Reading Reviews for Free
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #26, by forsakenphoenix Free

6th August 2011:
I don't read much Next Gen so I can't claim to be any sort of expert, but I get the general gist of how people write these characters. It's nice because Rowling never really defined them so as writers you're free to write them as you please and there's no right or wrong way to characterize them. And I really really like your Scorpius and Rose. It's different and refreshing.

I love how you made Scorpius a Hufflepuff and made him confident in who he is. He likes show-tunes and he isn't afraid to let everyone know it, even if everyone thinks he's gay for it. I thought it was cute when Rose said that was her opinion as well, and boy, did Scorpius show her he definitely was not gay.

Rose is just...fantastic. I don't even know, she's a wild child and so eccentric. She wears a t-shirt that clashes with her hair and she pulls pranks and hexes her siblings. It's a nice portrayal of her, I think.

It kind of makes Rose and Scorpius polar opposites - he seems more of the wallflower type and she's just out there. It's nice. I'm glad she's bringing out a stronger side in Scorpius, setting him 'free' as it were, and having him stand up to his father and everyone who disapproves of their relationship. I think she's good for him, and I'm going to make a point to read more of your Rose and Scorpius. :)

Also - your descriptions were so wonderful. His quiet awe at her beauty. I could picture him watching her, bathed in the golden sunlight and just being transfixed by her. It's lovely imagery.

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I had someone say to me once that my Next Gen are basically OCs by the canon names; I thought that was odd, given that all Next Gen is basically original characters. We know so little of them from canon, and that only as children. People grow. But, I do write a lot of Next Genners differently from their fanfic stereotypes, so I suppose it's understandable.

Scorpius is definitely more of a wallflower. He's sort of quiet and calm and strong, which is good for Rose, because she's slightly insane and flaky. But, both of them are pretty much slackers, not a lot of ambition between them. I really enjoy writing them at this point - they're currently my favorite characters to write. Rose's wardrobe is sort of her signature, especially the pink unicorn t-shirt. She favors cute and sparkly.

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked this, and thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #27, by tigersoldaten Free

13th July 2011:
Kind of confusing beginning but such a cute story :D

Author's Response: Sorry about that, wrote this one kind of off the cuff. I'm glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #28, by ravenclaw_princess Free

1st July 2011:
Aww, this is such a sweet little story. I really love your portrayal of Scorpius and Rose. They acted like sixteen year olds in this story. There was no huge over the top melodramatic declaration of love, just a simple, I like you, which is a more realistic portrayal of high school relationships.

Scoprius was a nice change. He was very self aware and in so being, also very sure of who he wanted to be. He was staying true to himself and what he liked rather than swaying to popular opinion, even if by liking show tunes, people thought he was gay.

Rose was an electric character. She had so much life in her which was shown not only through the way Scorpius perceived her, but also in how you described her looks and with the things she said and way she said things. She is also still young and growing which is put across quite elegantly with this simple phrase "Holy Kneazles".

The story flowed beautifully and had lovely description through out. Grammatically is was also really good. It was a really enjoyable read.

Author's Response: Wow, girl, you write great reviews! Thank you so much, I'm glad you went after me in the review battle so I could get one from you ;)

I generally write Rose and Scorpius about ten years after this, so it was fun to make their characters 16 instead of 26. An interesting challenge, sort of de-evolving them into teenagers. Scorpius is Rose's rock, for sure, she's all wild and crazy - electric is a good word - and he is the one to be there and say "Another building destroyed?" without surprise. He's a good guy. "Oh holy Kneazles" is a sort of catchphrase of Rose's. She says it a lot. Sort of like "Holy cow".

Thank you very much for the lovely comments on my story - I'm glad you liked it, and so glad you left such a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Sincerely_Snape Free

19th June 2011:
I love your writing style.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Phoenix_Heartstring Free

5th June 2011:
Loved it. Especially because its such a different portrayal of Scorpius and Rose than is usually seen. I love that he likes showtunes and she is a wild child. Very new and fun. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I tried to make them a bit different than the usual go-round. This is the way I portray them (as 20-somethings) in the Midnight Run stories. Poor Scorpius, he puts up with a lot of craziness from Rose, but it's cause he loves her. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by makoshark Free

25th May 2011:
Wow! That was lovely. I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Jo567 Free

18th May 2011:
That was really good! I love your writing! When is your next story coming?

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it! The next one will probably be posted next week. I'm still finishing off the first chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by thehyacinthgirl Free

11th May 2011:
Ah, a school age Scorpius and Rose! That's so sweet. I absolutely adore that you wrote another one-shot from his perspective. Your Scorpius seems like a lot of fun.

