Reading Reviews for A Christmas Carol
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MoonNRoses Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

31st January 2009:
It's hard when you lose the man you love. Moving on after that is a little weird. You think that maybe it is cheating or are you going to compare everything to him, and if it isn't the same, would you be disappointed. I liked how you showed she appreciated the difference and saw George for who is rather than just Fred's twin. I believe that if this story would ever be continued elsewhere, that would be a way for George to see him as just George. It probably won't ever heal him to the point that he feld completely whole, but it would give him a sense of purpose. As always, I enjoy the emotions you put in your stories. Very well done.

Author's Response: Thank you! This was my favorite chapter in this, beside the Molly one. I really love Georgelina. Not surprising since I always love canon ships haha. This is the first time I've written them. I kind of want to give them some more thought... but it'll have to wait, I have too much in my personal writing-queue as is. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #27, by MoonNRoses Let it Snow

31st January 2009:
Aw... how sweet. I haven't read much of this ship... I see that I need to. LOL. Very cute story.

Author's Response: This is the only time I've written this ship. I might revisit them later. Teddoire can be a fun ship :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by MoonNRoses Still, Still, Still

31st January 2009:
Very sweet. I love the idea of the new family and them strolling along holding hands. It makes for a pretty picture.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #29, by Georgia Weasley Mele Kalikimaka

4th January 2009:
Who cares about canon correctness, this is a lovely image. I, too, would hope that Sirius found a warm and beautiful place to escape to after so many years of soul-drowning cold. The descriptions are wonderful in this. I can almost hear the ocean. The place you chose sounds like the perfect place for Sirius to have run.

Author's Response: You know me and canon lol. I was home on O'ahu for Christmas (I just got home last week) and laying on the beach at Hanauma Bay watching the palm trees blow, I thought about this - I hope Sirius went somewhere tropical. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Georgia Weasley Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

4th January 2009:
ANd you got to be a holiday clue. Cool. I have to say, this had me tearing up. I love the twins, and no one writes them better than you do. I adore the way you show all the differences between them, instead of how alike they are. I think that is where most writers (JK included) make their mistakes. Growing up around twins, they don't even seem to look alike to me, because we see all the things that make them individuals. The way you go about doing that for the Weasley twins is just beautiful. This is my favorite chapter, but I'm a bit biased about my Fred and George.

Author's Response: I have no idea what the clues are for! lol. I don't think my boys look anything alike, but then no mom of identicals does. I do think JKR didn't do too well with twins, it's clear she's not a mom of twins lol. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Georgia Weasley Let it Snow

4th January 2009:
Very sweet. I love how you have Victoire a proper lady, a true daughter of Fleur, but also a Weasley. There's enough of that in there to warm her a little, and the ring shows it. What a neat twist to the ring, and her reaction is priceless. "To this man? And to that ring? Did he think she was stupid?" was just brilliant. Lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks! I've never written Teddy or Victoire before, I tried to give them bits of their parents but still distinct personalities. I'm glad you think it turned out all right.

 Report Review

Review #32, by hsw White Christmas

31st December 2008:
Ah, what a lovely chapter! I enjoyed it very much. :-) Everything seemed so . . . Mollyish. And so Christmasy. And . . . I don't know. Real, I suppose. Realistic. You write Molly so well. Of course, you have had a lot of practice, so I suppose it shouldn't come as a surprise.

As always, there were a few particular phrases that especially stood out to me. One was of Arthur "presiding" over the turkey. That one made me giggle! I can totally see that! And Molly's thought about giving a hint to Ron, who, after all, could often use a hint or two. Also her observations of Bill and Charlie's apperances (hair & earring).

This chapter started out so sad and wistful, but I like how you made it cheerful and energetic at the end. Of course, that is a direct reflection of Molly's mood, and her flourishing with a big, loud family surrounding her. But I think my favorite part of the chapter was the part when Molly and Arthur danced. That was wonderful! :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was trying to picture what they'd be like alone after so long with a ton of kids at home. I think Molly would be very bored, she's a person who needs activities and people to occupy her. I'm really glad you liked this one, it was my favorite.

