Reading Reviews for Freshly Mown Grass
  
47 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Jen Freshly Mown Grass

21st September 2012:
hahaha too sweet :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by writergirl8 Freshly Mown Grass

20th September 2012:
Oh. My. God. Shirtless, sweaty Ron mowing the lawn. This was the most beautiful Ron and Hermione fic I have ever read. I'm actually entranced by the mental image of Ron pushing an old, beat up lawn mower right now... I may have just been rendered totally incoherent by the pure perfection of it all.

As usual, your writing is amazing. You really have no parallel in your eloquence and your descriptions, etc. Thanks for recommending this fic. I just loved it :) Chicken soup for the Romione shipper's soul... ~writergirl8

Author's Response: asdfghjkl I'm so glad you liked it! I love your Ronmiones :D Ah Ron mowing the lawn, it stuck in my head and would not go away. I don't write this pairing often as a focal ship - I do love them, they just tend to wind up a side character in my Rose/Scorpius stories (though I do have a scene of them making out in Ron's office and getting caught by Rose) - so it was really fun to write them here. I'm so happy that you liked it! Thank you very much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by starryskies55 Freshly Mown Grass

11th September 2012:
Cor, I'd be exactly the same if I was faced with a topless Rupert Grint :P

I really liked this, it was short and cute and funny: "it's character building!" - I liked those bits especially. Ron's laziness and mulishness was brilliantly canon, and George's short appearance was great too. I loved Hermione's embarrassed and the way Ginny was just like 'Seriously? Fine, ogle my brother' :P

Freshly mown grass- that's a smell I thought Hermione didn't associate with Ron, but I really really adore this short piece- it's just great :P

Author's Response: Ha! I actually just saw a picture of him on tumblr all shirtless and he is lookin pretty good these days. Bit of muscle on him.

Ron is very lazy about chores. He doesn't seem to want to do anything. Typical teenage boy haha. Poor Hermione, confronted with the boy she really wants all shirtless and sweaty, and she can't have him. Ginny had to mock her for it.

I didn't think she associated it with him either, I just had this idea one day and decided to go with it. It's fun this way. :) Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Owlpost68 Freshly Mown Grass

14th August 2012:
Awww this was a great idea for a one shot. I wish I'd thought of it lol. Hermione and Ginny's exchange was cute, Hermione looking at Ron with no shirt, being caught and slightly teased, then about to carry on, but giving in to just look a little while longer. Very cute and funny story, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! And I understand that feeling, I often read books and go "can't BELIEVE I didn't think of this first!" haha. I'm glad you enjoyed the story though, and thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #30, by GrangerBrain Freshly Mown Grass

13th August 2012:
This story is amazing! I love it because it's like hermione's in a trance and how her brain is processing what she's seeing.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. Hermione does space out a bit, you're right ;)

 Report Review

Review #31, by slytherinchica08 Freshly Mown Grass

11th August 2012:
I had always wondered in the sixth book what it was about freshly mown grass that Hermione could smell in that potion that would be brought back to Ron so I loved this look into it! I thought it was all rather funny, between Hermione's thoughts of Ron in general and then Ginny coming back and finding out what she was looking at. Really I think this is a wonderful oneshot and loved the look into this one small line from canon. While it is rather short, it still has a great impact and does its job. It all flowed really well from the start with Molly through the switch to Hermione. I could really go on and on about how much I loved this piece but I think that you get the point that I really loved it! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I figured it was just that she liked the smell in general, but I enjoyed giving it a connection to Ron. I love this ship, and it's the first time I've gotten to really write them as a romance-y thing and at this age. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the comments on flow, I'm pleased to hear that was good - it's hard to write really short things like this after you've gotten used to writing novel-lengths and such. Thank you for reviewing! I really appreciate it :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by honoraryweasley Freshly Mown Grass

7th August 2012:
I absolutely adored this! I've rarely read stories this short, but the length was definitely part of what made this so likeable. Plus, it meant that I could smile like an idiot through most of it without strain on the jaw!

The absolute best part of this is how well it fits into the series. I've always wished that JK had opportunity to put in more about Ron/Hermione, particularly during fifth and sixth year, but I guess that's where fanfiction comes in! This is exactly how I imagined it being, and the whole thing absolutely radiates the - I can't think of a better word for it - vibe of their relationship. And there are some great Weasley/Burrow/Ginny vibes coming out there too.

