Reading Reviews for Freshly Mown Grass
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Arithmancy_Wiz Freshly Mown Grass

13th December 2012:
It's shameful how few of your awesome stories I've reviewed. I'm so glad you tagged me for the review swap so I could cross at least one of them off my review list. This was, of course, just as good and sweet and fluffy as I knew it would be. I love this perfect explanation for Hermione's Amortentia. It's adorable and so true to character. Speaking of...

You have such a knack for getting all the canon characters right, no matter what story you're working on. You captured them all perfectly. The nagging but practical Molly, the quick-with-an-excuse Ron, the dutiful but infatuated Hermione. Even the brief appearances by George and Ginny were spot on. George using "Ronnie" instead of Ron and Ginny's "it's only laundry" were so the characters from the books.

I think that's why you're so good at writing ships. You get characters and you make their reactions to each other believable. And you don't over-romanticize stuff either. Ron is supposed to be lanky and awkward, but it doesn't matter a bit to Hermione. That's part of the charm of them as a couple.

Overall, this was just lovely. Between your uncanny ability to write any character you like and your simple but effective prose, this was everything a short but sweet one-shot to be :)

Author's Response: I always feel that way about staffers' stories. It's not our fault, we have too much going on to get to read much! This is total fluff, but I'm always down for fluff. I'm not fooling anyone haha

Ah thank you! I love my canon characters, especially the Weasleys, so I'm glad I did good with them. George and Ginny are kindred spirits, mockery from them all around for Ron and Hermione. I patterned the scene with Molly telling Ron to do a chore and him trying to pawn it off on his brothers on the scene in HBP when he whines about having to chop food or peel potatoes or something.

I am serving up romantic realness, as RuPaul would say. lol. In all seriousness though, I really do try to make it real while still having the love there, you know? Romance is great, but cloying is not. Hermione loves Ron even if he's tall and skinny. But he'll probably fill out as he gets older, most guys do. He's young here.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! (((hugs)))


 Report Review

Review #27, by Mystique Freshly Mown Grass

9th December 2012:
This was such a sweet one-shot. I loved it, my favourite part was "she lowered her foot, backing down a step for a better view without being aware of what she was doing." It seemed to be exactly like Hermione might behave. And as for the congratulation of Ron and the other Weasleys, I think you've nailed them spot on.

Now I'm off to find more Ron/Hermione as this story has definitely put me in the mood for more.

Charlie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. And that line, it's funny a few people have pointed it out and I thought it was a bit awkward and wasn't sure about it. I guess it's working after all!

I love Ron/Hermione. I've only really written them as a sort of background thing before in my Rose stories, so it was fun to write them here. You should try "Memory Dust" by shadowycorner for some good Ron/Hermione. :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by justonemorefic Freshly Mown Grass

9th December 2012:
What with HP delving into war in the latter books, it's always nice to remember that they're still quite the kids in the in-between moments, where Ron still whines, Mum, why me 8D It really is dreadful considering Fred or George could do it, but then he'd never take off his shirt, so I suppose Ron mowing the lawn is for the greater good, right? Keep it up, Ron! For the greater good!

(but really, when you consider all of the achievements in human history, grass should not be as difficult to conquer as it is.)

Hee, I always wondered about Hermione's amortentia scent, because it's that little mystery that JKR teased, and even though we all knew we still wanted to know know the last thing. It's approximately 3am and I totally forgot that freshly mown grass was one of them until I read the second part, so I got to go 'aha!' Her brain and heart working all at once, only to be blindsided by her hormones - which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did - perf. Omg, I can totally imagine Hermione having this secret side of her dictated by one-word hormones and being utterly horrified by it.

And Ginny is the best wingwoman - Ron being her brother, she could be easily going eww, but instead lets Hermione ogle longer. That's a best friend right there.

Wah, so cute! ♥ A little Ron/Hermione is exactly what I needed :'D

Author's Response: Ron getting shirtless, I mean mowing the lawn, is totally for the greater good. Go Ron go! I patterned the Ron-whining-about-chores-that-the-twins-could-have-done-with-magic after the scene when he has to peel potatoes, I think it was, and whines about why the twins couldn't just do it magically. I bet when Percy came of age, the twins whined about why they had to do (insert chore here) when Percy could have done it. And on and on, all the Weasley brothers... Life as a younger sibling!

I totally agree that grass should be easier to cut by now. Well, I suppose a riding lawnmower makes it very easy. But I don't have one of those. So I have to kick and cuss at our mower to get it to behave.

