Reading Reviews for A Weasley Christmas
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #26, by HP0247 Weasley Jumpers

26th January 2011:
This was so lovely and touching, it brought tears to my eyes. I loved it - and it was (obviously) written really well.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Guada Weasley Jumpers

16th January 2011:
Your Scorpius is so so damn good. Lovely, sweet, funny. I'd like to read more from his point of view. Delightful.

Author's Response: Thank you! I've gotten pretty fond of him. I might do another prequel thing from his POV, I've been thinking about that. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #28, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley Weasley Jumpers

14th January 2011:
Oh, that was so adorable. Sad at first, poor left-out Scorp, but then the tides turned and Scorp had an ugly jumper that he loved. Hahaha I'm getting soppy. And Molly's wink was great! Haha :)

Author's Response: I'm totally soppy sometimes ;) It's fun now and then. Thank you so much, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #29, by blueowl Weasley Jumpers

6th January 2011:
this was a sweet story. I'm not much of a Rose/Scorpious person, but after reading this I feel like I could change my mind. thank you for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I have to admit, I wasn't that hung up on them until I started writing them in Midnight Run. Now I'm pretty fond of them hehe. I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #30, by ReAnna Weasley Jumpers

6th January 2011:
Awww That Was Cute! I Loved It!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by maskedmuggle Weasley Jumpers

30th December 2010:
Hey! :)

The summary caught my eye and I had to read it, so I didÖ and then I had to review.. because I always do :P
Anyway, I really liked this story. It was so sweet, and the idea of the jumper and christmas was clever.

I liked your Scorpius and Rose, and the details about their parents not exactly approving made it more realistic. I'm interested to find out why, after 10 years, did Rose's grandmother/Molly Weasley finally give a jumper to Scorpius? Just because they (Rose/Scorpius) moved in together and Molly could finally see how much they loved each other, even after 10 years? Just wasn't sure on that.

Otherwise, I love cute Rose/Scorpius fics, and so I really enjoyed this! :)

Author's Response: 10 years is since they were in school still too, remember, they're only like 25/26 or so. That's still pretty young. And remember there is a LOT of water under the bridge between their two families. Scorpius's grandfather tried to set up as a murderer and nearly killed Rose's aunt when she was only 11, in order to discredit Arthur. Scorpius's family held Rose's parents and uncle prisoner and tortured her mother. Rose's grandmother had to kill his great-aunt, after she nearly killed Rose's mother and aunt. All the things Draco did over the years - he did poison Ron that time, even though he was trying to kill someone else. Years and years of Malfoys vs. Weasley to overcome. It's a lot more than Fleur had to - she was just a bit snobby, she didn't come from a family who had been actively out to get the Weasleys for years. They know Scorpius didn't do any of that, and so they have always been nice enough to him, but for the older ones, there's always that knowledge of who his family is and what they've done, I think. So I don't think ten years of dating is unreasonable. Once they move in together, and everyone knows that's probably as close as Rose will come to getting married, it's sort of a done deal, and Molly the matriarch can accept that he's going to be family too. But mostly I think it just took time. He might have gotten one that year even if they hadn't moved in together.

Anyway, in my head, that's how that goes. Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by Jet LaBarge Weasley Jumpers

