Reading Reviews for Breathless
  
112 Reviews Found

Review #26, by SilverShadow04 Il Dolce Suono

1st September 2010:
I liked getting Crane's perspective here I didn't like him very much and I don't really like him now lol but I at least understand him :).

Author's Response: Thank you, Sandy! I'm so very glad you enjoyed this chapter. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #27, by SilverShadow04 Shades of Regret

31st August 2010:
I love the trivia that you place at the end of your chapters there very fascinating. And yay for the Remus in this chapter as I said I loves him.

-Sandy

Author's Response: Thank you, Sandy!

 Report Review

Review #28, by SilverShadow04 The Lady of Shalott

31st August 2010:
My eyes almost watered when Freddy said that she wouldn't die in the sanatorium, it would certainly be a horrible place to spend your last days no matter how much Healer Crane loves it. But now I am curious why did he choose TB to be the disease to specialize in hmm. Great chapter as always!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review, SilverShadow! And yes, I certainly wouldn't want to spend my last days in the sanatorium either. *shivers*

Again, thanks so much for the encouraging feedback. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #29, by SilverShadow04 Reprise

31st August 2010:
I liked the creepiness of this chapter ;). I can't take horror but I do enjoy the occasional creepy spookiness from time to time :)

-Sandy

Author's Response: Thank you s much, Sandy!

 Report Review

Review #30, by SilverShadow04 Resignations

31st August 2010:
Another wonderful chapter ^_^.

Author's Response: Thanks so very much!

 Report Review

Review #31, by SilverShadow04 The Solarium

31st August 2010:
Oh sorry to hear that you got sick I hope your all better now. Looks like there are harpies no matter where you go! Poor Freddy I hope Remus comes to visit again ^_^.

Author's Response: Thank you, SilverShadow! Yes, I'm completely recovered now, although I must say, I feel terribly sympathetic towards Freddy.

Again, thanks for the great reviews! It was wonderful hearing from you.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #32, by SilverShadow04 Visiting Hours

31st August 2010:
I didn't find it slow at all but maybe that was because Remus was in this chapter (I loves him ^_^). I loved the subtle tension between Remus and Crane, as in chapter 1 your writing is excellent.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And yes, I happen to be a Remus fan myself. He's such a darling. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #33, by SilverShadow04 Ether Shadows and Phantoms

31st August 2010:
Wow this is excellently written :). You've got me ready to go onto the next chapter. And I do appreciate a writer who does research!

Author's Response: Thank you, SilverShadow! I really do appreciate your kind feedback.

 Report Review

Review #34, by Violet Gryfindor Puzzled

20th August 2010:
It was good to see Mr. Lias back again. He was a great character in "Consumed" and he had a positive influence on Freddy. He still does, even if she's a little uncertain about what to do with his engagement. I keep forgetting that he's a young man, which is part of the problem. He has an aura of oldness about him, especially when he and Freddy are together.

Another good thing to see what Freddy starting to work again. I loved the descriptions of what she was researching in "Consumed", so seeing them now in this story really demonstrates how Freddy is getting better, even if she doesn't think she is. :P The academic side of teaching at Hogwarts that you've created with Freddy is novel in fanfiction, which makes this story even more unique.

There were a couple of typos I noticed, so you may need to check this chapter over if you have time. Otherwise, I really enjoyed reading it, and can't wait to read more. :D

Author's Response: Hiya Susan!
Yup, Mr. Lias is back. As I mentioned in my author's note, I couldn't just let him ride off into the sunset after "Consumed". I think he still has a role to play, even if it's just providing Freddy with some much needed companionship right now.

And I agree with your perception of his advanced age. Even though he is physically young, I think he has an old soul. He's an antiques dealer, he dresses in Victorian clothes and seems to have a general appreciation of the archaic. ;)

As to Freddy starting to work again, you'll be seeing more of that in chapter ten, when McGonagall pays another visit to the sanatorium.