There's one of those "HP secrets" going around saying the third thing Hermione would've smelled in Amortentia is Ron's hair, but most of those are spurious so who knows if JKR actually said it. It's a nice thought though! I enjoyed writing this version of her love for the smell of grass. It was fun to be fluffy and romantic and brief. Hadn't done a one-shot this short in ages.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by Toujours Padfoot Freshly Mown Grass

8th December 2012:
He's very pale, her brain noted. And rather skinny, actually.

Who cares? put in her heart. He's perfect.

Her hormones, which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did, simply put in an urgent, Want.
- loool. ♥ When her heart shushed her brain, I said "Awww", and then laughed when her hormones chimed in.

I love this!! It's so adorable and perfectly explains the freshly-mown grass part of her reaction to Amortentia. I can only imagine what Ron would have thought if he'd known Hermione was ogling him through a window; I can imagine him strutting along, trying to catwalk across the lawn while pushing the lawn mower and flexing his arm muscles every now and then. To know that he was being admired would have puffed him up like a balloon.

And Ginny just stood there and let Hermione finish ogling at her leisure - bahaha. It led me to wonder what lengths Ginny might have gone to to check out Harry while Harry stayed at the Burrow. Creeping along with a pair of binoculars, darting from bush to bush while he played Quidditch and de-gnomed the garden.

Poor Ron, having to do hard Muggle work. But a stroke of luck for Hermione! I was sad that this was so short. I would have loved to read a few thousand more words about Hermione giving Ron the once-over, with her brain and her heart and her hormones all lining up to present opinions.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this story! Thank you so much for reviewing.

Oh man, if Ron had known, he'd totally have been strutting. I can just see him, making the most out of every muscle flex. Hahaha... Ginny I think would mostly mock Hermione for ogling Ron, which is what I was trying to put across here. Hermione can't stop though, even though she knows she's going to get crap about it later ;) I totally picture Ginny ogling Harry at every opportunity. Binoculars, I love it XD

Thank you again for the review! I had fun reading it :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by house elf Freshly Mown Grass

3rd November 2012:
Oh, Hermione. This is such a lovely little story :) I can totally imagine this really happening ahah.

Love this line: 'Her hormones, which never thought in full sentences the way the rest of her did, simply put in an urgent, Want.'

You should definitely write more Romione!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I appreciate the review. I have really only written Ron/Hermione as a couple in the background in my Next Gen Rose stories. It was fun to focus on them as the primary couple. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #31, by ronhermione Freshly Mown Grass

12th October 2012:
I loved it! It is GREAT! Please write more stories!
:D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Holly Rose Freshly Mown Grass

28th September 2012:
Love love love love c: xx

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by EnigmaticEyes16 Freshly Mown Grass

27th September 2012:
Hahaha, this was so cute. I loved how her mind was telling her he's not that attractive, and the other half of her mind (or her heart, I guess) didn't care. I totally get that. This was a lovely little one-shot and I'm glad I read it.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :) Your mind can know something, but that doesn't always convince your heart. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Jen Freshly Mown Grass

21st September 2012:
hahaha too sweet :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by writergirl8 Freshly Mown Grass

20th September 2012:
Oh. My. God. Shirtless, sweaty Ron mowing the lawn. This was the most beautiful Ron and Hermione fic I have ever read. I'm actually entranced by the mental image of Ron pushing an old, beat up lawn mower right now... I may have just been rendered totally incoherent by the pure perfection of it all.

As usual, your writing is amazing. You really have no parallel in your eloquence and your descriptions, etc. Thanks for recommending this fic. I just loved it :) Chicken soup for the Romione shipper's soul... ~writergirl8

Author's Response: asdfghjkl I'm so glad you liked it! I love your Ronmiones :D Ah Ron mowing the lawn, it stuck in my head and would not go away. I don't write this pairing often as a focal ship - I do love them, they just tend to wind up a side character in my Rose/Scorpius stories (though I do have a scene of them making out in Ron's office and getting caught by Rose) - so it was really fun to write them here. I'm so happy that you liked it! Thank you very much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #36, by starryskies55 Freshly Mown Grass

11th September 2012:
Cor, I'd be exactly the same if I was faced with a topless Rupert Grint :P

I really liked this, it was short and cute and funny: "it's character building!" - I liked those bits especially. Ron's laziness and mulishness was brilliantly canon, and George's short appearance was great too. I loved Hermione's embarrassed and the way Ginny was just like 'Seriously? Fine, ogle my brother' :P

Freshly mown grass- that's a smell I thought Hermione didn't associate with Ron, but I really really adore this short piece- it's just great :P

Author's Response: Ha! I actually just saw a picture of him on tumblr all shirtless and he is lookin pretty good these days. Bit of muscle on him.

