Reading Reviews for The Dream of One Night
  
1,015 Reviews Found

Review #26, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter One - Avrille

28th May 2012:
I'm so excited to start reading this story! Granted, it might take me awhile to read all thirty-nine chapters but I have been on such a Severus kick lately I can't wait to see what you have in store with him.

Remedial Arts Thesis (R.A.T.)

^ This is really clever. I used to read a lot of Snape stories and they would sometimes bring in an apprentice of some sort into the story but the thing about those stories was the author never gave any detail about why the woman was being Severus's apprentice or what she really even did beforehand. So I really like the originality there.

Once or twice his eyes darted to my Muggle jeans and pink hooded sweatshirt, quite different from his elegant robes of deep charcoal with black top-stitching.

^ The way you describe things astounds me. From the moment they collide it's like this overload of information but it's not an overload in a sense that's it's too much, it's more than enough where I'm actually seeing everything being played out on my computer screen, instead of just reading about it (if that makes sense).

Oh God, let me die now.

^ I can't stop giggling. I knew from the descriptions that it was Severus but because she didn't know it was him...well...that's really embarrassing actually. I know how red I would be if I was going to a lecture in school and bumped into one of my Professor's like that I would be embarrassed.

Your OC is wonderful. I don't even know her name yet, I don't think you mentioned it and I'm at the part where she's debating the pros and cons of asking a question inside her head. Her thoughts her highly hilarious and yet normal at the same time. She seems like a regular person which is a great sigh of relief.

Oh no! I'm at the end already. I really enjoyed this first chapter. Your writing is just so easy to read because it's incredibly clear but at the same time it's imaginative. I already find myself attached to Avrille. I love how 'high class' she seems but everyone else too, well, Snape really since we weren't introduced to too many people. I like the way you have him carry himself. He sounds like a strong and intelligent man (I was about to say durable but that just sounds like he's Bounty) and important. A lot of stories like to paint him as cruel and weak even though that's just not his character.

Author's Response: Oh, hi!! You have no idea how much I needed these reviews. Been spending all day packing for a move back home, so this was an incredibly nice surprise. Thanks so much!

Your compliments are all so nice. I guess some of it might seem original since I didn't read ANY HPFF before my story was 100% done. So everything I really did have to think up on my own. But now it's cool to read what other people have done and get help with my own writing. The sense of community on this site and TGS is just so wonderful. Avrille definitely has some backstory as to why she's apprenticing. She actually seems to have spent a crazy amount of time in graduate school, but I needed to think up something to take up those years since I didn't want her to be really young since Severus is already I think 33 in this story.

I'm so glad nothing that embarrassing has ever happened to me. It would be like knocking over my favorite author who I was about to be mentored by for a year or something. Utter mortification.

Yay, I'm so happy you like Avrille so far! I attempted to write her as sounding intelligent, but not stuffy like Severus is. I figured she had to be smart or else he wouldn't be interested in her, but I still wanted her to be a bit fun and irreverent to shake him up a bit. And I know you said Bounty, but for some reason it made me think of Brawny, and now I have thoughts of Severus as the Brawny man in my head. I don't know if that's hot or disturbing. I hope you like how I did his characterization since it differs slightly from canon (but hopefully is still believable. Think of it as how canon Snape would be with a slightly different set of circumstances growing up since I didn't know about his whole loving Lily thing and having a Muggle dad when I wrote this.) Thanks again so so so much for the review. I won't be so horribly selfish and spoiled to expect such long, detailed, amazing reviews on every chapter, but if you insist on leaving me a few here or there, I certainly won't object :) I always try to repay the favor as well! Give me a couple weeks, and I'll be settled back at home with much more time for writing and reviewing. Thanks again so much. Have an awesome night!


 Report Review

Review #27, by apocalypse Epilogue - Avrille

7th May 2012:
Beware, this review is gonna have a lot of capitals. =P

RENFAIR! OH MY GOD! I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS STORY IS STILL SO AMAZING! IT'S THE BEST STORY I HAVE EVER HAD THE PRIVILEGE TO READ ON THIS SITE AND I REALLY REALLY LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE YOU FOR WRITING IT! I LOVE SNAPE AND AVRILLE AND EVERYTHING THAT HAS HAPPENED IN THE WHOLE STORY. AMAZING!!

Ahem. Okay. HI! I'm apocalypse! =) I actually created my account on this site only last year but I read this story THREE YEARS AGO. And I STILL remembered everything that has happened in it! I don't think I gave you a review back then but right now, I really wanted to tell about how long I have been following you and this story!

