Reading Reviews for All Things Life Must Be
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #26, by GinnyCullen Not Yet Spoken

3rd October 2010:
Just when things are happy, Ol Moldy shorts has to go an ruin it! He is such a funsucker! Molly pregnant that is amazing I am so happy to see that you included something as fantastic as that. I was heart broken that Cosmo had to use the charm on his mother... It is rather sad things came to this in the time of the war. I can't wait to see what Reid Has been doing! Great job as always

Love GinnyC

Author's Response: Yeah, from this chapter on out, it's a lot about the war. It sort of colors everything. And I wanted to tie in the Weasleys to every chapter whenever possible. I also wanted to use the opportunity to explain why Molly and Arthur weren't part of the original Order, and I think it must've been the kids. She spent most of the 70s pregnant. Poor Cosmo, but he had to protect them. I think more Muggleborns must have done this sort of thing than is talked about, you know?

Thanks so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #27, by GinnyCullen Come To Me Today

3rd October 2010:
I loved this as I knew I would! Her sisters are cows! But her family explains her so much! I love that Thomas chose to see her the night prior to the event. It was a sweet tail of love! Great Job thank you for being the amazing author you are!

Author's Response: Yeah, they really are, aren't they? ;) They do love her, they're just... cows. I do think her family is integral to her personality. She's more like her sisters and mother than she'd admit. I love writing love stories, it's my favorite thing :) Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #28, by GinnyCullen Half the Clouds are Empty

3rd October 2010:
I love this! A badger and a loin how sweet. I love Hattie and I love that Hattie is finding a good fellow! Jack is becoming one of my new favourite characters of yours! Great job!

Author's Response: I really like Jack, I have to admit. He's a nice guy, he really wanted a sister and was glad to have one finally. And in a roundabout way, he set her up with her future husband. He's a good brother :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Georgia Weasley More Than Just A Memory

20th September 2010:
Gah, I love Siobhan. She is such damaged goods, but at least she knows it and deals with it in her own way. I like to think of her finding a place to fit in and go on with life, such that it is. Loved this one!~GW

Author's Response: She really is damaged goods, I'm tellin' ya. Poor kid. She is still working out issues here, hasn't moved past them. This is definitely a girl who needs therapy, I think. She does find the world of dragon keepers a place to belong, in some ways, but she won't be staying in the Carpathians forever. ;)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Georgia Weasley Times Past Glories

20th September 2010:
Oh my god. Girl, how desperately beautiful. His grief is almost palpable, and my eyes are full of Reid's tears. I don't have words for this one. ~GW

Author's Response: This is the first one I wrote deliberately for this collection (the Hattie chapter had been written just for funsies), and yeah, it's super-sad. Reid really loses it when he finds out Cecilia's house was sold, but fortunately Hattie is around to draw him back to sanity when he needs it. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Georgia Weasley Not Yet Spoken

20th September 2010:
How utterly gutwrenching. Poor Cosmo. As always, this is a brilliant glimpse into the lives of the characters you've created. I always expect to see them on the Lexicon. Well don, hon. ~GW

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, I think a lot of them got the short end of the stick in the first Voldywar - although they came out of it better than many, so it could have been worse. Poor Cosmo. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #32, by LidaRose All Of Your Joy

17th September 2010:
Aww... As always, delightful. SO glad to see all of these little moments.

Hope to see more from you soon!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm going to be posting the first chapter of a short story set in the DH, focusing on Hattie, very soon :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Jen More Than Just A Memory

16th September 2010:
Siobhan and dragons are a great fit. I feel for her.

Author's Response: Yeah, I think it fits her. She'll take a long time before she really settles down. Around 1984, actually ;)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Jen All Of Your Joy

16th September 2010:
Oh... puppies. That's my solution too. I reached a conclusion that I wasn't meant to have kids in this life, but I love my little puppy to bits. :)
I like this chapter. bitter sweet, but they love each other and will be just fine in the long run.

Author's Response: lol. I'm actually not a dog person, I don't like them much. But, it's what I had planned for Dunstan and Gemma for quite a long time now :)

Bittersweet, yeah, but they will be all right. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #35, by LindaSnape All Of Your Joy

15th September 2010:
What an ending!

