Reading Reviews for Just Another Midnight Run
  
320 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Jchrissy Parmenter, Again

9th December 2012:
Hi Megan! I hope you don't mind me choosing this one. I've been wanting to start one of your novels for so long though, I couldn't resist :P. I've been falling a bit more in love with next gen all the time, so I'm really excited that you have quite the handful of them! I am starting at the first of the novels, right??

Okay. Rose is an awesome chick. Like I want to be her best friend because she's so cool type. How cool would it be to not only be a bounty hunter, but to be a witch bounty hunter?! And I love her thoughts about taking the guy down, an actual Dark Wizard.

I also like how so far she seems pretty level headed. I mean, obviously an adrenaline junky, but she doesn't seem like she's flying off the handle at every turn. And Scorpius as an artist? Okay. Sensitive Scorpius... ahh. Be still my heart. I am really excited to see how Rose and him work together.

You had a line in there where Rose starts thinking about how her mom once said that her dad was a man of simple pleasures. Not only is it incredibly Hermione to say that, but it's so true! Usually all it takes for Ron is, as demonstrated, a nice piece of lasagna. And I think it was very mature of Hermione to say that to Rose instead of restating what she pointed out so many years prior, that he has the emotional range of a teaspoon ;).

I have to admit that I'm one of those people that wants to know a lot. I like when first chapters give me an idea of what I'm getting myself into, give me something to be excited about, and this did all that. We already know quite a lot about Rose: she's a bounty hunter, her and Scorpius are living pay check to pay check, and clearly very into each other. We know that she's going to head after a Dark Wizard, though he may not be a huge danger (I'm not sure I take your word for that, though). And it seems like Scorpius isn't 100% comfortable with Rose's career choice. Yeah, all that absolutely ensures you're going to see me again :P

I'm so excited to finally be starting one of your novels ♥

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm glad you started with this one, I'm really pretty fond of it. :) Next Gen has really grown on me. It didn't used to be my favorite genre, but I love writing in it now. This is the beginning of the series, yes.

Rose is a hoot. She's cool but also dorky. The pink unicorn shirts, but then she's taking down bad guys, though rather ineptly in most cases. And not very bad bad guys either. Moderately naughty, really. Parmenter robs the occasional liquor store, but mostly he's harmless.

Scorpius is definitely a sensitive, artistic soul in my version of Next Gen. He's a good foil for Rose because while she's pragmatic but flaky, he's artistic but solid. They complement each other nicely. And yeah, not totally 100% with her job. But then, nobody is, including sometimes Rose herself. ;)

This story was my first attempt at writing in first person, and writing a mystery, so it's a change in style for me. I'm glad I got across the world-building essentials and plot introduction without giving everything away. It's a balancing act with mysteries. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm very glad you enjoyed the story, hope you get a chance to read the rest!


 Report Review

Review #27, by SilverRoses Parmenter, Again

24th October 2012:
Epic beginning. I am really looking forward to reading more, and will do so and review whenever I get the chance.

Scorpius is so cute :) I love your portrayal of him! And how Ron only liked him when he made food, that was too funny! LOL

And this line is hilarious, by the way: He had a wife - with that name? Love must be blind and deaf. Too good!

Anyway, it's totally awesome and I am definitely hooked :)

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad you liked it! Ron totally only likes Scorpius when there's food haha. Scorpius is a decent guy though, despite his family background. I like writing him this way (I don't think it's probably accurate though). But this is my version so it makes me happy. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #28, by orderofthephoenix Chuck Finley?

6th July 2012:
Hi WTM! I've just finished reading this on my Kindle, so I hope a long review at the end is alright. :)

I'm seriously asking myself why I've not read this story before. I've heard a lot about your bounty-hunter Rose series and I'm glad I've finally managed to read it!

Rose is sassy and sarcastic and Scorpius is laid back and an artist. They made a great, although unusual, combination. I thought Rose's characterisation was well thought out, and I was so glad she wasn't a carbon copy of Hermione. I liked Rose's interactions with her family a lot. She didn't mind asking, or bribing, her cousins for help in skills she was lacking. I'm glad you didn't forget her parents either. Next gen characters always have scenes with their siblings and cousins, but more rarely with their parents. I love the relationship Rose has with her dad; she's a proper Daddy's girl.

