Reading Reviews for A Time to Live
  
666 Reviews Found

Review #26, by FriendofMolly Chapter 14: Battle at the Burrow

26th May 2012:
LadyM,
I can't tell you how much I am enjoying your version of AtB. You don't shy away from difficulties each character experiences after what each did. For that alone, I commend you. You take this to another level, for that I thank you. Now I must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
Some stories focus on just one couple (H/G or R/H, etc), but I really wanted something that captured everyone. This was especially so because during the battle I found my heart just widening and my eyes tearing with each person who showed up and fought. They're all important and deserve some "screen time."
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #27, by FriendofMolly Chapter 13: Muggle Studies

26th May 2012:
LadyM,
The best part of rereading your story is that cliffies don't have to wait long to be solved. Again you gave us a mag chapter filled with loads of juicy bits. I almost feel sorry for Draco. I have a little way to go, but he's heading in the right direction. The Internet Cafe was just hysterical, of course Ron would be the one to try magic in fixing a Muggle device. I do think that the DE's just might be trackable this way. Now I must go on . I hope the Burrow won't be too damaged. Still loving it.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
Oh those cliffhangers. I remember having readers practically threatening me if I didn't post soon, lol! Of course, serials really work best this way, but it's nicer when you don't have to wait. The whole Internet Cafe was meant to be just funny (although we got some information out of it). Even years later, my friend will still laugh uncontrollably if you mention "blue e's" rolling off of the "desktop." Okay, so I'm giggling right now, myself. Thanks, it's so much fun!
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #28, by FriendofMolly Chapter 12: Nighttime Wanderings

25th May 2012:
LadyM,
Excellent chapter! Taking the last part first, I think Teddy might be teething. Though it might be a bit early. That's something that neither Ginny or Harry would be familiar with, having no experience with babies. You brought a load of interesting bits, George's inactivity, Petunia's letter, Draco's brilliant idea, (imagine Ferret boy coming up with a Muggle solution)? All these add up to some very interesting future chapters.
Loving it,
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
Okay, I can't say anything construed as a spoiler, so I'll just keep my mouth shut. I try to keep up with all of the characters and give each of them contributions to make. I suppose it says a lot that Draco is paying attention as much as possible in his Muggle Studies class! It gives some credence to Harry's suggestion for sentencing for him. Oh, there will be some interesting and fun chapters to come.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #29, by FriendofMolly Chapter 11: School Again

24th May 2012:
LadyM,
I'm sorry I didn't realise you wanted feedback on how you tell your story. It seems that other authors divide the story a bit differently, but divide them they do. A good place seems to be before and after the children arrive. Speaking of children, I loved the interaction with Teddy. But the highlight is a tie between Narcissa learning the Patronus charm, and Draco falling out with his former friends.
Loved it all
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
Honestly this was written so long ago, I'm not exactly sure what you're referring to. But I'm guessing it's about splitting the story into sections. I've always been fascinated by the Malfoys, so any chance I get to play with them is a welcomed one. Thank you!
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #30, by FriendofMolly Chapter 10: The Last Train Ride

24th May 2012:
LadyM,
Another great chapter. I am loving your take on AtB more and more. And I loved it before. Your characters are right on, as are the situations you place them. I can't wait to read more.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
There are some really great AtB stories out there, but it does take a while to find them. I'm so glad you're enjoying it! Your opinion means a great deal.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #31, by FriendofMolly Chapter 9: Prospects

24th May 2012:
LadyM,
It takes as long as it takes to tell the tale of AtB. I understand Molly's objection. It's too soon after losing Fred. She also needs to deal with her role in killing Bella. It was justified, but only a souless person wouldn't be bothered by the taking of a life. I can't wait to see a "normal" year at Hogwarts.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
That really is the difference between the good guys and the bad guys, isn't it? Taking a life, no matter how necessary, is something that one has to live with forever. This is where you see the innate goodness of the characters that we love. What's a "normal" life at Hogwarts, I wonder? Then again, I can imagine them all looking forward to some pleasant time at the school.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #32, by FriendofMolly Chapter 8: The Trials

