430 Reviews Found

Review #26, by HPG The Sorting

30th December 2012:
Wow, that was an unexpected turn. Wonder what the Potter boys will think...

Author's Response: You'll have to wait and see to find out! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by HPG On the Hogwarts Express

30th December 2012:
I really liked the beginning. Nice job.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by BKL8008 The Lions Take On the Serpents

25th November 2012:
Excitement!
And someone needs expelled over this one!

Author's Response: Indeed! Haha, people so rarely ever get expelled from Hogwarts. Except Hagrid...poor Hagrid. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by BKL8008 Close Your Mind

25th November 2012:
Poor kids just can't have a normal year, can they? You'd think someone would do something about all this abuse, too? And a nonverbal 'Puff was it, a few chap's ago? Hm.

Author's Response: Nope, can't have a normal year at all. Or any normal years, really... Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by BKL8008 Secrets

25th November 2012:
Dont' you just hate it when canon pops up later?! I worked and worked and Jo says Teddy isn't a werewolf. Pardon me?!
This has become enthralling, and I'm too sick to sleep, so on we go! Liking it more and more, honestly, despite my initial misgivings. And that's saying a lot, considering the NyQuil!

Author's Response: It's such a love/hate relationship! I'm always a fan of getting more canon, but when it makes my stories non-canon... I like keeping things canon. I think it would've been interesting if Teddy had been a werewolf. Aw, I'm glad you like it so far. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by BKL8008 Parties and Pranks

25th November 2012:
The eclair was masterful, but I think it's too obvious to be Willinson. Poor Matt...

Author's Response: I loved writing about the eclair. So funny! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by BKL8008 Realizations

25th November 2012:
I'll leave you a review, then since you asked!
It's hard to come up with something to say about each chapter, which I've finally realized.
I like the characters, although I was a touch disappointed to see another Gryffindor fest. I like the slow buildup so far, and Matt especially. Soft spot for furry little problems. Onward!

Author's Response: I completely agree about it being hard to come up with something new for each chapter when I read fics that are long-since completed. But thank you so much for leaving one!

I think you can make a case for them all being in Gryffindor or them being in different houses. The Weasleys were all in Gryffindor in the books, after all. Mainly I did it because it makes things easier. :P I have a soft spot for furry little problems, too! (That might be obvious, given how many of my stories focus on werewolves). Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by Denidenideni(: Spying

2nd November 2012:
You're an amazing writer. I vaguely remembered the OC names from somewhere, and once you wrote about Matt's not being able to be treated with the Wolfsbane, I instantly thought of one of your other fanfictions, Beyond the Shadow. Your stories are amazing, intriguing, and they keep me hooked. I had read Beyond the Shadow a few months ago and it's one of my favorite next generation fanfictions. I believe Beyond the Shadow is a spin-off from Amy's point of view, right? Although I have now realized all the characters' fates, I love that I still want to read on and know what happened. I also really love how you're smart enough to incorporate all these little details seperately in each of your stories so I can have those "aha" moments. I'm excited to read on and keep reading the rest of your fanfictions :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Padfoot Home Again

16th October 2012:
This story is amazing it is as good or maybe even better than the original Harry potter novel.

 Report Review

Review #35, by Taylor On the Hogwarts Express

8th October 2012:
It was really good.I read a lot of albus potter fanfiction and you got the characters right. Of course the friends change from story to story.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Taylor On the Hogwarts Express

8th October 2012:
It was really good.I read a lot of albus potter fanfiction and you got the characters right. Of course the friends change from story to story.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Taylor On the Hogwarts Express

8th October 2012:
It was really good.I read a lot of albus potter fanfiction and you got the characters right. Of course the friends change from story to story.

 Report Review

Review #38, by lilliana rosella roxanne charmz On the Hogwarts Express

2nd October 2012:
I love this book
(p.s that is my real name above )

 Report Review

Review #39, by MargaretLane Graduation

14th September 2012:
*grins* The Junior Cert. results (our equivalent of the O.W.L.s) came out the day I started reading this story.