I certainly didn't expect Scorpius to be an artist and I'm curious as to why you decided to make this his profession. It was a pleasant change not to see him forced into a profitable career by his parents, and instead find something to do that he loves. I thought about Scorpius quite a bit while reading this story. I wonder how he feels that he isn't able to provide for Rose as much as he'd probably like to. And whether it's made him consider finding a regular job at any point. I look forward to finding out more about his character in the further stories.

One of the aspects of your story I liked the most was how your described Victoire's family, especially the kids. Johnny's behaviour was amusing and realistic. I love that Johnny played a part in the finale. He's so adorable (when he's not throwing a tantrum) and I could just imagine him charging at the baddies who were going to hurt his Auntie Rose.

Now that I think about it, all the minor characters have individual personalities of their own, even though they feature only a little in the story. I think Louis, Fred, and Hugo are three of the characters that come to mind. This is down to your brilliant writing. I love authors who slip in hints about a character, like you did with what the Hogwarts-era characters did after they left school.

The overall plot was very enjoyable indeed! There was action, plans, surveillance, and even a kid being a manticore! I enjoyed Rose's mishaps a lot. Despite her unlucky streak of blowing things up, she finally got there and stumbled upon the criminals. The twist on Brutus Knappers being a partially unwilling participant was surprising and I felt a bit sorry for him that he was forced into hiding. The other two got what they deserved.

I thought it a nice touch that you ended the story the way it began, with Rose going after Pyxis Parmenter. I'm sure he'll pop up again in a future sequel.

I'm definitely going to keep reading this entertaining series. I'm interested to see what Rose is up to next! :)

-Sophia

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming to leave a review! I really appreciate it :)

I enjoy Rose as a combo of Ron and Hermione (maybe with a little extra Ron) rather than a carbon copy of Hermione. I dislike the rude-and-crude Rose that became popular for a while in Next Gens, so while she's sarcastic, she's not mean. A little ditzy maybe, and rather lazy... ;) I adore writing her scenes with Ron (and Harry and Hermione as well), but I adore Ron in general!

I've seen him portrayed as an artist twice aside from my stories: JLHufflepuff writes the 11 year old Scorpius as being able to draw quite well and prophetically, but is otherwise vastly different from mine, and there's another story I haven't read where he's an artist. But I wanted him to be a slacker too. He actually doesn't mind letting Rose be the bread-winner while he takes care of everything else, until they're about to be evicted of course, when he'll get up and get a job. At least long enough to pay the back rent ;) They sometimes bum money off their parents for rent, but neither likes doing so. Anyway, I'm not sure why I made him this way, actually. It just sort of happened. I started writing him and I wanted him to be a foil for Rose, sane where she's crazy and flamboyant enough to match her as well. I gave him artistic qualities - the singing and painting - and it just seemed to fit him well. I have two one-shots from his POV (A Weasley Christmas and Free, both prequels to this story so you can read them anytime), and his POV is used in Next Midnight (which falls after A Weirder Shade of Midnight and Sparks).

The Lupin kids are a lot of fun to write. Johnny is so horrible that he comes out the other side into awesomeness XD He's such a brat. And yet he's so cute too. Louis is probably my favorite cousin for a cameo. He's just so insane, in the best way. Terrible, terrible taste in women. As Hugo says, he'd find the only woman in a gaggle of nuns that would steal him blind and leave him naked in an alley. Poor Hugo having to be the responsible child ;) Fred I picture as rather dorky, and James's sidekick. Ah I have fun with the male cousins. I quite like the female cousins too. I kind of want to do a spin-off for Lily, actually, since I have such a clear picture in my head of her but haven't really gotten to add her to these novels much.

This was my first time writing a mystery! I really liked it, actually, well obviously since I'm now on novel 3 in this series. It's different than the Unsinkable stories, the plotting is a lot more complex but I really enjoy it now. It was my first time writing in first-person POV here too. Ah poor Butrus, he did get the raw end of that deal but I think he had it coming too. The other two, yes, definitely got what they deserved!

Pyxis Parmenter haha... Ah yes, he does pop up again in the next book.

Thank you again for reviewing! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and I hope you like the next Rose stories!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Gryffin_Duck Chuck Finley?

