Reading Reviews for Door Into The Dark
  
135 Reviews Found

Review #26, by adoranymph Water Demons

4th September 2013:
So sorry I've been MIA for a while work has been insane, and I've had several other projects going. But I've finally finished my own next chapter in Moonlight and will be putting it up soon so now I finally have a chance to read more of your story. :D

That was excellent! Oh, poor Peter though. I know he'll be okay but still, he's so scared!!! But I really enjoyed the interactions between Remus, Severus, Sirius, James and Peter in these detention scenes here, so well-done.

But, it's on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I am very excited for the next instalment of Moonlight - I will read it as soon as I get a chance. I am just super busy at the minute, have no time to do anything!

I am glad you liked this chapter, it was a split chapter, so I didn't know if it would work or not, but I am glad you thought it was okay.


 Report Review

Review #27, by immy Whispers and Lies

31st August 2013:
brilliant !! when will the next one be out??

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I am glad you liked it! I will try and have it up as soon as I can, things are just a bit mad with me at the minute and I'm super busy, but it will appear soon, I promise.

 Report Review

Review #28, by Brightpaw Whispers and Lies

27th August 2013:
Yay!!!

That was fun to read. :)

I loved the cake, though I wondered about chocolate smarties... and how you introduced the war and the death eaters was neat. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you thought it was good. I'm working on the next chapter as we speak, so hopefully it will be up soon. I don't want to rush it though, because I want to make sure it's the best I can do! Thanks again for reading and reviewing, much appreciated :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by immy The Quiet Before All Bad Things

23rd August 2013:
oohhh mmmyyy gggooodnnneeesss I can't stop crying.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you're crying (even if that was sort of my goal with this chapter), but thanks for the review all the same, much appreciated

 Report Review

Review #30, by immy The First Scar

23rd August 2013:
sso beautiful, I think I am crying.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am glad you think this story is good! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by MissesWeasley123 Whispers and Lies

23rd August 2013:
Just like you promised :)

Oh, the feels this one gives me. It's so emotional in every way. Poor Remus. He was always my favourite Marauder, but the way you write him just makes me love him so much more.

"Fine, FINE!" Remus shouted, his voice trembling. He couldn't take it anymore, all the eyes boring down on him.
Oh goodness, that was agonizing to read, mainly because I knew it was coming, I knew he was about to break. And then there was this:

Remus voice had shaken so much it sounded like he was about to cry. He didn't like that. He wasn't allowed to cry anymore.

That was so prefect in a dark and poetic way. Also, there was a typo in that, I just noticed as I was copying that quote out: It should be Remus' or Remus's People have different preferences as writers, so I guess you can fix it accordingly, it's very minor though :)

I love how Snape just shut up, and looked ashamed. Serves him right for being nosy!

And Lily! She's just so nice :) And I also love James, Sirius, and Peter's help towards him. Peter is easily most dis likable, but you at least make it possible to see that at least in his childhood he wasn't that bad.

I also enjoyed how in the end you included that scene about the Death Eaters... It was clever and you're easily exposing the Marauders to the war outside of the safe walls.

I love you as an author, I think you're doing a fabulous job! Keep on writing, and even if you do take long I won't mind any more because at least you're producing great chapters that are fulfilling my hunger for this story.
Great chapter!

Author's Response: I there, thanks so much for always reading and reviewing, I really appreciate it and I am so sorry for the long delay as well.

I'm glad you found this chapter dark, because that was sort of what I was going for - the dark secret Remus carries and the constant fear of being found out. It's a lot for an 11 year old to handle, and I just tried to capture that in this chapter.

I am very sorry about the typo, I've fixed it. It's just so hard to spot them all, no matter how many times you read it over.

I'm glad you liked Lily and her gesture, I did too, and the help that James, Sirius and Peter gave too. I am glad you like Peter. I've read a lot of fics that has him being bad and dark, a reflection of who he was to become, but I don't think the Marauders would have accepted a friend like that. James and Sirius were very clever, and they hated the Dark Arts, so they were never going to become friends with a bad wizard, you know? So I just wanted to show him as a normal, shy kid, because in the end that will make his betrayal all the worse - I was going down the line of "it is our choices that determine who we are, far more than our abilities". That's the vein I'm taking with Peter anyway.

I'm glad you like the bit about the Death Eaters - I just want to build up the war, and the darkness outside the castle, because that will have a bearing on their decisions after school - do they apply for jobs or head into the Order?

