Reading Reviews for The New Pride of Portree
  
248 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Penelope Inkwell Therapy

16th October 2014:
Hello hello!

So, first off, I may have mentioned it before, but I love how the team reacts to Fitz and Molly's relationship. And I really enjoyed how Fitz reacted to their reaction...to put it in the most confusing way possible ; ) Anyway, it's adorable.

Another thing I really like is that you have Fitz and Molly really talk. They've got passion, but they're also just comfortable with one another, discussing things like Molly's feelings on seeing her old teammates, stuff like that. Normal relationship stuff. That's something I feel like it's easy to skip over when you're plotting out a relationship arc, because there's the temptation to only deal with the BIG ISSUES, but the small ones are also hugely important. It makes them seem much more grounded, like they can really make a go of it, and that makes me happy.

Finally, I thought that scene between him and Mariah was very well done. You created an atmosphere in which we were able to feel more charitable toward Mariah, maybe recognize that she isn't all bad, while still remaining kind of wary of her. And I think that's exactly what Fitz feels, so props on really bringing us to that place during the scene. I liked how you had Fitz realize that even though Mariah had been kind of awful, she hadn't always been. And he also takes responsibility for his failings, realizing that maybe he hadn't always been the best husband. Sometimes break-ups are one party's fault, or even (as perhaps is still the case here) mostly one person's fault. But usually it's a two-way street, and when a relationship falls apart, usually both parties have a hand in that, in some way. I'm glad to see Fitz own up to that. It shows maturity, and I think it will help him move on from some of his bitterness.

Also, glad to see that he's going to therapy. I think that'll be a big help. Actually, a team therapist sounds like a *brilliant* idea. If you ever wanted to do a spin-off one-shot, I think it would be so awesome to just have scenes from the official therapy sessions of the Pride of Portree. I would sooo want to read that. So much room for comedy (and serious moments too, of course, but so much humor potential).

Aaand Mariah's going back to Tutshill. That is such a relief. Nice to see some things wrapping up nicely, after all Fitz and Molly have been through. Now, to just deal with McCormack...

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #27, by coolgf Leverage

14th October 2014:
This is so great ! So great ! What happens next , a wedding ? Please.

Author's Response: Oh not right away, but of course! I love a classic romantic ending. :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by ThestralPrincess Leverage

11th October 2014:
YAY! That is all I have to say. :)

Author's Response: Woohoo! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by Rachel Leverage

10th October 2014:
I HAVE NEVER LOVED LEVERAGE MORE IN MY LIFE

As usual this story continues to be amazing - I'm so glad McCormack came to her senses!...even if she did need a shove from Ballycastle :D

Author's Response: McCormack is secretly a softie when she gets emotionally attached. ;) And she is sensible, so she wants to keep both Fitz and Molly on board. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #30, by B Leverage

10th October 2014:
Best leverage ever.

YAY FITZ AND MOLLY 4EVER!!!

Author's Response: lol! Glad you liked that! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #31, by coolgf Therapy

28th September 2014:
Very nice, I can't wait for more. I just want to see what happens next. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you like the story so far.

 Report Review

Review #32, by stargirl100 Therapy

24th September 2014:
Love that you updated. But we need more. :) Thanks. How are they going to tell her ? And is she going to have him meet the parents and family ?

Author's Response: Always need more! That's a good sign ;) She will meet his parents, but whether or not that'll be shown...

 Report Review

Review #33, by Snuffles Therapy

21st September 2014:
OMG. I'm so in love with Molly/Fitz! The little exchanges between them are so awesome! You're awesome!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! I'm glad you like them so much :) That makes my day.

