Reading Reviews for Over The Anvil
  
87 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Alopex Dark Clouds

6th September 2010:
OMG, is Alopex actually reading this story? Yes she is, at long last. Good thing stories don't expire, or I would have missed my chance with this one.

Anyway. *sniff* This chapter was so sad! You created such a beautiful, close-knit group of friends for Molly and Arthur, and now it's being unravelled. Cecilia was an out-going girl, and even if she wasn't always well-liked by everyone or the easiest to get along with, she was still popular and had a large personality. A person like that is missed. But heck, even a quieter person like Hattie is missed by her friends.

Throughout "What It's Worth," it was apparent that the outside world was slowly beginning to get darker and more desperate, and that it was intruding on the lives of the students. Well, the outside world is no longer outside. They're out of school now, they're part of it, and Voldemort is gaining power. There's no more pretending that everything is fine.

This is a very somber beginning, and fitting conclusion (if that's the right word) to the murder of the Fletcher family.

Author's Response: *falls over* You're reviewing! Wow. ;) Glad to see you back around these parts.

Unravelled is a good word for this period - both because of Cecilia's death and because of school letting out, the process of growing up does start to spread their group apart. And of course, the first Voldywar starting to really take shape also makes a huge impact. They certainly have to face it now and can't hide behind school.

Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you found some time for me again :) I always love your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Aidenk77 Came the Dawn

2nd September 2010:
Absolutely brilliant. I've really enjoyed the story, it was beautifully written, and had me glued to my laptop.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #28, by heather Came the Dawn

23rd August 2010:
well done as always. great character development.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by Renegade Niffler Came the Dawn

21st August 2010:
Well, once again I've reached the sad feeling that comes when one of your stories has ended. *sigh*

I loved this last chapter. You capped off a sweet, romantic story in a very poignant way. Molly and Arthur had their brief escape into undisturbed romantic bliss but had to return to the harsh realities of the world they were living in. I think this was very symbolic of what their first years of marriage were like, they had to take whatever joy they could amidst the pain of loss, and fear of war. I also like how you left things with Reid and Siobhan. They were still, of course, deeply grieving, yet you left me with a sense that they would live to smile again.

Excellent as always. :) Can't wait to see what you do next. (Hmmm, perhaps I should check out JAMR)

Author's Response: The story definitely circles around back to reality for the last chapter. They make the best of things in wartime, but it's still there waiting for them. And Reid and Siobhan begin to deal with Cecilia's death, in their own ways.

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I'm very pleased that you liked the story!

Please do check out JAMR! It's quite a bit different from the Unsinkable series, but I hope you'll still like it. I'd love to hear what you think of it. :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by couldyoureallyknow Came the Dawn

19th August 2010:
that was amazing ! :) :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Jen Came the Dawn

18th August 2010:
OMG... I can't believe I missed the last two chapters... You must sneak them in or something! lol

Loved it. I always thought Molly and Arthur were a lovely couple and your depiction of their early years together is very sweet. Thanks for sharing. :)

Author's Response: Haha! I posted them a while ago now. I guess it was stealthy ;) I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by arthurandmollynerd Came the Dawn

2nd August 2010:
Ok this review is for the whole story. This is one of the most wonderful stories of Arthur and Molly when they elope that I have read. It is so romantic yet sad. Great balance of both sides and i like that you didn't write a sex scene; leaves it to the readers imagination espicially when we read that clothes are thrown everywhere. To sum it up great story loved every bit of it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I think leaving that to the imagination is better. And more keeping with the tone of how I write them. I'm glad you liked it, thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Rachel Came the Dawn

31st July 2010:
Wah, it's over! :-(

But so so so so so lovely. :-) Thank you so much for taking this story as far as you have. It's been absolutely delightful, and I'm sure that I will return to read the full ones many times. I absolutely adore your characterizations and your way of mixing normal life with the horror of Voldemort. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

And please do keep writing, even though I know it won't be Molly/Arthur, necessarily.