And thank you so much for mentioning the typos! My beta hasn't looked at this chapter yet, but I will definitely take some time out and scour this chapter for the typos myself. ^_^

Again, thanks a million for the amazing feedback, Susan. You never fail to both inspire and encourage me in my fanfic endeavors. Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #35, by Violet Gryfindor Il Dolce Suono

19th August 2010:
Wow. Just wow. I hadn't expected things to go like this! Crane was a little different in this chapter, revealing to both Freddy and readers his inner self, the person behind the doctor's uniform. I love that he loves opera as it only makes him more complicated and also contributes to his Gothic flair, especially with the opera that he plays in this chapter.

Healer Elliot is another fascinating character in this story. He's so American that he's amusing, but at the same time, there's more to him than meets the eye - he knows Crane better than anyone, I think, so there must be something more to him because Crane wouldn't let down his guard in front of Elliot without a good reason.

There was just one thing I noticed - you have "confident" where I think you mean "confidant". Otherwise, this was fantastic! Now to see what happens next. :D

Author's Response: Hi Susan!
Thank you so very much for the fantastic review! Yes, it almost seems as though Crane is intentionally trying to embrace the spirit of the original Romantics. He's a strange mixture of Keats and Poe, haha. As for the opera, I just knew I had to include it in this story from the start. I happened to attend a performance of Lucia di Lammermoor some time ago and I thought the mood of the opera just fit this fic perfectly. The music is exquisite and yet, there is an eerie undertone to it...kind of like Crane's personality, I suppose.

And yes, I'm afraid I have a bit of a weakness for Healer Elliot. He was a character that just popped up while I was writing and I threw him into the mix. And I think he definitely exaggerates his American-ness to amuse and entertain the other staff and patients at an all-British sanatorium. ;)

Thanks so much for pointing out that nasty little typo! Eek! I'm off to fix it.

Again, I really do appreciate every single one of your reviews, Susan. Thank you. Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #36, by Violet Gryfindor Shades of Regret

19th August 2010:
Haha, her mother is a shipper too! :P I don't know how likely any Remus/OC relationship would be here, but it's fun how you play with the possibility of it here as you did in Consumed. But they are perfect as friends, very comforting and oddly suited to one another. And your portrayal of Remus is wonderful. *sigh* He's just what Freddy needs.

I actually liked Freddy's Mam more than I have before - while I don't agree with her in all things, she sees the world very matter-of-factly, and her practicality is something that Freddy also needs. She needs someone to argue with, to make her forget about the other things in her life.

The writing style, characterizations, and everything is fantastic, as always. It's hard to come up with things to say because of that, my apologies. ;)

Author's Response: Hi Susan!
Hehe. Yes, I suppose Mrs. Fotherby is a bit of a shipper. ;) Although if it's not too much of a spoiler to say so, she'll be quite the Crane shipper later on in the story. Not that I can blame her, really. Why shouldn't she want her daughter to marry a handsome, kind and successful healer?

You know, I think much of the shipping in this fic comes simply from Freddy herself playing with the possibility of a relationship with Remus. You know, she has to talk herself in circles for a while before she can get a grip on the situation...and usually by then it's too late.

I'm so glad you liked Mam in this chapter. I never wanted her to be an unlikable character. She and Freddy just have a typical mother daughter relationship, I suppose. They do love each other, but they don't necessarily like each other, haha.

Again, thank you SO much for the amazing review! Seriously, I have difficulty keeping myself from simply gushing like crazy in these replies. Take care and be well, Susan!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #37, by Violet Gryfindor The Lady of Shalott

19th August 2010:
Wow, I hadn't expected that, though I did expect death - like you said, this is a sanatorium. Even Freddy is under constant threat from it, though she doesn't think about it in regard to herself, which just shows how resilient she is. She wants out, and would do anything to do it, but not in a body bag.

Speaking of the "would do anything to get out" idea that she has, I have a scary suspicion as to what she might do or is possibly considering. And if this is true, it proves the extent of her desperation in a very Freddy-like way.