 Report Review

Review #33, by fanwright19 White Christmas

27th December 2008:
wow that was so nice I loved it weasley christmas are always nice. up date soon.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #34, by potterwriter340237 White Christmas

26th December 2008:
Very cute! I loved it! You are a very talented writer and I hope you keep writing, I enjoy your work alot!
Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I definitely will. :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by hsw Mele Kalikimaka

11th December 2008:
You know what this reminds me of? Those ridiculous rumors/stories you always hear about Santa at the beach vacationing after Christmas. Lol. However, this chapter was my favorite in this little collection. On one hand, picturing a warm, tropical Christmas has always been strange to me, but on the other hand, this is perfect for Sirius. It just seems to fit. I know I'm probably reading entirely too much into it, but it seems like a rebirth of sorts for him.

Author's Response: I like this one, but I was afraid nobody else would "get" it, so it makes me very glad to hear that you did! Thanks so much. It's deliberately not canon, which makes me twitch slightly, but I really had to write it. Sirius needed something like this, and I hope he got it, even if it wasn't at Christmastime.

Tropical Christmases are what's normal to be, but I'm island-born. I haven't seen a lot of snowy Christmases.


 Report Review

Review #36, by hsw Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

11th December 2008:
Btw, I tried to leave a review for the previous chapter, but something funny happened with my internet, so I don't know if it worked or not. Now I keep getting an error message when I try to view the reviews for that chapter, so let me know if it didn't show up so I can try again.

Now for this chapter. It seemed almost cliche to me, because it seems like I have read quite a few stories here in which two characters of the opposite sex are hiding/lying in bed and start kissing, etc. I liked how you told this from Angelina's POV though. That was a good idea. And George is so sad. :-( I guess we all "miss" Fred (even though he was/is imaginary).

Author's Response: It did work, I could see it when I checked my unanswered reviews.

Really, cliche? I guess I haven't been reading enough in the archive, I haven't seen that turning up. I'm way behind on my HPFF reading though. This was one I quite liked, actually. Well chacun a son gout, I suppose. :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by hsw Let it Snow

11th December 2008:
Another sweet, fluffy one but with not much happening to comment on. I liked the first paragraph, actually, with the description of the street. You also always have a couple good one-liners in anything you write (but I'm not going to point them all out). The one about the parlour-trick was good though.

Author's Response: Yep, more fluff. This one's even more fluffy and pointless, but I couldn't help myself lol. The 500-1500 word constraint on the challenge was tough, it's hard to write something terribly interesting in that limit.

 Report Review

Review #38, by hsw Still, Still, Still

11th December 2008:
I guess "Christmas fluff" really is the best way to describe this, so I'll just repeat you for that bit. This was a cute story. I thought the part about Lily treading on James' foot was amusing. Overall, though, it was just very, very fluffy. Not much going on to comment on.

Author's Response: Yeah these are pretty much pointless, they were the ones I didn't enter into the actual challenge (that hasn't been posted yet) because I didn't think they were as good, but still wanted to share them.

 Report Review

Review #39, by I_LOVE_love Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

6th December 2008:
I LOVE THIS SONG TOOO!!! Aww, this one made me sad...Fred's death was always really sad for me, cuz the twins were my favorite hp characters, but this one also made me happy! I really like the idea of George and Angelina getting together and getting married and so on...and I think that this little story panned it out perfectly! GREAT job!
10/10
*love*

Author's Response: I loved the twins, I was very sad at Fred's death. How am I supposed to dress up my twin boys as Fred & George for Halloween after that? Sigh. Thank you very much for reviewing! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #40, by I_LOVE_love Let it Snow

