Reading Reviews for Draw, O Coward
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #26, by FannyPrice Draw, O Coward

25th February 2010:
So, do you know that as a biology major, palindromes are my favorite things in the whole wide world? No, seriously. This story was palindromic...how amazing! I am awed and wowed. What planning, what skill! I adored it, it was intense both ways. My gosh...I'm a little bit speechless. Wow.how creative. 11/10!

--FannyPrice

Author's Response: Oh my... you've got me speechless with this review!

Thank you. Seriously. I was so afraid to put this piece out there because it's very... different. So hearing your reaction puts my mind at ease.

:)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Freaky_Wolf Draw, O Coward

17th January 2010:
Oh My.
That was amazing.
I was a bit confused reading it forward, and then reading it backwards. Wow.
I am really impressed how you could do that and make it work.
I Love It
Wolfie
xsx

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Jellyman Draw, O Coward

8th January 2010:
Gina, oh my God, that was INSANEEE. Completely and utterly mindblowing - so clever, dear! It's obvious why you are prodigal.

I think this is one of very few fics I have read where I was not so much blown away by the story (which was fantastic, don't get me wrong) but the actual structure of the writing. I mean, you can read this backwards! THAT IS AMAZING.

Now, the actual story too was fabulous - while you didn't mention the character, I read it like it was Draco. Whoever it was, it was so well played out - I preferred the backwards, if only because it read a little more naturally. Both were convincing.

But seriously, Gina, you should be so proud. This was amazing.
10/10, easy.
xxx

Author's Response: GEORGIA YOU FLATTER ME.

I don't know what to say! I... well, thank you. So much. :)

I just can't get over receiving such praise from an author I really look up to. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed it and that you left me such a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Inti Draw, O Coward

6th January 2010:
GINA! Just to give you an idea about just how much I reacted, was talking to Rachelle (she being the one who linked me and all) and these were my words:
GAHH WHAT!
THAT IS AMAZING!
True story. Seriously unbelievable bit of skill - mindblowingness. I liked the backwards way better I think, although I'm sure part of that is just for the sheer novelty :P
That's it really, just... congratulations on a brilliant, brilliant bit of writing.

Author's Response: YOU FLATTER ME TOO MUCH. xx

Thank you so much. I was nervous to put it out there, because it is so different. But to hear your praise... SO worth it. :) I really appreciate you reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #30, by Erised Draw, O Coward

4th January 2010:
GINA, THIS IS SO CLEVER! I'm very impressed. Not only was I drawn in immediately by such poetic language and the instant tension which was apparant right from the very first line, but I believe that this is the first fanfiction story that I've read which also considers the ergonomics of reading the fic itself. Yes, I'm VERY impressed.

Great work :)

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! That means a lot to me. :) I'm seriously beaming!

xx


 Report Review

Review #31, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Draw, O Coward

4th January 2010:
Oh.
My.
Good.
God.

Gina.
WHY DO I NOT READ YOUR STUFF??
I think this might just sum up why you were promoted (even if you didn't enter it). This is by far the cleverest thing I've ever read and possibly not just fanfiction - ever.

I don't know how the idea came to you but your imagination has a whole other level to it that I could never even dream of.

The first time I read, I was ready to click off to find something else of yours because I wasn't too sure what to say about it in a review. I very nearly ignored the A/N (thinking you were joking) but thought I'd give it a go and WOW.

I adore the ambiguity, the unknown narrator (which I was initially tempted to think to be Draco, if only for the "I have to do this" which reminded me of HBP), the situation - all of it comes across so effortlessly and I have no idea how you manage it in 500 words.

I think I prefer it backwards but only because that felt slightly more natural. I think I liked the forwards better after reading it the other way, actually.

Either way, it doesn't matter because this is the most intelligent piece of fanfiction I have ever read, and even more so because you only have 500 words to play around with.

Superb? Yes
Stunning? Of course
Sensational? Without doubt
Remind me about this for awards season next year because this is undoubtedly deserving of something.

Rachelle

xx

Author's Response: RACHELLE. STOP BEING SO SILLY.

*dies*

How on earth am I supposed to respond to this?! I honestly don't know what to say.

The cleverest thing you've ever read? You're off your rocker, Rachelle! Truly. I cannot even begin to take this compliment seriously (but am way, way, way, way flattered nonetheless :D).

Believe me, by no means was this effortless. I wanted to tear my hair out at times, but there were moments in which I was having fun, too. :) This very well could be Draco speaking (it's entirely up to you), and that's what was fun about writing it... the ambiguity. So I'm really glad you appreciated that aspect! It makes me all warm inside.

My goodnesss... Thank you again. And again. This review made my FOREVER. :) Gah!

YOU'RE AMAZING.
xx. Gina


 Report Review

Review #32, by marinahill Draw, O Coward

4th January 2010:
oh my goodness! that was so CLEVER! and you did that in only 500 words... well, twice. I'm so impressed! I'll have to say that I preferred reading it backwards, but... you genius!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much, Marina! *huggles*

I do prefer the backwards version, too. :) But I'm so glad you thought both ways were clever! It makes me super happy, haha.

xx. Gina


 Report Review

Review #33, by RonsGirlFriday Draw, O Coward

3rd January 2010:
-gapes in awestruck manner for several hours-

Wow. Gina, you're incredible. I don't know how you came up with this idea, but I'm so glad you did. I've never read anything like this. It's ingenious.

I don't know whether I like the forwards or backwards version better - the backwards way holds a really novel appeal, but I don't think it's necessarily better than the forwards reading - it's the combination of them that makes this fic so brilliant.

