Reading Reviews for The Lord of Tang
  
143 Reviews Found

Review #26, by FriendofMolly The Loudest Cheer

3rd May 2012:
TG,
I did originally think the Arthur and Molly would be the Twins adoptive parents. They could not have a better family. Right now they just need love and stability. During the 10th Century, at least they had their fun with the games, before the arrival of the King. I am anxious to see what happens next. So I will continue. I am so glad you were able to post these chapters.
FoM

Author's Response: Yep I agree FoM, it's good to see the twins with the loving family that they need. I had fun researching the games, too. Many Thanks again my friend.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #27, by FriendofMolly The King, The Bishop and The Hogs Back.

3rd May 2012:
TG,
At last a treasure trove of chapters. In the 10th Century Styr is showing bits of his evil. He has worked so hard to blind those around him. I'm afraid the Archbishop is in danger. As to the 20th Century the funeral was touching. It may have been short, but the Twins gained more from Eli and Maggie, than their other life. Now they have a good base. I have wondered just when the next clue for Hermione would appear. The where and when was spectacular . I can't wait to read the next.
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks FoM, great to hear from you again, Glad you are still enjoying the story.
Tg


 Report Review

Review #28, by AriesGirl40 Return and Restitution

24th April 2012:
completed reading this morning, Yea! a future wife has been found. I'm curious about how they found out Hermione was related? Was it the book of ruines being found?
Loved that Harry OWNS his Uncle. lol he was a sticky fingered punk afterall. Petunia will be a free woman soon.
I already gab with you on FB so, I think I got it covered.
Good chapter. Constantines son didn't live very long did he? but I suppose for the time he was an old man at 52

Author's Response: many thanks Patty, glad you liked it. You know that like JKR I don't give much away until the chapter it's in is up. :-)
Yep 52 was quite old for the time.
Catch you on FB.
All the best.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #29, by ProfTomMulk Return and Restitution

22nd April 2012:
Tom.
I have to say what A very interesting chapter and well worth the wait. I am enjoying the journey back in time and seeing how, people lived back then. The present day had my laughing and shaking my head at how Vernon, like a lot of embezzlers has finally been caught with his deeds coming to light.I wonder how he will react to learning who the actual owners are.
I look forward to reading the rest of the story. Your writing is easily some of the best I have come across.

Author's Response: Many Thanks Prof, Not written any more Vernon yet (doesn't mean he won't be in it, just haven't got there yet) am concentrating on the historic portions of the story, hoping to complete them, then i can concentrate more on the modern era.
Glad you enjoyed it and many thanks once again, hopefully not too long til the next chapter.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #30, by BKL8008 Return and Restitution

22nd April 2012:
Very much worth the wait. I can only imagine what sort of trouble Vernon is yet to be in, and what treasures await Hermione. So much good stuff here I don't know where to begin. Well done!

Author's Response: Many thanks BKL8008, Glad you liked this one. I am concentrating on completing the 10th century story arc at the moment for later chapters so have not yet written any more Vernon (or infact what Hermione finds at Gringotts) Once I have that done I can concentrate on the modern era story arc and taking it where it needs to go.
Many Thanks for your review. Hopefully see you next time.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #31, by BKL8008 The Loudest Cheer

14th March 2012:
Wow, I'm out of chapters! :( Loved that the Twins found a home with the Weasley clan. It even fits into the canon Timeline, since that part of the story is never mentioned before that awful canon epilogue! Can't wait to see more.

Author's Response: Next 2 chapters are with my Beta so hopefully not too long before the next one is up. hopefully see you again then.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #32, by BKL8008 The King, The Bishop and The Hogs Back.

14th March 2012:
Wow. This backstory with Utred just gets better and better. 10-

Author's Response: Thank you.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #33, by BKL8008 A Future to Forge.

14th March 2012:
It just gets better and better. I can see the students in MS class spending a day riding in Dudley's car, if Mr. Weasely can make it run near Hogwarts? Your history of Hogwarts is masterful, as I've said before. Nice touch with including the rumor of a Chamber of Secrets, too! Love the idea of the school being sentient, and this last paragraph was a killer cliffhanger!