24th May 2012:
LadyM,
Gee, do you think you will ever have a simple chapter? Oh wait we're talking about Harry Potter. I really like the Toad's trial. Azkaban is the right place for her. In addition to the Elder wand's allegiance, people discount the removal of the piece of Riddle's soul that is allowing Harry's natural strong powers to come out. I'll also mention that he withstood the evil within for 17yrs, it takes a powerful wizard to do that. I must now go on and read more.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
What's a simple chapter? That's really not in my vocabulary, is it? I absolutely agree with you about Harry being different without that piece of soul stuck in him. It was his enormous strength of character that allowed him to not only survive but thrive and go on to destroy Riddle. Hermione and Kingsley kind of hint at that. Harry was worthy of the Elder Wand; it chose him.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #33, by FriendofMolly Chapter 7: The Party

22nd May 2012:
LadyM,
I will second what Harry said. It was a perfect party. I particularly liked the inclusion of the elves and the Centaurs, (even though Firenze was the only one who showed.) Perhaps while he's a Hogwarts, Harry will spend some time with the Centaurs in the Forest. Now I must read more.

FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
Even if your original review isn't here anymore, I feel like I can remember reading this from you before! Ooo, more time with the Centaurs in the forest, that would be cool.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #34, by FriendofMolly Chapter 6: The Engagement

22nd May 2012:
LadyM,
What a chapter! It was a fantastic set of circumstances that have developed into a step to their futures. I am loving this so much.
FoM
PS So just how did Ron think the elf population kept growing?

Author's Response: FoM,
I'm so glad that everyone enjoyed the engagement as much as they did. I often felt that it was lacking something. But there was a huge part of me that loved the simplicity and surprise of the moment, so I've never changed it.
~LadyM
PS- Who knows what Ron's thinking? That's half the fun of it, really, lol.


 Report Review

Review #35, by FriendofMolly Chapter 5: Dudley's Adventure

22nd May 2012:
LadyM,
Now this Dudley I really like. I can see all that happening. I can even see Petunia being a bit proud of Harry and what he did. But her jealousy is something that will pop up at odd moments. And Vernon, I'm sure he's happy he won't ever have to put up with Harry's "nonsense" Though I'm sure he won't be pleased about Duds and Susan. I must go to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
There will always be a barrier for Petunia, simply because of that jealousy and perhaps a sense that she lost a great deal because of magic, not just her sister. You'll see Vernon's reaction to everything, don't worry, although it's a ways away.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #36, by FriendofMolly Chapter 4: Too Many Funerals

22nd May 2012:
LadyM,
I have to agree there were too many funerals. But I think the way you wrote it was just perfect.
FoM
PS The Dursleys were a huge surprise.

Author's Response: FoM,
A part of me regretted not doing Colin's, but it really would have been too much, pun intended. I've seen the funerals overdone and I've seen them be almost ignored. I'm glad you agree that this is a good medium. It's necessary for them (and us) to move on to the rest of the story.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #37, by FriendofMolly Chapter 3: The Plan and New Beginnings

21st May 2012:
ladym,
Another excellent chapter. Your story has such a natural flow to it. I really like how things are going. I must say I'm impressed with the interaction with Draco. I'm very glad that the plan is set and ready to start. I have to agree with Draco, Lucius does need to spend some time in Azkaban. The first time didn't take. Now Harry and Ginny are so sweet together. I'm glad things are moving smoothly. On to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,
I've actually tweaked this chapter a bit (not posted here yet, although I should do that soon) because I've realized that Draco shouldn't be quite so...well, so nice. There should be some resentment there, you know? I'm such a huge H/G fan too, they're just fantastic and we didn't get enough of them in the books.
~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #38, by FriendofMolly Chapter 2: Golden & Silver Trios

21st May 2012:
ladymblack,
Again I can't believe I didn't leave a review. That is not like me at all since I believe in leaving reviews as a courtesy. You've worked hard writing the story the least we readers can do is thank you doing so. This chapter was excellent. It was everything I could hope for. You are one of the best at writing canon. I also love that you have included Fawkes in this. I believe he will be part of Harry's life forever. It's so cool.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,

Maybe you did. Remember the big crash a few years ago when they managed to hang onto the stories, but not all of the reviews? Although they've recovered a lot of them since then, I imagine that a lot were still lost completely.

