Reading Reviews for Between Here and Somewhere
  
108 Reviews Found

Review #51, by pennyardelle Dementors

1st October 2012:
So much irony (or something) in this line: "Makes you almost feel bad for the prisoners in Azkaban." Poor Sirius!

This was a really interesting chapter! It made me think a lot about Harry and Remus' Patronus lessons later on, and how you gave Remus personal experience that probably helped him teach Harry. It was a good tie-in to the books.

I also liked the part where you mentioned Remus getting irritated with James' bragging. It showed a different side of the Marauders than usual--yes, they are human, and so they get annoyed with each other sometimes.

And I'm very excited to see the first real introduction to Adeline! I could absolutely see the similarities between her and Luna, and I can see why Remus would appreciate her personality.

Author's Response: Yes! I love that line, just for the irony. There are a few lines in this that are quite ironic, given how things turned out.

I'm so glad you got the connection between the patronus lessons in this and those in the Potter books. That's totally where Remus got the idea from, for Harry. And his teaching style in general is quite similar to Banks's, just because he had such an effect on Remus.

Yep, they're friends, but even friends can get annoyed with each other. I'm glad you can see the similarities between Addy and Luna. Writing Luna is quite difficult, so writing her mum was even harder. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #52, by pennyardelle Patronuses

30th September 2012:
I didn't expect Remus to tell Luna that he knew her mother--I thought he was going to be all closed-off and guarded about it, but it's really nice that they can bond over that. And...I can't help but notice the connection between Luna's name and Remus' lycanthropy. Coincidence, or something more? Hmm... :P

I always find it so difficult to think up Patronus forms for characters when we don't already know them, but I thought it was cute that Alice's was a duck! I also found it really interesting that you talked about the contradiction between Remus' Patronus form and his lycanthropy--it's so true, but I never considered that before.

Also, the imagery in that paragraph describing the Hogwarts grounds on the full moon was really vivid. I loved all of the sounds you incorporated, and just based on those, I could picture the scene perfectly.

Another great chapter! I will be back as soon as I can to review more!

Author's Response: Normally Remus would be very closed-off about that sort of thing, but he was caught very off-guard by Luna and his defenses were down. They will definitely bond over it. As for Luna's name...not mentioning that right now. ;)

I'm really glad you like Alice's patronus! My own patronus would be a duck, so I wanted to give one of the characters that patronus. Remus's patronus confused me in the books, for the very reasons that I listed in the story. But at the same time it makes sense, since the wolf is as much a part of him as his human side.

I'm glad you liked the description! Description is my weakness, so that means a lot. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #53, by pennyardelle Appointments

30th September 2012:
Oh no! That 1993 section broke my heart! Poor Remus, finding out about Adeline like that. And of course, you went and ended it on that note, so we have to wait til the next chapter to get his reaction. Gah.

Anyway, sorry I haven't been back to review in a bit, but I've been meaning to!

I've never seen a story that explores the side-effects of Remus' lycanthropy so thoroughly. I think everyone (myself included) kind of takes the Wolfsbane Potion for granted, and doesn't think about the fact that it didn't exist when he was a teenager. Given how ill and exhausted he was even with the potion, as an adult, it seems to only make sense that he would have had a far worse time without it.

I loved that Sirius told James about the Auror test, even though he wasn't supposed to. :P And I have this sneaking suspicion that some of them aren't going to get into Auror training, which will make for a very interesting group dynamic.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: It was so sad writing that part! But I had to have him find out somehow. And I always imagined him very lost in the time between James & Lily's deaths and PoA. Hehe, sorry about the cliffy!

That's okay! Completely understand.

Most stories I read seem to glance over the bad aspects of lycanthropy, but it's always been something that's greatly interested me. My other stories delve into it even more. He must've been awfully ill without the potion, though, so I didn't want to glaze over it.

