Reading Reviews for Broomhilde and the Founders
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Alopex A Troupe of Strolling Players Are We

5th June 2009:
LMAO! Ok, well, actually, I thought the previous two chapters were a little funnier. *pinches thumb and forefinger together to indicate a miniscule amount* There were some great parts in here, though. I especially thought the "Whatever, I suck at summaries" was really good. I actually thought it was real for a split second, then I was like, wait a moment, momotwins always has a nice summary! Must be part of the story!

The author's note at the front was nice touch too. Yeah, I've seen some like that. However, I usually don't read on from that point! The part with the flashback was interesting. I've never seen one set off as enormously as yours was, of course, but do I ever find it irritating when a writer takes up half the chapter with a flashback and feels the need to announce the fact. Anyway, I was really snorting over the bit about heart arrythmias.

All the slang, electronic devices, vampire exhange students, utter ridiculousness of the characters, the questionable spelling in places . . . well, it was all quite funny. Of course, this story doesn't have a cohesive plot or characterization and is chock full of non sequiturs, but that's the whole point! So, yeah, fantastic job on the parody here! All you need to do now is include an author's note that says "no updates til i get 10 reviews" or "where do you think the story should go? should helga and lazar break up? or do you think i should introduce another oc? give me your ideas in a review!!!"

Author's Response: This story has absolutely no plot :D I couldn't bring myself to do that kind of an author's note haha. The validator in me would faint. The flashback is my favorite part of this chapter (I wrote the stage directions first then just put *topically irrelevant flashback* in between until I thought something up, since that's normally what goes in a flashback), though the sudden telepathy is probably my biggest pet peeve included in here. Yep, "I suck at summaries" is part of the parody. I can't stand seeing that, especially when I see it just after a perfectly respectable summary. Sigh. Kids these days. Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad it made you laugh :D

 Report Review

Review #27, by Jianne A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

1st June 2009:
Woo, this is brilliant. I was laughing so hard.
I love how you write.
Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Alopex The Wheel of Plot Devices

26th April 2009:
*HOOTS and wipes eyes* Oh man. When I read the first chapter of this when it was first put up, I was completely astonished, momentarily taken aback, and utterly amused. I thought the second chapter wouldn't be able to duplicate the effect, and I was about a quarter right. I was expecting this style, so it wasn't as astonishing, but there were a lot of astonishing things, and it was just as hilarious as the first chapter. Possibly even more hilarious. I would love to list what all I found most funny, but I'd probably end up quoting most of your own story back at you. I just can't decide what is the funniest, it was all so funny.

Author's Response: Woohoo! This one was fun. It really started with the Wheel of Plot Devices bit, and then snowballed until it became a new chapter lol. I'm glad you liked it, or at least thought it was funny ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Girldetective85 The Wheel of Plot Devices

13th April 2009:
Haha!! I'm so glad we managed to peer pressure you into writing another chapter :D This was just as hilarious as the first, if not more so. The perfect amount of satire, sarcasm, and sheer ridiculousness (is that a word?). I thought the scene where the characters were looking out of the screen, wondering what had happened to you, was absolutely priceless. You should just let these guys write themselves. I hope you'll add in a shopping trip scene (or should I say a "filler chapter," is that what the kids are calling it nowadays?). And thank you for adding Broomhilde's quote for me!! LOL I love her. And I love her horse ... I can't remember what its name is. Freifenkrugel?

10/10

Author's Response: Farfegnugen? Farfetkrugal? It's hard to understand her when she whispers it. Unfortunately IMDb doesn't have casting info for the horse ;) I might add on to this later as more ideas come to me for things I want to make fun of. I have a few thoughts but not enough for a chapter. Maybe I'll throw in some filler shopping trips lol. Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #30, by SiriuslyPeeved The Wheel of Plot Devices

9th April 2009:
The Men in Tights reference had me rolling as well. The history geek in me just loved the paragraph about what language the founders should be speaking: great parody! thanks for the laughs!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #31, by SiriuslyPeeved A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

9th April 2009:
Great chapter! I'm dying laughing at the mental picture of Giant Squibs.