23rd May 2012:
Hi, WTM! I figured I'd leave one long review instead of small ones on each chapter. Especially since I read it pretty fast once I got it on my Nook...

I adore the way you characterized Rose and Scorpius. They're so different from any other way I've seen them written that I was able to get past my dislike of Scorose. Rose is just so funny and so unlike Hermione. It's wonderful. And Scorpius as an artist, there's one I never thought of before. But it totally fits.

The whole Weasley family was great. Each one had a distinct personality and their interactions were awesome. I especially loved Molly the Quidditch player and Louis with his many girlfriends. Harry, Ron, and Hermione were awesome as well, and you wrote them in a very believable way. And I definitely loved the whole "Weasleys never turn down free food" thing.

The plot itself was really good. I had a feeling Knapper was involved with Venatici, but had no idea Worthing would be involved. Definitely a shock there. The kidnapping scene was great. I love reading/writing inept criminals. The arguing between Pulford and Worthing about what to do with Rose and Johnny was hilarious. And Johnny with his manticore thing. That was great.

Such a great story! I'm going to move on to the sequel now. Can't wait to read more about Rose and Scorpius and see what they get up to next! :)

Author's Response: Hey Duckie! Thanks for reviewing, sweetie :D

I'm glad the ScoRose haters (which I totally understand, I actually don't usually like the ship either) can still enjoy this story. Rose the way I write her is not very Hermione-ish. She's much more Ron-ish, if anything. I like Scorpius as an artsy type, with music and painting and wearing his hair in a ponytail XD

Writing the Weasleys is probably my favorite part of the Next Gen thing (or any story really). Molly the Mohawked pro athlete and former Head Girl, Louis and his bevy of inappropriate women, Fred the dorky but sweet puppy dog guy. They're so much fun. You'll get to see a few more of them in the sequel. Writing the trio, I really haven't written them much in their teen years, but I really love writing them as grown-ups and parents.

They are definitely almost as inept as Rose, that's for sure. haha. It would have gone better if they were able to improvise better, or just killed everyone on sight. Oh Johnny Lupin, he is unimaginably fun to write. XD

I'm so glad you liked it! Definitely let me know how you like the sequel! There are three one-shots that fit in my Next Gen universe, you read one of them so far, and then Sparks, I think you'll like that one too. Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #30, by AndrinaBlack Mostly Independent and Totally Broke

16th May 2012:
Can I just say first: What's the deal with the word counts? There's only one word difference between the two first chapters and then you went and messed it up! You gotta count your words more carefully!?! :P

And the things you get me to do! I did really say "muggle muggers" five times fast. Or it might have been six, I lost count.

Anyway, now to the real review. :) I still love this! It's such a pleasure to read and there's humour and some sort of mystery/spy story coming up and such... realism I guess, with the rents to be paid and stuff. The details with the bonds and things make my head spin just a little as I know nothing about things like that in real life either (not being a criminal, not saying that you would be either though) and of course you've changed it a bit for the wizards. I like the fact that you've made them have a bit old fashioned ways in this too. It's a bit like insurance I guess?

I might just steal your Scorpius. Don't be too surprised if he's missing from later chapters. He loves musicals, like I do! He does the dishes! I absolutely need this guy (actually right now to do the dishes). And I love the way you write about Ron, like I said in my last review. You're neither bashing nor idealising him, nor nothing close to either. It's just right. Oh and talking about that, I also like the way you write about the Weasley-Malfoy family relationships, a little frosty, but not a Romeo and Juliet background for Rose and Scorpius.

I'm talking about all your characters and things in the latter part of the chapter, but I really did enjoy reading about the hunt for Butrus too. Just an overall great chapter like the previous too. :)

Author's Response: Dude I thought that was funny too, the word counts. I was tempted to add an adjective somewhere just to make them the same haha

The bond stuff, they actually don't have bounty hunters any more in the UK. Pretty much that's an American thing, but since the stories are based on the Stephanie Plum books I kind of had to keep that aspect of it. I translated it to the magical world as best I could. It works like a loan, really - if you can't afford to pay your bail, you borrow it from the bail bonds agency and they pay the courts and then when you go to court and get your bail back (it's like a monetary promise to show up for your court date, you give the court $500 and if you show up, they give it back), they keep a percentage of it as a fee. If you don't show up, the bondsman is out the money for your bail - the full amount. So they're motivated to bring in the people who skip their court date, even though they have to pay someone to do that.