Ron is very lazy about chores. He doesn't seem to want to do anything. Typical teenage boy haha. Poor Hermione, confronted with the boy she really wants all shirtless and sweaty, and she can't have him. Ginny had to mock her for it.

I didn't think she associated it with him either, I just had this idea one day and decided to go with it. It's fun this way. :) Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Owlpost68 Freshly Mown Grass

14th August 2012:
Awww this was a great idea for a one shot. I wish I'd thought of it lol. Hermione and Ginny's exchange was cute, Hermione looking at Ron with no shirt, being caught and slightly teased, then about to carry on, but giving in to just look a little while longer. Very cute and funny story, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! And I understand that feeling, I often read books and go "can't BELIEVE I didn't think of this first!" haha. I'm glad you enjoyed the story though, and thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #38, by GrangerBrain Freshly Mown Grass

13th August 2012:
This story is amazing! I love it because it's like hermione's in a trance and how her brain is processing what she's seeing.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. Hermione does space out a bit, you're right ;)

 Report Review

Review #39, by slytherinchica08 Freshly Mown Grass

11th August 2012:
I had always wondered in the sixth book what it was about freshly mown grass that Hermione could smell in that potion that would be brought back to Ron so I loved this look into it! I thought it was all rather funny, between Hermione's thoughts of Ron in general and then Ginny coming back and finding out what she was looking at. Really I think this is a wonderful oneshot and loved the look into this one small line from canon. While it is rather short, it still has a great impact and does its job. It all flowed really well from the start with Molly through the switch to Hermione. I could really go on and on about how much I loved this piece but I think that you get the point that I really loved it! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I figured it was just that she liked the smell in general, but I enjoyed giving it a connection to Ron. I love this ship, and it's the first time I've gotten to really write them as a romance-y thing and at this age. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the comments on flow, I'm pleased to hear that was good - it's hard to write really short things like this after you've gotten used to writing novel-lengths and such. Thank you for reviewing! I really appreciate it :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by honoraryweasley Freshly Mown Grass

7th August 2012:
I absolutely adored this! I've rarely read stories this short, but the length was definitely part of what made this so likeable. Plus, it meant that I could smile like an idiot through most of it without strain on the jaw!

The absolute best part of this is how well it fits into the series. I've always wished that JK had opportunity to put in more about Ron/Hermione, particularly during fifth and sixth year, but I guess that's where fanfiction comes in! This is exactly how I imagined it being, and the whole thing absolutely radiates the - I can't think of a better word for it - vibe of their relationship. And there are some great Weasley/Burrow/Ginny vibes coming out there too.

And you portrayed both Ron and Hermione so excellently, which I know from experience is really difficult to do with the golden trio. I love that Hermione keeps her logical mind and is going about analysing the data and whatnot. Anyway, lovely lovely story! x

Author's Response: I haven't written a story this short in about two years I think. It just didn't seem to want to be longer, though, if that makes sense. I'm glad it made you smile!

Ron/Hermione is a fantastic ship, I also wish JKR had devoted more time to them. But it wasn't a romance story, more's the pity ;) I love romance. I had fun writing a bit of Ron/Hermione here, I'm glad you liked how I captured them. I always love writing the Weasleys, I just adore them.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm really pleased you enjoyed the story.


 Report Review

Review #41, by ScarletEye158 Freshly Mown Grass

6th August 2012:
Oh my god this was the cutest thing I've ever read! You wouldn't believe the smile on my face after just reading the summary so I bet you can imaging it right now! :p

Ron and Hermione are my favorite characters and pairing so I'm reallly glad I decided to read this :D I liked how you made everyone really believable because that's really hard to do with these Canon characters I've noticed. Ron, Hermione and Harry are pretty much impossible for me to write and I just wanted to congratulate you (and of course on your other amazing stories) because they are all so well written! Really good job, 10/10 :D

And thank you so much for all your help in the House Cup this year, it really means a lot! I'm so thankful to be apart of such a big community of people who really care about Harry Potter enough to spend their time and create things as such as the House Cup and all of it's challenges. :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed this little story :) I adore Ron and Hermione, it was really fun to write them as teenagers. They are difficult to write - I particularly find Harry hard to write.

