Reading Reviews for Door Into The Dark
  
126 Reviews Found

Review #26, by bella decastro Water Demons

5th July 2013:
i love your stores but why do you have so many spaces

Author's Response: Thank you. Sorry about the spaces. I was having awful trouble with them last night. It kept telling me that I needed double return spaces between lines for readability (and I've been on this site submitting fics since 2007 and that has NEVER happened to me before). I think I have rectified the spacing issue now though, so it should be fixed (I hope!). :-)

 Report Review

Review #27, by adoranymph Choices

20th June 2013:
wow! very awesome! my heart was pounding right alongside remus at the bit where he feared that his friends were going to chuck him. and the whole things was just very excellently executed, building up to remus taking a moment to reflect on the choices he and his friends are making and the people they're becoming. i especially like bits like a good explanation for why sirius in particular hates severus so much, and how lily is sticking by severus despite everything because she's just like remus, a loyal friend.

another great chapter, and i'm looking forward to more. :D

Author's Response: Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed this chapter, but if I am honest with you, I found this very difficult to write (I reckon is was because I hadn't looked at the story in a long time). I'm still not 100 per cent happy with it, and I don't think it is my best work at all ... but I really don't know how exactly to improve the chapter. But I feel a bit more confident about it now that you have said that you liked it.

Thank you so much for your review, I really appreciate it and I look forward to more Moonlight soon too! :-)


 Report Review

Review #28, by MissesWeasley123 Choices

15th June 2013:
I actually didn't realize you'd posted! I'm glad I came back to check! Nicely done, though I wish you were hurrying things up a bit.
- Nadia

Author's Response: Thanks Nadia. Thanks also for the comment about hurrying things up, I think you've made a solid point there. I'm getting too bogged down in details and I'm not hurrying things along. I'm going to go off and do some thinking over the next fortnight before I post chapter 23, and see if I can edit it all better, so the story is actually moving forward, as opposed to staying static.

Thanks for the feedback, really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #29, by Brightpaw There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

24th May 2013:
So I just saw that the author of the James Potter series was releasing his next book in a month or so... and I got a book from the library for the first time in ages today, which was kind of exciting, but I was like, bleh, what I really want to read is that Remus story! So I came here and there wasn't a new chapter up, which is sad, but I was re-reading this one a bit and it's just SO good! Please keep writing! This makes Percy Jackson seem so dumb... :P I love all the emotion!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much, I just don't know what to say! I've never read any of those James Potter books and I don't really want to, because they are not JKR, you know? The only non-JKR potter related stuff I will read is fan-fiction, which is written by fans for fans, for no other reason that fun and enjoyment.

I am so sorry about the delayed updates with this fic. I feel really bad about it, but I'm so busy in school at the minute that I haven't had any time - but I am off for the summer on Friday, and I intend to just WRITE, WRITE, WRITE and never stop, so you will be getting the next few chapters much faster (YAY!). I have by no means forgotten (I couldn't I love writing this story too much!). I like Percy Jackson (I mean it's no HP, but I still think it's good enough) - so thanks so much for that complement!

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and I promise you more is on the way very VERY soon :-)


 Report Review

Review #30, by adoranymph There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

14th May 2013:
Wow this was really dark. Poor Sirius, just the idea of your family mocking you wickedly, especially having a brother you've loved turn on you and laugh while your parents humiliate you on Christmas. That's just...dark. A great insight into Sirius' character that was very well done. Also well done was comparing it to Remus' plight of keeping his secret and the threat of it's being discovered and then tying it together at the end, opening up Remus' perspective on the world and his own condition. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank so much for your lovely review as usual! I am really glad you liked this - I intended for it to be dark, and the darkness is dictated more by what is not said than what is actually said. I was comparing Remus and Sirius a bit here, both have very different, very difficult problems, and people sometimes forget that others are going through stuff as well and forget that other people do feel as intensely as they do when they get hurt. So I was just trying to capture that idea, as best I could.