I was wondering about Harry teaching DADA the following year, as he probably has enough to do with his Auror duties and needed to be there that year because of the murder. Still wondering about the motive for that actually. So there wouldn't really be any need for him the following year. I'm looking forward to seeing the new Charms teacher and if there is a new DADA teacher, him or her too.

If this is 2016/2017, then Amanda's family should have come to Ireland the previous year instead. *grins* There SHOULD be big celebrations that year, but knowing this country, they probably won't get around to planning much.

Really wouldn't be hard for the next Charms teacher to be nicer.

Mr. Eckerton sounds like he'd have got on well with Harry and Ron. Or the Marauders.

Those speeches sound perfect. They are exactly the kind of leaving school speeches I've heard in real life.

It seems weird that they'd be presenting diplomas though. They haven't even got their exam results and besides I don't think British schools present diplomas just for finishing secondary school, so I wonder if Hogwarts would. Mind you, I don't think British schools have Graduation at all, but still, it seems weird to get diplomas when they could still have failed the N.E.W.T.s and have to repeat. And what are the diplomas for? They haven't passed anything yet.

Yeah, I'm getting a bit nit-picky here and I don't think J.K. Rowling said that much about the Graduation ceremonies, except the stuff about the boats, unless I missed something (which is distinctly possible), so they may well get diplomas for all we know. It just doesn't seem to fit with a terminal exam system. We had a Mass and speeches and were given little angel pin badges, but no diplomas or anything like that. We got certs posted out to us like a year later with our exam results (we got the results before that, but just on slips of paper the first time).

Author's Response: That's a cool coincidence! As much as I loved having Harry be the DADA teacher, he really is too busy to do it long-term. Plus, he understands that his kids would rather not have him be their teacher.

I hope Ireland is able to have huge celebrations that year! That would be cool. Haha, nope, it won't take much for the next Charms teacher to be nicer.

Mr. Eckerton would've gotten along great with Harry, Ron, and the Marauders. But he's significantly older than Harry and Ron, and is actually only a few years younger than the Marauders.

I'm glad you liked the speeches! I never gave one at my own graduation, so I had to guess.

I've had mixed reviews on the graduation thing. I know most British schools don't do diplomas or graduation or anything, but I wanted to do it. If I wrote it again, I'd probably not do the diploma thing, but I'd still do the ceremony.

J.K. Rowling said that she wished she'd been able to do a graduation scene, but she didn't say what it would entail besides the bit about the boats. I took artistic license on this. :P After all, plenty of people change things about Hogwarts (and some in far more drastic ways) in fan fiction. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by MargaretLane Surprise Visitor

14th September 2012:
*laughs* Harry sounds like our last President. When she was first elected, she joked in an interview that the only bad part about it was that she couldn't get carried away when she attended the All-Ireland finals.

And *laughs at Patil making a big deal about such a mild curse*

I expected Harry to be the surprise visitor. DEFINITELY wasn't expecting Teddy.

Author's Response: Haha, that's awesome! I'm glad the surprise visitor was a surprise! I love Teddy, so I had to put him in here. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by MargaretLane The Truth

14th September 2012:
I think it is a risk telling John, Amanda and Matt. After all, who knows what kind of people they will turn out to be? Pettigrew seemed trust worthy at 11 too.

Author's Response: It is a risk, but it's one they're willing to take. Peter seemed trustworthy right up until the end, and I think at some point you do have to just trust people. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by MargaretLane Washburn's Plot

14th September 2012:
*cheers for Amanda coming to Ireland* We need all the tourism we can get. When is this set? 2018ish? We want a major improvement by 2016, but don't think it's going to happen.

*laughs at the comment about Wormtail being a rat in more ways than one*

Oh gosh, is Quinton's father the man Washburn was meeting? If so, it looks like they are the villains after all, because I doubt Quinton's father would be a good guy. *is intrigued*

Well, I was right about him being the guy Washburn was talking to anyway, though of course, he might not be a father-could be a brother or uncle. But I'm guessing father.