Thanks so much, I am glad you think my writing is somewhat decent. Don't worry, I won't ever stop, I love writing this too much. I am so sorry about the delays, because I am finding it so hard to write this fic in order. I'm jumping and skipping to various different parts of the story, so while there are no new chapters up, it doesn't mean that I have stopped writing or anything, it just means I am working on other parts of the story. I aim to have the next instalment up within the fortnight, so keep an eye out.

Thanks so much for all your kind words, they really are much appreciated :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by MissesWeasley123 Water Demons

19th August 2013:
Well hello there!! I hadn't noticed you'd posted new chapters! I'm glad I stopped by to check! Anyways, on with the review...

Phew! That was good! I love this story... I don't always read Marauder fics, or at least not often. This is so well written though.

Remus's characterization is flawless. JKR recently released his story on Pottermore, and I think I like your version even better than hers. You just make it seem so... believable. It's brilliant really.

I love Frank! I don't think I've said that before but I honestly do! He is, so awesome. He's everything I want him to be, and mwah! Perfect!

I really like how you manage to incorporate Severus into this.. It's beautifully woven into the story and just so out of this world. I love his "greasy" (haha) character, it's exactly like how I imagined him. Good job on that!!

Mind if I offer some CC?
I think there was one mistake: It should be " 'cause you're* not!" while you wrote "your" instead of "you're". Oh well, that was so minor and a small typo. We all make them ;)

I cannot wait to keep on reading because m'dear, you are so talented!
Nadia :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I really appreciate you sticking with me and this story (despite the long gaps between updates). I am just finding it really difficult to write this one chapter after the next. I've spent the last month writing two chapters from Remus's second year, three from his seventh year, then about 6 chapters relating to him and Tonks. It's all a bit mad. I am just afraid I am annoying readers as I am not updating often, well in honesty I am working on the story, just not in any sort of coherent chronological order. All that said, I'm nearly finished the next chapter and I will have it up on Thursday.

Thanks so much for reading the story. It really means the world that you enjoy it and think it's worthy of a review.

I have read Remus's bio on Pottermore (very VERY moving/sad). It has sort of put me in an awkward position because I am a stickler for canon, what I write must be canon, but when I started this fic I wasn't privy to all that info on Pottermore, so obviously my story is no longer canon. But what can I do? I've already written so much of it, and I love it the way it is and don't want to change it. I think I will just keep going where I am going and stick to my pre-Pottermore plan. The fact that you think my version is better than JKR's just leaves me utterly at a loss for words. No idea what to say, but thank you.

I am also glad you like Snape, I actually enjoy writing him and getting into his head and seeing what makes him tick and everything. But Remus is the one I just love to write, I love stepping inside his skin and walking around in it, it's just brilliant.

I am glad you like Frank. I do too. I just wanted to include him, and how popular he is and what a great guy he is too, because I want the world to feel a loss when what Bellatrix does to him and Alice happens. I have that all planned out, and I just wanted it to effect Remus and the other Order members, and the whole community too. You will see why when we make it that far in the story.

I love CC, I love getting it, so if you ever feel like you need to give it, please do, even CC that is unrelated to typos. Incidentally, sorry about that typo, I will fix it straight away!

Thanks so much for the review, check back Thursday evening for the next instalment. :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by Voldy Needs a Hug The First Scar

13th August 2013:
Hello! It's Voldy Needs a Hug with your (very late) review.

Portraying Remus as a toddler is certainly an interesting concept, which I don't believe I've read before. You did an excellent job with Remus' characterization, allowing readers to see the world through a child's eyes. He seemed so young and innocent at the beginning of the chapter, yet he seemed to mature towards. His loss of innocence was painfully evident as he came to terms with his actions. Writing from the perspective of a young child is certainly not easy, but you managed to pull it off.

You also did a wonderful job writing the dialogue between Remus and his father. Death is one of the most challenging topics to explain to a child, but his father provided a good explanation. Remus was clearly confused during their conversation, but managed to grasp the concept later on in the chapter. He caught on fairly quickly for a three-year-old.

Creativity was evident throughout this chapter, especially because it was almost entirely written about gnomes. Most stories focus on Remus' illness, but this chapter occurred before he was bitten, making it unique and original. Poor Remus is already convinced that he is some sort of monster for killing the gnome.

This chapter flowed very nicely, transitioning smoothly from one event to the next. Even though it was on the longer side, the plot moved quickly, capturing and holding my attention for the entire chapter. I'm very curious to see what stage in Remus' life will be featured in the next chapter.