Author's Response: Yes, this part is over, but I am still writing some more on the Unsinkable-verse, so there'll be a bit more before it ends completely.

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked that characters and the stories :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by jrg0715 Came the Dawn

28th July 2010:
Absolutely love the series you created with Molly & Arthur. You did a great job of creating characters I cared about and were very real and believable. I feel like they really fit into the HP world. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am very pleased that you've enjoyed reading my characters and stories :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by 21always Came the Dawn

27th July 2010:
This was so good. I love your writing. I hope that this isn't the end of your Molly/Arthur stories! You've done such a good job on this. I have to say when I read the part of Cecilia dying, I cried. Can't wait for whatever you write next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Nope, not done with them quite yet. I still have a few more things for the Unsinkable cast of characters. I was pretty sad to kill off Cecilia, I really like her :( Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #36, by theelderwand Came the Dawn

26th July 2010:
Excellent chapter and an excellent story. But there's still so much more to tell!! Arg.

I hope you've got the next installment of the Unsinkable verse on tap. I'm enthralled.

You had everyone's emotions exactly where they should be. glad to see Reid is starting to recover and Siobahn...it makes infinite sense that she'd leave the country now.

Arthur and Molly. You've really fleshed out the one great romance that JKR never had the time for. Sweet couple. They always bring out the old softy in me the way you write them.

A fabulous tale and I do hope there's more.

Elder

Author's Response: lol I know, it's still lots going on. I'll get to some of it, I'm really warming to the idea of a collection of one-shots before I leave the 60s.

Reid has made the first step toward recovery, and Siobhan is going to run away, which I think fits both their characters. She's sort of dealing with it, but she's an avoider with strong emotions, so she'll cut and run. She's never really been a British citizen anyway, being raised in Ireland, so...

You know, I've always thought they were a great romance. Epic, even, despite their normalcy and the "calm pool of married affection" they've fallen into in later life, to paraphrase Amelia Peabody. I do love them.

Thank you so much for the review - and all the reviews you've left! There will be more :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by RonsGirlFriday Came the Dawn

26th July 2010:
THEY'RE SO CUTE I'M GONNA DIE! (Paraphrasing, of course, a line from Despicable Me)

I've said this before, but your Unsinkable OC's have become canon for me. I can't imagine Molly and Arthur's era in the Potterverse without them. This was a great ending to this short story.

Before I read all of your Unsinkable stories, I didn't really think much about the Arthur/Molly ship. I always thought they were cute, and a very solid couple in the books, but they were like 50 years old, and I didn't feel strongly about them. I just never thought about what they would have been like younger, or about the foundations of their relationship. Now I adore them. There was a discussion thread recently at TGS about favorite HPFF character crushes. I can safely say that your Arthur from the Unsinkable series is mine. Reid comes in a close second. XD

But what now?? Is this the end of the Unsinkable saga? What will I do without them? Or do you have something else up your sleeve?

Author's Response: hahaha. I kept saying "it's so FLUFFY" at Infinitus, and I haven't even *seen* that movie (yet - I'm sure my kids will ask to see it eventually). The fluff is sucking you in again I see. It does that to me periodically too.

I have to admit, they're canon in my head. I imagine Molly having tea with Hattie at least once a week for the rest of their lives, and visiting Petula out in Yorkshire regularly too. It's all in my head, I know, but I think I've just been writing them so long now that I can't imagine it any other way.

When I started writing Unsinkable, I wanted to show Molly as a girl, explain the love potion incident that's mentioned in canon, and that was pretty much it. I hadn't thought a ton about them either, just that I really liked them, and had always really identified with Molly. But the story really took on a life of its own, and the more I wrote, the more I had to keep writing. Sounds crazy, I know. I do love Arthur, and I have a soft spot for Reid, even though he's a big jerk ;)

This is not the end - I had thought to move straight to the 90s, where I have a few stories planned out for the Unsinkable characters, but I'm starting to think I need to round out the 60s a bit more. I wrote a one-shot a few weeks ago, it just popped into my head, of Hattie at the end of the summer of 1968, and I wasn't sure what to do with it. Another reviewer mentioned a short story collection, and the idea is growing on me. Kind of glad for the queue closure, gives me some time to think. And maybe write too.