*pokes self* I forgot how you had to take the Elder Wand by force to get it to work for you. But you don't have to kill the owner. Of course, they probably wouldn't know that.

Since they want to kill Harry, I'm not sure that this means everything will be OK.

But I'm wondering what was the motive for killing Torro? To get Harry to take over? But how could they know he would? Maybe Torro knew something about them. *reads on to find out*

Author's Response: Yes! I had her go to Ireland because I really want to go. I'll get there someday. One of my friends has already been twice and she loves it and wants to go back. This is set in 2016/2017.

No, Quinton's father is definitely not a good guy. That's where Quinton got it from. And yeah, it's his father. But killing Harry Potter...not a smart idea. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by MargaretLane The Hallows

14th September 2012:
*laughs at John saying the studying is the part he isn't looking forward to*

And yikes, remembering the Leaving, I don't blame the 7th years for freaking out.

I was wondering how Matt knew that they were the Hallows. I'd forgotten that there were people, other than the Lovegoods, who believed them real and even if I had remembered, it probably wouldn't have occurred to me that one of their fathers would be among them.

Author's Response: John sure hates studying! I wasn't too nervous about high school graduation, but I was so sad at uni graduation. I didn't want to leave.

The fact that other people were after the Hallows always intrigued me. I always wondered about who they were and whether they ever succeeded. So I decided to have Matt's dad and uncle be some of those people. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by MargaretLane Detention and Decisions

14th September 2012:
*laughs at the Gryffindors thinking that annoying Washburn is worth losing points for* And he's been at Hogwarts a long time. You'd think if he was a criminal, somebody'd have figured it out by now.

It would be totally unfair for Victorie to be angry at Amy, since it's not Amy's secret to tell.

Author's Response: You would think. Either that or he only recently became a criminal. You never know.

Yeah, it would be unfair for Victoire to be angry with Amy. But she's not, because Victoire is very sweet. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by MargaretLane Spying

14th September 2012:
It does sound like he's talking about the Hallows all right. But we don't know that for sure and it could well be a red herring.

Author's Response: Nope, don't know for sure! But you'll find out. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by MargaretLane Explanations

14th September 2012:
The part about "a couple decades ago" sounds rather American or just as if you've accidentally left out a word. I don't think an English person would leave out the "of"

Yikes, it's just occurred to me to wonder what if it was a Muggle child who was bitten. How would Muggle parents deal with that? And how would the Ministry maintain secrecy? That would make an interesting story actually; a Muggle werewolf. Or maybe werewolf bites would kill a Muggle.

That makes a lot of sense about Amy's reactions. It can't have been easy for her either.

And why do I get the feeling the Room of Requirement is going to be relevant to your stories at some point?

Author's Response: Oh, really? Good to know! Over here we say it either with the 'of' or without. It all depends on the person.

I've thought about writing about a Muggle werewolf before. After all, I adore writing about werewolves. On the one hand I think it'd be harder, because they'd find out about magic and such, too. But on the other, it might be easier because Muggles don't have the stereotypes that wizards do when it comes to lycanthropy. They could just say they've got some other chronic illness.

I found Amy's reactions so interesting that I wrote a whole story about it. It's called In Moonlight's Shadow. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by MargaretLane Secrets Emerge

13th September 2012:
*laughs at the idea of hexing Malfoy* I'm not sure how that'd help, apart from giving you some satisfaction.

I agree with Rose and Albus. It's Matt's secret to tell when he wants to.

And yikes, wonder how he'll react now he knows they know. At least, I assume so, though the last few lines didn't say WHAT they knew. He'd have to have been listening a fairly long time to be sure it was him they were talking about.

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, all it would do would be give them satisfaction. Hexing usually doesn't help anything.