The House Cup is great, isn't it? We love doing it, and it's wonderful to participate as a staffer and see how much the members enjoy it. :D Thank you for playing!


 Report Review

Review #42, by ginwannabe Freshly Mown Grass

5th August 2012:
Very nicely done! I haven't read in a while, but have a feed on my Yahoo page that lets me know when favorite authors have updated a story. This one caught my eye and was the perfect length on this Sunday morning. I love me a little Ron/Hermione!

Author's Response: omg haven't seen you on this site in forever! I thought you were gone from fanfiction for good! I'm so glad you read this and liked it, and that you left me a note to say so - thank you so much! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #43, by TenthWeasley Freshly Mown Grass

4th August 2012:
Hello! Stopping by with your requested review -- and I'm sorry for the slight delay in leaving it. Also, the forums are currently kind of bailing on existing, so if there is anything you wanted looked at that I don't cover in this review, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me. :) Aaand here we go!

So... your writing is kind of really addicting. It always, always feels like I've read way less of it than I actually have once I'm finished with something. And I think a large part of that is that you, in your writing, can balance a mix of both canon and your own voice into something that's -- well, frankly, highly enviable. :D I adore your Weasleys to bits, and especially George in this story. When I read your stuff, I see my own version of the Weasleys and Hogwarts and the Burrow and all of it, not what the movie's telling me to see, and that's something I don't get from a lot of stories. I really, really love that.

Ugggh, and I thought I couldn't ship Ron/Hermione any harder than I already do. ♥ This was absolutely adorable!! Stopping on the stairs to watch Ron mow the grass really is a very Hermione sort of thing to do, and it's realistic at the same time, which is so huge for me where this ship is concerned. I loved Ginny's reaction to it, too; it's kind of similar to how Harry reacted when they finally kissed, a sort of oh-my-gosh-just-do-it sort of gesture. (Which isn't a comparison that makes a lot of sense, but I'm running with it.)

This? The possibility of it sucking? Not a chance. ;) You need to write more stories like this, and I say that with absolute seriousness. Trust me, you're DEFINITELY going to get more reviews from me in the very near future, because it's kind of a crime I haven't visited your page enough as it is! Okay, I'm done gushing now. I swear. Honestly, though, this. ♥ Loved this story!!

Author's Response: Ack you scared me on twitter, I thought you were going to review like "Oh girl, put down the keyboard and slowly back away" XD Huge relief to see you didn't think it sucked!

Well this story is way less! I haven't written something under 1k words in years. Not a finished piece, anyway. But I get what you mean, and thank you! I adore canon and I like to think I've been writing long enough to feel pretty secure in my "voice", so to speak - it comes out whether I really intend it to or not, so I roll with it, basically.

Ron/Hermione is one of my most favorite ships. Right below Molly/Arthur. I'm a canon girl so I love a canon ship. I think Hermione's more the type to be watching Ron in secret and forget someone actually could catch her at it - at least it was only Ginny. She'd never have heard the end of it if one of the twins had caught her there staring.

Yay I'm so glad you liked it - one-shots are fun, and I really liked writing Ron/Hermione, so I think I want to do more on them. Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by Ginger Lust Freshly Mown Grass

4th August 2012:
Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! I'll keep this short as everyone else said what I agree with anyway. This is a wonderful piece and you write well.
Keep up great work. Hope you do write more Ronmione.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I had fun writing it, now I want to write more Romiones ;)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Tonks1247 Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Ahahahaha! I so adore Ron and Hermione as a couple, yet I rarely find myself reading them. I'm not quite sure why that is but I am very happy I ran across this story. It was just...it was short but very sweet at the same time. I can see Ron's reluctance to mow the lawn and can definitely picture in my mind Hermione getting distracted by watching Ron. And Ginny catching her do it. It just...it made me giggle and it really was a lovely story! I loved it! Great job :D

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: I adore Ron/Hermione, but aside from as background characters in the non-romance Next Gens I write, I have really never written them before. But aside from Molly/Arthur, they're really my favorite ship. So it was nice to have a chance to write them here, and at a young age. Poor Ron doesn't want to mow the lawn, and poor Hermione gets caught ogling Ron by his little sister. lol. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Jchrissy Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
I'm still trying to sort out where I want to start out in your series style stories (Unsinkable is constantly getting praises from Mel) so I thought in the mean time I'd start with this happy one shot :)!