Author's Response: Glad you are still enjoying it.
Many thanks.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #34, by BKL8008 The Gift of Merlin

14th March 2012:
10/10! I really didn't want this chapter to end. There's so much good stuff in it. I really like where things are going, especially with Horace and Petunia? You made difficult things like Petunia, Dudley visiting, etc., plausible. Even things that make one cringe - like powerful Firsties or re-Sorts, work so very well. Usually, when I see this theme, I run! Again, for the 40th time or so, so very well done. I will be sad when this volume is over with.

Author's Response: Yes the re sort was something I thought long and hard about before including it, glad you felt it worked.
Many thanks.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #35, by BKL8008 Diversions

13th March 2012:
Hogwarts herself, newly self aware, approved of the changes and unknown to the founders or Creaftas, added a few things herself. - This is just bloody brilliant, to quote Ron! Everything else with the 20th century was great, too. I know it's getting old saying it over and over, but wow! You make me want to hang up my keyboard.

Author's Response: I hope it doesn't make you want to do that, I am trying to work in time to read some of your work and am looking forward to it. Besides I hope it would encourage people to have a go themselves, after all if I can do it so can anyone else.
Many thanks for your comments and "Wow's"
Please keep writing.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #36, by BKL8008 Octo Equestrian and Twin Power.

13th March 2012:
As usual, loved it. Nothing to pick about, really. Funny that Harry and Ginny own so much. I was waiting for them to find out they owned Cadbury/Schwepps or something?!

Author's Response: Lol, never thought of that ;-).

Thanks again.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #37, by BKL8008 A Right Royal Rumble

13th March 2012:
I am awed by the complexity and parallels of this story. You must have put a LOT of time into it. Masterful. I loved the bits with Vernon and Marge! The Fat Lady was perfect, too!

Author's Response: I continue to do so my friend, it is a very complex story, but then I chose to write it. :-)

Many thanks for your comments.

Tom.


 Report Review

Review #38, by BKL8008 The Cordwainers Family

13th March 2012:
I love the parallels from 10th to 20th centuries. The Cordwainer was SO VERY Vernon! And the allusions to the Weasley Twins, etc.! Petunia and Dudley's adventures are well done, too, without being cliche or sappy. I keep waiting for a portrait to talk to them...

Author's Response: Glad you think that, many thanks once again.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #39, by BKL8008 Merlin's Apprentice

13th March 2012:
I laughed! The horse pooped on Slytherin! Poor old chap. How very "Fred/n/George" to do that to him?! Very good chapter. One typo that was hilarity - Petunia at Harry's...it says "minuets", not "minutes'. I had this vision of her dancing through #12! ;)) Seriously, it's hard to find good Founders stories and "beginnings". I have high hopes for this one. I hope the relationship between Godric and Utred is a good one.

Author's Response: Yes I liked that bit.
Doh, both myself and the beta missed that one. Many thanks as usual.
Best wishes.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #40, by BKL8008 Sword in Hand

13th March 2012:
Poor Utred, poor Twins...this will be interesting to see where it goes.

Author's Response: Thanks again BLK8008.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #41, by BKL8008 Flight and Fury

13th March 2012:
Pity about Utred, but it does follow the "Tragic Hero" or "Hero's Journey" as outlined by Vladimir Propp in his "Analysis". Very nice bit with Harry et al, at #12 GP. Excellent starting chapters.

Author's Response: Thank you.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #42, by BKL8008 Destiny's journey begins.

13th March 2012:
Good start, although history isn't really my thing - so I have to trust you! ;) I thoroughly enjoyed the row with Dudley and his father. About time!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. Many thanks.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #43, by Riverwind The King, The Bishop and The Hogs Back.

