Reading Reviews for In Moonlight's Shadow
  
510 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Phoenix_feather123 Life Goes On At School

18th June 2012:
Its really good so far. Though i wish that amy didn't blame matt on every thing. well, she will know when she sees him after a full moon.
by the way, did you know my grandpa's name is also Richard :) amazing right?
10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying it so far! Amy shouldn't blame everything on Matt, but she's dealing with a lot at this point. Things will change later on. I did not know that! Cool coincidence! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Devil's Advocate A Meeting With Professor Kendrick

20th May 2012:
I think Amy's parents and Kendrick are expecting too much with Amy's grades. I mean of course it's not good she's failing, but she DID just switch schools and she has a lot to catch up on. They need to cut her some slack.

Author's Response: Her bad grades were a symptom of her adjustment issues and issues with her parents in general. They needed to tackle those underlying issues, which will then enable her to raise her grades. If they just cut her some slack and waited, her grades wouldn't have improved. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Jimbo Kenzie's House

15th May 2012:
"There is no muggle disease that is viewed the way lycanthropy is." Um, hello? Have you ever heard of AIDS?

Author's Response: Yes, JKR based the views of lycanthropy on AIDS, but this story is a next gen story, so it's perfectly plausible that in this world in this time, AIDS is not as stigmatized as it is now. If you compare how it's viewed now to when it was first discovered, there has already been a lot of progress.

 Report Review

Review #29, by Gavin Kicked Out of the Family

14th May 2012:
Amy's right. Her parents really aren't being fair to her. Just because one child has an illness doesn't mean you can neglect your other children.

Author's Response: Very true. But at the same time, they're trying to protect her. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Jim The Perfect Tree

14th May 2012:
I love it so far. Amy's mom can be really mean to Amy. If my mom talked to me like that I wouldn't be so quick to forgive her.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! Amy's mom is a bit mean, but she's very stressed at this point. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by orderofthephoenix Understanding

29th April 2012:
Although I've already read the third novel in the Albus Potter series and know some of the events mentioned, I'm very glad I read this story too. Reading about those events from Amy's perspective and learning more about her childhood was very interesting and I could feel for her. I was a little surprised at first that it was told in first person but I realised pretty quickly why you chose to do that. You explored Amy's feelings and emotions excellently and expressed them much better than if the story had been in third person.

I was intrigued to read more about Matt and Amy's family and life in Australia as that information is limited in your other series. That's probably why you chose to write it in the first place! I particularly enjoyed Cinda's character and for a minor character, she had a great personality. Amy's relationship with her was challenging, to say the least, but I can see it helped her to become the adult she did become (I've just started reading Beyond the Shadow).

I liked the way you portrayed Matt's parents and their behaviour towards him - trying to keep him safe, giving him what he wanted, and the guilt they still felt so many years later. That is all so realistic of parents with an ill or disabled child. Amy's resentment as the older sister who was pushed into the background a bit was also well written. At some points, the emotion almost made me cry.

Aw, I felt so bad for Amy having to move to England at the start of fourth year and not having any choice in the matter. I moved schools when everybody else had already started and I remember how hard it was to fit in and to make friends when everybody else already had their own social group. I think having Healer Norlam to talk to and help deal with everything really helped Amy (and her family) a lot. I'd never heard of wizard psychology, I suppose it never really occured to me that they would have it, but you've made me think about that a bit more. It's an interesting subject.

In fact, since reading your stories, I've learnt a lot more about werewolves and how they're regarded in society. What happened to Matt really was a terrible thing but I understand now that not all werewolves are like the ones we saw in the HP books - wanting and eager to bite and kill.

The chapter where Matt was taken to the Ministry centre was powerful and emotional. I was almost in tears when you described his condition the following morning. The way Killigan, Lubar and society treated Matt was horrible and I'm very glad things are much better for them in England. I hope Amy and her dad can work towards making life better for werewolves in the future.

One of the parts I was most liked was when Amy decided her passion and aim in life was to be a Healer and to find an alternative to Wolfsbane. I think you built up to that nicely and this last chapter where she saw Matt for the first time after the full moon was heartbreaking. It goes a long way to understanding why she behaves as she does with Matt in the other series. I'm sure she will one day achieve that aim of hers.

