Reading Reviews for Finally Got It Right
  
84 Reviews Found

Review #26, by DemetersChild Part Five

28th May 2011:
Just as beautiful as all the chapters before it.

Capria. She is just amazing. I love the way she excites and calms Xeno all at the same time. She makes him nervous and yet completely at ease. Always on his toes, always wondering. That is an amazing relationship.

I don't even know what else to say, haha. This is amazing. :)

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Ah, I love the two of them so much. They really do have such an amazing relationship. *sigh*

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #27, by DemetersChild Part Four

28th May 2011:
I really can't believe how beautiful this is. It just flows perfectly. Your way with words is impressive. It's like nothing I've ever really read before, but it doesn't seem out of place. It fits so well particularly with Xeno and Capria's story. It's just so eloquent.

I'm very curious to know why Capria ran away. I loved the way that you wrote Xeno's anger. And also how comfortable he feels when he is around her. The thought of never seeing her again would bring him to that level of anger--an anger not even seen when the girlfriend he loved called him strange and left him.

I just love this.

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Thank you! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this, but just know that I very much appreciate your words. And I'm thrilled that you've enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #28, by DemetersChild Part Three

28th May 2011:
Beautiful! I really really love this story. I can't get over how different it is from most of the things I've read. You have a wonderful writing style that flows so perfectly. Your descriptions are amazing. There's so much more to a smile or a look in their eyes when you write it.

It is truly beautiful. :)

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: It's such a compliment to me to hear that this story is different. I wanted to create a unique experience for my readers, considering I'm introducing such a unique pair of characters. Your responding to that is quite a relief. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #29, by Aligiah Part Six

27th May 2011:
That was a beautiful short story! I adored Xeno! He was amazing, especially how you wrote him. Just fantastic. And Capria, oh my goodness she was stunningly brilliant, I saw Luna in the both of them!

Now, the overall flow of the story was perfect, everything fit together nicely and it wasn't too rushed or too slow.

In any case, I adored your story. I've never read a Xeno fic and therefore this was a lovely surprise! I've always been a bit afraid of exploring other characters. Usually I come across a poorly written fic at first and decide against reading that character or paring ever again. But because of your story I could see myself wanting to read about Xeno again. Thank you for that! :]

So, your fic was a rather refreshing take on Xeno and his wife. Most, inculding myself, would've just assumed they were just complete nut jobs that fell for eachother because they were such nut jobs. But no, Xeno and Capria make a perfect couple of strange and missunderstood individuals. :]

Excellent job dear! :]

10/10

Alex.

Author's Response: "Xeno and Capria make a perfect couple of strange and missunderstood individuals." This may be my favorite summary of their relationship. I feel as though it could be their tagline. :)

Anyway, thank you so much for the review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the story as much as you did. Please do read more stories about Xeno - he's such a fascinating character, truly in a class of his own. And if you find any gems, please let me know!


 Report Review

Review #30, by DemetersChild Part Two

27th May 2011:
I love this, I really do. Being able to see the transfer of Xeno's affections is really brilliant. He wants to be right for his girlfriend, he wants to be perfect and "enough". But at the same time Capri just captivated him so easily.

It's a beautiful love story, so far, and a I can't wait to finish it.

I'm really enjoying both Xeno and Capri's personalities even more than in the first chapter. It's just so obvious that they fit together. She is very carefree and I love that about her. And his curiosity and admiration for life is wonderful.

I think that I might get rid of the italics for the flashback. They aren't really necessarily. It flows perfectly without them. It's more of Xeno thinking about that moment while he's sitting there at dinner than some sort of back story that needs explaining. The italics just breaks the flow of the story.

I'm really enjoying this story. It's unique and interesting and very well written. I'll definitely be finishing this one.

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing out the italics. I agree they are unnecessary. I'll keep that in mind while editing (when I'm done being lazy :P).

And thank you for another lovely review. You're far too nice!


 Report Review

Review #31, by DemetersChild Part One

26th May 2011:
DemetersChild here from the forums!

