert., although you might be discouraged from taking it for the Leaving if it's an optional one. For the Leaving, you can repeat the year, and the exam at the end of it if you don't get the grades for whatever course you wanted.

And Young still isn't taking things seriously. I really shouldn't be surprised.

*grins* I'm not at all surprised Matt couldn't sit the exam at a separate time. That's the rule here too, although an exception was made once a couple of years back when there was a leak and they had to postpone an exam to the following Saturday, so some Orthodox Jews got an exemption to sit the exam the following day and the rabbi supervised them in his home the day of the exam to ensure they couldn't get access to any information on it. But that was a very exceptional case, when there was a mistake in the administration of the exam. I'm not surprised things are the same at Hogwarts as the same danger of information leaking out would apply. Although I suppose they could use a spell to ensure nobody could tell Matt what was on the paper.

I have a good deal of sympathy for that werewolf, at least assuming it was a genuine accident. Accidents do happen and while he should have taken better precautions, well, prison seems a rather harsh punishment for a mistake.

Matt's issues do fit together. It's hardly surprising that what happened to them in 3rd year would bring back memories of the past trauma.

One thing I've noticed, you've written Matt has been through more than "wizards twice you're age" instead of "your age."

Yikes, it never occurred to me that the potion could be connected to the panic attacks and not the lycanthropy.

And it definitely seems like Matt probably wouldn't be suffering anxiety and panic attacks if it wasn't for the lycanthropy. After all, he wouldn't have been targeted by Lubar in that case. Lycanthropy is really a series of traumas, isn't it? The attack itself, the transformations and then dealing with other people's prejudices and with the changes you need to make to your life. Hardly surprising he'd have emotional effects.

This is really what I wanted to know most - what was going on with Matt. I also want to know what's wrong with Burke, though. And the mystery potion, though I'm now wondering if that is the anxiety potion he was making for Matt. Strangely enough the murders are behind all those things on my list of things I'm curious about!

Author's Response: I remember doing that, too, when I took all of my Regents exams in high school. Not fun. But at least I never had to study more than two years' worth of material. Nothing really happens if you fail a Regents exam either. You just take it again the next time they're offered (June, August, and January). So not a huge deal.

There are all sorts of accommodations for exams here, in order to comply with IEPs and 504 education plans. But Hogwarts strikes me as old fashioned, so I can't imagine they make many accommodations (even if they're needed).

It was a genuine accident that that werewolf bit Matt. He should've locked himself up better, but he didn't. It wasn't intentional. (And he actually makes an appearance in Beyond the Shadow, so if you want to read more about him, read that.)

It would've been hard to believe if what happened in third year didn't bring back Matt's past trauma. The others got over it pretty easily, but Matt didn't. And he hid it.

Thanks for pointing that out! I fixed it. Wrong use of 'your/you're' is my biggest pet peeve. I'm surprised I didn't catch that on editing.

Matt's lycanthropy is what brought upon the anxiety and panic attacks. Obviously, it can't be proven, but most likely it's true. Most of his anxieties stem from his lycanthropy, and he wouldn't have suffered PTSD if it weren't for Lubar.

You'll find out more about Burke later! I won't leave that mystery unsolved. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by ngayonatkailanman Explanations

11th January 2014:
At last. Finally, we know what is bothering Matt. The poor thing. love the fact that Al told Matt he is stronger for going through so much than most.

Author's Response: Yep, it's finally been revealed! Al is such a great friend to him. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by myhorserockyrocks Explanations

10th January 2014:
Great chapter!! I can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>