Reading Reviews for Brave New Hope
  
521 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Horsepatronus The Final Battle pt 1

12th January 2013:
Please update soon...
I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS
Really good chapter, as always... Please let Remus live... please?!
anyways
UPDATE SOON
Jess :)

Author's Response: Thank you!
Chapter 65 was just placed in the queue - hopefully it will be up for you to read soon :D
Anne


 Report Review

Review #27, by seriously_in_love The Longest Night

5th January 2013:
i cant wait for the next chapter i love this story.

Author's Response: Thank you! Chapter 64 was just validated!
Read away!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #28, by MissMdsty The Longest Night

3rd December 2012:
I have been waiting for these chapters since I started reading your stories in July! They always keep me on edge, I just love the plot and the characters!

So please update soon and put me out of my misery!

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'm so happy you like it! I try to keep it all as interesting as I can, but time is scarce...
Chapter 64 was just validated - I hope you like it!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #29, by marisalovesharry The Longest Night

3rd December 2012:
I am so on edge right now.

sabe amei I mean all the emotions from Tonks I can´t even begin to describe How I felt her anguish was very well written.

No one can say Izzy isn´t Sirius I mean can she be more rebel.

When they mentioned the list I almost cried
Have you figured out who to save yet?
man I wouldn´t want to be in your shoes.

I think Sirius wants Izzy there but then again over-protective idot hum I wonder.
Parabéns como a tua primeira leitora sinto-me muito orgulhosa evoluiste bastante pensado bem prefiro esta versão do que as outras.
P.S TEDDY IS SO CUTE.
JEANNE

Author's Response: Glad to hear so!
Honestly, the scene with Tonks just flowed so easily I couldn't believe it - there's just something so awesome about her as a Mum! I really like to write about it! Maybe I'll make an outtakes on the early days of Tonks and Remus dealing with Teddy :D
I wouldn't say she's more rebelious - the thing is, Sirius was never given the restrictions she's been placed under. No one really ever tried to protect him except the Potters and they could only do so much. Izzy breaks the boundaries because she has them - it's that simple. Sirius also would if he did.
I mostly know who'll live and who'll die. There's only one character I'm undecided about... I guess it will all come down to the final cut about that one.
Obrigada! Que bom ouvir isso!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #30, by Hope's Mom The Longest Night

2nd December 2012:
Knitting - really? The pattern would be mighty interesting! The first time I read this chapter I was reading really quickly and totally missed the break with the May 2 date. I was excited for a moment because I thought maybe Tonks and Remus were going to miss the battle - my mistake! The whole first section of the chapter with Teddy was really nice. It is exceedingly hard to listen to your baby cry and not be able to comfort him or her. You wrote that part really well. I knew this next chapter was coming but I am nervous for Izzy (all the Blacks and their extended family). Thanks for another great chapter.

 Report Review

Review #31, by Jen The Longest Night

2nd December 2012:
Gah... I almost cried from happiness when I saw this chapter was posted and now I have to settle down and wait again. You're killing me here!
Brilliant chapter btw - absolutely loved it :)

Author's Response: Thank you!
Glad you liked it... If only time wasn't so scarce, I might just post a chapter a day (or maybe submit it to the queue, at least),
Anne


 Report Review

Review #32, by Hope's Mom Cheers

2nd December 2012:
What a great chapter! SIrius has evolved into a great (if slightly over protective) father. How clever he is to change the color of Mary's veggies so she will eat them - too bad we can't do the same. Baby Teddy has arrived at last - a happy occasion. Mia and Izzy's conversation about George was sweet. I can only hope to be so understanding with my own teen daughter and son. Thank you so much for continuing this gem of a story.