26th December 2010:
I love your Midnight Run series. Lots of fun, and at least somewhat believable as part of a ďcannonĒ story.
This is a whole different type of story, and a good one. As a person who cares for the characters in the stories you would like a happy ending. Rose marries Scorpius, Scorpius becomes a successful artist, they have children and live happily ever after. Terrible plot for a story. You need conflict for a good story. And of course the Rose/Scorpius pairing is a natural. But it can not be unremitted bad news. After 10 years you would hope that the Weasley family would accept Scorpius. The slow acceptance of Scorpius feels natural.
Love Fleur. True to the slow way Fleur was accepted into the family. Fleur was not really accepted until Billís face was shredded.
Very true to the nature of being accepted into a family. At first you are walking on eggs. Little signs that you are an outsider. It takes a while to be accepted. The discussions on Hermione in the reviews are telling. Harry is an orphan, and is accepted right away, but when is Hermione accepted? Always accepted as a person, but when as part of the family. And I get the idea that most of the family, maybe not Ron but many of the cousins, accept Scorpius as an OK person.
Molly, as the matriarch of the family, has a major role in real acceptance, not just as an OK person but as part of the family, and she does it by the ugly ďjumperĒ or sweater. And Scorpius feelings, like Fleurís, is a natural. No matter how ugly, how not in fitting with your own idea of yourself and how you should look, if you are given a jumper you wear it! If getting a jumper is sign of acceptance, then wearing it is also important, is accepting being accepted.
And of course once you get a jumper you have to accept being kidded. At least in the Weasley family not taking yourself too seriously is part of being accepted.
It sounds like the Malfoy family will never accept Rose. That feels natural as well. I view them as a cold unloving crowd, Draco always as a tragic figure not even capable of being honestly bad.
The story brought tears to my eyes. I have read it several times.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I agree, the happy endings sound pretty but don't read very interesting. And nothing but bad news is just too depressing. I based Scorpius's reception by the Weasleys on Fleur in part - they didn't like her at first (the Weasley women, anyway, although Fred and George's opinions, and Arthur's, were never really given), but came to accept her once it was a done deal. I think Rose's family knows her well enough to know that moving in with someone is a huge step, so once she moves in with Scorpius, that's when they know he really is going to be around forever. And because he's not like his family, they've been nice enough to him, but he IS Draco's son. Molly I think would have some really mixed feelings about him. She killed his great-aunt in the war. And Ron would always have an itch about it because of what happened to Hermione in Malfoy Manor. I actually think it's something that may not be able to be worked out in real life. That's a lot going on between their families, you know?

Absolutely, wearing the jumper is a sign too! Very nicely pointed out, thanks. Being teased by the Weasleys I think is a sign of fitting in, too. Rose's cousins are all right with Scorpius, it's the war generations that would have reservations about him because of his family. But the Weasleys are good people and wouldn't hold his family's sins to his account.

Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. Your review really made my day, thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Sarah Weasley Jumpers

23rd December 2010:
Haha I actually cried. it was really good!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by dramachick626 Weasley Jumpers

19th December 2010:
Aww! That was such a cute story! I love Rose/Scorpius pairings!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by AndrinaBlack Weasley Jumpers

19th December 2010:
This worked really well even without having read your Midnight Run series. There was enough little details about the people to get to know them a bit and make this story and its characters enjoyable. I really enjoyed reading both Rose and Scorpius and it makes me want to read your other stories about them too sometime.

I have this silly little smile on my face right now because of the end of the story. I really loved how you tied Fleur's and Scorpius' relationships to the family together in this and how the Weasley Jumper became the acceptance thing. It was incredibly lovely at the end how he got the jumper. Loved the story!

Author's Response: Oh good, I'm glad it still makes sense without having read the others. Midnight Run and its sequel are written entirely in Rose's point of view, so it was fun to get into Scorpius's head for a bit.

I'm glad you liked it! Yay! I am always very happy to hear from another validator. You guys's opinions mean a lot to me :) Thank you for reviewing, Annina!


 Report Review

Review #36, by hp481516 Weasley Jumpers

17th December 2010:
That was an amazing story. You portrayed all of the next generation characters exactly how I have pictured them. I loved everything about this story, especially when Fleur comforted Scorpius. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! :) Merry Christmas!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Singularity Weasley Jumpers

17th December 2010:
This is a really great, happy, Christmas story :) I love it. The way you incorporated Fleur into the story was absolutely perfect. If anyone would understand what Scorpius was feeling, it would be her. She was perfectly in character as well, so way to go!

I think you're absolutely right about the jumpers being a sign of acceptance into the Weasley clan. I mean, Harry gets one right away, as he's pretty much an honorary Weasley from the moment he asks how to get onto the platform, but we never hear about Hermione receiving one, meaning that she probably doesn't receive her first jumper until she's officially with Ron.

Also, I absolutely adore the ending. I have a really bad tendency to over sentimentalize everything, so I appreciate that you had Scorpius understand the meaning behind the jumper without being overly emotional about it. The wink was just the perfect touch.