Writing Sirius is so much fun! He's never been one for rules, so of course he'd tell James about the test. As for who will get in...you'll have to wait and see! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #54, by Liana Hope

29th September 2012:
Remus does seem like he'd be a good teacher. I don't think he'd like tutoring a pureblood student though. I wonder if they have a YMCA or YWCA or Boys and Girls Club for wizards where he could tutor. Does Luna know at this time that Remus is a werewolf? Is that part of his stories about Addie? Is Addie's brother a member of the Order of the Phoenix? I know, keep reading:D. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Remus is such a good teacher. As for his tutoring...nothing's set in stone as of yet. I don't know if they have a YMCA for wizards, or even one in the UK for that matter. You'll find out at the end whether Luna knows that Remus is a werewolf. And I can't reveal whether Addy's brother is a part of the OotP yet. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #55, by Jen Hope

26th September 2012:
Absolutely loved this chapter. Remus's story has always torn at my heart - such a beautiful man.

Thanks :)

Author's Response: I adore Remus's story. It's one of my favorite, if not my absolute favorite, back stories of the Harry Potter books. I'm glad you like the chapter! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #56, by Liana Other Options

23rd September 2012:
I'd like to nominate this story but I'm afraid of screwing something up. Maybe I'll bite the bullet and nominate and hope it works out. Anyway, I loved this chapter. I can see how those six who were accepted would be a little cocky but at the same time have to tone down their celebratory feelings because of Lily. I wonder why Lily didn't get in. She's the one who made the ultimate sacrifice for Harry so she was certainly brave enough. Wish me luck in the forums:D

Author's Response: Well, nominations have now closed, so it's a bit too late. But Beyond the Shadow got nominated so it'll be up for voting when voting starts! Keep an eye out on the forums for that. I'm glad you liked the chapter! There isn't a specific reason why Lily didn't get in. Moody is finicky about who he accepts and there was probably something about her that he sensed. But she'll be fine. She certainly is brave. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #57, by Love is a Mix Tape Other Options

18th September 2012:
I really enjoy the concept of this story and how it's sole purpose is not a love story but a story about Remus' life past and present. I also love Luna. She's written so well and is every bit true to the original character Rowling created.

Lovely. Truly lovely.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like it! So many Marauder stories focus on romance and I just don't think that's really what the Marauders would've been focusing on during a war. Aww, I'm glad you like Luna! I do worry about doing her justice. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #58, by Em Lunar Christmas

16th September 2012:
Great story! Update soon! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #59, by Liana Lunar Christmas

15th September 2012:
I hope that Remus feels better knowing his family supports him. I'm sure that anyone with a disability knows how Remus feels. There are so many things I'd like to do but I just can't right now. Hopefully, I'll be able to get around better after I have knee surgery but there are no guarantees. Remus is such a remarkable character. I hope you tell us Addy's story at some point. How did she end up with Xeno. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Remus feels much better knowing his family supports him. He knows he's lucky that way, especially considering Sirius doesn't have a supportive family. I hope you're able to get around better after your surgery, too! I never considered telling Addy's story, but perhaps I'll do a one-shot of her and Xeno after I write this. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #60, by pennyardelle Letters

14th September 2012:
You manage to capture the essence of life at Hogwarts really, really well. It's refreshing to read a story where the characters actually care about their classes (Remus being worried that he'll fall behind) and where they have real relationships with teachers and staff members (I thought it was nice to see Madam Pomfrey treating Remus as her favourite student). Usually everyone's just concerned with Quidditch games and who's dating who. Combined with all the emphasis on Voldemort and the Death Eaters, it makes for a much more serious, engaging Marauders story than most out there.

I really do like the way you switch between time periods just briefly at the start of each chapter, too. Great work! Shall be back for more soon...

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the classes! They're seventh years, so they're all very worried about their N.E.W.T.s, despite Voldemort looming overhead. They need to do well.

I love Madam Pomfrey. I have a few one-shots about her up, since I find her character very interesting. I always thought she and Remus would've developed a good relationship, considering how often he would've been in to see her.