Thanks so much for the review. I have used up all by store of chapters now, and I have not been writing for a long while, but it is summer time now so I will have loads of time and there are many more chapters to come (and much quicker might I add!)

I am going to check for an update of Moonlight now - I am really looking forward to that. Thanks again for your review :-)


 Report Review

Review #31, by niina There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

13th April 2013:
New chapter! Yay! Yay! I loved it, but I feel so bad for Remus, + Sirius too :( Update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am so glad you liked it! I will have the next chapter as soon as I can, I'm just very busy at the minute, but rest assured, it will be coming!!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Patrick. There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

13th April 2013:
So, I've been reading this story since it started. It is absolutely fantastic! I love how you're focusing on Remus from his first encounter with death, until his own. Your writing style is fluid and fantastic and you really create Remus character perfectly. Good luck and I'm eagerly awaiting the next instalment.

Author's Response: Thanks, Patrick! That means a lot that you have been following this story since it started. I am so glad you like it, I've enjoyed every second writing it, and there is loads more to come. I will have the next chapter up as soon as I can, I'm just very busy at the minute, but rest assured, it will be coming, soon enough! Thanks again for your great review, much appreciated! :-)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Nadia There Are Worse Things Than Being a Werewolf

12th April 2013:
Worth the wait :) Anticipating the next, update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks a million, really glad you liked it! I will have the next chapter up as soon as I can, just very busy at the minute, but rest assured, it will be here, at some point, very soon! :-)

 Report Review

Review #34, by hpluvr719 Christmas

8th April 2013:
This is really good!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am so glad you liked it, the next chapter will be up on Friday! :-)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Nymphadorah Christmas

22nd March 2013:
wow! i just have one word to say for this! its awesum...update the next chapter soon!

Author's Response: Hi there again, I'm so glad you liked this story. Don't worry, the next chapter will be up soon, ever fear. I couldn't stop writing this story even if I wanted to (I just love writing it that much!!!). :-)

 Report Review

Review #36, by smiley face:D Christmas

17th March 2013:
How often do you update?? Sorry, I just can't wait for the next chapter!! I love this story, is this going to go through Remus's whole life or just his childhood? Thanks for writing an awesome story!!

Author's Response: Hi there, thanks so much for the review, I am so glad you are enjoying this story.

Initally my aim was to update every 2 weeks, but then it moved to 3 weeks because things started to get really busy in school and I just did not have the time needed and I didn't want to rush chapters, you know? I wanted to take my time with them and make sure they are good before I put them up.

The aim of the story is to go through his whole life, that's the aim, from his first encouter with death (the gnome of chapter one) to his last (his own death in the Battle of Hogwarts), that is the aim.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review, much appreciated and keep an eye out for chapter 21, which will be coming very soon! :-)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Brightpaw Christmas

14th March 2013:
Not really sure what to say but... I love this! I guess I haven't read very many but this is my favorite fan-fic so far. It seems like Peter is usually portrayed as really stupid and completely obsessed with James and Sirius but I like how you wrote him where he actually has some ideas of his own. Thanks for writing such an awesome story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I am so glad you like it. I am also happy that you like Peter. I mean he was a Marauder after all, he would have, most definitely, had ideas of his own. Every character should be an individual with their own thoughts you know?

Anyway, more to come soon, so keep an eye out! :-)


 Report Review

Review #38, by adoranymph Christmas

14th March 2013:
This was an excellent chapter! It was really nice just to see Remus have a great Christmas with his family, in spite of the fact that Christmas fell on full moon and they had to have it a few days afterward so they could wait until he was well enough to celebrate with his parents.

Can't wait to find out what's going on with Sirius. I had a feeling it was going to get ominous there, when you mentioned how a serious a problem they'd have if even James hadn't heard from Sirius--and of course he didn't.