She continues to be an amazing character, funny and disarming even at the worst of times for her. At the same time, it's great to see how much magic she is capable of - she's shy and lacking in self-esteem, but she knows what she can do and will go ahead and do it. It makes her more unpredictable and complex. :D

I have a long way to catch up, but hopefully it'll happen this week. ;) I've been missing reading this.

Author's Response: Hello Susan!
Ugh! I'm so sorry it took me a while to reply to this review. I've had a tone of catching up to do lately, both with writing and responding to reviews. I do apologize for the delay. As you know, your feedback means the world to me. Every time I see a review from you in my inbox, I just can't stop smiling. Thank you so very, very much!

I was actually hoping that Lavinia's death would catch some of my readers off-guard. From what I've read about sanatoriums, death was extremely common and both the staff and patients had certain procedures that were strictly adhered to in order to avoid upset, or, in the worst cases, hysteria. It always struck me as strange, considering how much importance our society places on grieving, healing and acceptance. In sanatoriums, however, the patients were expected to more or less ignore death and not discuss it openly for fear that they would worsen their health.

And you're right about Freddy being desperate. Her desire to leave the sanatorium will become a very important issue later on in the story. However, as you know, she does have a way of sabotaging herself. ;)

I'm so glad you still find Freddy interesting and engaging as a character. I must admit I've gotten rather used to writing her.

Again, thanks a million, Susan! You're such an awesome, dedicated reader. I really appreciate each and every one of your reviews. Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #38, by Snagglepuss Puzzled

18th August 2010:
I am over the moon that you updated! I was worried this story, like many others I loved, had been discontinued by the author. Hope you update soon. Loved it as always

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Snagglepuss! And yes, this story is very much alive. My summer classes just turned out to be way more taxing than I expected. However, now that I have a slight break, I do promise to update more frequently. Thanks again for your support and patience!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #39, by lia_2390 Puzzled

17th August 2010:
Celtic! I was dying for you to update this and now that you have I am thrilled!

Freddy's reaction to her moment with Crane, I admit, is kind of hilarious. The two of them are so adorable. I love how she's casting the blame upon him and going on about his hypothetical romantic trysts. It was her who got all dressed up just to 'apologise' and as you've told me in the last review, she knew exactly what she was doing! Healer Crane's reaction is something I would love to see.

I am thrilled that you brought back Lias. At least now Freddy has someone to talk to.

Another great chapter, can't wait to see the others ^_^
Lia.

Author's Response: Hello Lia!
Ah, thank you so much! I always look forward to hearing your thoughts on this fic. I've been writing this series so long, I really do count on my lovely readers to keep me on my toes and focused, haha. ;)

Yeah, Freddy is definitely in denial, I would say. I think she has a tendency to overanalyze things...maybe it's a Seer thing, hehe. It seems as though she consistently overlooks the most obvious answer to her problems, which is unfortunate, because she would probably save herself a lot of time and anguish if she were only honest with herself to begin with. ;)

And yes, Lias is back. I must admit I kind of missed him. He's lots of fun to write and much more likable than the love-struck Crane.

Again, thank you SO much for the great review. Goodness, I'm quite overwhelmed by all your positive comments. I hope to start writing the next chapter of "Breathless" in a little over a week, so hopefully, another update won't be far away. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #40, by tydemans Il Dolce Suono

19th June 2010:
I really liked this chapter - I can't believe its taken me so long to fly by with a review. I loved Elliot, he plays off Crane well. Also, Freddie -the seer who who refuses to look too closely at herself.

But, the best thing about this is that you do such a phenomenal job of revealing Crane's character and motives in a way that is natural and in keeping with everything that led up to this point. Impressive.