 Report Review

Review #34, by Rachel Therapy

20th September 2014:
I've been excitedly checking this story every day hoping for a new chapter. And at the end of a truly awful day of work, I was beyond pleased to find this waiting for me. My day did a complete 180. This story is amazing; the characters (both canon and original) completely make sense in the world, and your dialogue is some of the strongest I've ever read. If I didn't know any better, I'd say you were JKR herself, its so fantastic. Can't wait to read the next part, sometimes I feel more invested in Molly and Fitz's relationship than my own :D

 Report Review

Review #35, by Anony Therapy

19th September 2014:
Thank you!!! This is the first review I have ever left and i've been reading fanfiction for years. I love this story and it was EXACTLY what I needed as today was pretty rotten. I hope the updates keep coming, I love all the original characters and be backgrounds that seem so well thought out. Keep it up, please!!! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad I could help brighten your mood! Thank you so much for the lovely review, I really appreciate it. And I'm so glad you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #36, by RedHairGinny An Off Day

18th September 2014:
Hey, it's been a month since the next chapter, and I really can't wait for the next one!
Please publish it soon!
Thanking you,
An ardent fan XD

Author's Response: Ack it took me too long to update, I know. I'm so sorry! I hope you like the new chapter.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Snuffles An Off Day

7th September 2014:
Actually. Could you tell what jobs the Weasley/Potters have? We know about a few but I'd like to know about all of them

Please update. You're a fantastic writer and I look forward to your new stuff. Xxxx

 Report Review

Review #38, by ohnobeans An Off Day

7th September 2014:
I LOVE Meghan and Tavish sitting around and talking about Fitz and Molly. I'm so happy things are starting to work out for everybody!!

Author's Response: Haha, those two are shipping it. I liked the idea of McCormack secretly having a boyfriend, and Fitz's old coach looking out for him and he has no idea. It made me smile. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #39, by Snuffles An Off Day

6th September 2014:
Please come back! Your story is too amazing to be left
hanging. We miss you!
I know it's not related to this story but since I'm a big fan ( read
all of them more than once) I am allowed to ask: what kind of
job does Ted have? With that much of kids and Victoire not
working is kind of amazing they don't struggle just as Molly
and Arthur did when theirs were little. Big hug

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I took too long on that update, I know, very sorry.

Of course you're allowed to ask! I always love questions about my headcanons ;) Teddy Lupin works for the Floo Network. He makes decent money, but not a ton - I just don't focus on any money issues they may or may not have. But, I picture it being budgeted but not tightened-belts, if that makes sense. Victoire is a smart cookie, she makes sure everything runs smoothly, even the money ;) Not nearly as poor as Molly and Arthur were, no.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #40, by ReallyAnAuror Surprising Depths

1st September 2014:
I freaking love this story. It makes me smile. Well-written and entertaining.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #41, by RupertsPheonix An Off Day

30th August 2014:
I love Molly & Fitz on his balcony just chatting and drinking a brew. Its so perfectly them.:)

I hope that Meghan doesn't make them stay apart too long. I know Ballycastle would be good, but I do love them working together too.

Anyways great chapter! Looking forward to another! -RP/Kate

 Report Review

Review #42, by coolgf An Off Day

18th August 2014:
This was so great! I look forward to updates now. :) McCormack and that coach, love them. Its nice that we find abit more about her and that she is not mean but wants the team to do well is all. But poor Molly, like she didn't realize that the team would have figured it out, that they were hooking up, really? Lol. Can we see Hugo with a girl, he is a cute character. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #43, by LightLeviosa5443 Let Us Break A Few Heads

18th August 2014:
AHH. I'M SO SLOW. HOW HAVE YOU UPDATED SO MUCH. AND I HAVEN'T REVIEWED?! Glad the review battle brought these chapters to my attention! (even if I got ninja'd because it takes me forever and a half to review)

I'll just review spam you now :)

Okay, so I'm like absolutely 100% in love with Fitz and his stubborn miserable firewhiskey-drinking self. Oh man, I'm afraid now. I don't like this. Fitz, drinking, in a bar, next to the guy who slept with his ex wife. Who he hates. (have I mentioned lately that I love that he hates her?)

Still wary. Terrified, actually. Oh. Good lord. I can't. I'm literally reading this between fingers because I'm covering my eyes because I can't. I can't. Ferris is a little thick, isn't he? Oh boy. Oh man. No. Don't take it outside. Outside is always a bad idea. Outside is like the worst of all ideas. Where is Molly. Molly needs to come running up and stop this. I don't know if I can scroll down and keep reading. stahp.

Uhm, I might be wrong but nearly ripping doors of their hinges and then kicking them shut is N E V E R good!! No shoving boys!! I'm afraid to keep reading. I'm just going to keep repeating no until this scene is over. No, don't do it. Oh stop insulting each other. OH NO. NO NO NO. NO NO NO. I can't. What? Wow. Um. Wow.