He's introspective sure, but there's something exotic about a painter. I don't know. Those artistic types sure draw me in.

I absolutely love your characterization of the pair of them as teenagers. They aren't so different from whom they are when they grow up, and yet there are differences. I think that's absolutely beautiful. Because it gives your pieces a touch of realism.

No one stays absolutely the same person from the age of fifteen until adulthood. They may never think they've changed or they may not have a dramatic change, but they change none-the-less.

This is absolutely lovely!

And, I adore that they have one of those 'high-school' sweetheart kind of relationships. Because some people seem to think they don't last. Sometimes they don't, but sometimes they really do.

Great job, as always!


Linders

Author's Response: I've been thinking about them as teenagers for a while now, so I figured I'd finally write it up. I'm really starting to enjoy writing Scorpius's POV, for the different perspective he has from what Rose sees and thinks.

For me it's the singing ;) There's something about a man who can sing. *sigh* Ah Broadway voices...

I agree that people rarely stay quite the same. The experiences you have in life change you, sometimes little by little so you don't even notice it. It's a rare (and frankly, imo, emotionally stunted) person who is exactly the same at age 15 as they are at age 35. Of course, for Rose and Scorpius, they're in their mid-20s so this is only about 10-11 years ago for them, but still. They've grown up a bit, and seen some changes in their lives, so. Anyway.

I'm actually not a huge believer in high-school sweetheart sort of stuff, but it does happen. Funny cause the two main couples I write about (Molly/Arthur and Rose/Scorpius) are high school sweetheart sort of couples. Hmm.

I'm really glad you enjoyed this story :) Thank you so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #34, by MajiKat Free

9th May 2011:
that was really lovely. it was sweet and tempered and very real. the pacing was perfect -often when people write these past-moments type stories something gets lost, but not with this. it was a pleasure to read and i really enjoyed your characterisation.

xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D I'm really glad you liked it, and that it held to the Midnight Run present-times. I'm so glad you reviewed! Yay!

 Report Review

Review #35, by lilypotterfan123 Free

9th May 2011:
This was so sweet! The way you portrayed Scorpius was amazing, usually he acts all like, hey I'm untouchable you can't have me- oh wait Rose can! This was completely different because it was a softer approach and it was lovely! The description at the beginning was great because you immediately picked up who she resembled (overlarge teeth-Hermione lol.). Then the ending, I love the final sentence because it was a great finishing touch because it tied everything up but not in an overly dramatic way. If that makes sense, I doubt it does- I hardly ever make sense at all! All in all I loved this story and I'm so glad I reviewed!

-LpF123 x

Author's Response: The way I write Scorpius is very laid-back and not really a ladies' man at all (as Draco was definitely not in the books, though he's portrayed that way in fanfics a lot). So I don't think of him as untouchable by any means. He's just an artistic sort of guy who's a bit long-suffering with crazy Rose, lol. Thank you so much for the review! It made perfect sense to me :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Georgia Weasley Free

9th May 2011:
This is absolutely gorgeous, hon. The depiction of Scorpius is so delightfully original, and I love the way you've created him. Not really the brooding, angsty teen living in Draco and Lucius' shadow, and not the mini-me of his jerk dad. He is his own person, and that Rose helped him find himself is perfection. The fact that "what he was really meant to do in life was prevent Rose Weasley from causing wholesale destruction to herself and everyone around her" made me giggle. It sets up both JAMR and WSM perfectly. Things DO happen around Rose, and she honestly has no idea how it begins. Your characters are always so real and believable. I long to create mine in a way that makes them seem to breathe from the page the way yours do. Incredible, sweet little one shot. Well done!~GW

Author's Response: Scorpius is so not angsty or brooding haha. He's a Hufflepuff, and a nice guy. Anyone who could put up with Rose for ten years while she lies to him left and right has got to be a really decent kind of guy. Things really do happen around her, but she doesn't really know what's going on half the time. :p

I love characters - they're my favorite part of writing. Sometimes I think I invent plots just to have a reason to poke at the characters. heh. Thank you so much for the review! I love your reviews, they always make me so happy. :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Sam217:) Free

8th May 2011:
That was really good! I like hearing it from Scorpius' point of view, he sees things really differently than Rose! I hope there is more of this type of thing soon! I would love to hear about their lives at hogwarts! Happy mothers day!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I haven't got any plans for more school-era one-shots on these two, but I do have more plans for Scorpius's point of view. Thanks for reviewing, and happy Mother's Day!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Jet LaBarge Free

8th May 2011:
Nice one shot, but there is SO much more story here! I love your Rose and Scorpius! And even if Scorpius does get moderately famous and make a good living for them will Rose stop trying to catch bad guys? Of course not! What else does a Rose with babies and toddlers do but leave the children with Scorpius and get Victoria and try to catch the bad guys because it's FUN. And what does a mother of twins stuck in a slightly less dangerous and exciting life do but write about a crazy life she could never live but loves writing about. Brilliant, but a little twisted.

