Reading Reviews for Legend
  
123 Reviews Found

Review #26, by IAmGeorge Chapter One

16th October 2011:
This story is so well written! It really shows that you have taken the time to look t particular aspects of how you see the Founders Era.

Plus, your A/N made me smile :) Not many writers hope I have a good week! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by GubraithianFire Epilogue

13th September 2011:
pesdjklhgfk

Lee Anne, I just -- I can't even. I am without words. I wish I could say more, but here's what I can say: I read through this entire fic tonight and I have been squeaking and OMG-ing and aeorisdhguk-ing at the end of every section, let alone chapter, like a maniac and esjidfghkd. I can't even begin to tell you how eye-opening this fic has been for me, I can't begin to say how much in awe I am of it, and therefore of you. It is brilliant and eye-opening and awe/envy-inspiring and I'm kicking myself because I didn't read this sooner (although the apparently agonizing wait period makes me glad that I did wait so long). But... GAH. I can't even. I am... iweprithf HOW DO YOU DO THIS. You are a goddess and I am so jealous and so inspired and I can't even. I'm so sorry this review is so awful and consists mostly of keyboard-mashing, but behind the random groupings of letters is the very sincere feeling of being flabbergasted and shocked by, in awe and a little terrified of, and totally in love with a story. Thank you for writing this, and please never stop writing. ♥

 Report Review

Review #28, by pennyardelle Epilogue

10th August 2011:
This was a perfect ending.

I was enthralled from the very start, perhaps because I was so excited to see how you were going to tie everything together, and to explain why the story of Hogwarts we know is so different from the one you've told us. All of that was done masterfully. One of my favourite parts was the reference to the Black Lake--it's the little details like that which have made this story so enjoyable to read!

Salazar's final revenge was the perfect note to end this on. As a recently-graduated history major, I would also like to say that I love how this story, especially the ending, shows how human history can be completely manipulated, and how careful you have to be about accepting one version of events.

Amazing job...thank you for writing this story!

 Report Review

Review #29, by pennyardelle Chapter Ten

10th August 2011:
For a little while there towards the end, I was sure that Godric was going to refuse to kill Riol...but I guess I should have known, after reading 10 chapters of this story, that things weren't necessarily going to go the way I had expected! :)

I love the way you set up Helga's death, especially her last few moments. In that, I think we got a glimpse of a very different Helga than the one that appeared in the majority of the story. It's amazing how much depth all these characters have!

On to the epilogue...can't wait to read the end!

 Report Review

Review #30, by pennyardelle Chapter Nine

10th August 2011:
Wow! Helena was Helga and Godric's daughter? That was unexpected! But, hey, we know next to nothing about these characters, so who's to say it's not possible. (As a side note, it always kind of bugged me that Helga and Helena's names were so phonetically similar--but here, you've provided an explanation of sorts for it!)

I love how so many threads are starting to come together in this chapter. The hat, the feud between Gryffindor and Slytherin...I'm excited to see how it will all turn out.

I really like how the signature qualities of each House are often displayed by your characters. Salazar is definitely ambitious and cunning, and Godric is brave, of course, but I especially noticed in this chapter how rational and logical Rowena is. She does not necessarily begrudge Helga's take-over, because she recognizes that it was actually for the better of her people.

I also love how there's such a role reversal with Helga and Godric in terms of the "typical" roles of men and women in Founders stories. It always seems like Helga and/or Rowen is devoted to Godric and/or Salazar, but here, it's actually Godric that feels more attached to Helga. Very refreshing! :)

pennyardelle
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #31, by pennyardelle Chapter Eight

10th August 2011:
It's taken me a long time to finish this story--sorry for temporarily abandoning it! It's nice that I can now read it straight to the end, though. :)

It was a great battle scene! Helga is a fantastic character, and I love how the twist with Rowena disguising herself as Ailbhe (hopefully I spelled that right) came to light.

One of my favourite parts of this chapter was Conall's thoughts about Hogwarts--it had the effect of referencing the magic within the castle and making me feel both fascinated and somewhat anxious at the same time.

Great work!

pennyardelle
(Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #32, by JohannaMarie Epilogue

23rd February 2011:
Wow. I had realized that the story was AU, but I love how you turned it around at the end and set it up so that the future generations would see it the same way the do "now." So unexpected, it makes it so that this might actually be what happened. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review, JohannaMarie. I really do appreciate your feedback. And I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the ending. ^_^ I do hope you have a pleasant weekend. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #33, by crystle. Epilogue

21st February 2011:
hahahahahahaha.