6th December 2008:
I LOVE THIS SONG!! Ya had me singing along as I read your story! And that was so cute! I like Victoire's take on diamonds; I've never really thought about them like that, but I can see that...and Rubies are gorgeous! I think that that was sooo sweet and cute of Teddy, and, even from this short little one-shot, I think that he seems really kind and they they're really good for each other...I guess that stories are just like photos...they can speak thousands of more words than they show!
10/10
*love*

Author's Response: I'm not much of a fan of diamonds myself, I think they're a little boring. I prefer sapphires myself, which of course a ruby is just a red sapphire. Anyway this was my first Teddoire and I enjoyed the ship, might have to write them again sometime. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #41, by I_LOVE_love Still, Still, Still

6th December 2008:
Ah man, while I was reading this I was also watching POA on tv. It was like the two extremes almost, a happy joyous Christmas on the computer screen and a wizard struggling to fight a dementor on tv! ;) But on a more sirius note, your story was so cute! I, personally, can't wait for our real Christmas to get here and reading happy Christmas stories by a great author is GREAT!! I, also, think that you wrote Lily and James really well for your first time writing them! :)
10/10
*love*

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it. I can't wait for Christmas too!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Ignatz Mele Kalikimaka

6th December 2008:
Beautiful little one-shot. I've wanted to visit Kalaupapa ever since seeing a dramatization of Fr. Damian's life. A perfect place for Sirius to get a little of himself back.

Author's Response: Thank you! I've been to Moloka'i but not to Kalaupapa, the last time I was there I was too young - the restrictions on the park include no admittance to minors. I'm legal now of course, and I've been thinking about visiting. It'd be almost like seeing the Hawaii of my mother's youth and I love that idea. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #43, by potterwriter340237 Mele Kalikimaka

5th December 2008:
I really enjoyed this little four story thing...it was really well written, I especially liked the stroy line between A & G I think you captured George'es emotions perfectly!
Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I tend to dwell on Fred's death out of all the deaths in DH because I have identical twin sons, and based on that experience, I cannot even fathom the depth of loneliness that George would experience after his twin's death. My boys are so very close, they don't even like being in different rooms from their bro. So I write George with that in mind...

I will probably have more up soon, definitely at some point, because I wrote a fifth story that was entered into a contest, and I'm going to post it on the 18th when the contest ends. Until then I'm going to try to get a few more written and posted. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #44, by fanwright19 Mele Kalikimaka

5th December 2008:
it sad that serius has to spend christmas alone. please up date soon what christmas storie are you going to do next.

Author's Response: Well I have one submitted to the Christmas challenge contest, that ends on Dec 18 so it will be posted then. The entries are secret so I can't say who it's about. I'm writing one, probably a little longer than a drabble, about Bill/Fleur and Ron. Had an idea for one on some OCs from my novel-length too, might do that next. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #45, by fanwright19 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

5th December 2008:
this was a little sad but it is nice to see how they got together in the end. that is how it all started.

Author's Response: Poor George :( I like to think he and Angelina helped each other out and got to love each other... Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #46, by fanwright19 Let it Snow

5th December 2008:
that is a nice storie about the next genaration and I love that teddy and victorie are together they are one of my favorites couples.

Author's Response: Thanks! That's my first Teddoire, I like that ship though. I might have to write more of them.

 Report Review

Review #47, by fanwright19 Still, Still, Still

5th December 2008:
very good for your first try I love it. it is always nice to read stories that have james, lily and harry together because those moments are so unique.

Author's Response: Thank you! I know, it makes me sad to think of the three of them together, they had such a short time.

 Report Review

Review #48, by Georgia Weasley Still, Still, Still

2nd December 2008:
Very lovely. Being Muggle-born, Lily probably spent many Christmases in Church and singing carols. I imagine it was a bit different for James. I love the interaction you wrote between them. It was very realistic, and adding in poor Bathilda was sweet. I can't wait to see what's next.

Author's Response: I wanted to give them a little peace in Godric's Hollow. Poor Lily and James, they are the ultimate tragedy in a series that's full of tragedies. I'm glad you liked it! I just posted the next one, a very fluffy Teddoire. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>