Amy has matured so much in this story and it's been lovely to read a story like this that has been so well written. You developed Amy's character brilliantly throughout the novel and I can't wait to read about her in the next story. :D

-Sophia

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this one! It's my all time favorite of all the stories I've written. Writing about Amy was very interesting and I feel I know her the best out of all my characters now. I actually started this in third person, since that's what I use for all my other stories, but soon realized that it would work much better in first person. There were too many deep emotions for third person.

That's exactly why I wrote it! There's only so much I can reveal in the other stories since they are from Albus's point of view. I needed a separate story to do this plot line justice. Cinda was so much fun to write! She had a great deal of influence on Amy's life, and that will be revealed more in the sequel.

Matt's parents' attitude was really interesting to develop. They are absolutely riddled with guilt about what happened, which is exactly why they spoiled him throughout his childhood. But then they discover that it didn't benefit him at all, which only caused them more guilt. It's incredibly realistic and although I have no personal experience with it, I read a lot of books that deal with it. Amy's resentment was actually really easy to write.

It really was awful for Amy to have to move, especially when moving does not seem to be a common occurrence in the wizarding world. I moved a lot when I was little, but by the time I was in school full time we stopped. I can only imagine how hard it would be when you were older. Healer Norlam was definitely helpful. Wizarding psychology is my own creation because I think it would have been necessary after the war. It's creation stems from the fact that I was majoring in psychology when I wrote this.

I created a lot of information about werewolves and their place in society while writing this. Obviously, it was all based on the information that JKR gave us in the Potter books, but I needed more to write this well. I always imagined that most werewolves are more like Remus and less like Greyback.

The chapter where Matt was taken to the Ministry center was the saddest to write. I still remember exactly where I was when I wrote it. I was completely in the zone and not paying attention to anything else. The emotions were so raw and deep. Lubar and Killigan are awful people. Amy and her dad will be able to make life better for werewolves, but it will take time.

The part where Amy decides to become a healer was my favorite chapter to write. It was what I had been working towards in the entire novel. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Being at home during the full moon pretty much shaped her attitude from then on. It was something she needed to do to truly understand.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story so much! Developing Amy's character and personality was so much fun to do in this one. I hope you enjoy the next story as much as this one! Thanks so much for the review!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by A Dedicated Reader Understanding

7th April 2012:
I have read this story twice. I read it originally as you posted it. The highlight of my Wednesday's for months was reading your new chapter. I remembered it today so I decided to read it again. I just want to thank you for this fantastic story. I was enthralled by Amy and Matt from the beginning. I have also read all of your Albus Potter series. But I can honestly tell you, this is one of my favorite fanfictions.

I feel guilty for not reviewing before but I want to let you know that your stories are appreciated and loved. I lost count over how many times I cried reading this.

You are a fantastic writer. Please, never stop because you have real talent.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for taking the time to review! Your comments mean a lot. So glad that you've enjoyed all my stories. I'm still working on all of them; it just takes me a bit longer with school. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by James Understanding

1st November 2011:
I love the story... You did a great job, i understand Amy, we did a lot of moving too, and it's hard to adjust, and to find new friends,. I hate Clarence and Lubar,.. and Monica(hehehe) but all in all i love this story!! More powers to you..

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! I moved a lot when I was little, but I don't remember it very well. I imagine it would be a lot harder for a teenager. Haha, well you're supposed to hate those characters! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Evie Stricter Legislation

26th October 2011:
Hello again, Gryffin_Duck,
I'm pretty excited because Amy and I share a birthday (which is tomorrow, in the Aussie time-zone!). I apologise if I'm being a pain, but we don't actually have Lucky Charm cereal in Australia. we do have other brands like Coco Pops, Rice Bubbles, Milo cereal (yum!), Corn Flakes, Crunchy Nut, and Weet-Bix is also really popular, a few ideas if you decide to change it. Good writing!