This story made me sad. I know that it's supposed to be so happy because the Dark Lord's gone and Gemma has her puppies, but it made me cry.

I feel so bad for her and Dunstan. I can't imagine how painful it must have been for them knowing that all their friends had the one thing that they couldn't, children.

I don't know if that was your intention or not, but that was all I could focus on.

I couldn't be happy even with the Dark Lord gone.

Your characterizations were brilliant, but really that doesn't come as a surprise anymore. I have to say that I liked Dunstan more than Gemma. I'm not sure why, but I do. Not that it should have to be a competition, that's just the way it turned out. (For me.)

Your descriptions were brilliant, as per usual, and I'm glad that the story ended on a happy note (even if it couldn't make me happy maybe it will work on someone else).

I was surprised to see that Petula resurfaced, but I'm glad that she wasn't forgotten. Three children, though? I never would have imagined that from her, and I'm not entirely sure why.

Beautiful job!


Linders

Author's Response: Yes, definitely the focus is on their infertility, and it's not really supposed to be happy. They aren't even fully able to appreciate the defeat (alleged) of Voldy. I had originally intended they were childless by choice, but when I started writing, they wouldn't have it any other way but they had been unable to have them. Either way they wind up breeding Yorkies, and hanging out with Petula and her kids.

I'm kind of surprised you were surprised at Petula's appearance lol. She's Dunstan's best friend. I think I said in my MTA thread once that Petula and Dunstan live down the road from each other in Yorkshire. Anyway, I like her, and I wanted to reveal a bit more about her. Jeffrey Ockham is a bit like Johnny Lupin in JAMR ;) Petula's flakey, but I don't see why she wouldn't have kids.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate hearing your thoughts, and I'm glad you liked the stories!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Aidenk77 All Of Your Joy

15th September 2010:
Oh wow. I've enjoyed this series so much, I'm a bit sad now that this has come to an end, I guess this is the end for the 'Unsinkable' series too...

Anyway, fantastic work and thanks. :D

Aiden

Author's Response: Not quite over yet! The next thing upcoming will be "Cherry Blossoms", a DH-era short story revolving around Hattie. I'm not sure if that will be the last of the Unsinkable series or not.

I'm so glad you enjoyed these stories! I had fun writing them (or as much fun as one can have throwing curveballs at one's characters, I suppose). Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by LindaSnape More Than Just A Memory

13th September 2010:
Oh, I loved this chapter!

Despite the fact it was so long, I have to admit that I was disappointed when it ended. I wanted to know what happened next in her life.

Siobhan is a rather interesting character, and I've always liked her. This ending did seem fitting for someone of her caliber, though.

I'm glad that she ditched the unsavory business transactions for dragon handling. It really seemed to strike a chord with whom she really was.

I loved your characterizations, as always, because they are so deep without being smothering. Which, of course, adds that dimension of realism to the piece (and all the others, for that matter).

If I had any quibbles, though, it would be that she didn't seem to dwell on Cecilia much. I mean, she has her bag, but that's about all. I know that everyone grieves differently, but I don't think anyone could ever get over the loss of their best friend. But maybe she was just putting on that stoic face so that she didn't have to remember.

I'm not entirely sure.

However, your descriptions were lovely, and I didn't mind in the least that you were verbose.

Wonderful job!


Linders

Author's Response: Ah, but she is still dwelling - the bit at the end of wishing for dragonfire to wash her mind clean. Whenever the excitement of the reserve slows for a moment, she flashes back to finding Cecilia's body, and she does something else to replace the feeling. Essentially she is still doing what she's always done, which is seeking out slightly self-destructive ways to not think or feel what hurts her. The dragons give her something all-consuming to focus on: when one is in constant danger of being killed by flame, one cannot think about one's dead best friend. She's even found someone who is far too similar to her to misbehave with during the lulls between dragons. He is, of course, not the one to help her heal, nor is the Carpathian reserve, actually. I do have more planned for Siobhan for the future, and she will eventually be able to deal with her father's desertion and Cecilia's death, and all the other bad things that have happened to her in her life, in a more healthy way, but that won't be for years past this point. In the 70s, though, Siobhan is a thrill-seeker who looks for ways to prevent herself thinking or feeling, whether that's by chasing dragons or by hooking up with inappropriate men, or wandering the world before that.