It's been three years since I read this and now when i came back and read it again, it was like I hadn't ever taken a break from it. I've already read this story about 4 times before and even now, it never gets old! It's BRILLIANT! And i'm being a very incoherent reviewer right now but I'm just SO excited to have finally found this story after so many days of research that I can't control it!

I think a lot of people might have already told you how much they love this story and how big fans they are of yours but I still want to tell you THAT I AM YOUR BIGGEST HUGEST FAN EVER! And only because of this story!

Now onto the story's review. As you already know how much I loved it I'll tell you why. =) It's the most beautifully executed story; it makes me believe that something like this did happen during Harry's school year and that Avrille had actually been Snape's apprentice. It makes me believe in true love and friendship and honesty. I suppose, this is the story that changed my opinion about Snape. After reading this, I was convinced that Snape could never be so bad as to hurt so many people. It made me see the good in him.

You've done a wonderful job with the ideas you've had for the story! I really liked how you've made Avrille weak in her powers but given her so much still and how Snape had issues with his father. When he goes to visit his father's grave, THAT WAS ONE OF THE BEST SCENES EVER!

There have been moments in this story when I've cried, laughed, gotten angry, felt frustrated, ridiculous; it just holds so many memories of mine that it's part of my life and will always will be. Even after three years, I still feel for it and would ALWAYS ALWAYS LOVE THIS!

I'm SO glad you've updated the sequel! I'll be taking a look at it and would be reviewing that too! =D I'm currently posting a review on the last chapter of the story but if I feel like reading and reviewing this story again, I might come back a few times and give reviews on random chapters. That's me. =)

I'm sorry I didn't review this story before. But I promise to follow the sequel! I love you and Snape and Avrille! =D

-apocalypse
~Recenseo '12

Author's Response: Well, I don't even know where to begin replying to this review. I'm probably still blushing. I guess let me ask, how does it feel to have made someone's MONTH? :D Cause really, that's what you just did. This review was so completely unexpected, and I can't put into words how appreciated it is. As you probably know, I finished writing this story close to FIVE years ago now (wow! time flies!), so to know that there are still people who are enjoying it and keep coming back to re-read it is incredibly humbling. I really only wrote the story for myself, to create something that I would want to read since I wasn't happy with what a horrible life Snape ended up having in the books, so having really wonderful people like you tell me that you enjoy reading it as much as I did writing it is just...brilliant! :)

I'm so happy the story changed your opinion about Snape. When I started writing it, the "Half-Blood Prince" book hadn't even come out yet, so we really didn't have much of an inkling either way about his true loyalties. I just thought he was so incredibly brave to be doing all that spying for the Order and figured there was no way someone who was truly working for Voldemort would do all the things he did (I decided he must be loyal to Dumbledore after reading HBP and remembering how he had sent Order members to the Ministry after Harry. There's no way he would have bothered if he was "evil." I'm really looking forward SO much to touching on all the stuff in the sequel. JKR gave us fan fic writers so much fun stuff to play around with.)

I hope you enjoy the sequel. Reviews so far seem to be overwhelmingly positive, so I guess I'm doing something right ;) It won't be so focused on the romance aspect, but with more of a focus on family and (without giving *too* much away...) Avrille questioning the realization she came to in the first book that it's impossible to change the future. I'm expecting this story to be around the same length as TDoON, though the epilogue might end up being a stand-alone novella because I'm going to want to wrap up the plot all the way through Voldemort's defeat without making a trilogy.

Sorry, I'm probably rambling! Reviews on random chapters are always appreciated ;) but really, you've already given me so much with this one. I am very curious to know what you think about the new material, so if you don't mind taking a second once you read it, please drop me a line. The cool thing about posting a WIP is the feedback I get from readers while I'm doing it.

Thanks again just so much, a million times over for your incredibly kind review. If you have any questions about this story or the sequel, I have a Meet the Author thread on the forums (and also a BADLY updated blog...haha. I really need to get on updating that...) I also never mind a private message since I LOVE meeting new Harry Potter writing friends. Have an awesome week, thanks so much again, and hope you enjoy Severus's and Avrille's new story! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #28, by TheFalk Epilogue - Avrille

18th April 2012:
AWESOME!
Can't wait to read the sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you thank you thank you! At least you didn't have to wait four years in between the two like the first readers on HPFF did :( I hope you enjoy the sequel just as much. Thanks again for all your reviews! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #29, by TheFalk Chapter Twenty-Eight - Severus

18th April 2012:
ah! that was the most intense chapter yet!