The is one of the most unique things I have ever read on this site. There are so many go-to pairings and stories that sometimes it's hard to find something truly different. But this...well this is a breath of fresh air.

Luna has to be one of my favorite characters so, naturally, her parents are of a great interest as well. I love the way you've written Xeno--very much like his daughter. He enjoys every aspect of life as much as she did.

And her mother is just delightful! I see where Luna gets her playfulness from.

This story flowed magnificently. There were a few places where I stopped (a place where you used some form of "flick" three times in two sentences), but other than that it was so smooth. The transition between scenes was flawless.

This was a wonderful first chapter as well. It gave me just enough information to be interested and want to keep reading. It's a lovely beginning and I can't wait to read the rest. :)

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your review!

It's been overwhelming hearing such praise for this story. I was not expecting the flood of positivity. At any rate, I'm so thrilled to hear you're enjoying this story thus far. It was a joy to write, and the characters have latched themselves onto my heart. I hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #32, by SexyDoorFrames Part Three

26th May 2011:
I just love the way you've crafted your characters, I mean *sigh* I'm so jealous. They just come across effortless across the page and spring to life in their own little odd ways. They're realistic, odd but not OTT and they are so lovable that I was rooting for them from chapter one.

“No, Xeno,” she interrupted, before adding, rather roughly, “You’re just too strange.” This line actually broke something inside of me. It was so sad :( Poor Xeno. I hate seeing him hurt.

This story makes me smile, a lot of the time. Especially when Xeno and Capria are together. They are just so perfect for each other. *sighs* I still adore Capria, the fact that she can see through him and her characterization is just beautiful. She is just so refreshing to read about.

I also LOVED the Nargles reference. It was just perfect.

In all, beautiful chapter. I really enjoyed it.

- Keely.
xxx

Author's Response: It's such a treat watching you fall for these characters, as the very same thing happened as I wrote them. They're so real to me, sometimes I think we're friends. In fact, as I write this, they're begging for a sequel. I suppose we'll see. ;)

Thank you again.


 Report Review

Review #33, by SexyDoorFrames Part Two

26th May 2011:
This is just beautiful. I may be in love with this story. It just continues to get better and better.

The characters? Oh my, I love them. You can really see them as the type of people who would be parents to Luna, she is sort of a great mix of them both in a way. I love the way you've characterized Xeno, it's perfect. I also really liked his brother too and reading those scenes, it's clear that they love each other a lot.

I'm so glad he broke up with nameless! :p I'm not really a fan of her, she's not perfect for Xeno the way Capria is. I also love the name Capria it's so pretty :) But nameless woman is so mean. She's just ugh. Harsh and mean are some 12+ words I can think for her. Haha. But Capria, I adore her, she just seems so sure and almost comfortable with herself. It's very easy to like these characters so that is amazing because I find that quite hard.

Your writing it excellent, it's fluid and easy to follow. It's captivating too as I read this chapter in one sitting because I was enjoying it so much.

- Keely

Author's Response: Oh my. In love? You're too sweet!

"Nameless." You make me laugh. :) Yes, she is awfully mean. I may have done her character a disservice by making her so very irredeemable. Some editing may have to be done there. But she's meant to be hated, to some extent, so I'm glad that came across.

I also love the name Capria. It was fitting to give a lovely name to such a beautiful soul.

Thank you again, darling.


 Report Review

Review #34, by SexyDoorFrames Part One

24th May 2011:
Hello! I'm here for the review exchange! I'm so happy that I got this story because it's beautiful! The premise is so original, it's such a refreshing thing to read. Xenophilius is hardly a character that people write fics about so it was just so brilliant to read. I have never read anything with Xenophilius as a character in the story. I loved the way you just dived into the story, it's so good when it's not bogged down with too many introductions.

Capria sounds like a really interesting character. I can't wait to see how the things with her and Xeno develop. Xeno, himself, with his stutter, is a really interesting character to read about himself, I have never read anything about
a character with a stutter, so it's a refreshing flaw. You wrote him perfectly, you've got his character down to how I always imagined he'd be.

The writing is this chapter is just beautiful. You have an effortless style and it just comes across beautifully on the page.

