Reading Reviews for Glass
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #26, by krissyanne426 Glass

3rd April 2011:
Hello there, krissyanne426 from the forums here with your requested review!

I really, really liked this. I'm a huge fan of anything dark and desolate and this is both. And you do it so well!

You said that this was your first forray into the slash world, but this is fantastic! I mean, I know it's not everyone's thing, but with stories like this, I don't understand that. It's so real and heartwrenching.

Ah! Anyway, I liked your characterization of Daphne. We don't know a lot about her, and you've created - in such a short time - a deep and relatable character. We all want that one thing we can't have.

Your writing is amazing. THis was a bit different, but the flow and cadence and patterns were great.

Fantastic job!
Kristen=]

Author's Response: thanks so much :D

 Report Review

Review #27, by TallestTower Glass

27th March 2011:
Hey Marina! It's Helena from the forums with your requested review.

Where to start?

The very idea of the two characters lured me in... Daphne/Pansy just seems like such an interesting relationship, and you wrote it excellently.

The way you described their relationship within that first paragraph was brilliant. I think you conveyed a lot of emotion in the first paragraph - that sense of friendship and lust intermixed. I think that the tension progresses throughout, but even in that first sentance there is a sense of disfuctionality (blarrrgh! I cannot phrase my words right!). "Face chiselled from diamonds" was beautiful, it seemed to describe their passionate but cutting characters. I loved "As their hands entwine in a heated moment, their friendship is knotted closer. They are tangled." The imagery is lovely, and it reminds me of later with the words which infest their thoughts from the roots. I thought you explored the relationship in depth, and the phrase about friends as well as lovers seemed very realistic.

I really enjoyed their dialogue too. It seemed so sharp. I really liked this part:

A twisted smile forms on red lips. “Maybe I will.”
“Don’t be cruel.”

I thought the build up to the end was done really well. The imagery was very dark, and you described Daphne's emotions really well... it didn't seem out of character that she would act that way, only inevitable. Definately believable.

The use of repetition really tied the thing together and of course that final image was very powerful.

You asked me if I think it is dark enough and personally I do. The imagery and the build up of tension worked really well. I think that the darker tones of it weren't blatant, but still very effective.

Hope this feedback helped, sorry I haven't really got any critisism! Thanks for requesting :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Helena :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by ciararose Glass

22nd March 2011:
So I don't read a whole lot of femmeslash. Basically, I only trust my favorite authors to do it write. But a Pansy/Daphne I just couldn't resist. It sounded so snarky and darky.

The description, the style, the narrative here is also so incredible gorgeous. Throughout the story, you just have this sense of dark femininity, and it's incredibly seductive. The content of the story certainly could have been taken in an angst sort of direction, but instead you turned it into this beautiful vision of horror and wrath. I don't read too much Daphne, but I think you really captured her in this considering how short it is.

I think the actual content of the story fits wonderfully with the characters. And you described Daphne's jealousy, her hatred and desire, so perfectly. Actually, you did everything wonderfully here, and I am a useless reviewer anyway, so I'll just repost some of my favorite lines:
"They are friends more than they are lovers but she aches for the chase."

"Pinched cheeks are glowing with reproach as the mistress watches her lover dab perfume onto delicate collarbones."

Gorgeous.

I'm going to go stalk everything you've ever posted now.
Toodles!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, Ciara!

 Report Review

Review #29, by candens Glass

22nd March 2011:
Shivers all the way through. I love the repetition you use -it's a really great device. I also found the characterisations really good and very intriguing even in the short space of time of the story. Just really enjoyable to read and well written!

Author's Response: thank you so very much :) it's lovely to get such wonderful feedback.

 Report Review

Review #30, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Glass

21st March 2011:
Let's face it, my first spontaneous review in a while has to be for the story that begins with, "There is much to be admired in a face chiselled from diamonds." I mean, it doesn't get much better than that.

So, where to begin? How about the "There is much to be admired" bits. The repetition is obviously pleasing, and well done. It leads into something else I noticed throughout the story: contrast. The one line set up the clashing emotions that you introduced, and outlined them perfectly. It started out calm, gentle, then elevated over the five parts into something positively vicious. So contrast may not me the right word, I suppose. Overall building up of tension, bleeding nicely into the tone, is more like it. ;)

You have such eloquent writing, but tucked into it are these wonderfully simple lines. "Their silence is never awkward" hit me hard for some reason. I think because it summed up the relationship so neatly. When you described them as tangled was another good moment, because you started off gently, making it sound almost like a nice relationship. The "tangled" set us up for the darkness to come.