Author's Response: He's a smart one, that Sirius. The requires him to be protective, but I'm sure if he lives to see post war times (who am I kidding, really?) he'll tone it down a little.
If there's anything Mia can relate 100% with, it is missing the person you love. She had to live without Sirius for thirteen years, after all. And now Izzy was sad because she missed the boy she likes and, well, as much as Mia couldn't solve it, she could offer her a listening ear.
On to the next,
Anne


 Report Review

Review #33, by Hope's Mom Saviour II

2nd December 2012:
That was a very nice (if exceedingly brief) moment that George and Izzy shared. Fred is amazing as usual. Amazing chapter! Thank you!

Author's Response: Oh, well, at least they had their moment. They never get very long ones, unfortunately...
Good old Fred is cheering for those two, even if he finds it unfortunate watching what they're up to when he's allegedly not looking.
Welcome again!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #34, by Hope's Mom Saviour

2nd December 2012:
The Carrows are truly horrible! Lucky for Mia that Snape was keeping an eye on things. It was interesting to read that he said he was on "her side" - Lily's I would assume. Too bad for Mia that she won't be able to remember Snape's help. She would be thrilled to know where his loyalties really lay. Excellent chapter! I have some catching up to do in your wonderful tale - lucky me! Thank you for a most entertaining chapter.

Author's Response: I know! They're just terrible, but at least they don't spend too much time thinking rather than acting (dumbly).
He meant Lily indeed. He couldn't let Mia remember it, though. He still had quite a bit to do and he couldn't afford letting out where his true loyalties were.
You're welcome!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #35, by Horsepatronus The Longest Night

1st December 2012:
:O OH MY GOD! You can't leave it like that!
A really nice chappie
UPDATE SOON
please?

Jess

Author's Response: Thank you! I wouldn't have if I'd had the time to write more...
Anyway, more is up now :D
Anne


 Report Review

Review #36, by seekers_destiny The Longest Night

30th November 2012:
You've changed things from canon a bit. It looks like Remus and Tonks won't get the chance to die in the battle. The fact that it is the full moon will make Greyback and any Werewolves that he brings with him all the more dangerous. I wasn't expecting the battle quite yet, you surprised me and now I know why you said this story is nearing the end. It's been a fun ride and it's not done yet.

I would have thought the best part was the whole 'Is Teddy affected?' thing but you topped it with Izzy's actions at the end. She is her father's daughter.

errata:
all except from the portable bassinet.
all except for the portable bassinet.

this little guy has me running more raged than all of those things
this little guy has me running more ragged than all of those things

what did I hear about a blanker fort
what did I hear about a blanket fort

over the nearly-off-age daughter
over the nearly-of-age daughter

or by physically trying her to the furniture
or by physically tying her to the furniture

as silently as humanely possible
as silently as humanly possible

Author's Response: Actually, it won't be the full moon during the battle - The full moon happens when Teddy is three weeks old. Since he was born in 3 April (see last chapter), Tonks would've come to the Blacks at around the 25th of April. The second part of the chapter, however, as the date stated in bold stated, took place in 2 May. I was a bit afraid people would miss the different dates in the chapter, thus my initial A/N. The second half, Tonks is back home with Remus and Izzy is no longer looking after her siblings. But, well, this means no full moon for Greyback during the battle and no safety for Remus or Tonks during it either. They can still very well die...
Glad you liked it anyway - the final battle looms in the horizon. But don't worry about an end. The sequel will follow, though that one will shift the focus to Izzy and George a bit more...
Anne


 Report Review

Review #37, by Malin Cheers

15th November 2012:
I love this story! You're a great writer!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You're a great reviewer too!

 Report Review

Review #38, by gpitz Cheers

18th October 2012:
Hi! I love your story! I really liked seeing how you gradually improved in your writing. When I first began reading "Finding your Way" I found some mistakes and I am proud to see that those mistakes have become extremely rare in this last story of yours. I can't wait to read more. I love the Izzy and George pairing and I hope everything works out so that they can see each other again. I can see your getting to the end of the last book. I hope you don't stop there! I would really love it if you continued the story for a few more years after the end of the last book. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I guess you get better at identifying and correcting your mistakes the longer you do something :D
I am very partial to the Izzy/George pairing - in fact, I'm sure you'll like to hear that the sequel (yes, there will be one!) is focused on their lives after the war.
Hope you keep on enjoying it!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #39, by marisalovesharry Saviour II

17th October 2012:
Love everything GINNY BEING SO CALM PROBABLY SAVED THEIR LIFES.
ah Mia is save snape is realy a hero isn´t he

Well at least George and Izzy realise the feeling´s mutual.