In all, I read enjoyed reading this and I shall be reading all the chapters because this story has captured my attention and I like :) It's amazing. The story is so compelling
and I curse college for not letting me read sooner.

- Keely/SexyDoorFrames

Author's Response: Keely, you're such a doll! I'm not really sure how to respond to such praise (really, I don't reserve such a glowing review!), so I will simply say thank you, thank you, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #35, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Part One

23rd May 2011:
So, after fighting with HPFF to let me login and review this. I've come to leave you something insightful (I hope).

This was such a lovely read. I probably would never have read anything with Xenophilius as a character had you not requested it.

What I really love about it is that was the characters are introduced, you get a feel for them and how they mold our dear Luna in later years. I do not see Xeno staying with his girlfriend as she is not really his type. She is very different from him. Perhaps even too different.

Capria reminds me almost completely of Luna, from her appearance to her personality. Though, perhaps not on about creatures many people have not heard of. She is a fabulous character and I'm sure she will make this story a very interesting read.

I can definitely see how these two characters will be good for each other. They are similar in their own respects, but different as well. I'm quite intrigued to read more.

The writing is beautiful and flawless. The description really helps to see how Xeno views the world. I rather like the part where he wishes he were an artist so he could capture the beauty of the night forever. It was brilliant!

Anyway, I'll try to get back to read more. But you may have to request again lol.

Len

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, Len!

Writing this story was such a joy because of the lovable characters. I can honestly say they took on a life of their own. I'm so thrilled to hear you responded to them.

Again, thank you. I appreciate the time and attention you gave to reading and reviewing my story.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Phoenix_Flames Part Two

22nd May 2011:
Hello there, darling! I'm finally here with your review as requested.

Wow, it had been awhile since I read the first chapter, so I had to go back and get a recap. :)

But an awesome second chapter! I am absolutely in love with the man you have made Xenophilius. He is a great character. Unique and inspiring. You've really given him a beautiful personality, as well as Capria. They seem like just the kind of parents that would raise our lovely Luna. ^_^

The Nargles. Ahaha, I loved how you threw that in there!

A wonderful chapter, and I can't wait to read the rest! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, love! Seems both you and I are in love with Xeno. :) He's fantastic; really has a mind of his own! Writing his story has been a joy.

 Report Review

Review #37, by thehyacinthgirl Part Five

17th May 2011:
As far as spelling, grammar, syntax, flow, and all that good stuff go; I didn't pick up on any errors so kudos there.

The idea of Xeno just leaning out his window yelling "thank you" as loud as his lungs would allow simply made me giggle with delight. I can't really imagine anyone seriously doing that, but if I were to think of anyone who would, it would be him. I absolutely love your potrayal of Xeno. Your characterization of him seems so apt and fitting that it's insane.

I also love your characterization and backstory for Capria. Now it makes sense that she ran away, in a sense, and I can't help but feel bad for her. She is so sweet and so enchanting in her own egnimatic way, though, that one can't help but smile at her. I absolutely adore the fact that she is so kind to Xeno despite his oddity and that the two can be kindred spirits.

Oh, and the butterfly pin is darling.

Just a quick question, though - if she didn't receive the perfume until she was thirteen, then who gave it to her? If her parents died whilst she was still so young, I would imagine that it would have to be given to her by an adult relative of hers - and it would have been set aside before her mother died?

I also like your characterizations of Daphne and Astrelius. They seem like rather good people, too. Though, I can't help but wonder if Astrelius will regret relinquishing his wand later.

I love the fact that Xeno is so clumsy, whimsical, and has such a tendency to slip into daydream. It makes him seem like a real individual and not just a character on the page. In fact, all the characters in this story seem more like people than characters and I adore them all (except maybe the muggle girlfriend).

Oh, I absolutely loved this line: And so he kissed her. Not because he felt like he should, but because he couldn’t imagine saying no. It made me squee in delight. You have no idea.

This story is amazing! I can't wait to see it continue, but I also know that I will be sad when it ends.

Amazing job!