Thanks. My biggest pet peeve when reading is when someone disregards canon. While I may have gone outside of the interviews sometimes, I always hope that I keep as true to the books as possible.

~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #39, by FriendofMolly Chapter 1: One Long Day

21st May 2012:
LadyM,
I was just going through my favorites and decided to reread yours. I can't believe I didn't review this first chapter. This was an extrordinary first chapter of an AtB. I always thought Harry would be conflicted. He would need to see Ginny, but he, Ron, and Hermione had to be exhausted. I think you wrote it just right.
FoM

Author's Response: FoM,

My guess is that you first read it when it was first posted. It wasn't nearly as good back then. I made a number of changes and expanded some things, including some of Ginny's perspective. I'm glad you liked it!

~LadyM


 Report Review

Review #40, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 6: The Engagement

28th April 2012:
To Ladymblack, Maria Mia Cloos, Friday, April 27, 2012

Dear Maria,

Can Muggles use the floo network? I would think you would have to have some magic in you to use the floo.

I don't think British houses have basements. The kitchen is on the lowest floor, or ground floor. That is the floor below the first floor, I think.

They are young, but some Wizards do get married at a young age.

Jet LaBarge

Author's Response: I think that Muggles could only use the Floo Network if they were "brought along for the ride" by a witch or wizard. If not, oops!

As to British houses not having basements, that might be true. However, Jo consistently refers to the kitchen at Grimmauld Place as being in the basement. I just confirmed that it wasn't an American revision by checking my British edition of DH.

Although Harry and Ginny are indeed young, I think that they have been through enough and grown up enough that they know their own minds and themselves (two prerequisites for a good marriage). And, as you pointed out, it would seem that the Wizarding population does seem to marry quite young (or very old, as in McGonagall's case).


 Report Review

Review #41, by Lisa Adams Chapter 34: The Unending Quest

25th April 2012:
This is wonderful. I'm waiting on chapters 35, 36, and 37. I can't wait to see how it ends.

Author's Response: Thank you; they are in the works! Unfortunately, they will all have to be written before I can publish any of them, just because of the way things have to go.

 Report Review

Review #42, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 5: Dudley's Adventure

10th April 2012:
Ladymblack
Ch 4, already reviewed so I have to add it here

You could use more diaper changing. Maybe a little spitting up. I know when I got up in the middle of the night the normal routine was that I changed a diaper, Karen fed the baby, and then I changed the diaper again.
Love how Kreacher is key to rebuilding the Burrow!
I don't have Harry with nightmares. You are doing a good job with this part of Harry's psyche.
One part of your story I remember well is George and Harry at the funeral. Very well done.
I like Dudley becoming friends with Harry, and you are not canon unless Vernon never changes. Petunia is more complex, and can be written several different ways.

Chapter 5

I love what you've done with Dudley in this chapter. Susan Bones; who would have thought.
I think giving away money wisely is a little harder than you have it. Maybe as part of the story line it's OK.

JetLaBarge

Author's Response: You know, I do wish I'd done more with Teddy (diaper changes and such), although I have nowhere near the knowledge (and experience) that you do. I wouldn't mind tweaking some things, although my goal at the moment is to finish it, lol.

I couldn't imagine Harry not having nightmares after all of that; all of them really. Dudley was so much fun to write because I found myself laughing at so much of it.

As for Harry and his money, it really is a much bigger job than I suggest. Your method for dealing with it is much more interesting too.


 Report Review

Review #43, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 3: The Plan and New Beginnings

10th April 2012:
Ladymblack
First criticisms. I think Arthur and Molly would be happy that Ginny and Molly were together, but I also think they would be more concerned about how quickly they would move from boyfriend and girlfriend to sex, especially considering their ages. If you were to re-write this I would try to put yourself into the mind of the parents. Maybe it's easier for me to do, having had a what I call post-mature wedding in our family. (The baby was not early, the wedding was just a little late.)
It's not a good idea for a baby to sleep in the same bed as the parents. It's a nice idea, but you are probably better off having him sleep in the crib.
Of course you could have Ron much more worried about Harry and Ginny and sex; take your own advice about using Ron for humor.

JetLaBarge

Author's Response: Yeah, I suppose I would have assumed that Molly had "had the talk" with Ginny and would have been rather frank about it. I should probably say something to that effect though, or even have Harry and Ginny discuss it. Thanks for the idea!