I actually really enjoyed sitting down and fleshing out how I think the dragon reserves (because I do believe there's more than the one in Romania - which during this time period is known only as the Carpathians, since it sits in the crook of those mountains where Romania, Hungary, and Ukraine meet) all work and interact. One of these days I may have to write more about the dragons. I had a few extra characters who didn't get used here, even. Too much to write, not enough time to write it all.

I'm very glad you liked this chapter. I'm pretty fond of Siobhan and all her psychological messes, she's always interesting to write about. Thank you so much for the review! I love your reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by nitenel More Than Just A Memory

11th September 2010:
Awww! Siobhan's happy! This one was great! I'm glad to see that she kinda got over cecelia's death!

Author's Response: Well, she is and she isn't, really. She's merely found a new way to avoid her real feelings. But I'm so glad you liked the chapter! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #39, by La_Tua_Cantante Half the Clouds are Empty

11th September 2010:
I fell in love with Hattie in What its worth!! Thank you for writing a one-shot of her! Do you think you could write a short story on her and Edwin? PLEASE!

Author's Response: Yay, I'm always glad when someone says they like Hattie! Actually I am working on a Hattie short story, but it isn't a romantic one. Edwin is, of course, there, and it takes place during the Deathly Hallows era. It'll be coming soon - I'm not quite done with it yet. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #40, by RonsGirlFriday Come To Me Today

5th September 2010:
I'm always down to read a good wedding fic. I thought this was a good one for Petula. Her aggravation was so funny, as well as her mother and sisters' stupid bickering and general stroppy-ness, and the random little things like her niece eating a flower from her bouquet. I loved the sense of satisfaction Petula got when she saw that the color was bleeding out from the bridesmaid dresses and shoes. This was a really fun read.

Author's Response: I love a wedding fic too. Which is funny because I don't actually like attending weddings very much. Wedding receptions yes, weddings themselves no.

Petula's family was fun to write. Since it's from her perspective, she picks out all the things that annoy her about them and glosses over the good things they do. Petula does like to focus on the dramatic potential of a situation ;)

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #41, by RonsGirlFriday Half the Clouds are Empty

3rd September 2010:
Do I even need to tell you how excited I was to see MORE Unsinkable-related business from you? I love the idea of a series of one-shots focusing on the supporting characters. It's nice to give them each a bit of spotlight, particularly for a character like Hattie, who is so quiet and proper and never really in the foreground of things (or at least, not the most prominent voice when surrounded by others such as Siobhan and Cecilia).

And how adorable, the way she and Edwin figured each other right out and then told Jack to bugger off. I cannot imagine anything cuter. Fantastic way to kick off this new fic!

Melanie

Author's Response: Oh yay! I'm glad you were excited lol. And I'm glad you reviewed! Hattie is definitely not as prominent a voice as Siobhan and Cecilia, but I do think she's an important character (or maybe I just like her). She and Edwin are kindred souls for sure. They really get each other.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #42, by LindaSnape Times Past Glories

25th August 2010:
Hey there!

Sorry it took me so long to get to reviewing this. I hadn't realized that you'd updated again. I read Cosmo's chapter, and thought it was quite sad and heartbreaking — then I read this.

This was so sad. Like Jo said, it wasn't over the top, but it was still quite tragic!

I cannot help but want to hug Reid and tell him that everything will get better, but in all honesty, how could I possibly know? How do any of us know really? I know how hard it can be to lose someone and years later —you think of them, and the wound is just as fresh as if they had died the day previous.

As always, I loved your characterizations. I adored Reid and Hattie. Oh goodness! She is such a doll. I just want to hug her. I'm so glad that they're making sure that Cecilia gets her roses. It was really quite eccentric of him (yet thoughtful, too) that he should give them to her.

I still adore Hattie/Edwin. Edwin really does seem to be a good man, and I adore him. Though, we haven't seen much of him.