I did like seeing Andromeda and Ted make an appearance though. It's always just so great to me to be reading these stories about these characters interacting, and we know what the future holds for them and they don't, like the fact that Andromeda and Ted are going to be Remus' in-laws! I know it's going to happen, but I almost can't wrap my head around it when I read it in something like this. But that's just how awesome your story is, like it could've really happened. :D

Please write more soon, but I know life is crazy so no rush. :D

Author's Response: Thanks again for reading and reviewing (I'll be reading more Moonlight in a sec!) you're very good!

I am glad you liked this, and yes you will get an insight into what is going on with Sirius in the next chapter

I am glad you liked Ted and Andromeda's appearance. I know completely what you mean we all know what relation they will be to Remus in the end, but the characters themselves don't know that and it's fun having that prior knowledge while you read/write these characters!

Anyway, thanks so much for the review, it's much appreciated - looking forward to Moonlight now! :-)


 Report Review

Review #39, by Kay The Many Faces of the Moon

10th March 2013:
Gosh, this chapter made me cry.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really don't know what do say! But thank you! I hope you enjoy the rest of it, if you do indeed decide to read on. Let me know what you think and thanks again for the review (and sorry for making you cry)! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by Nymphadorah Repercussions

6th February 2013:
wow it is awesome.u write really nice, its like reading Harry Potter prequel!!! update soon n lemme know.

Author's Response: Thanks a million, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Don't worry, next chapter will be up soon - Keep an eye out. :-)

 Report Review

Review #41, by adoranymph Repercussions

31st January 2013:
Hi there, finally! I apologize for the delay, things were crazy over Christmas, but this chapter was well worth the wait!

First of all, I think the exchange with McGonagall was done excellently, and I liked the introduction of this kind of threading theme of kids coming from unloved families, comparing Sirius' plight with Severus, which is smart seeing as how despite their both having home troubles and parents who are disappointed with them, they ended up on different paths (although their parents were disappointed with them for different and rather opposing reasons).

And you do Lily very well here too, having her defend Severus' actions even when they are wrong, because despite that she still sees him as a friends and believes that there is good in him that he can change. That, and the second James, Sirius, and Peter left Severus lying there in the corridor in a Full Body Bind, I just knew Remus was going to decide to help him, because that's just the sort of person Remus is, and you paint his development superbly.

Bravo, and looking forward to the next chapter. :D

Author's Response: Thanks a million, I am so glad you enjoyed this chapter and sorry for the long delay between the last chapter and this one, mental times, but sure you know yourself.

I'm glad you liked McGonagall here, I was going for more of a disappointment in her students, rather than out-right rage at what they had done, if that makes any sense

I'm glad you like the troubled background concept too, there is much more of that to come later as well. Sure wasn't it Dumbledore you said that is was our CHOICES that determine who we are - both Sirius and Severus come from troubled backgrounds, but that does not define them, it's what they choose to do, how they choose to act.

Thanks again, looking forward to the next installment of Moonlight now :-)


 Report Review

Review #42, by Nymphadorah You Can't Always Get What You Want

29th January 2013:
i cried with McGonagall too...aawww Remeus!! and nice writting...well i'll keep reading...bye n update soon chp 20!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am glad you liked it! I hope you enjoy the rest, please do let me know what you think.

Don't worry, chapter 20 is on the way ;-)


 Report Review

Review #43, by adoranymph Infiltrating the Enemy Stronghold

2nd January 2013:
wow! what an awesome chapter! my heart was pounding the whole time they were in the slytherin tower, you do suspense REALLY well. i tip my hat to you (or i would but like Sirius i left it behind by accident).

and i really liked the bit where they were hiding under the beds and they overheard severus and evan rosier and wilkes talking about the rise of voldemort to power, you're doing a great job of setting the scene for the coming first war, and your characterizations are really great too, how james is developing as the leader, sirius as the wingman/best mate and peter as one who prefers to let bigger guys protect him (literally) and of course remus and how he frets about right and wrong and even how he's already trying to keep sirius and james in line.

very great chapter, and OMG i cannot wait to see what happens next, i really hope McGonagall doesn't get to harsh on them, or at the very least, i'm hoping for a miracle, because i really can't see any other way out (at least not an easy way). but for all of that, i'm glad Remus at least got his badge back. yay!