It's definitely Matt's secret to tell, but John is losing patience. Matt didn't hear all of their conversation, but he heard enough, and he assumed that's what they were talking about, since it's one of his greatest fears for them to find out. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by MargaretLane Full Moon Woes

13th September 2012:
Snow is rare enough and light enough here that I don't really know how a team snowball fight works. Hey, with our normal snow, a handful of snowballs would probably use up most of the snow available. I remember once when we were little, there was enough for my sister to build a snowman about a foot high, using most of the snow in the garden. In the winters of 2009/2010 and 2010/2011, we got real snow, but I was way beyond the snowballing age for those. Plus, the country basically shut down and we all stayed inside. It was scarily cold.

So I'm not sure whether it just means you only throw snowballs at the people on the other team, or whether there is some way of winning.

I wonder why Matt is ill before the transformations. I assumed it was nervousness and worry, but it seems to be more than that.

*laughs at the mention of D4* That's a postcode in Dublin; of well, rather a well-to-do area.

I hope Matt is OK.

Author's Response: Aww, really? I never knew that Ireland didn't get much snow. Where I live we usually get a ton of snow. Sometimes a single snow storm will bring over a foot, sometimes two. Last winter was quite mild, though. Team snowball fights are fun! Oh, wow, I can't imagine how much snow it would take for things to completely shut down here. Probably at least three feet.

It means you only throw snowballs at the people on the other team.

There is a bit more to Matt's illness before transformations. It'll all be explained later on. He will be okay, though.

Haha, that's random! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by MargaretLane Mischief Managed

13th September 2012:
*laughs* Considering what has been done at Hogwarts - students getting involved in the Dark Arts, Harry using Sectumsepra (albeit without knowing what it did), Draco nearly poisoning both Ron and Katie, regular duelling, I very much doubt a student would be expelled simply for causing a disturbance in class.

I can see why Rose would worry though and it's typical of Washburn to hope for it.

Washburn wants Albus punished for something he knows he didn't do?! This is getting completely obsessive. *wonders what his reasoning is*

Ah, that makes sense; that Harry wouldn't want the Legilimens to find out where the Hallows are, but he could tell the kids what they were and why the Legilimens wants to find them without telling where they are. He could explain that it was too dangerous for them to know that when somebody was attacking their minds.

Interesting that Snape didn't tell Harry. Guess he just didn't want to help him.

Author's Response: Oh, no, a student definitely wouldn't be expelled for that. People tend to get away with a lot at Hogwarts. Washburn would definitely hope for it, though.

Washburn is quite obsessive, isn't he? It's definitely getting ridiculous. Harry could explain without telling the kids where the Hallows are, but he feels that he's protecting them by not telling them. Snape, even in portrait form, still holds a grudge against Harry, so he won't help him. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by MargaretLane Dumbledore's Insight

12th September 2012:
Yikes, Matt missed three weeks. And in another week, he'll no doubt have to miss a few more days. It's hard to imagine how he can keep up.

Typical Dumbledore; realising immediately that Albus wanted to talk to him and that was why they arranged for him to get into trouble. He was lucky both that Professor Kendrick wasn't there and that Professor Patil didn't wait with him. The chances of both working must have been pretty small.

Now that I think of it, sending word with another portrait WOULD work better. Yeah, it's a pity they didn't think of that.

*laughs at Dumbledore considering it perfectly understandable that they'd eavesdrop. I guess he was a teacher long enough.

Honestly, I think that is a good warning from Snape, even if he did put it rather rudely. It seems likely that the dreams could be used to feed them false information.

I disagree with Dumbledore's advise that Albus should tell his friends about the Hallows. Not really Albus' secret to tell.

Author's Response: Matt does homework while in the hospital wing, but it will be difficult for him to catch up. Luckily he rarely has to miss this many classes.

Dumbledore is quite wise. And I imagine that he would continue to know a lot about the castle's inhabitants even in death. Albus was definitely lucky that Kendrick wasn't there.

Sending word with another portrait would've been far easier, but they're only 11. They didn't think of that.

Snape did give a good warning. Despite his rudeness, he does offer good advice. The Hallows aren't Al's secret to tell, but Dumbledore always let Harry tell Ron and Hermione about everything, so Dumbledore understands Al's desires. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>