Ah, I think this might be my favorite chapter. :)

As always, I didn't find any grammatical errors, and I absolutely love that! I've said it a thousand times, but I really do appreciate the time and effort authors take to give their works that polished look. It makes reading things like this such a pleasure.

Also, like Jo, I do appreciate, too, that you don't resort to cheap sexual degradation simply to get a read, and not always or simply resorting to that gives your works a touch of realism; I think.

Not everyone's relationship is based on that alone (and I think you would be hard pressed to find a relationship solely based on that), and it is refreshing to read a story that doesn't discuss it frequently, if at all.

Great work!


Linders

Author's Response: Hi Linda! Thanks for stopping by, I always love reading your reviews. :)

Poor Reid, he really kind of snaps here. He's been getting better, but finding out her house has been sold sort of makes him lose his grip on reality for a bit. Hattie obviously realizes the insanity of digging up the rosebush and planting it on Cecilia's grave, but she goes along with it because she is a romantic, and she really does care about Reid. Edwin is a really good guy - I wanted to finally give Hattie someone to love.

I'm really not a fan of the cheap sex "plots" that frequently appear in fanfics. It doesn't show anything about the characters, and it just isn't interesting to me. I'd rather read (and write) about emotions.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you liked this chapter. It's been my favorite so far too.


 Report Review

Review #43, by Margravine Times Past Glories

25th August 2010:
Oh my goodness.

Firstl, I do have to apologise - not only have I been MIA from ff for personal reasons, but I also didn't realise this collection was even out til now! I can't tell you HOW much I enjoy your writing and this collection really showcases you at your very best. I love how real your characters are, how polished your writing is, and how you never, ever, resort to cheap gimmicks and base your stories exclusively around sexual tension.

It's an incredible pleasure to follow your stories, which read like published work, and I keep putting off reviewing until I have time to do you justice (which never comes :P). Long way of saying I owe you a million reviews and will maybe deliver eventually :P

I had to drop you a short line now though, because this chapter very nearly made me cry. It was so, so heartbreaking, but not over the top - it felt perfectly natural, and I loved how you connected the oneshots throughsmall things (Hattie/Edwin is my new favourite ship)

I look forward to reading the rest!

Author's Response: It's good to see you back! And I was extremely happy to get this review, I was a little concerned at the lack of response to this chapter, which I'm pretty fond of.

I ship Hattie/Edwin too ;) And I am trying to keep some continuity as I bounce through the years, although the next one will have less of it, since Siobhan has been away for years.

I hope you do review the others! I always love reviews. But I'm glad to hear you're still reading and enjoying the stories anyway :) Thank you so much for the lovely compliments on my writing, and for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Jen Times Past Glories

22nd August 2010:
*sniff*
Beautiful. Thanks. xx

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Kristin Not Yet Spoken

19th August 2010:
Doctor Who :)

Is Cosmo going to die? I've got a bad feeling ...

Author's Response: In 1970, he's got the Third Doctor. I looked it up haha. That's right around when they colorized the show, too. Anyway, ah... I actually haven't decided yet if Cosmo will live. I'm leaning towards yes, though. But we'll see. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Jen Not Yet Spoken

18th August 2010:
Just read the first three chapters and (as usual with your stories), absolutely loved them. You bring out all sorts of emotions in me. Thankyou so much for the little insights into their lives.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This review really made my day. It was very sweet, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #47, by evil little devil Not Yet Spoken

18th August 2010:
Cosmo! I'd forgotten about him a little, it's good to find out more about him.
You capture the atmosphere of war perfectly, it's very believable. I can imagine the chapter happening inside my head, your writing is very visual for me. And congratulations to Molly!
I thought it was a really touching ending, I can definitely see the Gryffindor qualities in Cosmo. I feel incredibly sympathetic for him, but I also rather admire him.
I can't wait to read more, I simply love reading all these little snippets of the OC's, they're absolutely fascinating and you write them gorgeously.

Author's Response: I wasn't sure if I should go ahead and write one for him. He kind of got left behind a bit in "What It's Worth", but I like Cosmo. I haven't thought as much about his future as some of the other characters, so it was fun to think of what happens to him right after school.