10/10

and i'm just about to put up chapter 164 of moonlight, though i'm not sure you've read 163, which is cool if you haven't, i know (most) people have a life outside HP. anyway, can't wait for more of this! and so sorry for the delay in reviewing. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I am glad you enjoyed this chapter and that you thought I did the suspense build up very well (that was something I really worked on in the chapter, so I am glad you think it is effective)

I am also glad you like the build up to the first war and the development of the characters, that's important to me, I want to get the characters as close to the ones in the books as I can.

With McGonagall, well, she will be McGonagall, firm but fair, that's all I will say on that front though ;-)

I did review chapter 163 of Moonlight, I did that on Stephen's Day I believe, and I just reviewed chapter 164 there. yay!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Miranda The Quiet Before All Bad Things

29th December 2012:
Really really really really really good. The first chapter made me cry and the second chapter made me shiver

Author's Response: Thanks a million. I am very glad you enjoyed it. They were two pretty risky chapters, because they are a bit outside the box, but I am so happy you liked it.

Thanks again for the review, I hope you enjoy the rest if you decide to read on

:)


 Report Review

Review #45, by Lin Infiltrating the Enemy Stronghold

25th December 2012:
Please continue! I adore your story! You have an amazing plot line, and a great style, and you've captured the characters perfectly!
Keep it up!
Linda M.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I am so glad you are enjoying the story (because I really love writing it). I'm happy you like the plot and characters too, that's important to me, that the characters seem as true to the ones JKR created as I can get them, and that the plot is realistic and entertaining.

Thanks so much for the review (and for being my first reviewer on this chapter), I really appreciate it now. There is loads more to come, never fear.

:)


 Report Review

Review #46, by adoranymph House Rivalry

25th November 2012:
ha ha! yes, finally i am reading your latest chapter. :D

and oh my gosh this was SUCH an AWESOME chapter! and so much cool stuff to look forward to i think, like the Invisibility Cloak perhaps to break into the Slytherin common room? And James getting onto the Gryffindor Quidditch team to pull it out of its losing streak? maybe?

also loved the bit about five year olds probably being better able to play Quidditch than the Gryffindor team, even though I was sad Gryffindor lost, but again I'm assuming that's setup for James coming in and wowing everyone with his mad Chaser skills.

and ugh, i just can't tell you how much I hate Lucius and Narcissa. Severus is pretty hateable too, but I know part of it is his insecurities and all of that. I'm seeing him as one of those bullies who mostly becomes a bully out of fear of getting bullied, and that he's got a misplaced idea that Slytherin is the best house to be in. but Lucius and Narcissa, they definitely seem made for each other in this chapter, and argh! Taking Remus' badge! Not cool!

Can't wait for next chapter to see them (hopefully) get Remus' badge back. each chapter just keeps the story getting better and better! :)

10/10

and PS, new chap of Moonlight is finally up too. :)

Author's Response: Hi there! So sorry for the delay in responding, things have just been absolutely mental and I haven't had time to even breathe!

Thanks so much for the review. I am so glad you liked this chapter. You are touching on some things which will feature later - obviously James becoming the saviour Chaser, and the invisibility cloak, well, whether or not that features in the next chapter or later on ... well, you'll just have to wait and see.

I am glad I managed to get the dislike of Lucius and Narcissa across. And you are right about Severus in this instance anyway - he bullies out of fear of being bullied himself.

Anyway, the next chapter will be up next week, and I cannot wait to read the next installment of Moonlight, which I will read right now - very excited!!! :-)


 Report Review

Review #47, by Espresso Patronum House Rivalry

17th November 2012:
I love this chapter! You are awesome!

I'm worried about what his friends will think when he gets 'sick' again, lol. He should use a different excuse though because they'd get suspicious at him getting sick so often.