And it's certainly funnier that it's Ron who's so uptight about everything, lol.


 Report Review

Review #44, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 2: Golden & Silver Trios

10th April 2012:
Ladymblack
Who can forget Golden and Silver Trios.
Mistress Ginny? Not Miss Weasley or Miss Ginny?
You need an award ceremony. I know you have it a year before I have it. Nice ceremony.
It's hard to portray the Weasley family. There is of course sorrow over the loss of Fred, and George has a special problem.
How is Molly going to handle Ginny and Harry? She is going to be happy they are together, but Ginny is only 16.
I find it very interesting that we both have Harry and Ginny taking care of Teddy right away. Teddy is part of Harry’s life, but just how much, as maybe closer than most godchildren but like a nephew, or really like another son, or something in between, is something we do not know from Rowling.

JetLaBarge

Author's Response: Ah, Kreacher recognizes the fact that Ginny will be his mistress, even before she, Harry or anyone else does. We'll see how this works much, much later in the story.

I never like fics that just gloss over Teddy. Harry would NEVER allow his orphaned god-child to grow up without him. Based on the books, it's a reasonable assumption that Harry would give Teddy everything that he hadn't had as a child. So, really, Jo has given us a good indication of what would have happened, in my opinion anyway.


 Report Review

Review #45, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 1: One Long Day

10th April 2012:
Ladymblack
You and I have talked about how our stories are similar as well as different. We both see the chaos after the battle, not just all sweetness and light. We both see Harry and Ginny getting back together reasonably quickly. We also both see Kreacher as someone who has value.
I have just read some of your other reviews. I am going to be rereading your story, and I know enjoying it.

JetLaBarge

Author's Response: Indeed, my friend, I think we have both seen a lot of the same things from the fantastic books that we read and can imagine what might happen. I look forward to hearing what you think as you progress through the story.

 Report Review

Review #46, by AJPotter Chapter 34: The Unending Quest

20th March 2012:
I really hope you can get a new chapter up soon. I think you are a very good writer and I can't wait for you to continue on with the story.

Author's Response: Although I'd put this on the back burner, for a very long time, I've found myself writing a lot recently. I hope to have the next few chapters up in the next month or so.

 Report Review

Review #47, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 4: Too Many Funerals

10th March 2012:
I decided I needed to re-read your story. I do not know how much editing you have done since I first read it, but I'm sure I first read it a long time ago.
It's better than I remember it. It's brilliant in places, a very good take on the days right after the battle. I think as realistic as these stories can be.

Author's Response: Ha, hi Jet. Actually, I'm going through the whole thing again as well, and I'm finding all sorts of errors. Of course, these were early days, when I was still learning. I'm glad you're enjoying it again.

 Report Review

Review #48, by LeoLionheart Chapter 10: The Last Train Ride

25th February 2012:
I wish you luck with your further work, I'm really pleased so far with the story. :)
One thing though, I don't think you have gotten Draco's Character right. He seems to quickly changed in attitude and personality at first if that makes sense. I think that he should be a little apprehensive and even a little involuntarily rude to Ron whilst talking to Harry and Ron about the trials, and from there he can slowly become more mature and respectful.

9/10
-Leo

Author's Response: I know; I've long regretted not using Draco's character change as a plot-line. It would have been so much more interesting your way.

 Report Review

Review #49, by Fred Chapter 15: The Fight

22nd November 2011:
Of course Ron was angry, Hermione was with the Death Eater who almost murdered him. He should be angry.

She should be a better girlfriend. She makes Lavender look good.

Author's Response: We all know that that wasn't Draco's intention and that he wasn't really a killer in the end. All of his attempts were bound to fail and be discovered. They all went through the same war. As for Hermione, she has her own issues, which will be apparent in later chapters. Thank you for letting me know your thoughts, I appreciate it. P.S.- I don't imagine Hermione being a good girlfriend or Ron being a good boyfriend at the start of their relationship. It will take them time to figure it out.

 Report Review

Review #50, by RedFeather Chapter 34: The Unending Quest

5th November 2011:
Great story so far!! Please don't leave us with Harry still so sick.

Author's Response: Don't worry, I won't. It will be resolved, in the end.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>