But anyway. No, this is not the end, and yes, I do have more up my sleeve ;) Thank you so much for reviewing! I always love reading your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Ilisten2potterwatch Came the Dawn

26th July 2010:
WHOA WHOA WHOA!!! this story is finished??? what about Siobhan? and Reid? they seem so lost and unhappy! i cant live the rest of my life not knowing what happens to them! and what about molly and arthur? i was really looking forward to reading about their lives as newly weds as they moved into the burrow. Please dont stop here! i love this story so much! i understand if you are too busy to write or you have other things going on... but if you ever get a chance to write more about molly and arthur PLEASE PLEASE do! i have enjoyed reading your stories so much!

Author's Response: lol. Yes, it was only ever meant to go to this point. Not a full ending of their story, merely this particular chapter. Now everyone's making me paranoid that I should have kept writing, and I'm contemplating starting a collection of one-shots to round out the 60s Unsinkable-verse before I move on to the 90s. I'll think on it over the queue closure. I have to admit, I have a Hattie one-shot set just after this that I'd love to post. Hmm.

Anyway, thank you so much for the review! I promise, this is not the end, I'm still going to write these characters for a while more. They still live in my head and have stories to tell, so I know I can't be done with them yet. And I love Molly and Arthur


 Report Review

Review #39, by Celestie Came the Dawn

24th July 2010:
I don't think I've ever reviewed you before, but I absolutely adore your writing - it's really fluid and easy to read. And I love the Unsinkable series to the extent that I don't much like to read Arthur/Molly because none can compare to yours.

Every character in this series has held their own. Molly and Arthur are absolutely perfect and I feel like I've always known your OC's - Cecilia in particular for me. :) Molly's dynamics with her family and with the Weasley family are so, so well written. I'm envious of your writing style and method because it's gorgeous.

When I read this chapter, I didn't even know it was the last one until I saw your A/N. But regardless, I felt this huge sense of nostalgia - the friends meeting and remembering their past. It's a small, realistic moment that's hardly ever captured in fanfiction.

I'm not sure if this is the last in the Unsinkable series and I sincerely hope not! I'm not ready to part with these characters yet - especially not your OC's. We know how Molly and Arthur turned out, but not the rest of your gang. If not a sequel, then perhaps a short story collection? XD

I'm in awe of your writing and how well you've developed your characters. A lovely, lovely read.

:D

Author's Response: Ah, sorry about the abrupt final chapter - I tried to give it a sense of finale while still leaving their futures open, as it were. A beginning and an ending. Hard to write, and I always have a hard time writing endings anyway, so... I'm glad you liked it, and I always greatly appreciate when someone who isn't a frequent reviewer leaves me their thoughts. It means a lot :)

I've now been writing these characters for nearly 3 years, so I feel quite close to them as well. I'm not done with them yet either, so you will certainly hear more about them. Whether that's in the 60s or in the 90s, I'm not sure yet. I'm starting to think I'd like to fill in a few details before I leave the 60s, so I may start a few one-shots. But I definitely have Deathly Hallows-era stories planned out (and partially written), so those will come soon. I'm pretty fond of this lot :)

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It really made my day.


 Report Review

Review #40, by thewatergirl Came the Dawn

24th July 2010:
lovely, lovely, lovely.
I look forward to more stories from you.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by evil little devil Came the Dawn

24th July 2010:
What a lovely ending. Molly and Arthur have to be the most adorable couple in the entire hp fandom, they're just so sweet together.It's good to see that Siobhan and Reid are both moving on somewhat, that the whole group is really.
It's been an absolute pleasure to read this story, you're a brilliant writer. I look forward to seeing more from you :)

Author's Response: Molly and Arthur are definitely my favorite couple (as I'm sure is obvious from the amount of words I've expended on them). Siobhan and Reid have both made a start at dealing with their grief, but it will take time, of course. Thank you so much for the lovely review! I hope to have new stuff posted when the staff break is over.

