Reading Reviews for Life Is Good
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Liana It's Only Getting Better

31st July 2009:
How funny--even an old wizard suffers from aches and pains. You did a good job of building up the excitement of John getting his Hogwarts letter. I could feel his excitement and then frustration of having to wait to go to Diagon Alley. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Yep, old wizards have aches and pains just like old Muggles. I'm glad you liked John's excitement and frustration. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Liana It's Not Something That She's Made Up In Her Head

31st July 2009:
That was a really good chapter. I don't know what I'd do if someone came and announed that one of my children was a witch or wizard. I think this is the first time someone's written about how muggle parents are informed--or the first time I've read anyway. Hagrid telling the Dursleys doesn't count. And you've also explained how some muggle parents end up in Diagon Alley. I always wondered how that happened.

Author's Response: I've always been interested in how the Muggle parents react. It's got to be so much of a shock for them. This was a really fun chapter to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Liana But He Knows That It's Going to Be All Right

31st July 2009:
I can see I should've read this short book first. Then I would've known for sure that Matt was a werewolf. But sometimes it's not clear what to read first. Anyway, this was wonderful. Does Amy know at this point that Teddy Lupin's dad was a werewolf? I mean, she's friends with Victoire.

Author's Response: Then that part of Secrets Within would've been spoiled. Amy does know that Teddy's dad is a werewolf. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by Liana I Think I'm Holding Out for Something More

30th July 2009:
Well, that was wonderful. I just got a happy, excited feeling after reading this chapter. To be honest, I wasn't that excited about this short book but I thought I should've read it before I read your longer novel about Albus' first year. So we're off to a good start.

Author's Response: I wrote this long after I finished writing Secrets Within. The reason it's best to read Secrets Within first is because there are spoilers for it in this. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by phoenixy_friend I Start My Journey Today

1st May 2009:
Hey there! I love this group of stories, and this one is just as perfect as the rest. Just one small typo I noticed.
"Matt opened his eyes stopped walking." is rather awkward. try to add an "and" or some other conjunction.
Perfect, otherwise!

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out the typo! I'll fix it. I'm glad you liked the story so much. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Luke I Start My Journey Today

29th April 2009:
Excellent Story it had class, cheek humour and it was above all Great looking forward to more of your work.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by Moonylupin I Start My Journey Today

28th April 2009:
I was wondering what this next chapter was going to be. It's fitting to have it end where the Albus series begins. I love the way you write the interaction between Harry and Albus. Harry seems like such a good father. This is the Amy I love, the one who isn't selfish and blames everything on Matt! It was funny reading about Amanda's parents refusing to go through the barrier, can't really blame them, though. Thankfully John was there. I'd forgotten they'd met before they got to the compartment with everyone else. I really liked this, you did a great job with it!

Author's Response: I was originally going to have Rose's chapter be the last one, but I felt like then the story wouldn't have had an ending.

I'm glad you liked the Harry & Albus interactions. Harry's one of the hardest characters to write, which is why I don't write him much.

Amy will eventually be like that in In Moonlight's Shadow! It just takes a few months (and a few thousand words) to get there.

Amanda's storyline was one of my favorites in this story. It's so interesting to write about a Muggle-born and how the parents react. I realized as I was writing this that I had to have her meet John before they got on the train and I figured getting on the platform would be a good part. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #33, by phoenixy_friend Cause There's So Much Yet to See

24th April 2009:
hurry then! i want to read it!

PS- i don't know you, but you're a really good writer, so do you know how to find a good beta?

Author's Response: The last chapter will be up on Tuesday! I'm glad you like it.

Aw, thanks. If you want to find a good beta, go to the forums (forums button in the upper right hand side of the screen) and there is a section of the forum where you can ask for a beta. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by XDNLxtlz99 Cause There's So Much Yet to See

22nd April 2009:
Uhhh.
1) Loved The Chapter
2) Didn't Harry do the same thing in 'The Tracks They Left Behind'?? (With the arguing then choosing the one no one else suggested.)