Linders

Author's Response: I quite literally laughed while writing the hanging out the window, yelling thank you part. I just felt like it had to happen, like it was so perfectly Xeno in that moment.

So glad you enjoyed the backstory. It was playing in my mind throughout the whole story, so I was glad to finally write it, and have Xeno more fully understand that woman he's falling for. For him to understand and pinpoint the reasons he loves her - that's vital for him. He's starting to understand himself as he grows to understand her. It's such a healthy relationship for him, and he hasn't really had that before.

Thank you so much for pointing out that inconsistency. I went back and changed her age to nine in that perfume bit. I wouldn't have caught that, so thank you for being so attentive! It means a lot.

I just... have no words. I'm so grateful for your reviews, and so humbled that you enjoyed this story. That is a great motivator to keep writing. (:


 Report Review

Review #38, by thehyacinthgirl Part Four

17th May 2011:
I really enjoyed this chapter. Though, I have to say that the ending of this chapter really rather made me sad. I couldn't help but feel bad for Xeno.

As far as spelling, grammar, syntax, flow, and all that good stuff go; I didn't pick up on any errors so kudos there.

I love the way you describe Xeno and Capria's relationship. It's like they've known each other all their lives and truly understand everything about one another or nearly everything, at any rate.

I adore how she's always encouraging him to do new things and to take on new adventures, and how she seems to draw him out of his dreamy state yet he still retains a bit of it.

Your characterizations of the two are just so lovely and simple and beautiful that I'm in awe.

Not to mention that the poetic-ism of this piece is absolutely enchanting. It makes this piece all the more magical.

Very nice job!


Linders

Author's Response: If I were to peg Capria down with a "purpose" in this story, I would say it is exactly that - encouraging him to do new things, to come out of himself and explore the world. He does explore, but only through his mind and his interpretations of the world. Capria is a less talk, more action kind of girl. Which is exactly what he needs.

Thank you so much. I'm beaming from your compliments. It means a great deal to hear from you!


 Report Review

Review #39, by thehyacinthgirl Part Three

17th May 2011:
I cannot keep a straight face when I read this. It really makes me smile. It's truly one of the sweetest stories I've ever read.

It's natural, it feels real, and the characters are all so endearing. I absolutely love it!

I adore your characterizations of Xeno and of Capria. They seem like interesting individuals. Not to mention, I think you stick to Canon very well. I always imagined Xenophilius to be rather socially awkward and we all know people considered him strange. So I think you're doing a great job with him.

Plus, Capria is refreshing and new - definitely not someone you would find in every novel, but she's definitely not a Mary-Sue, either. She's just right, and she seems splendid.

As for the muggle girl, well, I couldn't help but feel bad when she broke up with Xeno. In the long run, it might do him some good, but I could see why he would be in pain.

I actually laughed at this turn of phrase: traitorous apple. What can I say, I never thought of an apple as betraying someone.

As far as spelling, grammar, syntax, flow, and all that good stuff go; I didn't pick up on any errors so kudos there.

Awesome job!


Linders

This is a really wonderful story and I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: I'm so flattered to hear that it feels natural and real. It's such an out there story, so to ground it was one of my main goals. So thank you for mentioning that.

I love Xeno's social awkwardness, don't you? I just want to squish him. (:

Traitorous apple, yes. I think I was giggling as I wrote that. Couldn't look at apples the same for weeks. But I love apples, so it all ended well.

Thank you, Linders!


 Report Review

Review #40, by thehyacinthgirl Part Two

17th May 2011:
Ah, this continues to be amazing.

I really love your inclusion of Capria. She seems like a very captivating and intriguing individual. I can definitely see why Xeno is transfixed with her. She seems like an amazing person and really very sweet.

I loved your characterizations of Xeno and Capria both. They seem rather unique, but I wouldn't expect anything less from Xeno.

I really like how the muggle girlfriend gets so annoyed with Xeno and insists that he's living in some insane world in his head. Though, admittedly, what is she supposed to think - having no knowledge of the Wizarding world? I can understand Xeno's frustration and pain, though.