There won't be any Quidditch in this. I mention it, but I don't describe any matches. It's just not relevant to the plot. As for who's dating whom, there's not much of that either.

I'm glad you like the time period switches! I was a bit worried that they'd be confusing. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #61, by pennyardelle New Recruits

13th September 2012:
I really liked that part about Remus being able to tell when people were watching him--I never personally assign any extra abilities to him in my head because of his lycanthropy, but that is completely realistic and makes me wish I had thought of it. :P

The new Defense teacher seems very interesting; I liked his start to the class, and of course, it's always nice to see someone treating Remus fairly.

Author's Response: Over the years of writing werewolves (because let's be honest, most of my fics have werewolves in them), I've given them a few differences, such as the overly sensitive hearing and the sixth sense about people watching them. It just makes sense to me. But at the same time, they aren't crazy awesome abilities such as super strength (because when has Remus ever shown that in canon?). I'm glad you agree that it's realistic! Feel free to use it in your stories, because I definitely not the first to come up with it. :P

I almost went the route of the defense teacher hating werewolves, but I thought that was overdone. I'm glad you like Banks! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #62, by pennyardelle Death Eaters

13th September 2012:
Oh my gosh--what?! I started off reading the 1993 part, thinking, "Cool, we're getting a bit of insight into Remus looking back at his past," and then...whoa. I love that you revealed it now, too; it just pulled me right into the story even more, and now I really want to know how this all unfolds. (It's also a little bit of a relief for the pure fact that I now know that Remus and Adeline's relationship doesn't end because she gets killed by Voldemort, as happens with so many of the OCs that make up half of Remus/OC and Sirius/OC. :P)

Really liked all the Voldemort stuff in this chapter. It makes it obvious that this story isn't going to be focused solely on relationships and day-to-day life at Hogwarts.

All of your characters are really well-written so far. I like your James and Lily a lot; they're a nice change from the typical portrayals you find in a lot of other stories. They both seem very level-headed and down-to-earth.

Great work!

Author's Response: Hahaha! I love seeing how people react to the time flips. This story started out with a prologue of Remus looking back on his past, with Luna there, but then I realized that I wanted to tell a short story about Luna during Remus's time as a teacher, so I changed it. I'm glad you like it!

Ohh, no, Addy doesn't get killed by Voldemort. Nor do they break up because of Remus's lycanthropy (again, those are the two paths!). There's a whole other reason, that I'm just starting to write about toward the end of the story.

I love writing about the Voldemort stuff. I think that would've had a big impact on students in the Marauder era, and they certainly wouldn't be ignoring it.

I had James and Lily get together at the end of their sixth year, so that they'd be through their "honeymoon" period before their seventh year. This way they could be the stable, normal relationship, so I could focus on Remus and Addy. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #63, by pennyardelle Here

12th September 2012:
Duckie! I know I mentioned I wanted to read this at one point a while back, and here I am!

Ah, it's always so refreshing to find a well-written (and actually thought-out) Marauders story. I love that this is from Remus' perspective, too. It makes it fairly unique, and when I started reading it, I really did feel like it was fresh--which is not usually how I feel when I start reading a Marauders story. :P (Usually, I feel like it's a choose-your-own-adventure with about five predetermined paths. But not this one!)

I love the banter between the Marauders, too. The whole conversation about ghost vs. vampire was hilarious!

Okay, I'm going to keep reading and reviewing, because I like this a lot so far...I may be slow at times, but poke me in the staff chat if I get REALLY slow! :P

Author's Response: Aww, Penny! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this!

That's exactly what I was going for when I read this. There are so few good Marauders stories out there, so I wanted to write exactly what I like in a Marauders story. I'm so glad that you get that feel from this.

Haha, I totally feel the same way! There are two Marauders fics on this archive that I adore, but other than those, I completely agree about the predetermined paths. It means a lot that you think that mine doesn't fit that stereotype.