I think it's unrealistic that the Gryffindors lost 680-nil. I mean, I know you were trying to let on they were really bad, but I would at least have made it 680-50. Or something. Because I don't think if they were actually trying they would ever be that bad.

I really think you got Remus in that badge scene- seems like something he would do. I totally get why it means that much to him.

Eagerly awaiting the next chapter, update soon!!

Author's Response: Hi there, thanks a mil for the review. I am glad you enjoyed this chapter

I know what you mean about the excuses, Remus knows this too, he knows he needs to give a different excuse next time and he will, don't worry.

I know what you mean as well about the Quidditch match, maybe 680 - nil was a bit extreme, but what I was trying to do was build up James as the amazing Chaser who comes into the team next year and becomes this Quidditch hero who turns everything around. Then James just starts getting this over inflated ego after all the attention and praise. So in order to lay the ground work for James, I just wanted to show how rubbish Gryffindor was before he came along, but maybe I took it a bit too far? Don't worry, in the other Quidditch matches coming (against Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw) they won't be so bad, it's just because it's Slytherin. But maybe I'll go and reduce the score-line a bit because maybe it is too over the top. I think I will do that actually. Cheers for the tip.

I am glad you liked Remus's reaction in the badge scene, that caused me a bit of trouble and I had to a few re-writes to get it right, so I am glad you liked it.

Don't worry, next chapter will be up in about 2 weeks.

Thanks so much for the review! I really appreciate it so much.

TLM


 Report Review

Review #48, by niina You Can't Always Get What You Want

4th November 2012:
Keep writing PLEASE!! I was crying so hard in the beginning of the chapter but that part about slughorns belly made me burst out laughing.

Good job update soon

Author's Response: Hi there, thanks so much for the review. I really appreciate it so much because these later chapters aren't getting reviewed that much.

Don't worry, I have no intention of stopping writing this fic, I couldn't even if I wanted to. I love writing it so much and it constantly intrudes on my thoughts. There is always a pen in my head taking notes for later and when I get home from school, all I want to do is write.

I am glad you found the beginning of the chapter so sad, because that was what I was trying to achieve: capturing the sadness of it. I am glad you liked the joke about Slughorn, I liked that a bit too, although I think JKR did make a similar enough joke about him in HBP.

I will be updating soon, I always update every 2.5weeks, so the next chapter is due up Wednesday week, so keep an eye out!

Thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate it. I do hope you like the rest of the story, I have loads more planned. Keep on reviewing, thanks again

TLM


 Report Review

Review #49, by adoranymph You Can't Always Get What You Want

29th October 2012:
hey there! sorry i've been MIA, but i'm here now, and i have to say that this chapter ended on such an incredibly poignant note. it was cool because i see Remus' character take a real leap in growth and emerge with a new understanding of himself as a werewolf, that he chooses humanity, while Greyback chose the wolf, and as it's said earlier, that's what set them apart. it really makes a great springboard to the kind of man Remus will grow up to be. :-)

and i'm all curious to see what Sirius is so broody about, though I'm guessing that he got some bad news from his letter from Regulus. and speaking of Sirius being broody, i'd like to say that that's another great characterization, just because we all know Sirius' tendency towards being taciturn and grouchy when something's bothering him or making him not just on-the-surface angry/frustrated, but deep-in-the-soul angry/frustrated (like in book 5).

and i also like that it was with McGonagall that Remus had his talk at the end, just because it added depth to her character too.

all in all, another very excellent chapter! eagerly awaiting more :-D

Author's Response: I missed you when you were missing in action, and I see that "Moonlight" has been updated, I am now very eager to read your latest chapter. YAY

Anyway, to the review response. I am very happy you liked this chapter. I was very apprehensive about it, mostly because I wasn't sure if it should be Dumbledore or McGonagall having this conversation with Remus. I went with McGonagall because asking for Dumbledore's permission to get a book out of the library seemed highly unlikely. I tried to stay as true to McGonagall's character as I could and I just hope I did a good job and that this came across as realistic and believable.