What else? There was the "All she has is secrecy and she has lost it to jealousy" sentence. That too was fairly simple, but again managed to convey Daphne's emotion so utterly. It's so easy to get lost in your haunting descriptions, but there's also these little bits that stand out all the more because of it.

And then the end, left to our imagination. It was all we really needed, and you didn't give us a bit than that. It makes you think. It makes you do the work. I liked it. ;)

I liked it as a whole, if you haven't already figured that out. Kind of stumbled on it while lurking around, and am very glad I did.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the awesome review, Sarah :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Blue Flame Glass

21st March 2011:
First I do want to say I normally don't read slash, but this intrigued me and I am SO glad I read it!

Your description is so lovely I've practically gone green with envy. Things such as 'dark passion a gravitational force between them' & 'The words climb into their thoughts from the roots up and neither can stop the infestation' were absolutely beautiful. I also think that the idea of separating with Roman Numerals and the use of the present tense really added to the capturing quality of this!

The only thing I have to say critique wise is that the paragraph right after 'iii' seems a bit...off? I'm not sure if it's just me, but it felt like it broke away from the flow of the rest of the story and I had to pause a moment at it. Particularly this sentence: 'His arm is looped around her waist territorially as though he can feel the shards of glass impaled in his back.' Again, this could just be me but I did want to try to offer a tiiiny bit of critique =P

Other than that I really, really LOVE this! For your first attempt at slash it is very lovely, and the end gave me chills! It really had me on the edge of my seat, wanting to read more. =D

-Caiti

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for the lovely review. I know what you mean about the section after iii - I kind of wanted to break the flow so that you have to stop and pay attention - it's easy to get carried away so that the reader gets comfy in the flow, but by breaking it up I hoped to keep it a little awkward and jerky. I hope that makes sense - I wanted certain bits to stand out more than others :D

thanks!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Toujours Padfoot Glass

21st March 2011:
Let me start off by saying that I haven't read anything of yours before. I have, however, heard the hype. So I was pretty excited to see your name in my review thread, as it would finally give me an excuse to read your stuff. Now: on to the story itself.

:O

Daphne is so unhinged! I love it!

I like how each section starts off with "There is much to be admired in a face..." The imagery is spectacular, as well. I haven't read much femmeslash, and I thought this was short and sweet and to the point.

Daphne and Pansy's relationship is quite dark, and definitely demented on Daphne's half. Possessive, tortured...it's everything a good Slytherin slash should be. ;) I must know what happens afterward! Is the power of Pansy's affection for Daphne enough to withstand what she has done to Blaise? If she's unaffected enough to have a boyfriend while having a relationship with her, then she can't be nearly as invested in it as Daphne is. And, knowing Daphne the way Pansy does, she MUST know that it was Daphne who did it (kill him? I must know!). She was all set to marry him, which tells me that she treated Daphne like a side-fling, just something to occupy her boredom in the meantime. So both of them are pretty messed up, but obviously Daphne is the more dysfunctional of the two.

Favorite line:
The words climb into their thoughts from the roots up and neither can stop the infestation.

I really like that - it's quite vivid.

10/10. Sorry if you were hoping for some CC, because I looked and looked but couldn't find anything that needed improving. :/ So this review may be a bit useless in that department.

Anyway, I really adore messed-up characters. I love dark, mysterious people who have all the wrong intentions, bad priorities, and few redeeming qualities. I liked everything about this story, from the red lips and "Maybe I will" to the secrecy lost to jealousy, to the shards of glass.

:)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #33, by libby103 Glass

21st March 2011:
Hey Marina!

So, I don't read much slash, but this was definitely on par with the slash fics I have read. So good job on that, especially for your first try!

Second, the story is haunting. While not short, it's not a long, complicated tale of slow realizations and regrets that leads to a horrific ending that leaves you starstruck. You managed to have a horrific ending that leaves a reader starstruck WITHOUT all that prerequisite! Which is quite an accomplishment... I didn't even see that coming until the beginning of act iv.

Your formatting surprised me. Though, once I got used to it, the whole "Act insert Roman numeral here" effect served to make me feel like I was watching a drama (play). I hope there wasn't some other sort of significance to that.

Your descriptive language is amazing. Every step of the way, you use it to draw the reader into the story, capture their attentions, and tell them what's going on in an eloquent manner. The story's plot is admittedly a classic, but your writing changed it into something new, more monstrous and bold. (I mean monstrous in a good way.)