Author's Response: Thanks! I find it really funny how almost everyone who reviews this chapter uses the word "intense" to describe it. :) What can I say, it's one of my favorites. ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #30, by Beth Epilogue - Avrille

18th April 2012:
beautiful!!! first story like this and i adored it, thank you so much.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed it. Thank yo for taking a moment to leave a review and let me know. It really means a lot. Hope you like what I've started of the sequel, if you decide to continue. :D ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #31, by TheFalk Chapter Twenty-One - Avrille

17th April 2012:
FINALLY! This was an amazing chapter!!!

Author's Response: Yeah, that's usually the one that people like a lot ;) Along with chapter 28. Heh heh. I know I dragged it out a bit, but it was worth it, don't you think? Thank you for the review! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #32, by TheFalk Chapter Eleven - Avrille

17th April 2012:
You're an amazing writer!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Um...what can I say...I just do it for fun and write what *I* would like to read :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by TheFalk Chapter Five - Avrille

17th April 2012:
great job!!
I love it! (:

Author's Response: Thanks! There's still plenty more to go ;) Thanks a million for the reviews! You're the best! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #34, by TheFalk Chapter Four - Severus

16th April 2012:
awesome chapter!!!
Can't wait to read what happens!

Author's Response: Thank you thank you! I'm getting quite spoiled here with these reviews every chapter. I can tell you're a writer yourself, since you must know how much I appreciate it ;) ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #35, by TheFalk Chapter Three - Avrille

16th April 2012:
awesome job! I love all the details you have put in!

Author's Response: Thank you! I did work really hard to make it as detailed as possible. I know I always appreciate stories that add a bit more than just what was in canon :) Thanks for all the reviews so far! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #36, by TheFalk Chapter Two - Severus

16th April 2012:
well done! can't wait to read chapter 3!

Author's Response: Alright! Two good reviews in a row. I must have been doing something right ;) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #37, by TheFalk Chapter One - Avrille

16th April 2012:
I really enjoyed this chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #38, by rose18 Epilogue - Avrille

9th March 2012:
I enjoyed this story so much! Avrille is marvelous and Snape is as well- I keep looking for stories in which he finds a happy ending and this is one of the best I have read. You made it fit in beautifully as well with CoS. I am looking forward to your sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) Fan fiction is so great since you can make happy endings where there weren't any originally. I'm so happy you liked it! Chapter one of the sequel is up, with a few more on the way until I can get some time to write more. Your review is super appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to leave it! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #39, by Someone ;) Chapter Twenty-Eight - Severus

6th March 2012:
I love this story! It is amazing :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm super happy you like it ;) Please let me know what you think when you're done reading (and FYI, I'm slowly working on posting the first part of the sequel :D) Thanks again! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #40, by Holly Epilogue - Avrille

29th February 2012:
I absolutely loved the story, especially how they actually ended up staying together in this one when she becomes an expectant mother, as many I have read on a different site makes the couple break up, or with Severus being completely against the child, a complete jerk, or something of the likes. Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: That's so incredibly sad. I think even canon Severus would have had a great potential to be a wonderful father if he had ended up with Lily. Yes, sometimes people with horrible or abusive fathers become abusers themselves, but they can also use that as an example of how *not* to parent (like I had Avrille say) and become stronger because of it. It was very important to me that Severus be given a second chance at having a happy family, and it wasn't an arbitrary decision to make him end up having a son himself. Thank you so much for reading and leaving me a review. In case you're curious, the first chapter of my sequel is currently in the queue waiting to be validated. Family and the specific roles of motherhood and fatherhood will play an enormous role in it. Blame my own having a baby for the fixation. Hey, write what you know, right?

 Report Review

Review #41, by smexy awesome person Epilogue - Avrille

27th February 2012:
your book is awesome i love it you portrayed severus really well and i am really curious to know whats gonna happen when the dark lord comes WRITE A SEQUEL PLEASE YOURE AWESOME XD

Author's Response: Thanks a million! And your name totally cracked me up :) Sequel's on the way, I promise! I have the first four chapters almost completely done. I'm working hard on making the first chapter fit for posting and *should* actually have it up in a few days (assuming my toddler gives me a few uninterrupted hours to finish polishing it up.) Thank you so much for review, and I hope you enjoy what's on the way! ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #42, by xXxMagicHappensxXx Chapter Thirty-Two - Severus

2nd February 2012:
This is very good!! Needless to say, you have perfected the art of story telling! I'm actually quite scared for Snape :( I hope he'll be ok.