I live for imagery. Not so much that I'm sofficated - but by the end of a chapter or story I just want to feel like I was there. This really achieved that. I could see Ginny with her arms piled high and a pair of socks about to tumbling off, and Hermione is completely stuck with watching Ron. I loved that you maintained her logical mind, when she's thinking about Rons physically attributes she's reasoning that it shouldn't be attractive, yet her jaws about to hit the floor. I just think its a really great way to show her emotions (coich* hormones* cough) taking over but still stay true to her Hermiome side.

I adore the addition in the beginning regarding mowing a lawn being character building is absolutely perfect. It was very, very Molly - followed by the taunting of the twins of course.

This was such a pleasant read, thank you for sharing!!

Jami

Author's Response: I am so glad the scene-setting description was good - there's a lot of it in the Hermione POV section and I tend to linger over dialogue so that is definitely a good thing that it reads all right :)

Ah Hermione, feeling so much and keeping it inside until she bursts ;) Poor Ron doesn't get it for so long haha... She knows he's not actually super hot but she wants him anyway - to her, Ron is a hot guy!

Molly seems to like giving out chores to be done without magic and then trotting out the old "builds character" excuse haha. After so many sons, who can blame her?

Thank you for reviewing! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by True Author Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
I always like short but sweet one shots. They are usually very meaningful. I think this is one of them!
I always wondered why Hermione loved freshly mown grass so much!!
Great job.
Ashwini =]

Author's Response: I always figured she just liked the smell, but this popped into my head one day ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #48, by CambAngst Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
This was lovely. Such a concise, simple and plausible scenario for how Hermione developed the particular set of smells she experiences over Amortentia.

The dynamic between Ron, Molly and the twins felt perfect. Ron trying to weasel (no pun intended) his way out of an unpleasant chore, Molly having none of it and the twins being unsympathetic to the point of mockery. I love the fact that Arthur has acquired some old, unreliable and heavy lawnmower to torment his children with. Well, he probably didn't acquire it just to torment them. I'm sure he tinkers with it on summer nights and weekends.

Hermione was also very well done. This was right around that time when she was emerging from what Snape called her "insufferable know-it-all" stage and really began to round out into a very deep, realistic young woman. I'm certain that she had more moments like this while staying at the Burrow. The three-way conversation between her brain, heart and hormones was brilliant. Especially the hormones.

If there was any one thing I would suggest about the entire piece, it would probably be for Ginny to be a tad less supportive and a little more "Ewww! That's my brother and he's a sweaty mess!" But it's a small thing. Pay it no mind.

I'm glad I saw GW's status message in the forums. This was well worth the time!

Author's Response: Ron totally tries to weasel out of mowing. He would much rather the twins do it for him magically, but of course they're not about to do that ;) Naturally Arthur has a beast of a machine, which he has probably disassembled countless times to "fix" it. I can just see him out there, covered in grease and grinning with delight, as he takes the thing apart to sharpen the blade or something, pretending he's a Muggle. haha

I do think Hermione was a little more girl-ish (for want of a better word) at this point. She's starting to outgrow the know-it-all-ness and mature a bit. And of course, she totally has the hots for Ron right there.

I was actually thinking Ginny already was laughing at her and mocking her. She wasn't being supportive, it was more of a "Well don't let me stop you from staring". But I get you. I'm sure as soon as Hermione rejoined her, there was a round of mockery from Ginny. "Ron? Really? RON?"

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. GW is the best for giving me that advert!


 Report Review

Review #49, by maskedmuggle Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Aww this was so cute! Haha I couldn't resist the chapter summary when I saw it - Hermione and a shirtless Ron? And it was awesome how you linked it to that amortentia quote from Hermione! And your characterisation is so wonderful. Especially Ron. But I loved Ginny laughing at Hermione, but not making fun of her. Hehe, this was just a nice enjoyable one shot to read :) I really liked how simple, short and sweet this was!
- Charlotte

Author's Response: Ginny was making fun a little bit ;) I'm sure she would have stopped and stared if it was Harry, but this is her brother after all, she's going to mock Hermione for it. lol. I had fun writing this, so I'm really glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reviewing, I appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Mingeek Freshly Mown Grass

3rd August 2012:
Very well written - amusing storyline as well. Would give it a ten if there were another chapter or two!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I ought to write more Ronmione, they're such fun.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>