So, overall, this was brilliant. I love it. Merry Christmas :)

Author's Response: I absolutely think Fleur would "get it" here, in a way none of the others would. Harry notes in HBP that Molly hadn't wanted to "waste" a sweater on Fleur. That had to hurt, even if she wouldn't have worn it. I wonder about when Hermione got her first Weasley sweater. It's never mentioned in canon. I could see her getting one before she marries Ron, she spends so much time at the Burrow after all, but she might not have gotten one until after the DH events. Interesting to wonder about.

I'm glad it didn't come off too sentimental and cheesy ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #38, by GinnyCullen Weasley Jumpers

16th December 2010:
As always I loved it! Who knew Scorp ever had fears like this! I am head over heals in love with how real your characters seem. I would just die of being happy if my family Christmas was like this! I love the weasleys! You are an amazing author I love how you just keep making me want to come back and read more!

Author's Response: I think he would have to have worried about being part of the Weasley family if he got together with Rose. She worries about the Malfoys too, since they pretty openly don't like her. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #39, by Ravenclaw333 Weasley Jumpers

16th December 2010:
Ahh, I loved this story! It's such a feel-good story without being cheesy, if that makes sense. The significance of the Weasley jumper was so well done: how the Weasleys themselves just accepted it as a matter of course, but it meant something more to Fleur and Scorpius. I loved your characterisation of Fleur, by the way. A wee bit snobbish, a wee bit haughty, but honest and loyal. I just loved the line "And she did not give me one of the ugly jumpers." It's so believable :P The relationship between Rose and Scorpius was also brilliantly done. Once again, meaningful and powerful, without being cheesy, and well developed in a short space of time. Overall, the whole thing was just incredibly real, you brought the characters and the situation to life. Well done and merry Christmas! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad it didn't turn out cheesy. I don't mind some fromage now and then, but it's not what I was aiming for here ;) I tried to capture Fleur, I'm glad it turned out well. I think she's the only one who could understand Scorpius's feelings there, even though she's pretty different from him.

Anyway I'm so glad you liked it, and thank you so much for reviewing! Merry Christmas!


 Report Review

Review #40, by xLauriePotter Weasley Jumpers

15th December 2010:
Hello, Laurie here.

First of all, Thank you for participating in the challenge!

Iíve liked reading something based around Scorpius not being accepted, Iíve read so many which they all suddenly love a Malfoy so it was good to see a change!

Iíve been reviewing a few of my challenge-stories and this is one of the happiest, upbeat ones yet and thatís nice because to me thatís whats Christmas is about, donít you agree?

My favourite part of the story was the Scorpius-Fleur conversation, it was really sweet to see a sensitive side to Fleur.

I agree with Rose, Iíd love to see his fathers reaction to him receiving a Weasley jumper!

Merry Christmas, Laurie !x

Author's Response: I just can't see them being pleased about it. I've read a lot where he was immediately accepted too, but it doesn't seem realistic to me. And yes, upbeat fits better with Christmas :)

I thought Fleur was probably the only one who could really understand how Scorpius felt, and her side of the whole HBP Christmas is largely ignored. I'm glad you liked how it turned out.

Merry Christmas! Thank you for reviewing, and for posting the challenge!


 Report Review

Review #41, by myname Weasley Jumpers

14th December 2010:
Aww I'm glad that Fleur told Scorpius about her initial problems with fitting in. Great story!

Author's Response: I thought if anyone could understand how he felt there, it was Fleur. She was unwanted too. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #42, by HereComesTheSun Weasley Jumpers

14th December 2010:
I absolutely loved it, It was very very well written and flowed perfectly. I really love the emotion you put into it, definately a 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Georgia Weasley Weasley Jumpers

14th December 2010:
I adore this. I have always loved your characterizations of Rose and Scorpius, and this is simply lovely. It would have taken ten years for him to be accepted by Clan Weasley. They are a stubborn lot. The shared wink at the end just capped it, and I am grinning ear to ear. Excellent story, hon. As always.~GW

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I definitely think the Weasleys would be stubborn about it, they would see him and see his father and grandparents. Rose's grandmother killed his great-aunt, who tortured Rose's mum while his father watched. That's not an easy thing to move past. But my Scorpius is an easy-going Hufflepuff, so he gets in eventually ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>