Author's Response: There is quite a bit about their school days, but that fell outside the scope of a one-shot! I might write more about them at school one of these days.

Rose really likes her job, even though she sometimes complains about it. And I think Victoire is a good role model for her sometimes ;)

I actually never think of myself as stuck in my life. I like my life - I get to do a lot that I love. I certainly wouldn't want to live Rose's life. It's just fun to write about her. I suppose I am a bit twisted, probably anyone around the forums will tell you that haha.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #39, by BrightStar Free

8th May 2011:
Hi! BrightStar here with your review.

This was a pleasure to read, I think this fic is what Scorpius/Rose should be more like.

Coherence: You had no problems here, spelling and grammar all fine, it flowed very well.

Charaterisation: This was a lovely piece precisely because of this. Rose was so lovely, with her pink tshirt, probably pretty in an ordinary sense, bit nothing more. But the beauty that came upon her, as the artist Scorpius saw it, could really be seen when reading this. I liked Rose as being kind of reserved from afar, but outgoing with friends. Scorpius was very interesting, and very believable. The way he changed with Rose was very lovely.

Context: Excellent, this is often forgotten but is so important in next gen. Scorpius as a reaction against Draco, the reputation... excellent!


Credibility: My only problem here is the theatre music, though it lends something to the character, I wondered how he would have access to it. Other than that though, very believable. Sixteen year olds are so often portrayed as adults, though obviously this is not the case, no matter how mature they are (not in a patronising way!). Their interation was perfect, their innocence so cute!

A fantastic job, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it :)

Author's Response: Ah, the theater music... It started out as almost a throwaway joke in the first Midnight Run novel, just to show Scorpius singing when happy and that he stops singing around the house when he's stressed and unhappy. And then it became like a thing, so... Okay, here's my official retconning for that: Scorpius learned about showtunes while a second year at Hogwarts, from one of his fellow Hufflepuffs, a Muggle-born girl who loves Broadway.

I tried not to make them too grown-up. I normally write them in their mid-late 20s, so I wanted them to seem sixteen-ish here. And Scorpius is a gentle kind of guy, he doesn't want to be associated with his dad - a reaction against Draco is a great way to put it.

Rose's pink t-shirts are also a running gag in the Midnight Run 'verse. She likes baby hippogriffs and unicorns and all thinks sparkly and cute on her shirts. And I do think Rose is pretty in an ordinary kind of way, but not to Scorpius, who sees her as completely beautiful.

I'm glad this was able to stand on its own, since it uses characters as a I write them in a larger series. I tried to make it able to be a single piece as well, not just for the Midnight Run readers.

Thank you so much for the review, I really enjoyed reading it and I very much appreciate hearing your thoughts on the story!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Ravenclaw333 Free

8th May 2011:
You know when you just find an absolute gem of a story in the recently added section? This is one of those absolute gems, made me go all gooey inside :P I love the background information to their relationship that you put in these little Scorpius-POV one shots. I don't normally thank people for writing, but thank you for writing and posting this, it's put a smile on my face :)

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you! Wow, what a great review, I'm still smiling about it :) Thank you so much for such a lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. I'm getting to really like seeing things from Scorpius's POV, I have to admit. He sees things very differently from Rose.

 Report Review

Review #41, by peace2lovepotter Free

8th May 2011:
This was really good! Rose and Scorpius are amazing together, aren't they? :)

Author's Response: I like to think they are :) Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #42, by becca82 Free

8th May 2011:
I don't normally read one shots. just because I like something a bit longer to get my teeth into, but I'm glad I read this. It's lovely. Well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you took a chance on it then. I like a longer story myself, and a prolific author ;)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Beene Free

7th May 2011:
"Well, you're definitely not gay."

That caused me to laugh loud enough that the dog was frightened. It's nice to see how Scorpius and Rose got together, and it somehow surprises me that Scorpius made the first move. He and Rose balance each other out nicely, as we've seen in the other stories, but you've done a nice job giving us the beginnings of their relationship.

Please tell us there's more of Rose and Scorpius in the future. I love your Rose, she's such a trip.

Author's Response: Well, Rose is so oblivious, she would've needed Victoire to point out that Scorpius wasn't actually gay and seemed to like her ;) Of course, Victoire is long out of Hogwarts by this point.

There is definitely more Rose and Scorpius coming. They each have some cameos in the Roxanne story, which I am still working on, but there'll be another story just them coming next.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked this one :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>