Author's Response: Hi! Oh that's very cool that you share the same birthday! I actually changed the cereal a while back because I used to have a beta who's Australian. Must've missed that one! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by rockiemadd Kicked Out of the Family

17th September 2011:
I love the story. It is 2nd time i have read it. It is one of the best fan fics i have ever read.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm glad you enjoyed it enough to read it again! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Ellie Understanding

5th September 2011:
WOW this is an incredible story, and I love how it explains so much about things in the series, especially about Lubar.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Yeah, it explains a lot of what is left unanswered in Path Left Untrodden since there's no way I could have fit all this back story into that novel. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Albus Potter First Day

9th February 2011:
When dose she meet Albus Potter?

Author's Response: Not until Albus goes to Hogwarts. Albus is only seven or so in this story. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Albus Potter Welcome Home

7th February 2011:
Great so far I like reading about the lives of the Wizards in Harry Potter. I think back stories are a great idea. Please keep up the great work

Author's Response: I'm glad you've been enjoying it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by onestop_hpfan18 Keeping Up Appearances

28th January 2011:
Really, I had an idea some kind of altercation would be released by Cinda throwing this party between mom and daughter. It seems things have been brewing on the back burner between the two since the New Year's party; Cinda really doesn't get it at all. Plus, with all the tension and stress that the family had been under, one of them was bound to crack and it makes sense Julie was the one to crack since she seems like the solid one in the family that holds everyone together. Keeping some balance amongst them all as everything else tries to knock them down flat. Over all, great chapter and thus far excellent story. I'm looking forward to continuing to read onward. (: 10/10 so far.

Author's Response: The worst thing Cinda could have done for her relationship with her daughter was throw that party, and she just didn't get that.

Julie is the one who holds everything together and the stress just got to be too much. Throw in that party and things just spiraled out of control. I'm glad you liked the chapter! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by onestop_hpfan18 Fired and Fined

28th January 2011:
Oh, goodness, this was just a sad chapter. Nothing went their way, it's all turning against them. Hopefully everything starts turning around soon, though I'm sure Amy will have a lot to get used to when they move and the transfer into Hogwarts. She's already having a rough time trying to grasp onto the concept that they'll be moving across the world as it is before they have even made concrete plans. But, anyway, great chapter. (:

Author's Response: Nothing is going right at this point, that's for sure. Things will turn around eventually, but it will take a while. Amy is going to have a difficult time adjusting to Hogwarts. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by onestop_hpfan18 Suspended

28th January 2011:
I really liked this chapter as I thought you did yet another great job with writing up those news articles, and the whole downtrodden realization of how the ministry is going farther downhill when Walter gets suspended for violating the law by not taking his son to one of the ministry approved safe houses for werewolves to transform in during the full moon. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I loved writing news articles for this story. It was such a great way to convey what was going on. The Ministry is really going down hill. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by onestop_hpfan18 Revealed

28th January 2011:
And just when I thought Lubar couldn't sink any lower than he already was he goes and does something like this. He's scum, that's what he is, no doubt about that. Great chapter; loved the cliffhanger. (:

Author's Response: He's the scum of the scum. He's soo evil. Glad you liked the cliffhanger! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by onestop_hpfan18 Failed Inspection

28th January 2011:
Lubar is such a jerk, I really despise him, seriously. He knows that Walter would take the extra precaution to make sure Matt is locked in tight so he can't escape during the full moon, yet he chooses to hold over what power he is gaining over him. And that is such a ridiculous law stating the room had to be in an inhabited building because so many werewolves just use basements because they probably can't afford much with all the prejudice against them that causes them to have trouble finding a decent job to make a living. Lubar is just horrible. Anyway, this was a great chapter and I liked how you wrote it all up as it really flowed well, and the pacing was perfect.