Author's Response: Glad you loved it! I don't remember if Harry did the same thing in Tracks They Left Behind, but this chapter mirrored the first chapter (Albus's), only from Rose's point of view, so that might be where you remember it from. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Luke Abela Cause There's So Much Yet to See

21st April 2009:
Great Chapter, I wonder what the next chapter will be like. Anyways will we see Kaden's letter arrive in this book

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) Kaden isn't in this story since he is a year younger than Albus and the others.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Moonylupin Cause There's So Much Yet to See

21st April 2009:
Okay... I'm not imagining things and that part of the chapter is repeated from the first chapter, except in Rose's point of view? I started reading the part where they go to Diagon Alley and see Harry say 'then it's settled, we're going to the Apothecary!' and thought: Where have I read this before? Anyway, Hugo is adorable! Especially when he said he can go through Rose's stuff because she won't be around. So Rose is a writer, I think that's really fitting, especially since she's got her nose in a book a lot. Rose is right, Rowena is a great name for an owl. And I find it funny that she inherited the Weasley prank gene. Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Nope, you're not imagining things. ;) Maybe I should have explained that in the Author's Notes. I thought it would be interesting to write the same thing in two different people's points of view.

I realized when I started this chapter that I really haven't characterized Hugo that much since he's not at Hogwarts yet during my series. I decided to go for the annoying little brother characterization, with some Weasleyesque (another new word!) traits. There's more of him in the next chapter.

I hadn't even thought about Rose being a writer until I wrote this, but it fits. I'll have to work it into my other stories. Now she's even more like my little sister, lol. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Luke It's Only Getting Better

16th April 2009:
Good Chapter, I don't like it as much as the others but good none the less.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by hermionieforever It's Only Getting Better

14th April 2009:
i love your story
it's writen really well
i can't wait for rose's part

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so glad you like it. :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by LunaLovegood72 But He Knows That It's Going to Be All Right

14th April 2009:
I have one negative thing: you said Victoire instead of Amy. I know, terrible mistake, how could you? Don't worry, I'm just kidding... I attempt to joke a lot. Sorry I'm so terrible at it ;-)

Anyway, I like how so far you've done how it is for the different people... I have to read on and see what else you do! This is very long for a pre-whatchamacallit, but that's good, because it means the story will be long, and long stories rock ;-) Anyhoo, good job 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for catching that! I'll go edit it. I reread the chapters multiple times, but I always miss things.

I'm glad you're enjoying it so far. I already have one and a half stories posted about these characters and decided to go back and write a prequel. It is a bit long, but much shorter than the actual stories.

I'm glad you like long stories. Most of my stories are incredibly long. (One is over 200,000 words and still not done) This story will be six chapters when it's finished. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Moonylupin It's Only Getting Better

14th April 2009:
I could easily see a group of eleven year old boys spinning someone around one of those merry go round things. I sympathize with John on being the oldest (I'm not the oldest, but in the middle where everyone's either too young or too old, I feel your pain, John!) I loved how excited he was, even though he knew he was getting in. So the Brickstons are pranksters too, guess Hogwarts will never be free from pranksters. Great chapter, can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: I'm the oldest of four, just like John is, so I definitely know the feeling. Although none of my siblings are that young anymore.

He's quite excited. And quite the prankster. He's one of Weasley's Wizard Wheez's best customers. Next chapter will be Rose! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by Luke It's Not Something That She's Made Up In Her Head

3rd April 2009:
Sorry for not reviewing sooner but I've been on holidays,

Great Chapter.

Does Max end up a wizard?

Author's Response: I hope your holidays were good. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) I'm not sure if Max will be a wizard or not. If he is, he won't go to Hogwarts until Albus's 4th year, so I don't have to decide yet.

 Report Review

Review #42, by Moonylupin It's Not Something That She's Made Up In Her Head

1st April 2009:
I wonder if Amanda's little brother will end up being a wizard. I'd forgotten what Amanda's last name was and when I saw it I was thinking of the last name of the family in my favorite TV show, except in that it's Trager. Neville! I love how you made it Neville the one to explain everything. The incident where Amanda fell out of the tree reminds me of when Neville said he found out he wasn't a squib when he was pushed out a window and bounced to the ground. The caution from Amanda's mother was great. Not every mother would jump at the chance to believe her daughter was a witch. I felt bad for Amanda, reading about the bullies in her school. At least she has her books (and the amazing friends she makes at Hogwarts). The last line was really great. Everyone wishes they'd fall into their favorite book. Excellent chapter! Can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: I haven't decided about Amanda's brother yet. If he is a wizard, he'll go to Hogwarts during Al's 4th year.