Author's Response: Thanks! It's so horrible of me, but I really enjoyed writing the Revenant chapters. I felt awful putting Severus through such an ordeal, but I wanted to show just how serious the Death Wish curse had been. And don't be too scared. He's got a totally kick-butt fiancee to come save him :D ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #43, by xXxMagicHappensxXx Chapter Twenty-Eight - Severus

31st January 2012:
I must say, this is the most amazing love scene I've ever read (yes, I also checked it out on Fiction Alley) You did a really good on it!!

Sorry I've been a loser and waited 28 chapters to review, but I've been so (selfishly) impatient to keep reading I just keep clicking to the next chapter!!

This story has been so brilliant, I just want you to know how much of the "wow" factor you've got going here.

Brilliant grammar, sentance structure and a most intriguing plot!!

Three words ought to sum it up perfectly: I LOVE IT!!!

Keep up the absolutely wonderful writing!!

Author's Response: Oh, you're not a loser! It's really flattering that you were too busy enjoying the story to leave a review :) But it's very, very much appreciated. I kind of wonder when I get a great review for the first chapter then don't hear any more from the reader if maybe they ended up not liking the story and it makes me all paranoid :/ So thanks for checking in!

That scene was so important for me to get right. I wanted it to be tasteful, but still satisfying (heh heh) enough for the reader who has been super patient in waiting for it :) But in all honesty, I HATE writing love scenes. Talk about super embarrassing (and I have a kid, so I guess things like that shouldn't bother me...but they do. Hahahaha.) But I'm glad it came out well.

Funnily enough, I'm actually fine now with having to change that one line. I'm probably going to keep the "edited" version instead of my original one.

Thank you so much for the review! Each and every one is incredibly important to me. If you're able to pop back when you reach the ending (though I certainly wouldn't object to some reviews before that as well), that would be awesome. I'd love to hear what you thought of the story as a whole. Thanks so much again! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #44, by xXxMagicHappensxXx Chapter One - Avrille

28th January 2012:
This is by far one of the most captivating first chapters of a Harry Potter fanfic I've ever read!

I love your writing technique and I love how much personality you give your character. So many people tend to either describe the environment AROUND their character too much, or they might be on the total opposite end of the spectrum and write too much about their character, and the characters thoughts. You however, have found the perfect balance between the two and it has been an absolute pleasure to read this chapter.

I cannot wait to read the rest of the story!

Thank you for an amazing read, I hope you make many more stories in the future

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm really happy you like it so much right off that bat!

I know *exactly* what you mean about there sometimes being too much environmental description or not enough. That is something that I personally work very hard at finding a good balance with, so it's really flattering to have that noticed. Sometimes with writers who I know are younger, I crave a little bit more description and not so much a laundry list of events that reads like a diary, but I know that they're still developing their voice and writing technique so I simply try to enjoy where they are in their life :)

I hope you enjoy the rest of the story just as much! I can usually guarantee that if someone likes the first chapter, they'll find it gets better and better. I hope to write lots more stories in the future, though they might not be fan fiction. I'm working on a sequel to this story, but after that I'm going to try very hard to put fan fiction aside and work on original work so maybe I can be published someday. As much as I love the Harry Potter world to death, I really never felt the longing to write about it besides from the viewpoint of Severus and Avrille. Thank you so much for your review! It is so so so very appreciated! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #45, by TenthWeasley Chapter Seven - Avrille

27th January 2012:
I've been looking forward all week to getting back and reading this chapter -- somehow, what with this week's massive load of deadlines, nothing sounded more appealing to me than dropping it all and immersing myself in fan fiction, and yours was one of the ones I was most anxious to get back to. I just can't help rooting for Severus and Avrille!

This was my absolute favorite quote from this chapter --

I started slightly at his question since I had been strangely mesmerized by the way his thumb had been caressing the twig’s smooth bark.

And the reason I think that I liked it so much was because that you, like me, seem to think Severus's hands are fantastic -- and we've never really seen them in canon, either! I thought that was so neat, and allowed myself to daydream just for a bit about them. :3

Your Lockhart continues to impress and amuse me greatly -- by far he blows most other Lockharts out of the water, with the obvious exception of JKR's own. But yours reads very much like that one, which is such a lovely relief and pleasure. His line about the staining possibilities of the salve, especially, because it is just like him to worry about something like that. :D It's really a wonder all the other professors didn't murder him in his sleep.