Author's Response: *teehee* Attack of the 50-Foot Squib! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by madelgranger The Wheel of Plot Devices

7th April 2009:
haha this is hilarious! as has been previously noted, we are so grateful that the story turned out not to be a one-shot after all. i quite liked the authors notes and rowena's linguistics speech. thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Woohoo! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Georgia Weasley The Wheel of Plot Devices

7th April 2009:
For me? I'm speechless! Really, I laughed until I can't breathe! I knew that the "no ding-ding" came from Men in Tights! I LOVE that movie! Mostly, I loved the American Godric throwing gang signs and the debate he threw poor Rowena into over what they actually should be speaking. I know, however, that this brilliant parody of all the joys of the queue will be lost on those we most want to 'get it'. Tiffany/Helga cracked me up. I will be saving this for when I need a good laugh. This was sheer brilliance! Have I mentioned how wonderful it is to have you back?~GW

Author's Response: lol! Thanks babe. I might add on to this if any more ideas occur to me to poke fun at. The gang signs gave me great joy, I must admit. Thanks for reviewing! -M

 Report Review

Review #34, by blithering_humdinger A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

15th March 2009:
Brilliant! This is good comedy! Loved the Jonas/Montana references at the beginning, but they were all amazing!

Author's Response: lol. Ah yes, I have to admit that I've never actually heard a Jonas Brothers song, because I'm 30 years old and my kids are only four. I can sing everything from the Wonder Pets, though. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Sanitariumescapee A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

12th March 2009:
hahahaha, i love one-shot parodies! this is so full of funny quotes i can't pick a favorite. well done

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by nimbus1973 A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

12th March 2009:
Hooray for cliche parody! Glorious!

Author's Response: lol thank you! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #37, by gryffindorseeker A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

3rd March 2009:
Oh my God, I can't breathe. *asthma!attack* This was absolutely brilliant and insane and hilarious, and I can't possibly catch all of your hilarious references. (Jonas brothers! Hannah Montana! Gregorian and Julian calendars! And, of course, MAC makeup!)

Favorite line: "Well," Rowena said obligingly, "Due to an interesting and amusing mix-up with a time-turner, she is in fact ten years my elder."

In conclusion, this was magnificent and a joy to read. Bravo! 10/10

Author's Response: Wow! I'm so happy that you liked it. I greatly admire your comedic skillz, so it means a lot that you thought this was funny. Whee! I'm working on a Part Deux for this *snickers* Hint: Wizard Feud.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Georgia Weasley A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

24th February 2009:
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! "And now for something completely different!" I had to cover my mouth to keep from disturbing my students while they took a test. I nearly had a seizure, I swear, trying to hold it in! This was hilarious, and I think anyone who has ever had the distinct pleasure of reading through the queue can truly appreciate the amount of thought and effort you put into this! Thank you so much for that wonderful laugh to brighten my day.

Author's Response: Heh. I've been writing a second chapter.. Must finish it. I'm glad you liked this one. Yay! Whee! *frolics in the grass*

 Report Review

Review #39, by PrivetDrive A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

21st February 2009:
Completely and fabulously hilarous.
I enjoyed every second of it.

Author's Response: heehee. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #40, by madelgranger A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

14th February 2009:
heehee i love this! particularly the run-on and hermione's ridiculous time-traveling. the whole thing was hilarious. thanks for writing!

Author's Response: lol Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Girldetective85 A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

12th February 2009:
*laughing hysterically* You wrote it, you wrote it! YAY. I was giggling from beginning to end. I love the way you take the Founders era (which is always very serious and dire and all that) and inject every known cliche in Harry Potter fanfiction as well as hilarious pop culture references. I didn't get all of the inspiration sources you mentioned but I definitely picked up on the Men in Tights allusions! The part where Godric was singing "The Night is Young" made me laugh so hard because I was picturing Cary Elwes' sword slowly rising behind the canvas and all of the men in tights watching with popcorn. *wipes eyes* The first sentence was all kinds of awesome. This whole story is all kinds of awesome. I'm going to be going back to read again and again.

