Reading Reviews for Harbor
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #26, by VioletBlade Harbor

24th August 2010:
Wow, amazing! I love reading Harry/Ginny fics, and I think that the song you used in this piece was quite fitting. This is the first fic I've read about what Ginny was feeling when she gave Harry his birthday present, and in addition I love how maturely she realized that the best thing she could do for him was to make sure he knew that he had a future to come back to. Also, when I gave the song a listen, because if I read song fics I generally like to also listen to the song it's based off of, I fell in love with Vienna Tang.

And a side note, I posted that I loved her on FB, and this guy I know told me I gained 1000 points in his cool book for listening to her, so you should know that you are responsible for bringing us closer together xD

Author's Response: Ginny seemed like she accepted the situation with a good attitude in the books - she didn't cry or rage at Harry when he told her. She had to've seen the writing on the wall. Thanks so much for the review!

I love Vienna Teng! She has such a beautiful voice. Glad to help you out with your friend ;) Always happy to promote more romance!


 Report Review

Review #27, by Pixileanin Harbor

21st August 2010:
Lovely piece! I really love how you pieced it into the story and let the other characters move in and out of it. It read so effortlessly. Molly is so wise, and it was nice that Ginny took her words to heart. As a songfic, it was lovely. As a spotlight on Ginny's relationship with Harry, it was wonderful. I can see why you had to write it.

Beautiful song too!

Author's Response: Ah thank you so much! What a lovely review, you are very kind! I'm glad you liked it. The song really is beautiful, and hopefully now that I've written this, I can listen to it again without visions of H/G dancing in my head ;) Thanks again for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by propertyoftheHBP Harbor

18th August 2010:
Go Ravenclaw! ^_^

I haven't read many pieces about Ginny and I don't think I've read any about her relationship with Harry at that point in time. I really liked this one--her character fit perfectly in what we know of her in canon. We know all about what Harry's feeling right then, in the first few weeks afte their break up, but we really don't see much of Ginny's actual emotions. This provided the perfect answer to that and really was a joy to read--especially the mother/daughter conversation. Molly brought up all the right reasons, and I'm sure there's even more--but I hadn't considered any before. I really need to be more observant, haha. But seriously, I really liked the discussion with her and Ginny, she came off perfectly as Molly and didn't mollycoddle too much. The song lyrics fit perfectly with the story and the reasoning behind them (Ginny being Harry's safe house, if you will), again, fit with canon.

I do like how you focused more on Ginny, her feelings and emotions rather than Harry's arrival--I definitely got the impression that that was how this piece was supposed to be and it's nice to read a piece about just feelings sometimes, rather than all too much action or plot. There was a plot for this, but I feel that it was Ginny's emotions more than anything.

I really liked this! Ginny's character was just great and the idea was a wonderful one as well. :) Fantastic job!

Author's Response: I don't write a lot of Harry/Ginny, but I really love the two of them, separately and together. So this was fun to write. A big change of pace from the Molly/Arthur I've been writing for the past three years! But of course Molly's still here, it's just as a mother instead of as a protagonist. ;)

The plot points are covered so well in the book, I didn't want to rehash them here. So it was just all about what Ginny was feeling for Harry. I really love that song, I've been thinking it was perfect for H/G for a while now. It's so pretty too.

Thank you so much for reviewing (go Claws!), I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #29, by Georgia Weasley Harbor

12th August 2010:
Oh my gosh, I'm crying. It probably doesn't help that I was already an emotional wreck before I started reading, but this was simply gorgeous. The line, "Even heroes need shelter from the storm" just kills me. How do you do that? Wrap up all these emotions into one beautiful sentence like that? I'm openly a Harry/Ginny fanatic, and a canon freak, so this is perfect. I will be looking up the song, and thanking the artist for inspiring this little piece of wonderfulness. Hey, it's a word. Breathtaking job, hon. I love it, and it was the perfect story for me at this moment. 10,0 out of 10. ~GW

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! This is a huge relief, actually, I was worried when I posted this that it wasn't any good. I wrote it kind of on the fly and without a lot of canon-checking. I'm starting to feel more confident about it now. I'm so glad you liked it! Yay!

 Report Review

Review #30, by ExquisiteAmethyst Harbor

10th August 2010:
I really liked this! I know how difficult it must have been for Ginny to stay back, wait, and worry, and you portrayed her beginning struggles quite beautifully. I'm so impressed! I loved Molly in this too. And yes, your banner is lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think it would have been very hard for her to stay back, she's not that type, and she hasn't had to do so before - she got to go along to the Ministry, and I think she would have expected equal footing. I'm glad you liked it :)

(I'm totally in love with that banner still haha)


 Report Review

Review #31, by LidaRose Harbor

10th August 2010:
Lovely. I can't tell you how fantastic it is to me that you write such beautiful canon ships.

Always waiting for your next one... :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I'm glad you liked it. I've been thinking of doing some different ships from my usual one of these days. Always canon, of course ;)

 Report Review

Review #32, by saraie12 Harbor

7th August 2010:
Beautiful! I love Ginny's descriptions of Harry, and her relationship with her mother. Perfect use of mythology reference, by the way. Kudos to you, 10/10!

Author's Response: Yeah, it's a lot of mother/daughter relationship as much as it is her interaction with Harry, isn't it? I am really glad you liked it (and the Odyssey reference), thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Rachel Harbor

7th August 2010:
Absolutely beautiful. And this is such a different take on that scene in DH. Most people just go with the typical "Ginny loves him and is so sad that he is leaving, boohoo" track (which there is nothing wrong with that). But I love how you keep Ginny as this strong character. Amazing job. ^.^

Author's Response: Ah, seriously, the reviews on this story are a huge relief. I'm really glad readers have had a positive response so far. I wasn't sure this story was any good. Yay! Thank you so much for your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Emerald_Lights Harbor

7th August 2010:
I really enjoyed reading this. A big part of my liking your story was Ginny's characterisation and that she wasn't overly emotional/girly about the situation (like in so many stories).

Fantastic insight!!

Author's Response: Ginny doesn't seem the overly emotional/girly type, I've always thought. She does get portrayed that way in fanon sometimes, doesn't she? Thanks so much for the review, it came as a huge relief to read this - I was a little worried to post this one. I don't normally write Harry/Ginny!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>