And you portrayed both Ron and Hermione so excellently, which I know from experience is really difficult to do with the golden trio. I love that Hermione keeps her logical mind and is going about analysing the data and whatnot. Anyway, lovely lovely story! x

Author's Response: I haven't written a story this short in about two years I think. It just didn't seem to want to be longer, though, if that makes sense. I'm glad it made you smile!

Ron/Hermione is a fantastic ship, I also wish JKR had devoted more time to them. But it wasn't a romance story, more's the pity ;) I love romance. I had fun writing a bit of Ron/Hermione here, I'm glad you liked how I captured them. I always love writing the Weasleys, I just adore them.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm really pleased you enjoyed the story.


 Report Review

Review #33, by ScarletEye158 Freshly Mown Grass

6th August 2012:
Oh my god this was the cutest thing I've ever read! You wouldn't believe the smile on my face after just reading the summary so I bet you can imaging it right now! :p

Ron and Hermione are my favorite characters and pairing so I'm reallly glad I decided to read this :D I liked how you made everyone really believable because that's really hard to do with these Canon characters I've noticed. Ron, Hermione and Harry are pretty much impossible for me to write and I just wanted to congratulate you (and of course on your other amazing stories) because they are all so well written! Really good job, 10/10 :D

And thank you so much for all your help in the House Cup this year, it really means a lot! I'm so thankful to be apart of such a big community of people who really care about Harry Potter enough to spend their time and create things as such as the House Cup and all of it's challenges. :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed this little story :) I adore Ron and Hermione, it was really fun to write them as teenagers. They are difficult to write - I particularly find Harry hard to write.

The House Cup is great, isn't it? We love doing it, and it's wonderful to participate as a staffer and see how much the members enjoy it. :D Thank you for playing!


 Report Review

Review #34, by ginwannabe Freshly Mown Grass

5th August 2012:
Very nicely done! I haven't read in a while, but have a feed on my Yahoo page that lets me know when favorite authors have updated a story. This one caught my eye and was the perfect length on this Sunday morning. I love me a little Ron/Hermione!

Author's Response: omg haven't seen you on this site in forever! I thought you were gone from fanfiction for good! I'm so glad you read this and liked it, and that you left me a note to say so - thank you so much! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #35, by TenthWeasley Freshly Mown Grass

4th August 2012:
Hello! Stopping by with your requested review -- and I'm sorry for the slight delay in leaving it. Also, the forums are currently kind of bailing on existing, so if there is anything you wanted looked at that I don't cover in this review, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me. :) Aaand here we go!

So... your writing is kind of really addicting. It always, always feels like I've read way less of it than I actually have once I'm finished with something. And I think a large part of that is that you, in your writing, can balance a mix of both canon and your own voice into something that's -- well, frankly, highly enviable. :D I adore your Weasleys to bits, and especially George in this story. When I read your stuff, I see my own version of the Weasleys and Hogwarts and the Burrow and all of it, not what the movie's telling me to see, and that's something I don't get from a lot of stories. I really, really love that.

Ugggh, and I thought I couldn't ship Ron/Hermione any harder than I already do. ♥ This was absolutely adorable!! Stopping on the stairs to watch Ron mow the grass really is a very Hermione sort of thing to do, and it's realistic at the same time, which is so huge for me where this ship is concerned. I loved Ginny's reaction to it, too; it's kind of similar to how Harry reacted when they finally kissed, a sort of oh-my-gosh-just-do-it sort of gesture. (Which isn't a comparison that makes a lot of sense, but I'm running with it.)

This? The possibility of it sucking? Not a chance. ;) You need to write more stories like this, and I say that with absolute seriousness. Trust me, you're DEFINITELY going to get more reviews from me in the very near future, because it's kind of a crime I haven't visited your page enough as it is! Okay, I'm done gushing now. I swear. Honestly, though, this. ♥ Loved this story!!

Author's Response: Ack you scared me on twitter, I thought you were going to review like "Oh girl, put down the keyboard and slowly back away" XD Huge relief to see you didn't think it sucked!