 Report Review

Review #42, by LidaRose Came the Dawn

24th July 2010:
Wonderful! Thanks for such a delightful read! What's next???

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I have a few things planned still for this cast of characters, but right now I'm working on a songfic (weird, I know, I never write them) that's mostly about Ginny.

 Report Review

Review #43, by GinnyCullen Came the Dawn

24th July 2010:
I loved it as always! So happy this chapter is posted I have been checking back daily!
I loved that it was not all about Molly and Arthur that Cecilia was a huge part of it as well. It made me laugh and want to cry. Your truly are a gifted writer!

Are you continuing this with showing Petulia's wedding? or even more on where lovely Siobohan?

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry it took so long, I really have no decent excuse. Just couldn't seem to get it finished. Anyway, I'm really glad you like how it turned out.

I had planned to leave it here, for the end of the Unsinkable-verse in the 60s, and pick up again in Deathly Hallows era, where I've already got two short stories planned out. I think I might do a one-shot collection to fill out a few bits of unfinished business, though. I'm not sure yet. :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by LidaRose Burrowing In

9th July 2010:
On to the Burrow! Hooray! I'm so excited for Arthur and Molly, and I think it's wonderful that the Burrow is a Weasley hand-me-down. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Naturally, it's a hand-me-down! Great description of it, that's perfect. Thank you so much! I'm still working on the last chapter, hopefully soon!

 Report Review

Review #45, by RonsGirlFriday Burrowing In

9th July 2010:
"Well, don't be too impressed with it, there's about five hundred Mrs. Weasleys, you know."

Haha, best line of the chapter.

Can't wait to read the final chapter and see their friends' reactions.

Author's Response: lol. I like that one, too ;)

I have got to get moving if I'm going to post that last chapter before I go to Infinitus! If I don't get it done by then, I swear to bring it with me and work on it on the plane and such.

Thanks for all your reviews! I was so happy to log in and see a ton of lovely reviews from you :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by RonsGirlFriday Tea, or Something Stronger

9th July 2010:
All the interactions are great in this chapter as well, with the twins' taunting and Molly's parents' reactions. And Molly's dramatic "Don't kill him, Daddy, I love him!" XD Also "Mummy's little helper" - classic. Sometimes I don't like Antonia very much, but I did warm up to her here.

Author's Response: Hahaha... yeah, a bit of melodrama from the Prewetts. It was fun to write, though. I actually don't care for Antonia much either, I have to admit, she's very harsh. But she definitely has her reasons for her concern for Molly here. And she does love her daughter. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by RonsGirlFriday Back to Earth

9th July 2010:
Your dialogue is always so excellent, and I especially noticed in this chapter. The first scene was hilarious, I loved it. "I'm not telling them anything that happened last night - " LOL. And the whole getting dressed while wrapped in the blanket reminded me of the "wobbly bits" scene at the beginning of Bridget Jones 2.

Also the scene with Arthur's family was very sweet. I adore how you've written Septimus. He's absolutely perfect, and I love his funny little one-liners. His characterization, funny enough, is one of the most lively in this series, even though he doesn't figure as prominently as many other characters and has such a low key personality.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the compliments on Septimus! I think you're the first reviewer to comment on how I write him. It's funny, he really doesn't do much when he appears in the stories, but I have such a clear picture of him in my head. One of these days I might write how he and Cedrella came to be married. That would be fun.

Dialogue is my favorite thing to write. I always feel like I rely on it too much and don't have enough description. Ah well. I continue to work on that! You know, I still haven't seen the second Bridget Jones movie. Loved the first one, read both of the books, but I never got around to watching the second movie. Will have to do that one of these days.