On the other hand, my one main complaint was the spelling/grammar. I understand that this chapter is written from the perspective of a three-year-old, but I found it a bit challenging to understand several sentences. I found myself rereading these sentences in an attempt to determine their meaning.

Overall, terrific job!

Author's Response: Hi there, thank you for taking my request.

I am glad you think I managed to pull Remus off as a Todder. I am sorry that you found the spelling/grammar difficult to understand. I was just trying something out, and I was trying to do something a bit different and outside the box. I wanted to not only write about the three year old, but write in the voice of a three year old.

I am glad that you saw some sort of development in Remus in this chapter - I wanted to capture a certain type of loss of innocence. The whole fic is based around Remus's experiences with death, and how death, all his life, takes things from him, things that mean a lot to him, you know?

I am happy you thought the dialogue between Remus and his father was good, and that you liked the explanation of death. I put a lot of work into getting that right, I'm just glad it seemed somewhat realistic.

I did want to explore Remus's life and when he gets bitten is a major part of that, but I just couldn't resist writing at least one chapter from BEFORE his life was changed by that event.

Thank you so much for the review, I really do appreciate you taking my request, I just hope it was worth it, despite the difficulty with the spelling and grammar (sorry about that).


 Report Review

Review #34, by Brightpaw Respect and Disrespect

8th July 2013:
I was so happy to see new chapters!!! This one was as good as ever ( = awesome + amazing)! I'm not sure I followed James logic with the stinksap... I also kinda don't want Remus's friends to find out about his furry little problem yet... I'm sure it's going to be a really cool scene when they do and I kinda won't know what to look forward to then... I'm also kind of worried about his thoughts at the end of chapter 22. He needs to stay friends with Lily! Hmm it'd be kinda cool if they kind of got together (in later years) and James got mad. Crossing my fingers they'll be a new chapter when I get back from jamboree in 3 weeks!

Author's Response: Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed it. I was a bit unsure about the latest chapters, but you have put my mind at lease a little.

With regards to James's logic, it was this game show riddle my uncle taught me. If you google it you can get a better explanation. Basically, when you choose first you have a 1 in 3 chance of getting it right. Then when the host reveals one of the incorrect choices, and asks you if you want to stick with your choice or change to the other option. You should always change because when you first chose you had a 1 in 3 chance of getting it right. Then when one of the incorrect choices is revealed you have a 50:50 chance, but when you choose the one you picked, you only had a 1 in 3 chance, so to increase the odds you should change to the other option, as the odds have changed to 50:50. I am not explaining it very well, I'm sorry!

Don't worry, Remus's friends won't find out about his furry little problem until 2nd year (as that's canon) so no need to worry yet. With regards to Lily, I've got lots planned for her and Remus. When they both become prefects things get interesting, especially when they are old enough to attend one of Slughorn's parties.

I will do my utmost to have the next chapter in 3 weeks. Enjoy your Jamboree and thanks again! :-)


 Report Review

Review #35, by bella decastro Water Demons

5th July 2013:
i love your stores but why do you have so many spaces

Author's Response: Thank you. Sorry about the spaces. I was having awful trouble with them last night. It kept telling me that I needed double return spaces between lines for readability (and I've been on this site submitting fics since 2007 and that has NEVER happened to me before). I think I have rectified the spacing issue now though, so it should be fixed (I hope!). :-)

 Report Review

Review #36, by adoranymph Choices

20th June 2013:
wow! very awesome! my heart was pounding right alongside remus at the bit where he feared that his friends were going to chuck him. and the whole things was just very excellently executed, building up to remus taking a moment to reflect on the choices he and his friends are making and the people they're becoming. i especially like bits like a good explanation for why sirius in particular hates severus so much, and how lily is sticking by severus despite everything because she's just like remus, a loyal friend.

another great chapter, and i'm looking forward to more. :D

Author's Response: Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed this chapter, but if I am honest with you, I found this very difficult to write (I reckon is was because I hadn't looked at the story in a long time). I'm still not 100 per cent happy with it, and I don't think it is my best work at all ... but I really don't know how exactly to improve the chapter. But I feel a bit more confident about it now that you have said that you liked it.

Thank you so much for your review, I really appreciate it and I look forward to more Moonlight soon too! :-)


 Report Review

Review #37, by MissesWeasley123 Choices

15th June 2013:
I actually didn't realize you'd posted! I'm glad I came back to check! Nicely done, though I wish you were hurrying things up a bit.
- Nadia

Author's Response: Thanks Nadia. Thanks also for the comment about hurrying things up, I think you've made a solid point there. I'm getting too bogged down in details and I'm not hurrying things along. I'm going to go off and do some thinking over the next fortnight before I post chapter 23, and see if I can edit it all better, so the story is actually moving forward, as opposed to staying static.