Well this story is way less! I haven't written something under 1k words in years. Not a finished piece, anyway. But I get what you mean, and thank you! I adore canon and I like to think I've been writing long enough to feel pretty secure in my "voice", so to speak - it comes out whether I really intend it to or not, so I roll with it, basically.

Ron/Hermione is one of my most favorite ships. Right below Molly/Arthur. I'm a canon girl so I love a canon ship. I think Hermione's more the type to be watching Ron in secret and forget someone actually could catch her at it - at least it was only Ginny. She'd never have heard the end of it if one of the twins had caught her there staring.

Yay I'm so glad you liked it - one-shots are fun, and I really liked writing Ron/Hermione, so I think I want to do more on them. Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Ginger Lust Freshly Mown Grass

4th August 2012:
Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! I'll keep this short as everyone else said what I agree with anyway. This is a wonderful piece and you write well.
Keep up great work. Hope you do write more Ronmione.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I had fun writing it, now I want to write more Romiones ;)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Tonks1247 Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Ahahahaha! I so adore Ron and Hermione as a couple, yet I rarely find myself reading them. I'm not quite sure why that is but I am very happy I ran across this story. It was just...it was short but very sweet at the same time. I can see Ron's reluctance to mow the lawn and can definitely picture in my mind Hermione getting distracted by watching Ron. And Ginny catching her do it. It just...it made me giggle and it really was a lovely story! I loved it! Great job :D

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: I adore Ron/Hermione, but aside from as background characters in the non-romance Next Gens I write, I have really never written them before. But aside from Molly/Arthur, they're really my favorite ship. So it was nice to have a chance to write them here, and at a young age. Poor Ron doesn't want to mow the lawn, and poor Hermione gets caught ogling Ron by his little sister. lol. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Jchrissy Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
I'm still trying to sort out where I want to start out in your series style stories (Unsinkable is constantly getting praises from Mel) so I thought in the mean time I'd start with this happy one shot :)!

I live for imagery. Not so much that I'm sofficated - but by the end of a chapter or story I just want to feel like I was there. This really achieved that. I could see Ginny with her arms piled high and a pair of socks about to tumbling off, and Hermione is completely stuck with watching Ron. I loved that you maintained her logical mind, when she's thinking about Rons physically attributes she's reasoning that it shouldn't be attractive, yet her jaws about to hit the floor. I just think its a really great way to show her emotions (coich* hormones* cough) taking over but still stay true to her Hermiome side.

I adore the addition in the beginning regarding mowing a lawn being character building is absolutely perfect. It was very, very Molly - followed by the taunting of the twins of course.

This was such a pleasant read, thank you for sharing!!

Jami

Author's Response: I am so glad the scene-setting description was good - there's a lot of it in the Hermione POV section and I tend to linger over dialogue so that is definitely a good thing that it reads all right :)

Ah Hermione, feeling so much and keeping it inside until she bursts ;) Poor Ron doesn't get it for so long haha... She knows he's not actually super hot but she wants him anyway - to her, Ron is a hot guy!

Molly seems to like giving out chores to be done without magic and then trotting out the old "builds character" excuse haha. After so many sons, who can blame her?

Thank you for reviewing! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by True Author Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
I always like short but sweet one shots. They are usually very meaningful. I think this is one of them!
I always wondered why Hermione loved freshly mown grass so much!!
Great job.
Ashwini =]

Author's Response: I always figured she just liked the smell, but this popped into my head one day ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #40, by CambAngst Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
This was lovely. Such a concise, simple and plausible scenario for how Hermione developed the particular set of smells she experiences over Amortentia.

The dynamic between Ron, Molly and the twins felt perfect. Ron trying to weasel (no pun intended) his way out of an unpleasant chore, Molly having none of it and the twins being unsympathetic to the point of mockery. I love the fact that Arthur has acquired some old, unreliable and heavy lawnmower to torment his children with. Well, he probably didn't acquire it just to torment them. I'm sure he tinkers with it on summer nights and weekends.

Hermione was also very well done. This was right around that time when she was emerging from what Snape called her "insufferable know-it-all" stage and really began to round out into a very deep, realistic young woman. I'm certain that she had more moments like this while staying at the Burrow. The three-way conversation between her brain, heart and hormones was brilliant. Especially the hormones.