 Report Review

Review #48, by RonsGirlFriday Over The Anvil

9th July 2010:
LOL at your author's note (the last line). Sometimes it's better left implied. Give the poor kids some privacy.

Poor Molly and her anxiety. I felt so bad for her. Though the whole thing about the Fifi LaFolle novels is hilarious. On a side note, my 19 year-old sisters and their friends have been in a romance novel phase. I used to read them in high school but haven't in years because I sort of got over it. Now every time I go to my parents' house to see my sisters, I'm constantly stealing their romance books when I find them hidden underneath the couch. XD Those make for some pretty good reading sometimes.

Anyway, aside from the issue of completely terrifying sexual encounters (hah), this was a really charming chapter. Their emotions and love for each other are very sweet. It's actually really nice and refreshing to read this kind of innocent (yeah well, maybe not anymore, but you know what I mean) young love, and know that it doesn't ever stop. They are two characters who don't ever intentionally hurt each other and are able to stick together through some huge troubles in life (money? number one cause of divorce, anyone?) The way you write them, it's very obvious to your readers why you adore the pairing so much.

Author's Response: lol. She thought she was so worldly from reading those books (which I mentioned in both Unsinkable and WIW. I can just picture Molly loving historical romances, for some reason, and Fifi LaFolle is canon. Perfect.), up until she has to actually face it ;) I'm pretty fond of historical romance myself. Julia Quinn! Anyway, yes, the fact they can remain so attached to one another through about 30 years of poverty (and 7 kids, whew) I think really shows they had a strong base of true love. They're so my favorite ship :) Obviously. lol. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #49, by RonsGirlFriday A Silver Lining

9th July 2010:
-squees giddily at marriage proposals-

Arthur gave her a wicked smile then, and added, "And you're older than me, so you should know all that too."

Um, does he EVER stop getting more and more adorable??

-thinks-

Pfft, no. Stupid question. Obviously not. XD

So anyway, something I really like is that you've shown how the building war and Cecilia's death have tangibly impacted Molly and Arthur, even aside from their decision to get married. Now we all know what happened with Arthur's career - I was wondering about that, too, at the end of WIW, because he got such a promising job under Cecilia's dad. And just like that, his career is now pretty much decided for him, as we know that's where he'll stay for at least the next few decades.

I definitely went and googled Gretna Green after it was mentioned in this chapter, because I'm a nerd like that. It's a cute idea for them. :-D

Author's Response: lol. Arthur is pretty adorable. I think it's no secret that he's one of my all-time favorite characters.

Yep, his promising career is now shot in the foot, and will never *really* recover. He does get a better job in HBP, but by DH he's trapped at Aunt Muriel's and not able to work, since he'd been under surveillance for his contact with Harry. Poor Arthur, he's had a tough time of it trying to make his name. But he did still manage to pass the Muggle Protection Act, which was a huge accomplishment for him in such a lowly back-end office.

Gretna Green, if you read Regency-era romance novels, is like the ultimate in eloping. Running for the border can be the height of romance.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #50, by RonsGirlFriday Dark Clouds

9th July 2010:
I really like the choice to start off this story with the aftermath of Cecilia's death. It illustrates what exactly might have put a fire under Molly and Arthur's feet to go get married immediately. To be honest, I think their elopement might not have been complete without something like this hitting close to home. There were already people dying, and the tragedy that happened to Twyla at the end of WIW, but Cecilia's death has made the situation much more urgent.

As always, your characterizations jump off the page even when angst and grief are involved, as opposed to good fun and humor and banter. Poor Siobhan. And poor Reid as well - I know he really loved her.

Well done! Moving on now to get to the squeeful parts... :-D

Author's Response: Exactly! They needed a catalyst, something to put the urgency of death right in their faces, and I didn't feel like the elopement worked without one of their close friends dying. The rest of the deaths in WIW were like bombs hitting closer and closer to them, and then they finally got a shell right in the face when the Fletchers are murdered, especially because they can see the devastation it wrought in Reid.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>