I do like to keep the wizarding world a bit old-fashioned, cause they just seem to always be at least 50 years behind the times, you know?

Oh Scorpius. I wish he'd come do the dishes at my house too, and sing to me. I love a deep voice. I adore Ron, but yes he has his faults as a grown man - he's a dad, and a good dad, and Rose definitely idolizes her dad a bit but she's still in reality. And yeah, relations between the Weasleys and Malfoys are pretty much frosty to the two in the relationship and otherwise ignoring each other. Ron and Draco certainly don't talk cause their kids are living together. Definitely no Romeo and Juliet, they're so boring ;)

As much as I love writing a mystery, writing the Weasley family scenes are probably my favorite part of these stories. I had never written a mystery before this one (or a first-person POV story) and I really got to love it.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #31, by AndrinaBlack Parmenter, Again

16th May 2012:
Yay for finally reading this story (and I will continue the Unsinkable Molly Prewett too. I haven't forgotten about that story.) And I love this already! You started in the middle of the action and pulled me in and from there it was just straight flow to the end of the chapter.

Just a nitpicky little thing before I forget if you don't mind: You have three quotation marks in the quote in your story summary. Not one or two pairs. This confused me a little.

I don't really have any other CC than that, so I'll just continue with the praise. :) Firstly... so cool! I mean, bounty hunter! And I like the way you characterise Rose. She's cool, but she still seems normal in many ways and you don't make her swear all the time or throw "witty" remarks about or be rude to everyone or something like that. I'm sure you know what I mean. Like authors sometimes try to overdo the difference between her and Hermione or any nice girl. But like I said, your Rose is not that girl. I like her. :)

And Scorpius. Not that we really saw much of him yet, but first I was thinking "awww he's a painter" and then I fell for him when he smelled like "sunshine and paint". That might just be two important things of the way amortentia would smell to me.

Did I say I love all the little details? That's a big thing of what makes Rowling's writing so captivating too. I mean, little things like Angelo's psychological healer and him reading an auror novel and the quirky names and things. It gives so much to a story. Oh and I loved how you wrote adult Ron. He's so funny and so believable at the same time. And Angelo too. I can't help liking him in some way. I'm sure he likes Rose too really with their light banter. I laughed out loud at "I hate you and want you to die.".

So, great story and I promise, even though I have to go now, I will be back. I promise. :) Because I want to know what happens, and I think Butrus will turn out a bit more difficult than expected, or she will cross paths with some of his more dangerous friends.

Author's Response: I swear I remember it having the correct amount of quotation marks. I feel like I've checked it before cause it looked wrong, but I was *right* at the edge of the maximum characters for the summary. I should stop being lazy and look at it again.

I know just what you mean about Rose's characterization. The Sassy Sue version of her is so prevalent that it's hard to find another sometimes. I don't see her that way so I went off on my own tangent. She's lazy, and childish, and strangely innocent while also quite worldly and witty, and it's a lot of fun to write her that way.

Scorpius is the same - I have a much different view of him in these stories than his usual archive portrayal. Sunshine and paint ;)

I adore throwing in details, particularly when I can add extra magic or obscure canon stuff (like pogrebins and Bundimuns). It's such fun to me. I really enjoy writing Angelo, he's a big jerk and keeps Rose on mostly cause her uncle is Harry Potter haha. And he probably secretly thinks she's funny.

I hope you come back and read some more! I'm really glad you liked the opening chapter :D Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Gray Raven Chuck Finley?

22nd April 2012:
Whoa. what a great story!

There's romance, there's actions, there's humor, and they're all well balanced. It kept my interest from the first chapter until the last. I love all the characters... and I personally love Johnny Lupin the most!! Isn't he the most adorable kid in the whole world?
And all the interactions between characters are really well done... and you described all situations really well, and they all seems very believable (my personal favourite is when Johnny Lupin threw a tantrum because he doesn't want to eat stew. It was just like real life. really! How can you describe it so well? :D).