But what about the chamber of secrets, when did he put that in.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! Yes, Salazar did put in the Chamber of Secrets before he left Hogwarts, however, he is not too keen on divulging that particular part of his past to his grandson. As you may have noticed, Salazar is very concerned with his image and how the world will perceive him when he is gone. Therefore, he's trying to sweep all his less than distinctive achievements under the rug. Hope that clears things up and thanks again for reviewing! ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #34, by crystle Chapter Ten

2nd February 2011:
who is going to turn it into a school?

Author's Response: You'll have to wait until the epilogue to find out. ^_^ Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Crystle Chapter Nine

21st December 2010:
great chapter. I expect Helga to survive, and Rowena not to kill the child.

merry Christmas

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Crystle! I hope to have the next chapter written and ready to go as soon as the queue reopens. I hope you have a very Merry Christmas!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #36, by cobwebxoxo Chapter Nine

20th December 2010:
Refresh my memory; Helena is...?

Awesome chapter. I love this story, :D Very well written.

10/10
-cobweb

Author's Response: Thank you so much, cobweb! In the HP books, Helena was Rowena Ravenclaw's daughter, the one who stole the diadem from her and was later killed by the Bloody Baron. She then became the ghost of the Ravenclaw house and was known as they Grey Lady. Hope that clears things up. Please let me know if you have any more questions. ^_^ Take care and have a great holiday!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #37, by Anon Chapter Eight

17th December 2010:
For the record, even though I was bad and stopped reviewing a few chapters back, I've been following this story religiously. It's well written, and clever and very original as far as founder fics go.

Only, I wish you'd update more quickly-- at least when the chapter is sitting at 100% on your profile... it's quite agonizing, checking back to see if it's been finally uploaded. If you need more betas you've only to say the word.

=P But anyway, great story, really. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Happy holidays!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Anon! I'm so glad to hear that you're still enjoying this story. As always, I truly appreciate your continued support and patience. :)

As for the lack of updates, I do apologize. I really try my best to have chapters posted as quickly as possible, but I am a full-time student and my schoolwork does come first. However, I am on break now and with only a chapter and an epilogue left for this story, I do hope to finish it up over the next two weeks. ^_^ Again, sorry for the delay!

Once more, I'd really like to thank you for your thoughtful reviews. Your feedback means so much to me. I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #38, by cobwebxoxo Chapter Eight

5th December 2010:
I love this story. Such an exciting telling of the Founders. It really makes me believe that they exsisted and you've come from the past to tell their story xD

On several occasions I swore you could be JKR.

Keep writing. Publish a book. I'll definitely read it.

10/10
-cobweb

Author's Response: Oh my! *blushes* Thank you so much for the kind review, cobweb! It was really great hearing from you. The next chapter is almost finished and should be posted soon. I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #39, by Sirius Blacks lover Chapter Six

2nd October 2010:
I love this story! Your style of writing is intricate and very refreshing to read. I like that you don't really glamorize things, you tell the like they are. But there is still a strong element of poetry and beauty in it, which I think is the best. You seem to know a lot about history in this time period, so that's good too. Just some typos and a few grammar mistakes in this one, but otherwise I have no complaints:)

Author's Response: Hello again!
Thank you for the great review! I really, really do appreciate your kind comments and thoughtful feedback. And thanks for mentioning the typos. I swear, I must be half-blind. I proofread my chapters many times over before posting, and yet, some mistakes still seem to slip through, haha. I will, however, certainly go back and see if I can find the ones you mentioned.

Thanks again for everything! I hope you have a lovely week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #40, by Sirius Blacks lover Chapter Five

1st October 2010:
Another awesome chapter, many kudos to you:) This fic is so unique from any I've ever read, but it is still Harry Potter. Really great:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Sirius Blacks lover Chapter Four

1st October 2010:
Wow, that was amazing. Your writing is so unique and definetly some of the best fanfiction I've ever read. The portrayals, the imagery, the insight into each characters mind plus a really excellent prose style combined just makes it awesome. I can tell it's getting more serious! Also, the characters are perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for the lovely review! *blushes* I feel terribly spoiled by all of your kind feedback. As always, it was just wonderful hearing from you. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #42, by JamesOCIII Chapter One

30th September 2010:
THIS IS FANTASTIC.

I think Godric should be more... rash, reckless, and bold though... isn't that what Gryffindors are for? I think each of the Founders represents an epic hero, with a tragic flaw...
That's just my opinion though.
Great writing!