Remus is my favorite, so that's why I'm writing him. He's just so interesting! And there is so much you can do with his character, but it has to be done from his point of view. So glad you liked this!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #64, by Liana A Real Date

8th September 2012:
Remus is such an optimist and doesn't complain. I'm glad he's at least going home for the holiday. His romance is so cute. Now I'm wondering what goes wrong between Remus and Addy that makes her turn to Xeno. It's probably Remus' sense that he doesn't deserve anything good. Great chapter.

Author's Response: It really is amazing how optimistic he is, considering his background. His holiday at home will be good for him. It's actually not Remus's sense of not deserving anything good that breaks him and Addy up. You'll see at the end! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #65, by Mihali1432 Death Eaters

7th September 2012:
Hi there! I'm taking a break from some writing and stuff and decided to come read this little story that I've read chapter 1 of before and give you a nice little surprise of... REVIEWS! So yeah. xD

So, this was interesting, not to say the first wasn't but I think I quite liked this one more, since well... I dunno I just did. The inclusion of a meeting the first day of school because they *had* to know was a neat thing to do, since well, the did have to know and I figure Dumbledore would've warned them before hand. They wouldn't find everything from the Prophet would they? And the fact that Lily is terrified and no one just blew it off as something that wouldn't effect them is great! I seem to have an issue writing emotions correctly when it comes to something like this so I'm glad you can write it well :D

I'm really really interested now, so you'll probably see your review count kinda... shoot upwards a bit as I review this and... Catch up on other stories of yours that you know I've read... So yeah! I love it so far! :D

Mike.

Author's Response: Hii! I'm so glad you've been reading this!

I liked writing this chapter more than the first one, too, because of the Death Eater aspect. I think Dumbledore would've been very open with the Prefects about what was going on because he probably knew stuff would be censored in the Prophet.

I'm glad you liked Lily's reaction! So many people just write her as a fiery, flighty girl, but I think she would've been very quiet and scared her 7th year, just because of what was happening.

Thanks so much for leaving a review! And I'm very glad you like this story so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #66, by Liana Just Ask

1st September 2012:
That was so sweet. It's too bad that Remus spent most of his life with such low confidence because he was a werewolf. I think he would've been a lovely person to date. I noticed that Peter usually didn't have anyone to date so I don't know why he laughed. It's funny that among my friends, even at our ages, that we are sometimes nervous about sharing something because someone will laugh or have a strong opinion about what we did. It never ends. I'm so glad Remus asked Addy out. They both deserve happiness. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I think Remus would be a lovely person to date, too! But his bad self-esteem is really hurting him, now. Luckily he will get a bit better by the end of the story, in terms of self-esteem.

We know very little about Peter's dating life from canon. For all we know he did date people at Hogwarts, and I imagine he had a couple of brief flings. But mostly he was laughing because James and Sirius were laughing and he does whatever they do.

Nervous about other people's reactions, even friends, is something that never goes away, I think. It's part of human nature. Remus and Addy definitely both deserve happiness. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #67, by Jen Just Ask

28th August 2012:
Yay for Remus. :) I do so adore him.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like him! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #68, by Jchrissy New Recruits

28th August 2012:
Finally!!

First of all, after Remus's thoughts on Banks, I'm very curious as to what his deal is. It seems like it's just natural for there to be something wrong with DADA teachers, doesn't it?

I love the seriousness that is always cloaking Remus. Not in a depressing way, it just highlights that Remus is a serious character, and I think you do a great job of making that clear without it seeming out of place.

I loved the thoughts surrounding Lily and James. It's nice, too, how easy it was to feel Remus's happiness for the both of them. I also was really happy that you just had them sitting together and talking, it felt very right .

I hate how long it has taken me to get here! Rawr! Now wish Death Eater Juniors and creepy DADA teachers all intertwining, I feel like you're definitely leaving some pretty solid foreshadowing for us!

I can't wait to read the next!

Jami

Author's Response: Remus and his friends are naturally inclined to distrust the DADA teachers since there usually is something wrong with him. But maybe Banks is actually normal!