You are right with the choices idea. I was basing this chapter on Dumbledore's famous quote "It is our choices that determine who we are, far more than our abilities". - Here is chooses to be human and to struggle on, instead of doing what Greyback did. I wanted to show him making that choice and showing the reasons why he made it. Dumbledore's idea of love being the powerful force. His parent's love saved him and kept him safe, protected him and ensured he made the right decision (though it is probably the tougher choice, seeing the struggling and pain that is in store for him, you know?).

I am also glad you liked Sirius here. I am created a sub-plot with him here, just because he is the Marauder that lives the longest and that Remus will have the closest relationship to in the end, you know? So he is getting just a little bit more attention at the minute that James and Peter (though they have sub-plots coming along too). I am glad you liked him. I had him be sulky and broody here and very frustrated just like he was in book five. I wanted to capture that part of his personality and character, I just hope it was alright.

Anyway, thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I appreciate it so much. This story is getting so few reviews at the minute so yours are really and truly invaluable. So thanks so much, really, thanks!

Now on to Moonlight - can't wait! :-)


 Report Review

Review #50, by ScorpiusRose17 Getting One Back

21st October 2012:
Hi! :)

Alrighty lets get down to business on this review...

Peter was perfectly added into this chapter. I really enjoyed the humor and reality that he expressed in the beginning. You really did a wonderful job making sure we saw Peter for who he is. He has this great balance of sneakiness which adds to who he becomes later on when he's older, that feeling of weakness surrounding himself around those who he finds will protect him, and cleverness to a fault. He lacks in magical abilities, but he makes up for it with his determination to wanting to fit in with the coolest kids in school. I hope all this makes sense.

I really liked seeing Remus's internal conflict between fitting in and knowing that this couldn't be the best way to go about things. He as a character has a lot that he wants to prove to the world and is torn because the one thing he wants more than anything in the world is friends. I could see aspects of his character building throughout the chapter as to who he will be when he is an adult. It worke well within this chapter. It really gives us insight as to who he is when he becomes a prefect later on. He is already grasping the way his friends respond to people who hold a title and think they are better than others. This shows us why he didn't do anything when Sirius and James went after Severus when he called Lily a Mudblood.

Him telling them off was something I could see him doing. Of the four Remus is definitetly the more level headed one. He was really able to test the waters when he told them off and realized that James was right they are all the same. It doesn't matter people are people and should treat each other the way that they want to be treated. It was a great lesson for Remus to learn, but it also lead him to more uncomfortable questions that he doesn't want to verbalize yet.

James and Sirius were perfect! They were so much fun to read about and even the little reactions that they had in response to things were so spot on! I really liked how you included how James wanted Peter to be able to learn the spell and yet you have Sirius getting bored. Sirius would definitely be the one to become bored with things easily. I also liked how he was quick to jump up and take part in a prank on James. You did a fantastic job capturing their characters!

I really enjoyed Robert's reaction. You knew it was coming. You knew that he was going to pop because of these four first years. He was so pompous and you just have to love to hate him for his Hermione like way he follows the rules only with a twist of obsessive superiorness. I also really enjoyed reading about Frank. He is kind of like that older brother watch out for you kind of guy. I can see why he's Neville's father. I really can.

As a mom myself I have to say that I really enjoyed Mrs. Lupin's letter to her son. It was very motherly and really showed how much a parents life changes when their child goes to school. Her concern for her son and her pride is something that I really enjoy seeing from her and I think it helps remind Remus of where he's come from and what he's delt with.

I loved the joke at the end with Peeves. He had it coming and I loved seeing how he responded towards them. It was almost like he was trying to express an 'It's on' attitude. You just know that this relationship has taken off to new heights of extream pranking between them. Mr. Filch's characterization is perfect. I really enjoyed seeing this insanely unhappy man become giddy at the thought of punishment for misbehaving kids. You'd think that by now he would just give up.