I do have one complaint. WHY THE HECK is this a one-shot?! You need to write a full-length novel about what happened at the Superfluous Masked Ball and what happened when Broomhilde caught Helga and Salazar necking in one of the broom closets ("no ding-ding vithout a vedding ring!").

In the words of the wise: OMG!!!11 lyk dis is awshum!!!

10,000/10

Author's Response: Hahahahaha! I was going to do a scene where Helga mysteriously becomes pregnant with Godric's baby, even though they've never been alone in a room together, and someone will have to call Rowena a seductress. And of course, somebody has to be a sex god. Possibly both Salazar AND Godric! I think I'll add more later, and I will definitely have Broomhilde pop up regularly!

Whee! So glad you lyked it!


 Report Review

Review #42, by hogwarts_author_cs A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

12th February 2009:
wow. that's all i can say.
this was hilarious.
i absolutely loved it. so much.
one million out of ten.
it was very, very funny.
wow.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad it was funny for ya. I went a little crazy writing it lol.

 Report Review

Review #43, by hsw/Alopex A Gratuitous Masked Yule Ball

12th February 2009:
I haven't checked your page since January, and the day I chose to check is the day you put something new up. What luck! And I'm so excited to be the first reviewer! (Unless someone sneaks one in while I'm writing this long one.)

That first sentence/paragraph really threw me for a loop! About the third line I was thinking, "Gee, this is REALLY long, flowery, awkwardly phrased sentence." I was wondering if you were trying to sound Old English-y or something, because some writers of Founders stories try that. I was prepared to be unimpressed, but then the last part of that sentence (in which you write what a long sentence it is) absolutely floored me! I sat there gawping like a fish and had to read it over again to be sure I wasn't imagining it! By the time I got to the end of the second paragraph, I was practically howling in laughter and disbelief.

This is a very interesting and unusual story idea. I must admit it took me completely by surprise. I wasn't sure what to expect, based on your summary, but it wasn't this. I was definitely amused, as I have been by a good bit of your writing so far. I can't say this is a great story, plotwise, since it doesn't really have a plot to speak of, but it is very unusual and amusing.

It's amazing how many weird and random things you packed into this one-shot. It's incredibly creative. It is definitely the most ridiculous thing I have read all year and certainly is contending for the most ridiculous thing I have read EVER. Although I'm not sure I can say I "like" this story a lot, I definitely enjoyed it, and I kind of like it at the same time, if that makes sense.

I did catch some of the puns and references, though certainly not all. There were a few places where I knew you were making a joke or reference but that I didn't "get." I really love how you're sort of making fun of so many things here, both with references in the writing and with the writing itself. Thanks for the most interesting thing I have read in a long time. This really spiced up my day.

P.S. "Inkhornism" is an archaic word that refers to a pedantic word or expression or excessively flowery language. Just a couple of days ago, I was reading a short passage some man wrote (in the 1800s, I think) that was making fun of inkhornisms, of course by using inkhornisms. That came forcefully to mind while I was reading your first sentence/paragraph in this one-shot!

Author's Response: I love that word! It's perfect. I have to remember it. I hate pedantic and overly flowery stuff.

I put this up late at night, but I'll put a little disclaimer on the summary so nobody else gets blindsided lol. It's total parody, without purpose or plot, just poking at some of the cliches on the archive that annoy or amuse me. The point was to be ridiculous, random, and all-around silly. It appears I have achieved a measure of success! lol

That first paragraph nearly killed me haha, it took me forever to add in enough subclauses to make it an insanely long sentence.

I am very glad you liked it, despite the ridiculous silliness :) Thanks for reviewing, and for sharing the word! Definitely adding that to my favorite vocabulary.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>