I always saw Remus as very serious, even when he was at Hogwarts. He dealt with a debilitating illness from young childhood onward, so I can't see him being your average teenager. I don't see any of the Marauders as average teenagers, though. I'm glad you like the way I write him!

I had James and Lily get together at the end of sixth year, so that by the time seventh year arrived they had worked through their "honeymoon" phase and them being together was just normal. That way I could focus on Remus. I'm glad you like them!

I'm so glad you've been enjoying the story! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #69, by Liana Corporeal

25th August 2012:
It's too bad Sirius didn't know that you shouldn't push someone into doing something they don't want to do. Peter could've felt pressured into patrolling and eventually turned to something that he thought would give him more power. It's not that hard to be a snitch compared to fighting. Yay for Remus for producing a strong Patronus. I liked that part the best. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Honestly, I think a lot of the reason why Peter went over to the Death Eaters is because he felt pressure from Sirius, James, and Remus to be something he wasn't. When he felt he was too in over his head and realized he was going to die, he switched in order to live. But that didn't quite work out. Peter isn't a fighter. I loved writing the part where Remus produced the awesome patronus. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #70, by Poppy Corporeal

24th August 2012:
I love this story and your take on Remus.
No idea where your going with this though :P

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! I love writing Remus. Well, it's the story of their 7th year, so it'll end with graduation. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #71, by Jen Corporeal

21st August 2012:
Nice chapter, thank you. This story always leaves me feeling all warm and happy :)

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad it does that! I have a feeling it won't always, though. After all, there is a war looming. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #72, by Liana Normal

18th August 2012:
I found it particularly funny that Addie memorized all of the information on her chocolate frog cards. It was also funny that Madam Pince yelled in the library for everyone to get out. I'm happy that Remus finally is feeling better. I hope that my leg is back up to 90% someday too. At least Remus will be able to help fight if the castle or surrounding area is attacked. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I loved coming up with that idea! I thought it was funny. I adore writing Madam Pince since she's such a 'classic librarian' and most librarians aren't like that at all anymore. I hope your leg is better one day, too! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #73, by Jen Normal

15th August 2012:
I really loved this chapter. More introspective than action based, but I like that side of Remus.
As always, thanks for sharing

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! There won't be many action chapters in this story. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #74, by Liana Fear

12th August 2012:
In this story, Remust strikes me as a quiet observer, watching everything and analyzing what's happening. It was funny when people said "even Peter Pettigrew" like they never expected him to do well and were surprised when he did. I'm wondering if you are going to be following all of the Harry Potter books and make references to them in the beginning of each chapter so we can keep in mind what's going on with Harry, et. al. at the same time we're following Remus and Luna and his stories of the past.. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I always saw Remus as very quiet, given both his personality and his lycanthropy. I do enjoy writing about Peter, even though he's one of my least favorite characters. He's such a follower.

I'm not going to be following all the Harry Potter books. I'll be sticking with Prisoner of Azkaban. This story is only a year long, so it won't work to follow more. There won't be many mentions of Harry since the point of this is to follow Remus and Luna. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #75, by Liana Attacks

11th August 2012:
I really like this story. It does seem like a quiet little story, though, that can go unnoticed. I don't know why. I always enjoy reading about the Marauders. This must've been a nerve shattering time for everyone. I can't imagine just sitting in my house and then having someone attack, for no apparent reason, although that happens in times of war. I think the pre-Hogwarts and next generation times are good to focus on when writing. JKR basically left that for all of her fans to think and write about. As always your characters are well written and the dialog is great. You can write in your own style but still make your characters so very different and individualized. Your Albus Potter is his own character as is your James Potter, Sr. I'm not sure if that's making sense but that's my philosophical thought for the evening:D

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the story! It's very different from other Marauder stories, because it's very focused on the war and the Marauders transitioning between school and the real world. I don't see many Marauders stories like that.

It must have been very scary for people in the time of the first war. I agree that those two eras are the best for writing. You're making sense! I'm glad you see the characters as all different. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>