Reading Reviews for Honeydukes
  
85 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Celeste Black Honeydukes

22nd December 2008:
That is so terribly sad! There are few things that can make my eyes well up with tears and your story definitely had that effect. Excellent job!
C

Author's Response: thank you - it really touches me to know that it makes you so sad (not because i'm sadistic, but because the power of words amazes me!)

thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by dracoslover1 Honeydukes

25th October 2008:
I throughly enjoyed this story. I am definitly will be adding it to my favorites.

I like your characterizations, especially of Draco and of Scorpious. I thought you had them both spot on, with the Draco that we know in the books and later on when the books are done and then what Scorpious might be if a book was written about the next generation.

I also like how you slowly had Scorpious turn around over a period of time and that it was not an over night deal. It was amazing.

Your descripitions are great. I like how you did the flashbacks of different situations that Rose and Scorpious had between them. Very good job.

Author's Response: wow thanks so much! i did try hard not to make their relationship to sudden, that would have been pretty unbelieveable :)

thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Sarah_Bee Honeydukes

25th October 2008:
wow. I feel almost unworthy for you to be reading my one shot of Cedric.I decided to return the favor of you reviewing something of mine so I'm reviewing something of yours.I am simply speechless at the power behind each word in this stunning one shot. You are definitely an amazing writer and I commend you for writing such a beautiful fic that is far beyond words to describe! I don't know what to say. You've left me stunned at the beauty and love in this one shot. this is probably one of the best one shots in Scorpius/Rose I've ever laid my eyes on. You gave an overly used pairing your own twist. You made it so original. you definitely deserve a 10/10 and a round of applause!

Author's Response: you arent unworthy :O

it's kind of you to return the favour, it was a nice surprise :)

such high praise... i am the speechless one :) i do love this fic, even though it's my own. i do occaisionally read it myself :P it took a lot of hard work, and for that i'll always be proud.

thanks for the review ;)


 Report Review

Review #29, by Jemione Honeydukes

22nd October 2008:
This was really touching and so sad. I already knew to expect a sad ending, because I found this story through the Rose/Scorpius recommendation thread on the forums. It was a shock nevertheless.

Great job!

10/10.

Author's Response: thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by dramaqueen6 Honeydukes

19th October 2008:
Hey there! Here I am with your review, sorry for the major slack-age and taking far too long!

1. First of all, on your summery there are two sentances at the end that start with 'I suppose' and while that's fine, on the second one I think you should say 'i suppose you could also say' instead of just 'you could say' because it brings up the issue of that it was also the end too.

2. Okay so I really liked all of the portrayal of the family relationship at the beginning. It worked really well about how Rose woke him up to his being his father's use to voice his beliefs on pure blood and blood traitors. The constant show of the struggle between the father and his son was done wonderfully. The writing was magnificent.

3. "If I hadn’t been foolish enough to love Rose… if only I had listened to my father..."

This was the one line that I didn't like. It was almost as if you were contradicting the whole story before this line. It said to me that he regretted ever being with Rose, and I don't think it should have been about regret at all. I don't know, the wording of it just made me frown and go 'well that's awful!'. I just don't think the wording of it was right...I don't know how else to explain it. If I'm making no sense to you, I'm sorry!

Though I didn't like that one part, I really did like the whole of the story, and I especially loved the sadness shown through Rose's death. It was tragic, but it really made the story in the end. I loved it, so nice job on the over all feel of the story. Very beautiful.

-dramaqueen6

Author's Response: I see what you mean about that line, I'll revise it :) thanks for the help.



 Report Review

Review #31, by The Other Dobby Honeydukes

19th October 2008:
Oh, that's so sad. Grr, Draco, I'll kill you myself! Beautifully written Marina.
10/10

Author's Response: thanks hun :D that means so much to me, especially coming from you!!! haha thanks again. i hate draco :P

 Report Review

Review #32, by lia_2390 Honeydukes

17th October 2008:
Oh my word! From your summary, I did expect her to die but not like that! Never would I have thought that Draco would've gone so far, I would've expected that from Lucius not him. I just had to stop and stare at the page before I continued.

I'm glad Scorpius finally thought of himself but unfortunately that did not end well. Like Scorpius, I assumed Draco would've been grateful as well but I understand why he wasn't - his pride got in the way.

It was kind of hard for me to read because I'm usually very sympathetic towards the Malfoys but as a teenager I can relate to Scorpius' situation in that he doesn't want to follow his father's beliefs, he wants to live for him.

My favourite part of this was the marriage proposal - "Be mine, Rose?” - That line sold me, the tears were welling up in my eyes.