Thanks for the feedback, really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Brightpaw There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

24th May 2013:
So I just saw that the author of the James Potter series was releasing his next book in a month or so... and I got a book from the library for the first time in ages today, which was kind of exciting, but I was like, bleh, what I really want to read is that Remus story! So I came here and there wasn't a new chapter up, which is sad, but I was re-reading this one a bit and it's just SO good! Please keep writing! This makes Percy Jackson seem so dumb... :P I love all the emotion!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much, I just don't know what to say! I've never read any of those James Potter books and I don't really want to, because they are not JKR, you know? The only non-JKR potter related stuff I will read is fan-fiction, which is written by fans for fans, for no other reason that fun and enjoyment.

I am so sorry about the delayed updates with this fic. I feel really bad about it, but I'm so busy in school at the minute that I haven't had any time - but I am off for the summer on Friday, and I intend to just WRITE, WRITE, WRITE and never stop, so you will be getting the next few chapters much faster (YAY!). I have by no means forgotten (I couldn't I love writing this story too much!). I like Percy Jackson (I mean it's no HP, but I still think it's good enough) - so thanks so much for that complement!

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I promise you more is on the way very VERY soon :-)


 Report Review

Review #39, by adoranymph There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

14th May 2013:
Wow this was really dark. Poor Sirius, just the idea of your family mocking you wickedly, especially having a brother you've loved turn on you and laugh while your parents humiliate you on Christmas. That's just...dark. A great insight into Sirius' character that was very well done. Also well done was comparing it to Remus' plight of keeping his secret and the threat of it's being discovered and then tying it together at the end, opening up Remus' perspective on the world and his own condition. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank so much for your lovely review as usual! I am really glad you liked this - I intended for it to be dark, and the darkness is dictated more by what is not said than what is actually said. I was comparing Remus and Sirius a bit here, both have very different, very difficult problems, and people sometimes forget that others are going through stuff as well and forget that other people do feel as intensely as they do when they get hurt. So I was just trying to capture that idea, as best I could.

Thanks so much for the review. I have used up all by store of chapters now, and I have not been writing for a long while, but it is summer time now so I will have loads of time and there are many more chapters to come (and much quicker might I add!)

I am going to check for an update of Moonlight now - I am really looking forward to that. Thanks again for your review :-)


 Report Review

Review #40, by niina There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

13th April 2013:
New chapter! Yay! Yay! I loved it, but I feel so bad for Remus, + Sirius too :( Update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am so glad you liked it! I will have the next chapter as soon as I can, I'm just very busy at the minute, but rest assured, it will be coming!!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Patrick. There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

13th April 2013:
So, I've been reading this story since it started. It is absolutely fantastic! I love how you're focusing on Remus from his first encounter with death, until his own. Your writing style is fluid and fantastic and you really create Remus character perfectly. Good luck and I'm eagerly awaiting the next instalment.

Author's Response: Thanks, Patrick! That means a lot that you have been following this story since it started. I am so glad you like it, I've enjoyed every second writing it, and there is loads more to come. I will have the next chapter up as soon as I can, I'm just very busy at the minute, but rest assured, it will be coming, soon enough! Thanks again for your great review, much appreciated! :-)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Nadia There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

12th April 2013:
Worth the wait :) Anticipating the next, update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks a million, really glad you liked it! I will have the next chapter up as soon as I can, just very busy at the minute, but rest assured, it will be here, at some point, very soon! :-)

 Report Review

Review #43, by hpluvr719 Christmas

8th April 2013:
This is really good!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am so glad you liked it, the next chapter will be up on Friday! :-)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Nymphadorah Christmas

22nd March 2013:
wow! i just have one word to say for this! its awesum...update the next chapter soon!

Author's Response: Hi there again, I'm so glad you liked this story. Don't worry, the next chapter will be up soon, ever fear. I couldn't stop writing this story even if I wanted to (I just love writing it that much!!!). :-)

 Report Review

Review #45, by smiley face:D Christmas

17th March 2013:
How often do you update?? Sorry, I just can't wait for the next chapter!! I love this story, is this going to go through Remus's whole life or just his childhood? Thanks for writing an awesome story!!

Author's Response: Hi there, thanks so much for the review, I am so glad you are enjoying this story.