Looking forward to more!
~Ty

Author's Response: Hi Ty!
Oh, I'm so very glad you enjoyed this chapter. Thanks a million for the review! And I'm truly thrilled to hear that Crane's motives seem natural to you. He's a rather secretive, shy fellow and, at times, a bit difficult to write. ;)

Again, thanks for everything, Ty! I hope you're well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #41, by voldemortisrlyfreakinawesome Il Dolce Suono

3rd June 2010:
Wow... this really was an amazing chapter. I had figured that Crane was a bit awkward, after all he spends all of his time in a Sanatorium. I was not expecting anything this intense just yet, but it fit really well with what was happening in the scene.

I like Crane, I have since he was first introduced, and I am glad that we got to see so much of him this chapter, and get to understand him a little bit more. Im really looking forward to where the almost kiss leads, and can't wait until next chapter!

Good Luck!

Author's Response: Hi there!
Oh, I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! Crane has been a difficult character to write...readers seem very polarized in their opinions of him. I wanted to find a happy medium, a sort of middle-ground, but he's so awkward, I didn't know if his motivations would come across as realistic.

Therefore, I really, really do appreciate your feedback on this chapter. It was so helpful. Thank you! ^_^ The next chapter is in the works and should be posted soon. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #42, by lia_2390 Il Dolce Suono

2nd June 2010:
Hey celtic!

You have no idea how long I've been waiting for you to update!

I like Healer Elliot's character, he's kind of a rebel and as you said, rather flippant but someone has to be. I love how you used Mark Ruffalo to portray him, haha, I watched Shutter Island yesterday and I could almost hear him with that accent. He is the complete opposite of Healer Crane who in this chapter was adorable, bumbling mess! I really didn't mind it because I thought it was so endearing. You're really showing his character here, underneath all the immaculate healer garb, there's such a shy man (I've gone all fangirl now ^_^).

And Freddy, oh dear! I wonder what made her go down there to apologise to him at night, taking into account to wear her very best bathrobe. I absolutely love the fact that she almost kissed him back but the poor thing, it spooked her and she ran off. My goodness, I want to see how both of them will come back from this one.

When she jumped back and hit into the gramophone, the scratching sound - that was brilliant. It shocked them both back into reality.

Another great chapter!

Lia.

Author's Response: Hi Lia!
Thank you so much for lovely review, dear! I'm really still speechless after receiving your reviews for "Janus" and "Consumed". You are too kind! *blushes*

And yay! I'm so glad Healer Elliot reminded you of Mark Ruffalo's character in Shutter Island...that's exactly who he is based on. I actually think Elliot and Freddy would get along better than Freddy and Crane. Unfortunately, he's not her healer. ;)

And I do think Freddy knew exactly what she was doing, going down to Crane's office after hours wearing her prettiest bathrobe with her hair all done up. Crane at least acknowledges his motives, although Freddy tries her best to ignore hers, haha. ^_^

Again, thank you so much for the thoughtful review, Lia. It was wonderful hearing from you! Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #43, by Snagglepuss Il Dolce Suono

2nd June 2010:
Poor healer Crane.
I absolutely love how you built the suspense in this chapter. Especially at the end when the singer is wailing which makes the mood of the story seem more tense.
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review, Snagglepuss! I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this chapter. With any luck, the next one should be posted soon. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #44, by breakingeven Shades of Regret

22nd April 2010:
Yay, Remus is back! He needs to get up on his white horse and save Freddy from the evil healer. Speaking of Healer Creeper, yikes! He's told the other healers to stay away from Freddy? Creepy behavior, if you ask me. He's a bit too interested in her. I bet he's going to try and keep her sick for longer so that he can keep her locked up there. Cause he's a creep. And a jerk. And a... meaniepants. I do like Healer Elliot, though! You should have him come back. :) Anyway, great great great chapter, as always. Hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Hi breakingeven!
Yes, Remus is finally back! Took him long enough, didn't it? But don't worry, I plan to have him pop up again soon. He won't be leaving Freddy alone for long.