The one-liners at the end was a nice touch too. I thought the plot was interesting and a nice change as compared to others I've seen. I like it, it's one of those bittersweet love stories, showing that we can always love, even if only for a little while.

Author's Response: thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Frankie Honeydukes

16th October 2008:
Oh, hell. That was beautiful and incredibly, intensely sad... I don't think I'm going to look the same way at yellow roses again. Oh dear... poor Scorpius...

This was well written and I liked it very much. Your characterization of Scorpius was well done and thorough. I liked it very much! Thank you.

Author's Response: thanks so much :D thats wonderful to hear!

 Report Review

Review #34, by IS bookworm Honeydukes

13th October 2008:
Ahhh! That was very sweet! It was also quite sad. I loved the last little bit about him leaving a rose on her grave every month. Very neat! Loved it! :7)

Author's Response: thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by WeasleyTwins Honeydukes

8th October 2008:
Hello! What a tear-jerker this story is! Your characterization of Scorpius and how he changed, for Rose, was enchanting. At first, I was a bit confused with the flashbacks because they weren't in chronological order [I'm weird like that], but you tied it together at the end.

The imagery and description really drew me into the story. I almost felt like I was standing beside the characters, watching them. The romance was so...beautiful, nothing too sappy.

Amazing job, 10/10

Author's Response: ahh Shelby! i hadnt realised i hadnt replied :(

anyway, thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #36, by SpringTime Honeydukes

8th October 2008:
So sad. It was a nice story and I liked watching Scorpius cahnge from a puppet to a young man. There were a few moments where I was confused about when in time he was speaking. Other than that I enjoyed this story. :)

Author's Response: thank you, I hope you're not too confused!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Pegasus1979 Honeydukes

8th October 2008:
Oh my god! What a beautifully written and presented fanfic. and I'm so mad with you right now!

How could you do that to her??? There are about twenty thousand Scorpius/Rose fics on here, and this was one of the very few that didn't make me want to roll my eyes as I read it. and then you went and did THAT!!!
How could you!!??

*coughs* I'm sorry. I rant when I'm emotional!

That was an awesome fic. I found no spellling or grammatical errors, but that could be because I wasn't really paying that much attention - I just had to keep reading to find out what happened next.

Very, very well done!!

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #38, by al Honeydukes

12th June 2008:
well for one i don't think draco is like that at all...maybe thats just me...secondly why would you kill rose thats just so sad! anyway your a really good writer! keep up the good work.

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #39, by sectumsempra12 Honeydukes

11th June 2008:
D': Awe.
It was so good.

Author's Response: thanks so much :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by carley Honeydukes

7th June 2008:
I loved this story. I am at this moment crying because it was just SO sad. I liked how you tied the story together with the yellow rose. I'd rate higher but there is no going higher than 10/10.

Author's Response: wow! thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Wizzo123 Honeydukes

5th June 2008:
Aww omg its soo sad, im crying aw poor rose and scorpius x x x Its really good. Sooo cute x x x x

Author's Response: wow thanks so much :) im so pleased you enjoyed it (though not too pleased that you're crying!) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #42, by subtle_plan Honeydukes

2nd June 2008:
Aw, that was so sad :(

subtle_plan here, with your review. sorry it took me a bit longer than I expected: something came up, so I had to run for a few days.

I really enjoyed this story! I really liked it. The writing might not be completely flawless; at places, to me, it seemed a bit bare and naked. A bit more descriptions would do, although, as I said, only at certain places. The first paragraph of a new flashback was always so perfectly written you drew a perfect picture of the scenery, so kudos for that. I would just try to slide in a bit more scenery everywhere else, to keep the mental picture alive.

Other than that I did, as I said, love your plot-line. I did not see that ending coming; it was great, but yet so sad.

There's room for improvement, but then again, isn't there always? I thought your writing was pretty much amazing all the way through. If I were to alter anything I would change the beginning leading up to the first flashback; it was a bit long and drawn-out, and if I had not promised to read I would have probably dropped out there and gone hunting for another story.

So there you go :) Write more, and pretty soon you'll be amazing!

Author's Response: i see what you mean by the nakedness :) i'll write some in, thanks for the advice. and i'll probably cut down on the beginning, so thanks as well! im glad you enjoyed it, so thanks for the AMAZING review :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Bella_Portia Honeydukes

1st June 2008:
I enjoyed the story. It was a bit predictable, but I don't think that diminished the pleasure of reading it. The Romeo and Juliet story (in HP, it's usually the Pure blood and the Mudblood) often anticipates a tragic ending; it's all a matter of how you get there.