If there was any one thing I would suggest about the entire piece, it would probably be for Ginny to be a tad less supportive and a little more "Ewww! That's my brother and he's a sweaty mess!" But it's a small thing. Pay it no mind.

I'm glad I saw GW's status message in the forums. This was well worth the time!

Author's Response: Ron totally tries to weasel out of mowing. He would much rather the twins do it for him magically, but of course they're not about to do that ;) Naturally Arthur has a beast of a machine, which he has probably disassembled countless times to "fix" it. I can just see him out there, covered in grease and grinning with delight, as he takes the thing apart to sharpen the blade or something, pretending he's a Muggle. haha

I do think Hermione was a little more girl-ish (for want of a better word) at this point. She's starting to outgrow the know-it-all-ness and mature a bit. And of course, she totally has the hots for Ron right there.

I was actually thinking Ginny already was laughing at her and mocking her. She wasn't being supportive, it was more of a "Well don't let me stop you from staring". But I get you. I'm sure as soon as Hermione rejoined her, there was a round of mockery from Ginny. "Ron? Really? RON?"

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. GW is the best for giving me that advert!


 Report Review

Review #41, by maskedmuggle Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Aww this was so cute! Haha I couldn't resist the chapter summary when I saw it - Hermione and a shirtless Ron? And it was awesome how you linked it to that amortentia quote from Hermione! And your characterisation is so wonderful. Especially Ron. But I loved Ginny laughing at Hermione, but not making fun of her. Hehe, this was just a nice enjoyable one shot to read :) I really liked how simple, short and sweet this was!
- Charlotte

Author's Response: Ginny was making fun a little bit ;) I'm sure she would have stopped and stared if it was Harry, but this is her brother after all, she's going to mock Hermione for it. lol. I had fun writing this, so I'm really glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reviewing, I appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Mingeek Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Very well written - amusing storyline as well. Would give it a ten if there were another chapter or two!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I ought to write more Ronmione, they're such fun.

 Report Review

Review #43, by shadowycorner Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Oh lordy lord! There's way too much half-naked Ron in my life lately for it to be healthy. Isn't it just awesome, though?

I saw Georgia squee on the forums and when I noticed it was you and a ronmione combined, if internet movements could be compared to real ones, I'd say I stumbled over my feet to get here. I LOVED this. Who in their right mind wouldn't? Such a moment, ah. I adore how this scene is the reason she thought of freshly mowed grass in the first place in HBP. I always thought it was because it's a really really nice scent any way you look at it (if you're not allergic), but this way...oh my heart melts.

The dialogue in the beginning was awesome. It felt like plucked up right from the Weasley every day life. Or mine, really. Molly is great for telling him it builds character. But when wasn't Molly absolutely great while you were writing her? :)

And just...the scene! I always loved Ron, but the past few days I'm having this embarrassing crush on him and this scene made me 'whoo' and 'aah' in awe and appreciation. And Hermione's reaction to the whole thing is just so full of win.

...Her hormones, which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did, simply put in an urgent, Want.

Now this line cracked me up so much! It's just so so amazing. Megs, this was lovely and I'm going to favorite it and I'll read it when I feel sad because this little piece brings me pure happiness!

Author's Response: You can never have too much half-naked Ron! I just love him, I never mind Ron being shirtless. ;)

I can just picture Hermione at that line in canon, babbling about what she smells and then realizing she's said too much and glancing at Ron. XD Ah I love them. I think she probably already liked the smell, because it is a nice smell (if you didn't have to do the mowing), but it was fun to add Ron in there for that extra boost of "attraction" to the scent.

Ah the Weasleys. Molly ordering them about like a general, the twins making fun of Ron because they don't have to do this chore any longer (I figure it passed from son to son as in most families, as each one grows to the point of leaving home), Ron trying to get out of having to do it... Boys.

I totally adore Ron, so I'm down with facilitating crushes on him ;) I have a crush on Ron and love the way you write him! And GW has a crush on him too. We'll all enable each other! *group hug*

I'm so glad you liked it! And so happy that you reviewed me! Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #44, by MagicalInk Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Okay so, nano break. I should've plotted first.