I liked the ending where he wanted to drink the potion in one go. That was a nice touch. Though, I sincerely doubt that potion would be one in potions books. All the books seem to correlate that most potions taste bad. Good to know that they all don't. ;)

This chapter was lovely!

As far as spelling, grammar, syntax, flow, and all that good stuff go; I didn't pick up on any errors so kudos there.

This story continues to be amazing!


Linders

Author's Response: Xeno and Capria... they've really wormed their way into my heart, individually and collectively. (:

Ah, yes! Thanks for catching that! If you think about it, it's a normal reaction to think someone's crazy after admitting to be a wizard. Of course, within the context of this story, it's completely normal, but anywhere else it would be crazy. And that's the beauty of Xeno as a character, as well. He's absolutely eccentric and off-the-wall, but within the confines of his own story, he's lovable (at least I hope so!).

You're exactly right about the potion. It's one of Capria's original concoctions. As we know of Luna's mother, she liked to experiment with magic. So I thought, why not potions? And here we have a stuttering remedy, which may or may not actually work.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #41, by thehyacinthgirl Part One

17th May 2011:
This was amazing!

Very few people take on old Xeno, especially in his youth, but I think you did so splendidly. Your characterization of Lovegood seems to fit perfectly in the canon from what we know about him, and yet you've taken artistic freedoms, too. This makes me really happy. This story is amazing already and I'm only one chapter in.

I also love Xeno's perspective on things. The way he describes his love's eyes, the way he likes the scent of lilacs, and how he's too ashamed to admit he has a stutter. This just makes the story seem more real. We all have our own oddities and poor Xenophilius seemed to get his fair share of them.

I also like the idea of the young witch that is determined to help him. She seems interesting, and I would love to see more of her.

As far as pacing and flow go, those both went wonderfully. I liked the introduction of his brother because I found their relationship and exchange rather realistic not to mention it's nice to know that someone was there to encourage Xeno with his writing.

Ha!

Oh, as far as syntax; spelling, and grammar go I didn't pick up on any errors so kudos there! I've always appreciated pieces with that polished look so to speak!

Wonderful start!

I can't wait to read more of this!


Linders

Author's Response: Hello there, Linders! Thanks so much for reviewing, it means a lot. (:

I'm so glad you like Xeno. I strive to make him a likeable (even lovable) character despite his eccentricities. Which makes it so painful when his initial girlfriend can't see past them. *sigh*

Anyway, so glad you've enjoyed the beginning. And that you thought my pacing and flow were on target. I struggle with those at times. I try to fit more words in when they just aren't needed. I guess too much is better than not enough, right?

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #42, by bostongurll33 Part Four

23rd February 2011:
You know, your writing really is beautiful. I know, it sounds rather cliched, but your words just flow so musically, I can't help but continue to read your writing. I've become completely drawn into this story, and I can't wait for your next update. Definitely a 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate you saying that. (: Next chapter is up now, if you'd like to give it a read.

 Report Review

Review #43, by peppersweet Part Four

24th December 2010:
'The light pouring through the fabric left amber stains on their skin.' gosh, love that sentence!

I've pretty much been shipping Xeno/Capria since part one, so when they kissed here I did a little victory dance at my keyboard. Suffice to say I'm pretty upset now she's run off and left. I'm not sure I totally understand her reasons for leaving, but the beauty of her character is that she's so unexplained. If that made any sense at all. I hope she comes back, I do love her. But, I suppose the story is moving into winter soon, and she's a very summery person.

This is a very charming read! Really looking forward to what happens next, and hopefully to a reunion between Xeno and Capria!

Author's Response: 'the beauty of her character is that she's so unexplained' - I love this. Your reviews are so wonderful, really. It means a lot that you go so in depth and really explore my writing. Such a rewarding experience for me to see. (:

There will be some explanation as to her past in the next part. But there will always be a form of mystery about her, that not even Xeno will fully grasp. That's just who she is.

Thank you again. Your reviews are so thought-provoking!


 Report Review

Review #44, by peppersweet Part Three

24th December 2010:
Nargles! I knew it was them! Ah, I love how the two of them got so worked up over bruised apples. They're strange in the most lovable way, and I adore them as characters.