Admittedly, I was a bit confused at parts as to which role Pansy was playing and which Daphne was playing...

Pansy and Daphne's characters are great! Pansy still has that sort of Pureblood air about her, even in the situation you've put her in. Daphne, since J.K. Rowling never really used her, was yours to make as your own, and you did very well with that! I noticed the transition from determined Daphne into deranged Daphne and it went very smoothly.

I think a little more on Blaise would've been nice, but then again, this fic has extremely little to do with him.

The repetition and use of the phrase "There is much to be admired..." made the ending much more resonant in the mind. I am still not over that amazing ending!

Overall, I love this fic! The dark ones are always the best in my opinion :)
from,
Liberty

Author's Response: Thank you so much, what a lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by TheProphecy Glass

20th March 2011:
Wow.I dont read slash that often but umm..wow. literally the only word I can think of to come even close to my opinion on this.

I loved the repetition of that line "There is much to be admired" It gave it an air and flow of poetry, a rhythm which really helped the flow along.

I just honestly thought it was so well written. Well done, for my first ever femmeslash I have ever read, I think I chose the right one :)

Hannah x

Author's Response: I don't read slash much either, so this was a bit of a step outside my comfort zone. I think the relationships women have can be really intense and I wanted to manipulate that into something much more sinister. thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #35, by TenthWeasley Glass

20th March 2011:
Why, oh why, oh WHY have I never made it to your author's page before? I only hope you can forgive me for this grievous mistake.

I said I wasn't a huge fan of slash, but I will fall harder than anyone for slash if it is written well, and this is that and more. You have a way of writing that is as delicate as your subject matter, and it's so much fun to read. I think the best thing about your particular story, though, was the imagery - and the very haunting and chilling ending. Wow, that was good. Better than good.

Am I even speaking English anymore?

Thank you so much for directing me here - I am so glad you gave me the nudge to read this. Absolutely going in my favorites!

Author's Response: haha, I think I'm quite well hidden :P you don't have to apologise!

This is my first ever attempt at slash. I always assumed it would be that one thing I'd never write but somehow this plot gripped me and it almost wrote itself.

This draft still isn't dark and chilling enough for me, but I think there were limits to my imagination and this was it. I'm sorry Daphne turned out so deranged!

thanks so much for the lovely lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #36, by LilyFire Glass

20th March 2011:
Wow. I'm not versed in slash of any sort, but this is interesting. I like it. I think you did well(:
~LilyFire

Author's Response: yay thank you! as a newbie to slash myself, that's great to hear :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by hedwidgeon Glass

20th March 2011:
wow, this is one of the most beautifully written pieces of fanfiction I've ever read. I really love the precision of your words. I loved the continuity between each section. Reading this kind of makes me want to get back into reading (and maybe writing) fanfiction myself - for the purpose of exploring the lesser known characters, like you did here, with such clear and beautiful writing. Great work (:

Author's Response: oh wow, thank you so very much! it's hugely flattering to hear that you'd condsider returning to fanfic after reading this. I hope you do because I'm sure your writing is as beautiful as your graphics :)

I really enjoyed writing this piece so I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed reading it too :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by orderofthephoenix Glass

20th March 2011:
Oh. My. God. This is absolutely amazing.

This is the first femme slash I've ever read and it's made me want to read more. But it won't be as good as this.

The imagery is so vivid and description. And some of the words were really hard hitting.

It's a shame really. I kind of wanted Daphne and Pansy to get together.

-Sophia x

I can't believe I'm writing this when Jay's just told us he's leaving!!! :'(

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Thanks for taking time out from the madness to read this :)

This is the first femmeslash I've either read or written. So it was a new thing for me too!

thanks so much once again!


 Report Review

Review #39, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Glass

20th March 2011:
You're amazing. You've literally covered every single bit of FF possible: the popular, the obscure, the straight, the ... narrow, everything.

This is dark and haunting and there's something so wonderfully, beautifully psychotic about Daphne. The language you've used is vivid and carefully thought-out (painstakingly so :P ) and it makes it even better knowing how much care you've put into this.

You amaze me, my darling. This is the first bit of femmeslash I've ever read, you know? I would read anything if it had your name by it (and not because you make me).


xx

Author's Response: ♥ thank you so much! I really am a bit nervous about this. I don't want this to be thought about too much, but I kept finding awkward words I didn't want. But it was worth it, because I'm proud of this. It's nice to try something different :D

thank you my dear!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>