This story is simply wow.. just wow... It's very enjoyable and I could learn so much from it. And I'm so happy there's sequel for this!
I'm very sure that I'll end up reading all of your work... cause you're very good! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This novel was my first time writing mystery, and it was a lot of fun actually. I always love some romance, but it took backseat in this story to the action. I can't resist humor, so there's always humor in my writing. Someone's got to crack a joke! Anyway, I tried to balance out the plot elements so I'm glad it seemed to work :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story and the characters. Particularly Johnny Lupin! He's a hoot. His tantrums are just legendary. I'm so glad my kids never did that haha.

Thank you very much for the review! I hope you like the sequel as well!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Lillylover22 Chuck Finley?

17th April 2012:
This was a great story 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Lillylover22 Mutual Debriefing

17th April 2012:
That was great 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Lillylover22 Hindsight

17th April 2012:
Yay for ron and harry saving the day 9/10 : )

Author's Response: They're so good at it lol - thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Lillylover22 Rose's Bad Guys

17th April 2012:
Wow this just got exciting 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Definitely ;) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Lillylover22 Very Bad Things

17th April 2012:
Oh no. This cant be good 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Not good at all! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Lillylover22 The Banshee of Lupin Hall

17th April 2012:
Oh wow. This is getting dangerous 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Things are getting a bit hairy for Rose! Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #39, by Lillylover22 The Disappearing Man

17th April 2012:
This is great 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Lillylover22 Like a Law or Something

17th April 2012:
Rose is so quirky 9/10 : )

Author's Response: She is, isn't she? ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Lillylover22 The Good One

17th April 2012:
You write well 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Lillylover22 Bounty Hunter: 1, Aurors: 0

17th April 2012:
Haha louis is hilarioys 9/10 : )

Author's Response: You gotta love him haha. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Lillylover22 Temporarily Deaf and Blind

17th April 2012:
I love that she went to her dad for help. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Of course! She loves her dad. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Lillylover22 You Can't Bring a Baby on a Stakeout!

17th April 2012:
I like victoria 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you like her! I'm very fond of her myself.

 Report Review

Review #45, by Lillylover22 Gainfully Employed

17th April 2012:
Haha i love arthurs reaction to scorps new job 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Possibly my all-time favorite bit of this story ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Lillylover22 Small-Time Hoods

17th April 2012:
Great chapter. I loved it 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Lillylover22 Weasley Genes

17th April 2012:
My favourite quote was
Scorpius knew all my tricks. I'm pretty sure if he skipped out on a bond, I'd never find him.
Haha 9/10 : )

Author's Response: lol. He knows her too well! Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #48, by Lillylover22 Mostly Independent and Totally Broke

17th April 2012:
Scorp is cute 9/10 : )

Author's Response: I'm pretty fond of him too ;) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Lillylover22 Parmenter, Again

17th April 2012:
I liked it. Its different 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thanks! It is pretty different from most Next Gens.

 Report Review

Review #50, by Siriusly3 Chuck Finley?

9th April 2012:
This was such a great story that I stayed up past midnight reading it. I love stories like this, that aren't all about romance and actually have some ACTION! You created this whole part of the law enforcement that I'd never thought about and it was so believable and exciting and mysterious and then hilarious at the same time. It's an all rounder to be honest, mixing fantastic writing with a solid plot and great, original characters (Molly is a personal fave. Thank God she's not a next-gen Percy for once!) I think I'm going to go back and read the whole series, I'm definitely going in the wrong order though, what's the right order?

Author's Response: Just Another Midnight Run is first, then A Weirder Shade of Midnight, then Sparks, then the latest, Next Midnight. The two Scorpius POV one-shots (Weasley Christmas and Free) can be read at any point, but chronologically they come before JAMR. :)

I'm so glad you liked it! I'm hugely flattered and very thankful for this lovely review, I feel a little speechless! I quite enjoy Molly and her funky hair, I have to admit ;) The bounty hunter plotline, while not accurate to the UK (the US has bounty hunters, but the UK does not, their bail system works differently), was inspired by a book series so I'm sticking with it, at least for now. I really enjoy writing Rose this way. Romance is definitely not the point in the Midnight novel-lengths. Writing action and mystery and NOT romance is definitely a new thing for me, as I've always been more of a romance writer. Always humor though! I love writing humor.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really pleased that you liked the story so much.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>