Author's Response: It did! Ginny's a good one to be with in sticky situations.
Snape, unfortunately, had to pass on the chance to air the truth out - a hero indeed.
Those two have a long past ahead of them still :D
Anne


 Report Review

Review #40, by seekers_destiny Cheers

16th October 2012:
I know that they say maths instead of math in the UK, do they also say logics instead of logic? I would have put that in errata but I wasn't sure. I was surprised that Bellatrix would refer to Snape as 'Daddy'. Maybe it's her weird way of mocking both of them at the same time. The DEs are as nasty to each other as they are to their targets. They deserve each other.

I find it strange that Izzy would want Ginny to have the papyrus or that Ginny wouldn't want Izzy to have it. It was much more important to Izzy. It may drive some drama now but it doesn't make sense to me.

The more important part is what I liked and there was a lot to like. I liked the Mia/Izzy conversation but the part once Remus arrived was also very good. The best of the best was probably the discussion about drinking at the end.

errata:
had a feeling there was no potion lack of pepper-up potion
had a feeling there was no lack of pepper-up potion

I guess you managed to over overthrow them.
I guess you managed to overcome them.

There weren’t sighs of head trauma
There weren’t signs of head trauma

In once pushed my friends to pick a secret-keeper
I once pushed my friends to pick a secret-keeper

try to chase yon
try to chase you

nodding at a plane with two or three more
nodding at a plate with two or three more

not just in theses first few years
not just in these first few years

Mia and Remus flowing shortly
Mia and Remus following shortly

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure they say logics but I'll have to confirm with my Dad. I've lived most of my life in Portugal, so although english is widely spoken in my house, sometimes little things can slip.
Bellatrix was defenitely mocking those two - she's basically calling them children who need their most-hated colleague to serve as their 'parent'.
It's not that either Izzy or Ginny would want or not want the other to have a papyrus. Still, since Izzy was always technically borrowing it from Ginny (who also used it to send messages to her family) and part of a set whose other part belonged to her brothers, Izzy had always kept it in Ginny's trunk because, well, it's the polite thing to do when you borrow stuff from other people. Period. Like Izzy pointed out, they didn't prepare for the possibility of being separated and not seeing each other again before going into hiding, so, with everything going on, it didn't even slip their minds to let Izzy have the papyrus with her until it was too late. It was basically a mistake, not an intention: there is no doubt in my mind that, if they'd had a little more time and the chance to discuss it, Ginny wouls have made Izzy take without argument. I thought I'd made it clear in the dialogue, but I guess it wasn't.
Glad you liked that last part - it was fun to write. The drinking part especially.
Anne


 Report Review

Review #41, by Elisabeth Saviour II

7th October 2012:
what?! don't leave us hanging like this! i devoured all three parts! i want to know how this goes on! update soon!

Author's Response: Sorry! Next chapter is already up - real life has been eventful...
Anne


 Report Review

Review #42, by Jen Saviour II

10th September 2012:
*sigh* I am completely smitten with the story of Izzy and George :) I think was my favourite line:
He grinned. “Always at your service, Isabelle.”