With each new chapter I read from Avrille's perspective, the more and more I am coming to like her. (And before I forget this, since I did on the last chapter of hers, I love that you're setting up a friendship between her and Professor Sinistra. I think she needs someone like that there!) She is so strong, and it makes me want a friend exactly like her -- she'd be a very good one. She complements Snape very well, the sort of light to his dark, and I think they are a very good match. And in my opinion, Snape's a hard one to find a match for, so I really have to commend you on that!

Loved this, of course -- your story hooks deeper claws in me each time I return. And the next chapter is Severus's and I am absolutely floored for that, so hopefully you will see me back before long! Excellent work! ♥

Author's Response: I know what you mean about just wanting to sit down and read! That's how I've been all week. I know I don't have a lot of spare time lately after my son goes to bed since it takes him so long to get settled, so I usually have just enough time to read a chapter of "In The Black" and look forward to doing so and being alone in the quiet. I'm also really pushing myself to try and read at least a chapter a day because I honestly don't think I've ever finished a novel-length fan fic besides one I beta'd, so I'd love to have that sense of accomplishment. I'm hoping to get back to many written by friends that I started years back but never finished. But yours comes first!

I somehow knew you'd like that line. I just always imagined Severus having amazing hands. If you want to see my Severus-hands inspiration, you should search YouTube for the "Dance D'Amour" music video (12+ish) by The 69 Eyes. The lead singer, Jyrki, is my inspiration for Severus (like, if Severus was a rock star :D) and he is just gor-ge-ous in that video.

Lockhart really was insanely fun to write. I probably should have put more of him in the story, but he really doesn't have much to do with the plot between Avrille and Severus except for providing a good get-moving-kick-in-the-pants for Severus in chappie 16. I really enjoyed writing both the buffoonish fop aspect of Lockhart, but also the slightly darker side that we see a glimpse of when he tries to erase Harry and Ron's memories in CoS. He might seem like a annoying, harmless egoist, but Lockhart is definitely not a nice man.

Lavinia provides a good counter-balance to Avrille's dedication to her school work. I figured she needed someone to just be girly with once in a while so she didn't go totally beserk with unrequited feelings for her supervisor. I also found is amusing to have Avrille's good friend be someone who Severus would consider a complete flake.

The next chapter personally isn't one of my favorites, though it definitely has funny moments. Something about is just sort of "meh" for me. It was one of those ones that I wrote near the end since I had this huge chunk of time to fill in basically between Avrille's arrival at Hogwarts and December :D But after this one, I really have to say I love every single one of my chapters. Thank you as always for your reviews, and I'm hoping I might have a bit of time now to at least start your next chapter! ~Renny


 Report Review

Review #46, by beginningistheend Epilogue - Avrille

25th January 2012:
A sequel for this story? WOW I didn't know you were writing one. Great Severus pairing stories are really hard to find and I loved this one.

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, a sequel is in the works, but I have very little time for writing at the moment due to some life transitions. Hopefully in the next month or two I can put up the first few chapters I wrote for NaNoWriMo to at least have proof that I AM working on it! Thank you again for the review and I'm so happy you liked it :) ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #47, by TenthWeasley Chapter Six - Severus

22nd January 2012:
So, I totally should have swung by here before now. I had every intention of doing so two nights ago, but my sister hosted a surprise party at our house for a friend of ours, and the computer was necessarily evacuated. And yesterday was spent in a frenzy of English homework and writing, and by the time I remembered I /still/ hadn't read this I think it was one in the morning. So, as always, this review begins with an apology!

I think you're right about this chapter -- it's short, yes, but I think too much more information would have made it seem stretched and forced. And sometimes short chapters are just necessary! I think it's because you switch points of view every chapter, too -- I have a few chapters where the viewpoint switches midway, and if I hadn't done that, I'd have plenty of these.

I /loved/ how you're focusing so much on Snape's emotions regarding the team and Malfoy and the brooms, because, as a strong proponent of everything that is good and just in him (♥), I think it's so important to explain away things like that, that naysayers might use as a case against him. And yes, that doesn't make a terrible lot of sense, but I am just filled with appreciation at how you write him and you just /understand/ him.

Also, he is totally falling in love. I'm calling it now and it is wonderful. :D Snape, you cannot question your feelings! Just go with them! (And while we're on the subject, I'm having you design my next bedroom, because after seeing how you've described Avrille's and Snape's I name you a viable candidate for the position.)