Author's Response: Hi JamesOCIII!
Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I'm so thrilled to hear that you liked this first chapter.

Godric's seemingly different personality is completely intentional, by the way. In writing this story, I really wanted to twist Founders' canon and create an entirely AU plot. Therefore, most of the characters display traits that are quite opposite to their supposed personalities. Godric is obedient and thoughtful, Helga is a strong warrior queen, Salazar is a poor servant and Rowena is quite mad. ;)

I do hope that clears things up. If not, feel free to ask more questions. I'd be happy to answer them for you.

I hope you have a lovely weekend! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #43, by Sirius Blacks lover Chapter Two

30th September 2010:
Another good chapter, and I have to say I am really liking this story so far. It's clever, well written, and has a good ammount of action and tension in it. I find it interesting that you portray Salazar as the eastern-cynic, kind of, and Helga as the valiant warrior; I think it's really accurate and effective, and the other portrayals are really good too. It's like a burst of insight into the founders' lives, after only having hints:)

Author's Response: Hi there!
Thanks a million for the thoughtful review! It's really been wonderful hearing from you, and I must say, I truly enjoy your insights. ;)

I hope you have a great weekend. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #44, by Sirius Blacks lover Chapter One

30th September 2010:
Great story! I love all the descriptions, historical references, details; they are all creative and enthralling. The writing is really good too, and the style fits. I've never read fics about the Founders before, but I'm glad I decided to try it:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I was so happy to hear from you. I'm thrilled that you've enjoyed the first chapter. ;) Thanks again for the kind feedback! Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #45, by PrincessEbony Chapter Eight

27th September 2010:
This is so delicious! I love your take on each of the founders. I am interested to know Rowena better. You seem to effortlessly weave in themes found in the books as well. Update as soon as your busy schedule allows please :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, PrincessEbony! I'm so glad you're enjoying this story. I promise to have the next chapter posted as soon as possible. Until then, take care and be well! ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #46, by PrincessEbony Chapter One

27th September 2010:
Brilliant stuff! I can't wait to read the rest.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Crystle Chapter Eight

26th September 2010:
please update again soon, very dramatic chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll try my best to have the next chapter posted soon.

 Report Review

Review #48, by bluebell Chapter Eight

25th September 2010:
Wow- i loved your work! Your style of wriitng is fantastic and very fittinging to the time, the characters are so full of life, your story flows beautifully ... wow! it's been so long since I've come across a fanfic that is written to this standard. Brilliant job :)

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, bluebell! I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you're enjoying this story. With any luck, the next chapter should be posted soon. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #49, by Chasing Whimsy Chapter Seven

11th September 2010:
A truly delicious read. I love the way you've made the characters your own, especially since we all know of them, just not who they actually are. Excellent attention to detail, I'm looking forward to your next update :) 10/10
kisses
Chase

Author's Response: Thank you, Chase! I'm so thrilled to hear that you're enjoing this fic. And, needless to say, I really do appreciate your kind comments. The next chapter is in the works and I should have it posted by next weekend. Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #50, by pennyardelle Chapter Seven

15th August 2010:
Only three chapters left? Wow! I am torn between feeling sad that there are so few, and excited that I'll get to see everything unravel. :)

I'm of course very suspicious about this whole surrender that Rowena orchestrated--since she made a deal with Salazar, I can't imagine that he is really being completely honest with Godric. Whatever it is, it must be a pretty complicated plan, since Rowena was willing to go to the lengths of telling her warriors to surrender.

I really love the simplicity that you approach magic with in this story--it's very rudimentary and uncertain, which I find to be so much more believable in a story like this, where magic is really not that well-known or widespread. And I also love how you tie in things like the use of owls, giving an explanation for things that are so commonplace in Harry's time.

Wonderful chapter, as usual, and I can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Hi pennyardelle!
Yup, only three more chapters left. Honestly, you think I might have finished this story sooner, haha. ;)

You're right to be suspicious of Rowena's supposed surrender. Salazar is the villain in this story, not that I have anything against him as a character, I just needed someone to fill the role of antagonist and he fits it perfectly. Although, to be honest, Helga is no angel herself. ;)

I'm so glad you liked my approach to early magic. I always thought it might be very rudimentary during this time period, with wizards, as well as Muggles, trying to find their place in a swiftly changing world.

Again, thank you SO much for your continued support and patience! I'm hoping to have the next chapter posted in less than three weeks this time, so keep your fingers crossed. ^_^ Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>