Although, I will probably change my mind about my favourite line next time I read this chapter. lol

I will forgive you the fidelius charms wholly and solely because I know things are coming to a head soon. Luna is free, so the threesome should be just about to break into Gringotts... so the final battle is looming. I am so excited, but I think I will be completely devastated when your story reaches it's conclusion. I have been reading along with this for years now and will feel a bit lost once it's over I think. Like the end of the Deathly Hallows all over again :(

Oh well... I guess I can always just start at the beginning again. :)

Short version of this ridiculously gushy review... Loved it. Thank you. :)

Author's Response: I am very partial for these too as well.
You might indeed change your favourite line soon, especially since the sequel, mostly focused on these two is right around the corner :D
Which, yes, means you're right - I'm thinking two or three more chapters followed by an epilogue that skips several years into the future. The sequel will take place between the last chapter and the epilogue, when you'll come to realize there's a bit part of the story that happens in between, mostly between Izzy and George.
Chapter 62 is already posted - go ahead and read it.
Anne


 Report Review

Review #43, by seekers_destiny Saviour II

7th September 2012:
I got the George/Izzy I was anticipating but it wasn't quite what I expected. However, that isn't bad at all as I really enjoyed it. It was nice that the younger of the two finally broke them out of the pattern they'd fallen into. I'm not worried about them falling out of contact as they both still have the means to communicate. They just won't have the in-person time they want for a while. That's the down side to the Fidelus Charm.

Izzy was a bit like her mother there but she is the teenager of the two so I won't criticize that part. I liked Sirius using his animagus form to keep watch/tip them off that help was there. The 'liquid luck' worked as them splitting up was part of them getting away. Apparently Ginny listened better than Izzy since she was safe first (or at least it appeared that way). It may also be that they didn't go for their plan B (Ginny) as part of their plan A was still in play (Izzy) and as far as the other DEs knew, they already had Mia. I also liked how Ginny was watching out for her friend before they made their break for it.

Author's Response: Sorry for the late reply!
It was time either Izzy or George out it all out there, even if it wasn't verbally - that might have made things a little easier because I wouldn't be too sure about them being able to remain in contact...
The Felix did its job this time but Mia won't be too happy with it next chapter even though she doesn't really remember the escape.
I always saw Ginny as the king of person who can keep her mind clear during very stressing times. Izzy may take a page out of her book in a future chapter (mostly out of desperation) but this one before being rescued she was a bit of a chicken running around with its head cut off. Though she acted like Mia did in the previous chapter, you'll see it's Sirius she really takes after - who's the one who jumps into things without caring about the outcome? Ginny knew that and acted accordingly.
Chapter 62 is already posted - it will address some issues you'd pointed out last chapter :D


 Report Review

Review #44, by marisalovesharry Saviour

7th September 2012:
WOW SNAPE TO THE RESCUE HUH.
SERIOUSLY I ADMIRE HIM
Thank god Mia is safe.
Hopefully Izzy and Ginny will be saved without much drama, but then again knowing you THAT´S HIGHLY UNLIKELY..

It realy is a shame Mia won´t remember.

Those Carrows make me sick.
placing an unforgivable on a first year.

LOVE

Jeanne

Author's Response: Glad you liked it!
Highly unlikely they'll be saved? When have I ever fated a character to a horrible fate?! Well, other than Lestrange without his precious soul, but we all know he had it coming...
Thankfully, the chapter was just validated, so you can read up on the girls' fates :D
Anne


 Report Review

Review #45, by Jen Saviour

7th September 2012:
Loved it loved it Loved it. Next bit now please :)

I'm glad Mia worked it out... about Snape I mean... even if she forgets it altogether, she worked it out, so maybe she might do so again.

Looking forward to the next bit immensely.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it!
She did figure it out once but she will no longer have the pieces that led her to figuring out, so I'm not sure how she could manage to do it again...
Good news: the next bit was just validates, so you should be able to read it right now! I really can't wait to hear what you have to say about it :D
Anne


 Report Review

Review #46, by seekers_destiny Saviour

4th September 2012:
I'm very disappointed in Mia. She acted like a teenager by letting herself get distracted and not planning ahead. Perhaps I'm just different from other people but when adrenaline hits me my emotions fade to the background and I feel very clear-headed. I would be totally focussed on my objective and nothing would distract me from my purpose. I wouldn't wait on the felix felicis either as a little luck just before isn't bad either especially since the two others have some too.