Author's Response: I despise him and I created him! He's power hungry and he'll do anything to get rid of Walter. It really is a ridiculous law. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by onestop_hpfan18 The Salem Witch Institute

28th January 2011:
I'm definitely glad that they have decided not to enroll Amy, and later Matt, into this school as the Headmaster definitely seemed a bit dodgy. Not to mention that Professor was terrible, bad attitude. And the skiing bit was fun to read and humourous how Matt and their mother kept falling. It showed the family at their best, at a moment when they could enjoy themselves instead of worrying about what happened back home at the ministry. Great chapter. :)

Author's Response: Their headmaster was very dodgy. Not a good choice. And the professor was awful. I loved writing that skiing part. They were just such a normal family during that. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by onestop_hpfan18 House Hunting

27th January 2011:
Looks like they had bad luck with house hunting, what dumps. Though, it was still a good chapter, a bit of a humor-filler to let them kind of laugh at the disgusting upkeep of the houses they were shown. It's always nice to be able to laugh a bit while reading a story, especially when the situation is serious. Over all, good job. (:

Author's Response: I have to add humor every once in a while. Love writing angst but too much of it without humor just doesn't work as well. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by onestop_hpfan18 The Adirondack Academy of Magic

27th January 2011:
Well, Adirondack actually seems like a nice school as does the Headmaster. I like the description you used to really show the buildings and grounds and inside of the school, it helped me really picture it all inside of my mind which is excellent because it's always better when you can easily imagine the characters in different settings while reading. Great job. :)

Author's Response: It was really fun getting to explore what a different wizarding school would be like. I wanted it to be similar to Hogwarts, but still different because New York is very different than Scotland. Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by onestop_hpfan18 Turbulence

27th January 2011:
Nice chapter with revealing some of the identities of Ministry workers (namely Gabishi and Lubar, them being the main focus of all these new laws, I'm assuming) and more of what is going on in the Ministry as Amy takes advantage of the fact her parents have no where to go to to talk in private without either Amy or Matt listening in, shows how relaxed her parents are feeling by getting a bit of a break from all the stress they have been under with what's going on at her dad's work while not realizing Amy is right there within earshot to listen in. And excellent job on the interactions when Uncle Jack met them when their plane landed in New York as you did a great job showing how the whole family interacted with this new character on the whole by keeping within each character's characterization. Great job (:

Author's Response: It was really interesting to write this because I had to figure out all the Ministry stuff as well as Amy's opinions on it all. Amy's parents were more relaxed at this point because they're in the Muggle world and on their way out of Australia, but they did think she was asleep. I love writing about Uncle Jack. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by onestop_hpfan18 Muggle Watching

27th January 2011:
I found this chapter quite amusing from the time that Amy went through the metal detector and it started going off because of the magical overload of her whole family walking through one after the other and right down to her watching all the Muggles in the waiting area before it was time to board the plane. It showed the true wackiness that Muggles are and what they do/talk about while waiting for something, such as a plane. And then great contrast of her looking back at what her own family was doing and thinking how dull they were compared to the Muggles that surrounded them. Over all, excellent narration in this chapter. (:

Author's Response: This chapter was very fun to write! It was back before I'd ever flown. I love writing about what wizards think of Muggles. It's just so funny. Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by onestop_hpfan18 Off to New York

27th January 2011:
Not much happened in this chapter except them preparing for their trip to New York and hearing back from Salem Witch Institute that they'd allow Matt to attend with the proper precautions as well. So they have two schools to visit while in the States. Other than that it was just the necessary filler parts of getting them to the airport, which was well paced and seemed realistic enough. I've never flied before so it seems accurate enough to me. (:

Author's Response: Have to have the filler! Makes the exciting chapters that much more exciting. I hadn't flown since I was 5 when I wrote this, though. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by onestop_hpfan18 Stricter Legislation

27th January 2011:
And now Amy has gotten some answers out of her parents, finally. I thought you did a great job pacing this chapter and writing up the news articles (which seemed journalistic). Now Amy knows that the Ministry is changing with stricter laws being forced through to make life harder on werewolves, and it totally makes since that her dad is stamping his foot down on them as the laws trying to be getting approved are simply ridiculous. You really did a good job of showing how passionate her father is about making life easier on the werewolves by not jumping to the conclusion that all werewolves are bad. So, great chapter and really showing how what's going on at his work and with Matt is intertwined. The plot is coming together real nicely now that we're getting into the thick of it all. (:

Author's Response: I love writing news articles in stories. It's so fun to get out of that narrative mindset and write something a bit more formal and then weave it into the narrative. And I was able to show so much more of what was going on behind the scenes at the Ministry with the articles. Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>