I did find a few sentences that were a bit confusing and thought I would point them out as always! :)

And what made feel even more guilty was that he had actually enjoyed destroying the common room, had enjoyed creating chaos with his three new friends.

Again, this one felt like it was missing the word he. common room, he had enjoyed... This one doesn't need to be changed, but I figured I would point it out.

He wasnít as good as James and Sirius, but he wasnít as bad a poor Peter.

This is just a missing word. In place of a it should be as.

Once, gave the whole class detention, but no one heard him.

This one was confusing because it jumps from Once to gave. I would suggest adding a he between the two of them. Once, he gave...

There is another one that I haven't been able to refind when I went back looking for it. I would suggest rereading the first portion of the chapter. I know it is the word is and it should be an it when Peter and Remus are plotting.

I also like how you use words that are traditional words for you. I had to look up what a rasher is and I just want to say thank you because now I've learned a new word!

Anyways, keep up the awesome writing! I look forward to reading the next chapter and I hope you find this helpful! Oh and Congrats on TA status!!! ;)

-SR17

Author's Response: Hi there yourself! Firstly, I want to thank you for such a brilliant review. I also want to apologise for taking so long to reply. I wanted to make sure I had enough time to devote to as good a reply as I can make!

I am quite relieved you liked Peter here. You hit the nail on the head in everything you said. He may not be the best at magic, but he has a determined will for self-preservation and he he definitely a sneaky character, but all that said, there is some good in him too, you know?

I am glad you liked Remus's internal conflict here. He wants to have friends and will do anything to keep the ones he has, but sometimes that works in conflict with his moral compass, causing him to partake in this he knows are wrong in certain ways or finding himself supporting something that really isn't the right thing to be doing. Yes, I am foreshadowing his older self, who is a prefect and sits there and lets James and Sirius torture Snape on that day by the lake.

I am also glad you somewhat agree with James and Sirius's justification for going after authority figures. The core idea of treating others the way you yourself want to be treated, no matter who you are or what supposed power you have. I loved the way you phrased that it was a good lesson for Remus to learn, and it generates uncomfortable questions he is not ready to verbalise yet. That was a really great way of summing it all up!

I am also very glad you liked James and Sirius. I have been working very hard to get their characters right, you know? But I am also having an awful lot of fun writing them too and I am glad that came across too.

I am also glad you like Robert and Frank. Robert is a lot of fun to do really, I based him on a friend of mine really, he's a good person, he just has an ego the size of O'Connell Street if you know what I mean. And Frank, what can I say? I love writing him too, and wanted him to be someone the boys could look up to, which is someone Harry and Ron didn't really have in school. Plus, Frank will be quite important later on in the first Order of the Phoenix, and I wanted to establish him as a character long before he features there.

I am also relieved that you liked Mrs Lupin's letter, I wasn't sure on it, again no experience in this area at all, but to hear from a mum that it is realistic is just great, thank you so much for that.

I am happy you liked the joke with Peeves and yes that will grow to full blown war between the two sides as times, so I just wanted to lay the foundations here, you know?

I am very sorry about the typos. Thank you for pointing them out to me, and I have fixed them all now and I spotted the one you couldn't find when you looked the second time and I have fixed that too.

Hahaha, that's funny about rasher. I didn't even think when I wrote that, because we never call it bacon here at all, that just sounds so foreign to us, so we call it rashers, and that's what it has always been to me, but it never occured to me before you know? Actually, now I think on it, I don't actually know if that is what they call it in England, I had better check that out. That could just be a hiberno-English phrase and if that is the case it needs to be changed!

Anyway, thank you so much for taking my request and reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it, and you have been so helpful, thank you so much! I haven't forgotten about "In the Name of Brotherly Love" and I am really looking forward to chapter 4 now, and I can't wait to read it and I probably will either tonight or tomorrow! So keep an eye out for my review, I just hope I can be as helpful as you are!

Thanking you so much,

TLM


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>