The one thing she did right is including Ginny. The subterfuge of Harry and Ginny splitting up is rather transparent and she would have been next, there is no doubt in my mind. I'm looking forward to more George/Izzy next chapter. I'm sure he'll have a thing or two to say to her about the danger she'd been in.

My favorite part is how well Snape plans ahead, even having plans for if things go wrong. Talking about being focussed, I'm not sure I could pull it off long term like him. I was surprised when he obliviated her to protect his status although I have to admit it makes perfect sense. She'll know something happened to her memory but then how the Order found her is a dead giveaway anyway. If you write about the Carrows humiliation, I am really going to enjoy that.

errata:
to tell Snape how much we upset we’ve made them with our late-night stroll
to tell Snape how upset we’ve made them with our late-night stroll

McGonagall eyes.
McGonagall eyed her.(?) Not sure what you meant here

When the younger woman peaked down into her hand
When the younger woman peeked down into her hand

deciding they were par enough to apparate
deciding they were far enough to apparate

Author's Response: Mia basically was affected by one of the Felix's biggest curses - she got overconfident by the mere idea of it and, yeah, from there she basically mucked everything up... Next chapter (I mean the one after the second part of this one, which was just validated, by the way) she won't remember what she did but she'll have a tingling feeling that she didn't handle it like it should and she won't feel very good for it...
George/Izzy will most certainly make an appearance on the second part - mark my words. That's all I'm saying.
I never ceases to amaze me how well Snape pulled everything off in canon - his ability to be focused in the big picture is both a blessing and a curse. He wants to end the whole charade and he wants to make the Carrows pay for everything they've done but all he could get was a short admission of his true feeling before having to obliviate Mia and humiliation rather than imprisonment for the Carrows because any other move would put his years of planning to an end.
Anne


 Report Review

Review #47, by Harrypotterismylife Sidelined

12th August 2012:
Omg!!! Absolutely loving it!!! I can't wait for more!!! Please please please do more!! Don't give up! My life depends on you!! So no pressure. :) just promise me you won't let Sirius die!! He CAN'T die... It's just not an option! :) good luck with the rest of the story!! I pray you don't get writers block ;)

Author's Response: Well, Sirius won't die next chapter - that much I can promise. The chapter was just validated, so you can read it now. Sorry for making you wait! No writer's block here, but very little time to put it all into writing...
Anne


 Report Review

Review #48, by MissMdsty Sidelined

7th August 2012:
Aah! A cliffhanger! Well, I have hope you will update soon, seeing as you've update this twice since I started reading the trilogy :D
I love love love the story and the characters you've created, and even though the story is really AU it's still very believable.
Also, I really admire how you've never stopped writing this and even have a sequel planned (if I read the A/N right).
XoXo

Author's Response: Sorry I couldn't update as soon as I planned but the follow-up chapter is ready to be read right now :D
I'm very happy you liked it! I try to keep it as believable as possible, within Harry Potter standards, of course.
And, yes, there is indeed a sequel on the works.
Thanks again!
Anne


 Report Review

Review #49, by Hufflepuff_Pie Sidelined

5th August 2012:
Oh my goodness another cliff hanger! Thanks again for, yet again, a great read. It was very suspenseful. I am so curious now to see how Snape is going to get Mia and Izzy out of Voldemort's grasp! Can't wait for more, Sarah x

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you liked it! Little refference: Mia is not yet in his grasp, so there's still a chance they can avoid it.
Anne


 Report Review

Review #50, by marisalovesharry Sidelined

4th August 2012:
Seriously heart attack worthy.

I loved it all but at the rate you´re going Remus and Tonks are going to be next.

Good to know Snape is on our side.
Totaly freaking out .
Jeanne.

BTW love how you incorprated Kreacher into the rescue.
AM I GLAD TONKS WAS THE VOICE OF REASON.

Author's Response: Well, hopefully it did not cause one of those for real...
I'm glad you liked the chapter!
Next one was just validated, so enjoy!
Anne


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>