Oh no no no. I feel like this is 100 levels of not good. Like on a scale of 1-not good this is very bad. Like my description? yeah me too. I'm not even capitalizing correctly anymore. Only sporadically. It's for emphasis, I swear. Okay, wait, I'm going to go back to reading. LOL OMG IT WAS RON THAT'S PERFECT. I SHOULD'VE KNOWN. I can't.

Molly and Ron's relationship is perfect. You've written Ron perfectly. Molly is perf. It's all perf. Okay? Okay. Ooooh, she used his first name. I don't know if that actually has any significance, but I haven't noticed her doing it previously, so maybe it does. Wait, is she being formal with him? Ugh. Why'd you break them up?? I just want them to get back together again. #riorolly4ever ... fiteasley? Yeah, no, there's no good way to mash that up. I give up.

RON IS SO CUTE. I want to hug him. Ugh. ♥ can they just be a couple, molly and fitz? I'm gonna repeat it until it happens. Flirt flirt flirt flirt flirt flirt flirt! This review is totally senseless. UGH THEY'RE SO CUTE. I CAN'T HANDLE THIS. YOU'RE PLAYING WITH THEM AND ME AND I JUST CAN'T HANDLE IT. kiss kiss kiss kiss. YES. I wish it was a more substantial kiss.

LOL I love Duff and Sid. They're both perfect. You're one of us after all. That line is perfect times a million. Hugo is priceless. The team is priceless. I love that they whistle and catcall and encourage his bad behavior. and they don't even know what he did. And Hugo just goes with it.

Yes. Kick their butts. YAY THEY WON. WOO.

This chapter was like a million levels of perfection. I loved every second of it. Even if I read half of it with my hands over my eyes and saying no no no no over and over.

xoxo Sarah ♥

 Report Review

Review #44, by AlexFan An Off Day

18th August 2014:
The Review Battle gave me a good reason to read this a week before I wanted to.

Fitz can't seem to catch a break. I mean, of course he was never going to get back to full range, and eighty percent is pretty damn good considering but at the same time it must've been hard to hear anyway. I think Fitz needs to find some other outlet for his anger instead of letting it out on his team when they don't deserve it. The rumour about Ballycastle seems like it could be good if it ended up being true. I mean, it would mean long distance but I'm sure that Molly and Fitz could manage, I've just gotten used to the two of them working together that I'm a little sad at the idea that they might not be anymore. Speaking of Fitz and Molly, it looks like there may be some good news in terms of their relationship as well. Meghan might end up letting them be open about the fact that Fitz and Molly are dating (she ships them just as much as the rest of the team does let's face it).

 Report Review

Review #45, by ThestralPrincess An Off Day

18th August 2014:
I loved how you painted the scene from Meghan's eyes of Fitz and Molly. So adorable! Lovely chapter. Your story is keeping me going through writing my thesis at university! :D

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I really liked writing that scene, it was nice to get another POV on those two. McCormack does see it, y'know, she just was leery of messing up the team. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #46, by fangirlfanatic An Off Day

18th August 2014:
McCormack and Ogilvies just kidding. It's great that McCormack has him to give her advice about what to do about Molly and Fitz. I hope she lets them stay in their relationship. Anyways amazing job, the team makes me laugh everytime they open their mouths.

Author's Response: I'm sure it's not a spoiler to say there'll be a happy ending ;) I do like to write them. Can't resist a HEA. Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter.

 Report Review

Review #47, by ohnobeans A Chance

17th August 2014:
and in the 21st chapter this readers newest OTP finally came true!

Author's Response: Woohoo! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #48, by UnluckyStar57 Let Us Break A Few Heads

14th August 2014:
Rakes really IS a troll. Grrr.

I think it's awful that he just had to do all of those things to Fitz: have an affair with Mariah, hex him on the pitch and keep quiet about it, and et cetera--and THEN he had to go and rub it all in Fitz's face. Fitz had every right to be angry, but their brawl could have caused a stir in the League if it weren't covered up so quickly!