The other two chapters were pretty lighthearted and romantic, so this moves away from that. Cosmo doesn't have a romantic interest at this point, he just has his aspirations to fight against bigotry. And I've always felt Arthur's lack of participation in the circa-1970s Order needed explaining. I've always suspected it was his growing family, so I wrote it that way.

I'm really glad you liked the Cosmo chapter. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by Georgia Weasley Half the Clouds are Empty

12th August 2010:
Oh, yay for Hattie! She's always been the "good egg". Good old dependable Hattie. Never the center of anyone's attention, that's certain. I adore her relationship with her new brother, and even in the midst of his confusion and alarm, he finds a way to connect with her and let her know she's special to him. Edwin is brilliant, and the fact that he immediately sees Hattie's worth just wins him billions of brownie points with me. Excellent story, hon. I love these glimpses into the characters' lives. I've grown so fond of them, you know. Can't wait for more!~GW

Author's Response: Yep, good old Hattie. It was nice to make her the central point. I've got more coming for her later.

I thought she was the type that once she decides to do something, she does it whole-heartedly (she's got a lot in common with Molly, really) so once she got to know her stepfather and brother, she really adopts them into her heart. That's Hattie. :) And I like Edwin a lot, even though this is only a brief glimpse of him.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #49, by Georgia Weasley Come To Me Today

12th August 2010:
Were you AT my wedding, girl? Honestly, my mother did everything and drove me bananas just like this. I was missing the "stroppy cows", though. That was priceless. You have such a way of taking a mundane idea like getting ready for a wedding and making it so unique. The little details like the shoes bleeding into the snow and the chewed rose just make it spring to life, and I can feel that I'm there with your characters. They are so deep and well developed throughout your series that I feel I know them. You are a true talent, girl. I am in awe. Again. ~GW

Author's Response: You really made my day with these reviews ;) Thank you, thank you! I'm glad this one resounded with you - I actually hate large weddings like this, I had a tiny wedding and it was much better. lol

It was Petula's moment of freedom. Hattie got her moment of love and romance. I'm trying to give each character some kind of important turning point in these one-shots. Petula's is rather small, but it's very her, and I enjoyed writing it. I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #50, by LindaSnape Half the Clouds are Empty

11th August 2010:
Ha ha, I can totally sympathize with Hattie. Everyone's always telling people I'm a 'good girl'. Which is infuriating. As if I'm only meant to be this sweet young woman with no prospect of marrying or running off some day. (I'm really considering the latter, you have no idea).

I adore that she gets along well with her step family. I know that not all people do, but I couldn't see Hattie really hating anyone unless, of course, they were a DE or something.

I can't wait to see more about Miss Fitzgerald, though. I'll be honest, she's my favorite. Though, I can't quite place my finger down on why. I think it's because she's the one most like me, to be honest.

Your characterizations were wonderful, and I think it's sweet that Hattie finally found someone. A wizard, none-the-less! She does deserve some happiness, after all.

I love the fact that Jack is so oblivious. It's adorable, not to mention terribly realistic. I have friends like Jack and while I love them, sometimes, I just want to shake them.

I love Edwin and how forceful he has to be to get Jack to leave. It's not Jack's fault, he's trying to be a good brother. xP

I didn't pick up on any spelling errors, either. :)


Linders

Author's Response: Yeah, being the "nice" girl is a problem all in its own. But Hattie really is nice, so she's not likely to decide to try to break out of that role.

Eloping rules. For real. Weddings are such a waste of money. I got married in between: we did out entire wedding - dress, license, flowers, food - for about $500, which is what my sister paid the DJ for her wedding *eyeroll*. Such a waste. Anyway.

Siobhan is everyone's favorite, I think, although a few people did say Cecilia was their favorite. I quite like Siobhan. I haven't finished writing her chapter yet, about halfway done, but Cosmo is next, then Reid, before we get to Siobhan.

I actually originally wrote Edwin as a Muggle, but changed it afterward both to fit better into canon (Arthur's lack of knowledge of Muggles), and because I liked the idea of all these hidden wizards in Jack's life and he never knew it. And cause I liked writing the moment of awareness when Hattie realizes what Edwin is.

Anyway thank you so much for reviewing! I really do appreciate hearing what you thought, you leave really great reviews!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>