And I must say, you certainly don't like Healer Crane. I suppose that's a good thing, as he is currently Remus's rival. ;) However, the next chapter (which I'm hard at work on and should be posted soon) will hopefully shed some light on his behavior and perhaps give you a better understanding of his motives. ^_^

Also, I'm so very glad you liked Healer Elliot. He'll be back for the next chapter as well. ^_^

Thanks so much for the awesome reviews, breakingeven! You know I adore your feedback. I hope you have a pleasant weekend! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #45, by breakingeven The Lady of Shalott

22nd April 2010:
Okay, I've decided that Healer Creeper is definitely a vampire. He doesn't sleep--wide awake when he was busy declaring someone dead at 12:15 in the morning? don't think so--and he doesn't have TB. You think he'd get it being around all these people.

So that's my theory. I still don't like him, even if he has a "radiant aura". I think he wants to trick Freddy (and suck her blood) or something. I don't even know. I feel like he doesn't have good intentions though. But, great great chapter! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi breakingeven!
Ah, Crane as a vampire. That's a great theory. You know, in the old days, many consumptives were actually mistaken for vampires as they seemed to be "wasting away", all the while maintaining a strange pallor and coughing up blood. However, I can say with confidence that Crane isn't a vampire. (hope you're not disappointed!) He is, however, very isolated and awkward.

And as far as his intentions go, they will be detailed at length in the next chapter, I promise. Actually, Crane isn't really evil, he's just very inept when it comes to women. ;)

Thank you so much for the kind review, breakingeven! Your feedback never fails to put a smile on my face. I hope you have a pleasant week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #46, by breakingeven Reprise

22nd April 2010:
Oh, gosh, this is all so perfectly suspenseful! What had Trelawny said a long time ago? What does that have to do with Healer Crane? When are the patients going to go crazy and kill all the nurses and healers and run free?!?!? Just kidding, though that would be an interesting turn of events. :) 10/10 as always!

Author's Response: Hiya breakingeven!
Aww, thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! You've been such a supportive reader. I'm so very grateful for your feedback.

As to as what Trelawney said about Crane "a long time ago" you can find that in Chapter Seventeen of "Consumed". ;)

Haha, it would be funny to see the "lunatics take over the asylum", although I suppose consumptives lack the feverish motivation of some mental patients. ^_^

Thanks again for everything! I hope you have a lovely week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #47, by breakingeven Resignations

22nd April 2010:
Another great chapter! I hope that this letter doesn't seem as official as you suggest. :( I don't think I could stand to see Freddy let down by another male fixture in her life! Must keep reading!

Author's Response: Hello breakingeven!
Yes, Freddy could definitely use some positive male companionship right now. ;) And as far as the letter goes, I think you'll find it appropriately congenial, or at least, I hope so. ^_^

Thanks so much for the awesome review! It was really wonderful hearing from you. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #48, by Violet Gryfindor Reprise

21st April 2010:
This is a hugely spooky chapter. The descriptions of the graveyard and the sanatorium create a perfectly Gothic atmosphere, and what's most interesting about this atmosphere is that Freddy fits into it seamlessly. It's like she belongs in both places - the sanatorium is strangely a significant part of her life, as Quirrell said, like she was meant to go there, and perhaps do something there.

I love your male characters in this chapter even more than I usually do. They're all very realistic and they interact with Freddy in the funniest of ways. Crane has to be up to something - I still don't trust him at all. There was something of the spider and the fly in the way the music lured Freddy down to his lair. Both Remus and Quirrell were lovable, if slightly infuriating, but that's probably why Freddy has connected with them so well.