2nd March 2012:
I could not stop reading, sorry for not reviewing each chapter. Where to start, the twins, Hermione, Utred, so many people with all of their lives intertwined. I normally don't go for stories where resorting has taken place I have now seen two that pull it off, the poor kids, so many bad things happening to them its time for that to turn around. I love the twin talk, in my life I have known twins that do that.

Again this is one of the best stories I have read,

Thanks,
River

Author's Response: Thanks again Riverwind, the resorting was a part of this I thought long and hard about, glad you think it worked. My dad is a twin, he and his brother do it when they are together too.
Good to hear from you however often you can post.
many thanks
tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #44, by Riverwind Flight and Fury

2nd March 2012:
The tell tail signs of a great story is multiple story lines that are all tied together and you are doing this over a 1000 year period. This is some really good stuff. I like how you have brought Dud and Mum back from the outcast leaving the big guy to stew in his own self worth. The historical references takes this story over the top for me. The founders, weaving a story of murder and magic.

Great story,

River

Author's Response: Glad you are still enjoying it Riverwind. many thanks.
Tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #45, by Riverwind Destiny's journey begins.

2nd March 2012:
Having finished your first story and now working on this one, it is wonderful. I love how you have tied founders and post Hogwarts together and weaving a story using your knowledge of the past with the footnotes. This ranks as one of the best stories I have read on this site,

Thanks,
River

Author's Response: Many thanks for your comments Riverwind and congratulations, this is Lord of Tang's 100th review. It is very much writing two complex stories in one and can be very challenging, hence how long it's taking. that said as long as it is enjoyed it is more than worth it, it is comments like these that do encourage me on when the writing gets tricky, Thank you. Hope you enjoy the rest of it too.
all the best.
Tgfoy


 Report Review

Review #46, by AriesGirl40 The Loudest Cheer

9th January 2012:
I am glad the twins chose weasley to live with and be their parents. The games in the bottom of the chapter sound like more fun than the games of today. Though they seem more geared for men. No equal rights for witches at this time I take it?
Another good chapter Tom, rush on with the next one :)

Patty S

Author's Response: Hi Patty, Glad you enjoyed it. The Girls did take part in the games in this chapter but no there weren't equal rights between the genders, that said women did have some rights that men didn't and vice versa. I think one of the earlier historical notes covered the diferent roles, reponsibilities and rights though my friend. Next one is with jascott as we speak.
Best wishes.
Tom. :-)


 Report Review

Review #47, by sinwillys822 The Loudest Cheer

7th January 2012:
That chapter was awesome and Happy New Year to u as well.

Author's Response: Many thanks my friend, glad you enjoyed it.
Best wishes.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #48, by ProfTomMulk The Loudest Cheer

6th January 2012:
Tom,
Another great chapter, I really enjoyed the descriptions, of the games they played 1000 years ago. It is wonderful to read a story where I can learn something new in each chapter. Keep up the good work.
I hope that you have a Happy Birthday.

Author's Response: Hi Prof, Many thanks as usual for your review, glad you enjoyed it, it was a fun one to dream up, research and write. Many thanks also for the Birthday wishes, what a lovely surprise that you remembered it's comming up, thank you.
Best wishes my friend.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #49, by jascott The King, The Bishop and The Hogs Back.

5th December 2011:
Yet another good chapter Tom. I enjoyed beta-ing this one for you. You seem to be setting up the story for the future in this chapter, then again I know that dont I? I've got the next two chapters!

Talking about that, just to allay possible concerns, I'm working on theser chapters at the moment, and will hopefully have the next chapter back with you in time for Xmas, Tom.

Author's Response: Thanks Scott, Be good to get one up in time for christmas if we can. Thanks for your work my friend.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #50, by harryhermron The King, The Bishop and The Hogs Back.

23rd November 2011:
It is good to see you writing again. I missed your
stories. The last two chapters are great!
Happy Thanksgiving

Author's Response: Good to see you too my friend. Glad you enjoyed the last two chapters and thanks for leaving your review.
Happy thanks giving to all accross the "pond" in the USA.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>