Ron is AWESOME in this chapter. He seems to have gained a bit more sense than he had in his Hogwarts years (growing up does that to people, I've heard), but it's so nice to see his loyalty to the Chudley Cannons is still intact. And major props to him for not identifying Fitz for the records. :)

And Molly comes to Fitz's rescue again! I love that she is the one who keeps him in line most of the time--they balance each other out perfectly. And despite all of their awkwardness after Fitz's dramatics in the previous chapters, they are still willing to have a professional relationship as coach and captain.

Rakes really ought to pay for what he did. It's good that Mariah didn't know about the hexing thing, though. That would just give me another reason to despise her...

Ouch. The match sounded positively brutal. I know that I wouldn't want to be a professional Quidditch player if I had to go through that sort of roughhousing on a regular basis! But I'm glad they won--that gives the Prides a victory in the midst of their attempts to regain a good reputation as players, and it gives Fitz a bit of a victory over the insidious Rakes as well. :)

One question: When Fitz kissed Molly, did she get blood on her lips? (His lip was cut, right?) Or... I guess the blood had dried by then. But seriously, Fitz. That had to hurt, at least a little. He obviously doesn't care about slight pain if it means he gets to kiss Molly. ;)

Great chapter, as always! I hope they find a way to convict Rakes of his crime and get him out of the League.

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #49, by UnluckyStar57 Strength of Will

13th August 2014:
I'm back to review another chapter! :D

Wow, Fitz is being super dramatic about the situation with Molly. Threatening his best friend? Max out to make him pay his tab for that. But I guess that he knows that Fitz is completely and totally stuck in his own head and needs to work himself out. Still, that was pretty confrontational!

You know, I have trouble thinking about writing male characters because I've seen so many stories where they seem too much like they were written by girls, and so they behave more like girls. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but I like to see stories in which male characters are portrayed just as accurately as girls are by a female author. And vice versa, of course. I think that you've done a fantastic job of this--especially when it comes to Fitz. He's a very masculine character, but he's also incredibly emotional. And yet, his emotions are not out-of-character. They burn like his anger, and if he eventually cries about something, I know it's going to be a HUGE thing. Not something like losing a match or being cold-shouldered by Molly. So thank you for writing such a true-to-life character! :)

Beathan would totally be a neo-Romantic poet if she weren't a Quidditch player, just sayin'. She's so in awe of the gardens that it makes me laugh. She reminds me a lot of my mother, actually. Hahaha. :D

Molly's hair!! Dreadlocks sound like just as edgy of a hairstyle as a mohawk, but Jinks seems to think that the mohawk was better. I think he should definitely grow one, and maybe the others could cut their hair in funky shapes, too. The Prides would certainly make a splash that way! ;D But I like the change. I think that it was time for a change, and if it got Fitz to daydream about it a little bit, then I am totally okay with that. :)

Ooooh, Mariah! I really don't like her at all. Of COURSE she tattled on Fitz and Molly just because she wants to jump into the sack with a few of the team members. She's acting out of jealousy here--jealousy that Fitz and Molly had a romance behind McCormack's back--and that's never a good motive for acting on something. The revelation about her father being a rabbi comes as quite a shock! I guess that what they say about preacher's kids is true, after all...

AHAH! So this Rakes fellow is the one that Mariah cheated on Fitz with, the last straw before Fitz divorced her. He seems pretty raunchy right from the start, and I've barely seen him in action yet! I think he'll be one to watch.

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #50, by AlexFan A Chance

11th August 2014:
It's party time! Mitz is canon once again and I am silently cheering so as not to wake my mum up. (I'm going to refer to Molly and Fitz as Mitz because it's just easier).

This chapter was just fluff, fluff everywhere and I was just dying from all of the cuteness. Molly finally put her feelings out on the table and the result was FAR from negative. But hey, at least Mitz are willing to give it a go now and really try and see where their relationship goes (I hope nothing horrible happens).

I think that Mitz should definitely talk to McCormack about their situation. It may not give them the answer that they want to hear, and it might make Mitz's life more difficult but I think that would be better than having McCormack find out from another source like last time.

Every time Mitz moments come up Take a Chance just starts playing in my head. I don't even have to think about it anymore, it just happens. It has become my theme song for this story.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>