Off to the next chapter! Like "Consumed", this story has many, many addictive qualities. ;)

Author's Response: Hello Susan!
I am, of course, absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this chapter. When I originally drafted it, I don't think it was quite so spooky/Gothic, however, I was watching the old ghost movie "The Innocents" at the time, so the haunted atmosphere must have rubbed off on me. ;)

Still, I'm quite glad you found the sanatorium appropriately eerie. I think one of my greatest challenges with this fic has been characterizing the hospital. Technically, it's a harmless place, a comforting place, even, especially for the very sick. However, I myself have a strong personal aversion to sanatoriums/hospitals/boarding schools/institutions, etc. (I don't know why, to be honest, as I've never been hospitalized ^_^) I was, however, concerned that my phobia would make Freddy appear crazy. She should be grateful, after all, to be receiving such good care and yet she's not. I guess when it comes down to it, it's just hard making a harmless place appear sinister, haha. ;)

And I'm so happy you're still enjoying my characterizations of my "male leads". Crane, hmm, to be honest, he's sort of the personification of the sanatorium. Completely harmless and yet a bit creepy.

Again, it was just wonderful hearing from you, Susan. I never now how to properly express my gratitude for your feedback. I suppose I'll have to stick with a rather pathetic "thank you". ^_^

Take care and have a pleasant weekend!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #49, by Violet Gryfindor Resignations

20th April 2010:
This was excellent, Lee Anne! I'm sorry for having taken so long to finally get to this chapter, but it was well-worth the wait. You've brought in the end of PoA perfectly. I'd been curious about how you were going to do it, but having it this way is not only convenient (because you don't have to go into much detail about it) and it also creates this new link between Freddy and Remus. They're both very marginalized at the moment, having endangered their students and not being "acceptable" for society. I'm thinking it will help their friendship, especially on Freddy's side, as she disliked him so much before. :P

Once again, I love your characterizations of Trelawney and McGonagall. Theyr'e so true to the books, but with an extra spark of life that makes them more human. I liked how McGonagall seemed to know something, but Freddy couldn't guess at it - that was another way that you play with canon successfully, as the reader knows what that something is too.

The writing is, as always, flawless. Reading this has made me miss reading your stories, and you may see in the next little while a number of reviews from me as I try to catch up with this one and Trial By Fire. You're fantastically talented and it's always a pleasure to read something of yours. ^_^

Author's Response: Hello Susan!
Oh my. As you know, your reviews always leave me speechless. Incoherent, really. So please forgive me if I ramble on here for bit.

Thank you so much, really, thank you. I feel so honored to have a master (or is it mistress?) of HP fanfiction read my story. And, of course, I'm just thrilled to hear that you're still enjoying this fic.

Your comments were spot on, as usual. This may sound weird, but I think Freddy's TB has actually helped improve her relationship with Remus a great deal. They have something in common now, as you pointed out. I suppose there is something to be said for misery loving company. ;)

I'm also so glad to hear that you enjoyed the PoA tidbits in this chapter. Even though this story is AU, I've tried my best to stick to canon and keep the characters faithful to JKR's original vision. I don't know, however, if I've succeeded or not. ;)

Again, thank you SO much, Susan! You truly are an inspiration. Take care!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #50, by tydemans Shades of Regret

19th April 2010:
So, took me a while to get here. I really enjoyed this chapter.

I felt for Freddy in all her frustration and her guilt. You do a great job of working through the full cycle of emotions. It really gives full weight to her frustration, her fear of what's going on between her and Dr. Crane, and the desperation of her situation.

Loved the interactions with her mother, and poor Remus right in the middle of it. You really balance the heavy topics with a nice touch of humor.

I have thoroughly enjoyed the story - its unique and well presented. I will be cheering Freddy on for the duration and I'm definitely looking forward to the apology.

Take care!
~Ty

Author's Response: Hi Ty!
Oh my! I must apologize for taking so long to respond to this lovely review. The last few weeks have been crazy school-wise and I was away on vacation for most of this week, so I had absolutely no time for fanfiction. :( I'm really very, very sorry. Your reviews have been wonderful and I truly appreciate your feedback.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter and thought Freddy's emotions were well-balanced. I have to say, if I was her, I think I would be quite psycho by now. ;)

Again, thanks for everything, Ty! I'm so pleased with how this review exchange turned out. Take care!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>