I really wish I knew who the narrator was, although the ambiguity always adds a certain something. I'm not a Dramione shipper by any stretch of the imagination, but this fic is sort of fun to envision as a Dramione.

I love that you did this for Ilia's challenge, too...the 500 word limit really forces you to economize your word choices, and the result is a short fic that's incredibly poignant for its length. In a way, you managed to squeeze 1000 words into 500. ^_^

Love love love it!

xoxo
Melanie

Author's Response: MELANIE. *squish*

You. Are. Too. Kind. My goodness girl, I don't know if I deserve all this praise! Thank you so, so, so much!

I think I like the backwards version better, too. The front-way is a bit confusing, if I do say so myself. But it was so fun to write both ways. :) And I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

1000 words in 500? What a compliment! Once again, thank you so much! Hearing this praise from an author I really look up to is just... I have no words! Gah!

Much love!
xx. Gina


 Report Review

Review #34, by theRandomSlytherin Draw, O Coward

29th December 2009:
GINA. Gah, Merlin (yes, I am THAT obsessed), you've really...oh gosh I can't say it. If someone asked me if you've Rowling herself, I'd answer yes. Gosh. I read it normally the first time, my eyes just keep getting bigger and bigger. Then when I read it backwards, my jaw just drops. Both versions are amazing; they're beautiful, eerie, and just plain FANTASTIC.
:DDD
I can't believe this rating thingymabobber only goes to ten. It's..unjust. You deserve...billions.

Peace, love, and chocolate,
Michelle

Author's Response: :o MICHELLE! This is way too flattering!

Thank you so much, hun! I really, really appreciate everything you've said. And I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Oh my... billions?! I'm not sure I deserve a rating like that... but THANK YOU.

xx. Gina


 Report Review

Review #35, by erinn1197 Draw, O Coward

29th December 2009:
Aww this was really good
You have some writing talent
(:
Erinn

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by GubraithianFire Draw, O Coward

28th December 2009:
I was actually going to leave my review for another day, but then I read the fic backwards. And OH. MY. EFFING. GOD. It's been such a long time since we've talked and I haven't been reading much fanfic to begin with, but I saw that you posted this. It was short, so I thought I'd give it a go. Forwards it worked well - the ambiguity of the narrator, the situation he and Hermione are in, etc. But it wasn't groundbreaking, I have to say; it was good but not great. Reading it backwards not only shed new light on it but also showed your own skill amazingly. I never, ever would have thought of doing it like this. I can't imagine how hard it must have been to make the story - dialogue especially - work both ways. (Although I'm guessing it was a bit easier with the word limit?) Like the others, I liked the backwards version betters. This is kind of spectacular, and I never would have guessed it. I'm so happy I discovered this and... yay! This is the most innovative fic I've found in a very long time. You should be incredibly proud :)

Author's Response: GUBBY! :) Where've you been?! *huggles*

And oh my goodness, what a review! Thank you so much! I'm flattered. :D What to say in response? Heh.

I completely agree - the backwards version is better. But, like you said, it was pretty difficult to make it work both ways, and I don't know if I can spice the frontwards way up without ruining the other. It kind of makes me want to tear my hair out just thinking about it. Bahaha. :P

But... wow. I don't know if I deserve all this praise! Thank you again for stopping by and leaving me such a wonderful review! And I hope I see you around more often. ;)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Padfoot36 Draw, O Coward

22nd December 2009:
Concise and to the point.

Beautiful word choice, flows both backwards and forwards very nicely, although I like the backwards version better, a better cliffhanger so to speak.

=)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! :)

And I agree - I like the backwards version better as well.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Megann Draw, O Coward

22nd December 2009:
The forwards way was okay, but kinda confusing, backwards was brillant i loved it. And you have talent if you can make it sound good both ways(:

Author's Response: I think it may confusing fowards because I had initially intended this to simply be read backwards. I intended to start with the end and go to the beginning, and for my readers to not realize it until they got to the end. But then I realized I could make it work both ways, and went for it. Personally, I agree - it is better backwards. *nods*

Anyway, I'll stop rambling now. Haha. Thanks so much for the review! Glad you enjoyed it. :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by collette michelle Draw, O Coward

22nd December 2009:
Gina, that was brilliant. Read one way, it was haunting and powerful. Read a second, it was even more so. But the fact that you could do so both ways, brilliant, love. Just brilliant! I loved that about it. So amazing. Reading it backwards gave it a whole new side. I loved that. I might have possibly liked reading it backwards more (I do think this is only because I felt rather cool doing so!), just the thought of being able to do so is intriguing.

Like I gushed about for an entire paragraph. Amazing, darling! Simply put, I loved it!

xx.
Collette

Author's Response: THIS MADE MY DAY.

Thank you so much, Collette! I was so worried that my attempts at being somewhat brilliant would fall flat, but to hear your praise makes me all warm inside. :D

Really, thank you! I'm not sure I deserve all this praise!


 Report Review

Review #40, by propertyoftheHBP Draw, O Coward

22nd December 2009:
Such a cool idea! I enjoyed the story immensely. Two questions, though; when reading it backwards, should it be read backwards by paragraph or sentence? And also; who is the other character besides Hermione? Your story info says OtherCanon, so I'm assuming it's not an OC.
Very good story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :) I'm glad to hear you liked it - I was a little hesitant to put it up because it was so 'out there.' Heh.

As to your questions... 1) By paragraph. By sentence would just be too hard, haha. 2) In my head, it was Theodore Nott. But you can put in any minor Slytherin male. I wanted it to be very vague in respects to who he was, so that's it's more mysterious - he could be anyone.

Thanks again! I really appreciate the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>