Initally my aim was to update every 2 weeks, but then it moved to 3 weeks because things started to get really busy in school and I just did not have the time needed and I didn't want to rush chapters, you know? I wanted to take my time with them and make sure they are good before I put them up.

The aim of the story is to go through his whole life, that's the aim, from his first encouter with death (the gnome of chapter one) to his last (his own death in the Battle of Hogwarts), that is the aim.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review, much appreciated and keep an eye out for chapter 21, which will be coming very soon! :-)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Brightpaw Christmas

14th March 2013:
Not really sure what to say but... I love this! I guess I haven't read very many but this is my favorite fan-fic so far. It seems like Peter is usually portrayed as really stupid and completely obsessed with James and Sirius but I like how you wrote him where he actually has some ideas of his own. Thanks for writing such an awesome story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I am so glad you like it. I am also happy that you like Peter. I mean he was a Marauder after all, he would have, most definitely, had ideas of his own. Every character should be an individual with their own thoughts you know?

Anyway, more to come soon, so keep an eye out! :-)


 Report Review

Review #47, by adoranymph Christmas

14th March 2013:
This was an excellent chapter! It was really nice just to see Remus have a great Christmas with his family, in spite of the fact that Christmas fell on full moon and they had to have it a few days afterward so they could wait until he was well enough to celebrate with his parents.

Can't wait to find out what's going on with Sirius. I had a feeling it was going to get ominous there, when you mentioned how a serious a problem they'd have if even James hadn't heard from Sirius--and of course he didn't.

I did like seeing Andromeda and Ted make an appearance though. It's always just so great to me to be reading these stories about these characters interacting, and we know what the future holds for them and they don't, like the fact that Andromeda and Ted are going to be Remus' in-laws! I know it's going to happen, but I almost can't wrap my head around it when I read it in something like this. But that's just how awesome your story is, like it could've really happened. :D

Please write more soon, but I know life is crazy so no rush. :D

Author's Response: Thanks again for reading and reviewing (I'll be reading more Moonlight in a sec!) you're very good!

I am glad you liked this, and yes you will get an insight into what is going on with Sirius in the next chapter

I am glad you liked Ted and Andromeda's appearance. I know completely what you mean we all know what relation they will be to Remus in the end, but the characters themselves don't know that and it's fun having that prior knowledge while you read/write these characters!

Anyway, thanks so much for the review, it's much appreciated - looking forward to Moonlight now! :-)


 Report Review

Review #48, by Kay The Many Faces of the Moon

10th March 2013:
Gosh, this chapter made me cry.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really don't know what do say! But thank you! I hope you enjoy the rest of it, if you do indeed decide to read on. Let me know what you think and thanks again for the review (and sorry for making you cry)! :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by Nymphadorah Repercussions

6th February 2013:
wow it is awesome.u write really nice, its like reading Harry Potter prequel!!! update soon n lemme know.

Author's Response: Thanks a million, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Don't worry, next chapter will be up soon - Keep an eye out. :-)

 Report Review

Review #50, by adoranymph Repercussions

31st January 2013:
Hi there, finally! I apologize for the delay, things were crazy over Christmas, but this chapter was well worth the wait!

First of all, I think the exchange with McGonagall was done excellently, and I liked the introduction of this kind of threading theme of kids coming from unloved families, comparing Sirius' plight with Severus, which is smart seeing as how despite their both having home troubles and parents who are disappointed with them, they ended up on different paths (although their parents were disappointed with them for different and rather opposing reasons).

And you do Lily very well here too, having her defend Severus' actions even when they are wrong, because despite that she still sees him as a friends and believes that there is good in him that he can change. That, and the second James, Sirius, and Peter left Severus lying there in the corridor in a Full Body Bind, I just knew Remus was going to decide to help him, because that's just the sort of person Remus is, and you paint his development superbly.

Bravo, and looking forward to the next chapter. :D

Author's Response: Thanks a million, I am so glad you enjoyed this chapter and sorry for the long delay between the last chapter and this one, mental times, but sure you know yourself.

I'm glad you liked McGonagall here, I was going for more of a disappointment in her students, rather than out-right rage at what they had done, if that makes any sense

I'm glad you like the troubled background concept too, there is much more of that to come later as well. Sure wasn't it Dumbledore you said that is was our CHOICES that determine who we are - both Sirius and Severus come from troubled backgrounds, but that does not define them, it's what they choose to do, how they choose to act.

Thanks again, looking forward to the next installment of Moonlight now :-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>