'Something had painted it with a shade that read, This is where you want to be. And oh, how he wanted to be there.' - I love that line (:

Great contrasts between the girlfriend and Capria there, switching so quickly between the two of them. Xeno's better off without little-miss-no-imagination anyway (:

I don't know what else I can say in this review without repeating what I've said before, but the short and short of it is that I love the summery charm and originality of this. It's a very refreshing read.

Author's Response: (: Strange, yet lovable. That's Xeno to a tee! haha.

Yes, he is better off without her! He needs more Capria in his life, don't you think?

Thank you so, so much. I love that you keep mentioning that the story feels "summery," because that is exactly what I wanted. When I look back on previous summers, they always have a magical sort of quality to them, and that's exactly what I wanted for this fic.


 Report Review

Review #45, by peppersweet Part Two

24th December 2010:
Season's greetings! Back for another santa review, hopefully the first of many I'll get to leave this evening.

> "Goodbye, Xeno," she called to him as she began her descent. "Call me when you've found your sanity."
Ouch! Not sure I like this girlfriend very much. The fact that she's unnamed speaks volumes. I love how normal he seems thanks to the way you've written him, whereas he's actually totally strange in everything he does. It shows how unaware he is of himself, something that's quite noticeable in the few appearances his character makes in canon.

Capria is a lovely character. This story is really very charming and great to read on such a freezing day like today; it's full of summer warmth. Onto chapter 3!

Author's Response: I'm not a fan of hers. Which probably shows in the writing.

Yes! I'm so glad you caught that - that's a vital part of the story, the idea that he's actually quite eccentric and strange, but we view his world as perfectly normal. I wanted that to come across, so that readers could really feel for him. (:

Thank you so, so much.


 Report Review

Review #46, by peppersweet Part One

23rd December 2010:
secret santa time!

This is a pretty original idea for a story! Coincidentally, I saw a documentary about stammering the other night, and I'd say you've done really well in portraying it here. I love Capria as a character here as well, and I'm guessing by the distinctive characteristics of Luna in her that she's going to feature a lot in Xeno's future.

Great first chapter, looking forward to the next!

Author's Response: Secret Santa! (: *hugs*

I may have seen the very same documentary! It was incredibly interesting and played a huge role in the development of this story. In fact, it may be what set everything into motion. Kind of like a chicken/egg dilemma. I just don't remember what came first!

Anyway, thank you so much, dear. Your review means so much to me!


 Report Review

Review #47, by flying_rabbit Part Four

1st October 2010:
The beginning was nice :) But it actually surprised me that Capria didn't know yet that Xeno's girlfriend had broken up with him. She seemed to know everything about him.
It must've been special indeed that she brought him to her parents' grave. What happened to them, or will we find out later? Anyway, wonderful desciption. It almost feels like you're intruding on something very personal there :) The last few lines of that section - about the warmth; beautiful :)
Capria's reaction to Xeno's question to come to his brother's wedding was quite unexpected, I think. Does she have something against weddings? Bad memories? Does going to a wedding with him have certain connotations for her? Either way, it's quite a pity that she disappeared so quickly. Hopefully Xeno is right and she will return - but what will happen then? Will they pretend that nothing happened? Oh well, I guess I'll just have to stick around for a little longer for that :)
Hopefully you'll manage to update soon!

Author's Response: You know, I think she did know. I think that's why she asked him, why she was smiling when she did. It's up to the reader, I suppose, but if I were to inject my "author's authority" here, I would say she already knew. She does that a lot - asks him questions she knows the answer to, just to get him to speak for himself.

You will find out about her parents later. She mentions it briefly in Part Five, which was just updated yesterday (sorry for the long wait!).

Your predictions are very good, but I won't say anything. You'll just have to read and find out!