But this was oh so lovely. And let me take a second before randomly squeeing to appreciate your descriptions.
"Hermione glanced out automatically as she passed, and stopped with one foot in the air, prepared for the next stair. The sight in the backyard arrested her, and she lowered her foot, backing down a step for a better view without being aware of what she was doing."

^That. It's so simple I can perfectly picture it and can actually feel myself losing balance to step in a lower step.
Add to that that everyone who has or is going through teen years can identify with all that staring and brains/hormones nonsense that life brings.

I am a huge Romione shipper and absolutely adore them so of course I had to read this. And then, your characterization was great! Cursing-complaining Ron, trying to rationalize Hermione, and laugh it off Ginny were *ahem*sorry for the cheesiness*ahem* perfect. And Molly, well, I love Molly, so different between how she's to Ron and to Hermione.

So yeah, this is the kind of review to just say thank you for writing suh a heart-warming one-shot that made me giggle at an unspeakable hour of the morning. Night. Whatever, you made me forget it!

-Val

Author's Response: Good luck on your nano!

Ah thanks for the kind words on my description. I always feel like I'm weakest in my writing there (I love dialogue). I could picture what she was doing so I tried to get it across. I'm glad it worked!

I love Ronmione! They're so adorable. I don't generally get to really write them, just as side characters in the Rose stories, so it was fun to write a teenage bit for them. Ha, Molly is totally different, but she did have to ask Ron more than once (pet peeve for mothers!) and Hermione is a guest after all ;) Ginny of course is going to mock Hermione for staring at Ron. Siblings!

Thank you very much for the review! I'm so glad you liked the story :D


 Report Review

Review #45, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
This is just so adorable and cute and sweet and, if I may use a very horrible pun, 'Perfect'! I just want to hug it!

As soon as I read the title, I was wondering if this was going to offer an explanation for Hermione's attraction to freshly mown grass; I'm really glad it did, and I think it's a wonderfully sweet explanation at that! Ah, all the feels!

My favorite part? Ginny catches Hermione staring, Hermione starts to follow her but then "her eyes crept back toward the window, and she gave up". That bit is SO true-to-life; such a realistic teenage girl moment for Hermione and I loved it!

BRILLIANT!! :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! It is a bit of an explanation for that particular Amortentia scent, although I expect Hermione would've liked it already but then associating it with Ron gives it that kick from "like" to "attraction".

Hermione just can't help herself with an opportunity like that, of course she wants to watch him as long as she can ;) Thank you very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #46, by WitnesstoitAll Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
I adore ronmione and so of course I couldn't pass up this little one-shot! This was such a lovely (and amusing) moment in Ron and Hermione's eventual relationship. What's more is that I think it's the sort of moment that everyone can relate to in some way. (Everyone gets caught staring at one time or another, right?? :P ). I thought you did a great job capturing Hermione's voice, and definitely had a good giggle over the Hermione's conflicting voices brain, heart and hormones.

Gah. Love me some good ronmione fluff!! And this most definitely qualifies as that.

Thanks for sharing!
Melissa

Author's Response: Totally agree - who hasn't been busted while staring open-mouthed at a hot guy or girl? The line with her brain, heart, and hormones is the main reason I wanted to post this, even though it's so short. It made me cackle while writing it XD Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #47, by Georgia Weasley Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
This. Is. Brilliant. I love the way you walk us through Hermione's thought processes, and how Ron is not suddenly all rippling muscles. He's not perfect, except when seen through her eyes. My favorite part?
"He's very pale, her brain noted. And rather skinny, actually.

Who cares? put in her heart. He's perfect.

Her hormones, which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did, simply put in an urgent, Want."

Hormones never think in full sentences, do they? Sort of like Hulk, you get one word ideas that pack a lot of punch. And I have to agree with her. It's Ron. WANT. Excellent job, and I LOVE it. ~GW

Author's Response: Ha, Ron is so not the rippling muscles type. He's wiry. But Hermione doesn't care. By this point I think she's absolutely raging for him, so he could look like almost anything and she'd still be drooling over him.

Hormones are totally the Hulk of the body's messages. Thank you for reviewing, and for the forum advert! I have a bunch of reviews thanks to you :hug:


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>