Neville is awesome. I think he'd be good at telling the Muggle borns they're witches and wizards and reassuring the parents. I've always wondered how the parents react.

I've definitely wished I could fall into a book! Generally, I've wished I could fall into the Harry Potter books. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by XDNLxtlz99 It's Not Something That She's Made Up In Her Head

31st March 2009:
Enthusaistic that girl is. Great, can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Yep, she's quite excited about going to Hogwarts. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Luke But He Knows That It's Going to Be All Right

26th March 2009:
Brilliant, Absolutely Spectacular, Great, Awesome I wish there were more stories from Matt's point of view! I loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it so much! :) Maybe I'll write another story from Matt's POV when I'm done with the stories I'm working on right now.

 Report Review

Review #45, by Moonylupin But He Knows That It's Going to Be All Right

25th March 2009:
It's funny to read Matt fretting about what any of the students might think about him if they found out that he was a werewolf and already knowing that they don't care. I really love his character and Amy is an awesome character as well (I really should read the story you have about her...). The way you wrote the transformation was great - it wasn't over done or under done, you put in just the right amount of transforming and what was going on in Matt's head. His parents are how I pictured Lupin's parents to be in a way, protective, yet know he can help himself if he tries. It stinks though that he got his letter on the day of the full moon. I loved the scene following the full moon where he tells Amy he's worried about having to go through his transformation without his parents. I felt so bad for him, but then happy because he proved he could do it in Secrets Within. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: It was definitely interesting to write this chapter when I've already written about Albus & Co finding about about him and not caring.

Amy is probably my favorite character to write about. She's definitely my most thought out and complicated OC. Although you do see a completely different side of her in the story that's about her.

I'm glad you liked the transformation part. I was a bit worried about whether I did it justice or not. I decided to include it because one of my friends wanted to read my take on it.

His parents are definitely protective. There's nothing they wouldn't do to help him. His mom is kind of over protective, though, which is very apparent in the story about Amy. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :) Next chapter should be up on Tuesday.


 Report Review

Review #46, by XDNLxtlz99 But He Knows That It's Going to Be All Right

24th March 2009:
Aahhh. Poor Matt. I feel bad for the kid. You captured the transformation prefectly imo. Great Work.

Author's Response: Glad you liked the transformation. I was a bit worried about that. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by XDNLxtlz99 I Think I'm Holding Out for Something More

24th March 2009:
Good! No, Great! like the start far.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by Moonylupin I Think I'm Holding Out for Something More

24th March 2009:
Well, my first class being cancelled came in handy, I killed fifteen minutes before my next class (at 3!) It's so strange seeing George without Fred... poor Fred. Ah so this is where James starts taunting Albus about being in Slytherin. I like the name Albus picked for his owl. He's a true Gryffindor! I loved Albus's tactics for waking James up, staring does work. Shame about James hitting his head though. You made Lily so adorable. I was just realizing she'll be joining Albus soon in school as far as your other story goes. I was so happy to see an appearance from Teddy! I love the way you depict him, even if he's only seen briefly. I think I'm going to enjoy this story and I can't wait to see how everyone else gets their letters!

Author's Response: My second class was canceled today. I love when classes are canceled. Very useful today since I have a paper due Thursday that I haven't started. But first I'll update this story. Then I'll write my paper until my next class starts (also at 3, lol).

It's definitely odd writing about George without Fred. Yep, this is where James starts his teasing. Such an older brother thing to do.

Lily is so fun to write. I see her as a whiny little sister, lol, but cute at the same time. She'll be joining Albus in my next story, which I'm working on at the moment.

Teddy is one of my favorite characters, probably since he's the son of my two favorite characters. I'm glad you like the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by Luke I Think I'm Holding Out for Something More

20th March 2009:
Interesting, I would've thought this story belong in AP1, None the less very good. Is there going to be an adventure?

Author's Response: This is the prequel to AP1. I came up with the idea long after I finished writing AP1, so that's why it's not in there. Plus, each chapter is from a different point of view, whereas AP1 is mostly from Albus's point of view.

Nope, no adventure in this one. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>