In this case, I thought you presented Scorpius' POV very well and interestingly enough that I wanted to keep reading to find out what ol' weird Draco was gonna do. And, I must say, the way you pulled off the ending did come as a surprise to me. I didn't expect him to get plastered, stagger into the candy store, and suddenly A/K poor Rose. (As a person who works in the criminal justice system, I will tell you there was something weirdly believeably about that last scene. Alcohol can be a terrible precipitator of violence. Please accept this as a very wordy complement.)

In gryffindorseeker's story, "We Gryffies", there is a reference to a profession called "psychological healer." I hope Scorpius is able to see a professional of this nature and get some help, because he is clearly carrying far too much guilt. Rose would want him to put it behind him, because she's allowed him to prove to himself that he's not a bad kid after all.

Enjoyable, believable and touching story.

Author's Response: wow thank you! i hope it wasnt too predictable... i try to avoid the cliche! you work in the criminal side of things? how fascinating! im glad you could appreciate my view of things. im sure scorpius will cope... after all, its what rose would have wanted. thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #44, by singerhotti24 Honeydukes

30th May 2008:
"I'll paint you a picture of a perfect white Christmas. The grounds around the castle were slightly pink, the snow pure and untouched."

"All that's left for me to do now is leave a yellow rose, and say sorry."


oh this was wonderful.congrats: you're the first 1-shot that i've read.this is so good. you've a talent. the two quotes up above me...the first was so poetic, it caught my eye, and i read it twice. the second, was so remorseful...a yellow rose for hope and love...this is great. i applaud you.

10/10

Author's Response: ok... i responded to this like an hour ago :S try again...

you are my OFFICIAL 1000th reader. CONGRATS, you are a winner... you win a trip to disney.... haha only joking. thanks so much for your review, i really value it. im so glad you enjoyed it :D yey!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Sammy23 Honeydukes

30th May 2008:
What a beautifully tragic story. I think this would have been absolutely brilliant as a novella or even a novel but never mind. It's wonderful. It echoes Romeo and Juliet very nicely in parts and although i never really saw Draco as being that evil he was an enjoyable character to hate.

Lovely work Marina. :D

Author's Response: hey :) I had to give a reason for my hatred of Draco... everyone seems to love him but I really dont lol. I would have been a novella if it weren't for two things: 1. the challenge was for a one shot and 2. I dont have the time! lol thanks for r & r - I'm one read closer to my 1000!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Leo072491 Honeydukes

27th May 2008:
I can honestly say, I think that broke my heart. It was beautifully written. Terribly romantic and the ending was so tragic it made me want to go out and strangle Draco. I mean Azkaban is too good for him!!! Anyway it was a really beautiful story and I didn't honestly find any problems with the grammer or the plot, especially since this is based off a challenge.
The only thing I would possibly change or add on is I wish I knew what Harry Ron and Hermione's reactions were. I mean did they approve of the relationship? Of Scorpius? And how did they react after Rose was brutally murdered. I mean that is what I really wanted to see. I wanted to see how they felt about everything. Even if you don't add it on a sequel would be awsome.
Anyway I loved the story. It was a pleasure reading it and I am so happy you came to my review thread and asked me to, otherwise I may have never found it! Feel free to come back to my thread if you want more things reviewed!

~Leo

Author's Response: ah their reactions. i've been thinking about this for a while. i didnt know whether to add their reactions in or not, and quite honestly, i didnt know how to approach it. i think when ive built up my courage, ill weave that into the story. thanks so much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by obviously394 not logged in Honeydukes

27th May 2008:
OMG. Awesome. Usually I don't like Rose/Scorpius (since I hate Dramione, and R/S is usually the same storyline) but I really enjoyed this. Brilliant job.
~obviously

Author's Response: oh im glad you didnt mind reviewing! im pleased that you enjoyed it. i hate dramione too, but i find r/s much more believeable. thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Twisted minds Honeydukes

26th May 2008:
Awww that was so amazing and terribly sad. *tear* I really thought this was going to be a happy ending, but for some reason this ending seems way better. Good Job!

Author's Response: thanks!

 Report Review

Review #49, by paramore_black Honeydukes

26th May 2008:
ohmygod. it's brilliant. and extremely saddening. you can write very well, by the way.

Author's Response: it is sad :( but thats for your review! im glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by SONofBEEDLE Honeydukes

23rd May 2008:
Beautiful!
Dammit! You left me crying. I never cry!

This caught me. It touched my heart so badly that next time I see my girlfriend, I'm going to kiss her, then I will hug her like it were the last time.

You touched my heart.

Great story. 10/10

Author's Response: gosh thanks so much! what a lovely thing to say, I'm so pleased that I touched your heart :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>