Thanks again! And sorry for the long wait for another update. I promise that won't happen again. And anyway, the story is almost at an end. :(


 Report Review

Review #48, by flying_rabbit Part Three

1st October 2010:
Well, that's original :) They saved some magical creature from a Muggle? Very nice. Your descriptions of everything that's happening are awesome as well; very detailed, and I think that that sort of fits a story like this. Xeno seems like the type of person with an eye for detail and a need to describe those details.
It's nice how you move from Capria's eyes to Xeno's (ex-)girlfriend's eyes - how different they are. It's sad that she left him, but I'm glad she did so only after Xeno already met Capria. At least his world didn't stop turning :) And Capria doesn't condemn him for being strange. She even seems to take his Nargles story quite seriously :) Wasn't he overreacting a little when he saw the spot on the apple? Sure, he's Xeno Lovegood, so I guess he can overreact if he wants to, but... an antidote? Anyway, another great chapter :D

Author's Response: It was just a plain ol' raccoon, nothing magical. But still, I wanted the whole scene to have a magical sort of quality to it. Is Xeno falling in love? ;)

Haha, yes. The apple part. He often gets very caught up in his imaginings, to the point that they become real. So here he is, telling Capria about nargles and watching for the bad apples, and he's just bitten into one. The whole moment added to his over-reaction, and of course Capria wholeheartedly believes him and passes him an "antidote" which probably doesn't work at all. The whole scenario is ridiculous, but to them it's a perfectly normal afternoon.

Ah, thank you so very much! I've been really enjoying your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #49, by flying_rabbit Part Two

1st October 2010:
It's quite remarkable that Xeno doesn't usually stutter, only when he seems under a bit of pressure... I don't know any people who stutter, so maybe that's normal, but still. It's a pity that his girlfriend thinks he's such a lunatic. Perhaps that's how most of us would react, actually... but I still feel bad for him.
Capria is fascinating indeed. She's quite unique, just like Xeno himself. They're quite the pair ;) It's funny that she just brews the potion under the Muggles' noses, because they won't realise she's doing magic anyway :D But, doesn't she have a home? Or does she really live in a tree, like Xeno thought when first meeting her?
And Daphne? Is she a witch? I hope the proposing went well :) And it's a good thing that Xeno likes the tonic Capria made him; on the other hand, medicins don't usually taste nice, so it wouldn't have been a surprise if he hadn't liked it, I guess...

Author's Response: Ah, yes. I actually watched a documentary on stuttering before I wrote this, and it's very rarely a mechanical problem. It's typically in the brain, more of a psychological thing that happens when a person gets nervous or feels as though they are in the spotlight. And we know that Xeno is not fond of the spotlight...

You're the second person to say that - that it's how most of us would react to someone admitting to be a wizard. It's very true, yet within the confines of the story seems ridiculous. Thanks for catching that. It's quite important.

She does have a home. But, as we see in later chapters, she doesn't feel like she has one. I won't say too much more on that. Don't want any spoilers!

I want to answer all your questions, but you'll just have to be patient. I promise they're all answered later!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #50, by flying_rabbit Part One

1st October 2010:
Interesting start :) I read this before, I just never got around reviewing it. But it's definitely interesting. I feel bad for Xeno, with his stutter, unable to tell the girl that he loves her. It's a bit... egoistic, I think, that she won't see that he stutters and needs a bit more time to get the words out of his mouth. She acts as if he just won't say it because he doesn't feel it. That's quite sad :( Sure, he won't admit it to her, but she should be able to hear it by now, no? The meeting with Capria was quite funny - she does seem like someone who could eventually be Luna's mum :)
Xeno's relationship with his brother sounds nice as well :) They seem so different, yet they seem to get along quite well. His articles sound quite funny too.
I'm glad he went to find Capria there :) She seems to know him quite well already... has she been watching him before, then?

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Sorry it's taken so long to get back to you, but know that I really appreciate all you've said.

Yes, Xeno's girlfriend is quite clueless. But so, in a way, is Xeno. They have different ideas of the world, that they can't quite communicate to each other. They're just an odd match.

Ah, has she been watching him before? Great question, and the answer is hidden in one of the later chapters. (:

Thanks so much for the review! So glad to hear you're warming up to Xeno. Through writing this story, he's found a very special place in my heart.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>