Anyway. Loved this chapter -- of course -- and I am so excited for the next one -- of course -- and I am so pleased I started reading this! Onward! :)

Author's Response: As always, no worries! I was only just able to get on HPFF since I've been dealing with a sick baby and getting violently sick myself in the midst of a temporary move. Fun fun times. A surprise party sounds awesome, though.

Do you ever reread something you've written and simply don't remember writing it, but you're really impressed with it? There were a couple paragraphs in this chapter (Severus being all analytical about love) that I really don't remember writing. So it's always fun to read parts like that again since I don't have it memorized like most of the story :D I do remember why I added it since I felt like he was falling in love much too quickly. Granted he *might* have feelings like that happen all of a sudden, but he certainly wouldn't admit it to himself if he did.

Ah, to live at Hogwarts and have an amazing bedroom plus the magical powers to design it however you want. I totally want to live in Severus' room. Avrille's is ok, but always kind of retained that feeling of a guest bedroom to me. Severus' feels more like a home.


 Report Review

Review #48, by recklessly_sweet Chapter Ten - Severus

21st January 2012:
awww poor severus
i love his version more i have to say
thanks for hte great read

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! It's nice to know my hard work is appreciated :D ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #49, by recklessly_sweet Chapter Eight - Severus

20th January 2012:
this stoory is absolutly addctive!
love it love it love it
and any story with severus snape gets a thumbs up rom me :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for taking the time to let me know :) ~Renny

 Report Review

Review #50, by TenthWeasley Chapter Five - Avrille

20th January 2012:
Has it really been a week since I've reviewed this? Time has slipped away from me! :( What with school and work and more school and my own writing, sometimes actually reading fan fiction gets away from me! But I'm here now, and I suppose that is what matters. :)

Needless to say, I loved this chapter too! I have to express again my thorough appreciation for your attention to canon details, and I'm sure you probably know the plot of "Chamber of Secrets" quite well now. :D I can tell that a lot of research has been put into this. I completely forgot that Luna would be sorted, too! (Was she mentioned in CoS? It's been a year or so since I last read it.) Colin and Ginny I'd anticipated, but Luna was a pleasant surprise. And I loved thinking about the Ford Anglia crash from the perspectives of outsiders, too -- I've never given that much thought before!

Snape, of course, was wonderful. :D I think one of the things that I like best about the way you've written him is that, while you have taken sometimes-necessary liberties with his character, not being privy to seven books' worth of information, I think he melds quite seamlessly into the CoS canon nonetheless. In my head, I was playing out his canon lines and expressions during that moment when he'd stepped away from the staff table, and I don't think you had him break character once. The detail about his set jaw and mannerisms when watching for Harry's entrance -- YES. That was just great.

I love this story more and more with each consecutive chapter, and I know that it's only going to get better! I'm so excited to see Severus and Avrille grow closer, and all the sweet moments that'll (hopefully) follow. :3 And dealing with all the Chamber stuff, too!!

Okay. I just got goosebumps. :D Fantastic work as always, Renny, and I actually hope to read and review the next chapter for you after school today! This is /so good/! ♥

Author's Response: Hey, don't worry about it :) I don't know how you have time to read any fics whatsoever with all that going on. That's probably why I haven't read any myself in years. Hoping I'll find some time in the months coming up, but I guess I really should be using that time to write so this sequel doesn't take another four years (at least) to be finished :/

No, Luna wasn't mentioned, but somewhere along doing my canon research, I realized she would have been sorted that year as well. She has a small part to play later, mainly comic relief (my "mini-OC" needed a friend, and I thought it would be nice for Luna to have a friend for a little while as well. I'm guessing they might grow apart in later years, however, since Luna obviously has no friends by the time the DA is started.)

It's really nice to have the work I put into fitting everything in (CoS at least) canon recognized. Whenever I used a scene from the books, I was pretty obsessive about making sure every detail was correct, for instance in this scene, the timing of the professors coming and going from the staff table. It really was my main goal to create a 100% seamlessly inserted OC so that next time the reader reads the actual "Chamber of Secrets" book, they'll kind of wonder where Avrille is or at least get the feeling that she's just around the corner. :) The next chappie is a short one, so it won't take you too long. The length has always bothered me...but I just didn't have anything more for Severus to say. But it's the shortest one and he has a MONSTER of a chapter later (26) to make up for it. Thank so so much as always!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>