Reading Reviews for I Will Follow
  
56 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MoonNRoses What's There To Fear?

25th January 2009:
Oh... I was wrong about the dousing in the lake but I like this version so much better. Hehehe... Reid is one of those guys you just love to hate because you love him so much. Poor Cecilia... The poor girl doesn't have a chance. :)

Author's Response: lol It was a good guess though! I hadn't even thought of that, she did tell him to jump in the lake a few times I think. heh. Reid is a jerk, and a stalker, but for some reason he's quite well-loved by most readers. I don't think I'd go out with him, but he suits Cecilia, strangely. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #27, by MoonNRoses Don't Ask Me

25th January 2009:
LOL... I couldn't resist picking up this story after finishing "Unsinkable." This story has me giggling too, though I'm no longer at the front desk. I'm in my office now, but still. It's such a riot. I love Reid and Cecilia and more now that I know these extra little tidbits. I haven't been far off on my guesses yet, though I totally missed him visiting her during Easter. I'm loving it so far!

Author's Response: Cecilia's very hotheaded, she was a nice change-up to write after Molly and Arthur. Her relationships with Reid and Icarus are both quite different from the Molly/Arthur dynamic, too. I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by hsw Til Today

5th December 2008:
Upon reading the reviews for the last chapter, I realized everyone else seems to like Siobhan's character too. You can really be proud of her, because you have done something well if so many people notice! You develop Molly and Arthur well also, but since they aren't your characters, I know I have preconceptions that affect my reading of your story. Siobhan is a bit mysterious and more interesting than Hattie and Cecilia and more likeable than Reid. If you ever have an idea for another Siobhan one-shot, I would love to read it, and it seems I'm not the only one.

About this chapter: I was not crazy about the ending. The kiss-me-again/you're-bossy exchange struck me as a bit odd. I think part of the reason that ending seemed a bit weird to me is because this scene leads right into an Arthur-and-Molly oriented scene in "Unsinkable." That probably put a little box around it all that limited your options somewhat. I was going to say I would have preferred it to end with the "Reid looked pleased . . ." sentence, but that's not it. I like the exchange after that, up until the "Kiss me again" part. Maybe I got stuck on the "finally" in the last sentence. Anyway, I do not have any better ideas myself, and I like that you left it open-ended the way you did, without going into developing their relationship.

The whole rest of this chapter I liked. Mostly I liked that Cecilia finally was able to let go of her anger about the fireworks incident. Not that she needed to get together with Reid to do that, but I'm really glad for her that the Reid situation prompted her to relax about it. Mind, I get a kick out of each time she says, "He set me on FIRE," but she really blew the incident out of proportion. It is nice that they managed to find their way back to where they were before the fireworks disaster. I bet part of the reason she was so confused is that the fireworks artificially arrested what they felt for each other earlier, and the situation was haning unresolved over them. It was necessary to resolve it somehow, either by getting together or by forgiveness and going separate ways.

After that long, rambling paragraph, here is a shorter one. I liked seeing even more of Reid's "human" and emotional side in this chapter. He is more complex than he seems at first. He still would not be my favorite person though.

That said, I am amazed that you have put up another story since I was here a few days ago! I plan to make progress during the next month. I sort of tend to stretch out reading your stories because I like knowing there is something to come back to that I haven't read, but I am falling behind!

Author's Response: The ending came off a little meh to me too, but I hadn't come up with anything better. Might rewrite that at some point.

I do have a Siobhan one-shot posted, I think you've read it though - "The Black Velvet Band." I might write more on her later, I have several other things in mind right now that I'm working on first. She is a very popular character with my readers. I do like her very much.

Cecilia and Reid, well, their relationship future will be coming up as a side story in the Molly/Arthur elopement I'm planning. Cecilia definitely had blown the fireworks wildly out of proportion. She's not the type who takes well to public embarrassment like that, poor thing. That's a great way to describe it, artificially arrested. Exactly right. Reid has more to him than he likes to show, he's a very smart boy, but he is, after all, a teenage boy, and wants to be cool and funny more than he wants to be real. I dated a lot of guys like that in high school...

I always enjoy your reviews so much. I appreciate the time you put into them, and that you're always honest - usually the bits you point out as not liking are ones I wasn't too keen on when writing them, lol. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #29, by hsw Ask Me Again

5th December 2008:
I was supremely irritated by Reid showing up while Cecilia was still upset about her breakup with Icarus. That really was very insensitive of him. Yet, in that scene, you again wrote him so that the readers can see a crack in his usual smug mask. That makes me feel my sympathetic toward him, although I'm quite sure I would not like him if I knew him in real life. The conversation with Siobhan was good. She is an intriguing, complex, and sharp character. I think she is the most interesting character you have developed.

What I liked most about this chapter, I think, is that Cecilia spent so much time reflecting. I think that is a good way to let us in on her thought process and develop her a bit. I thought it particularly fitting that Prof. Ampara's death came in this reflective chapter. I love all the little ways in which you remind us of "Unsinkable" since of course this is a sort of parallel, behind-the-scenes story. The remark near the end about Cecilia being not quite 17 surprised me. Of course I know your characters are that age, but it is easy for me to forget while I am reading. Perhaps because you are older, your characters seem more mature. Not that everything Cecilia and Reid (and the others) do could be considered especially mature, your writing sometimes makes them come across that way to me.

Author's Response: Oh dear, I've been fearing that I'm getting too old to write teenagers. I remember the things I did as a teen (and the logic that followed them - reading my old journals is by turns embarrassing and hilarious) and it all just sounds so ridiculous and exhausting now. I would have kicked Reid to the curb now, but as a teen I don't think I would have... I did some stupid stuff over guys at that age. I don't know how I had the energy for it.

Anyway yes, Reid = insensitive, bullheaded jerk. lol. Cecilia's a bullheaded jerk too though. Most teenagers are, in my experience. I'll have to hang more with my 14 year old cousins and see if I can regain some teenage mindset. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #30, by hsw What's There To Fear?

30th November 2008:
Well, I did find things a little corny in this chapter, all those many kisses while Cecilia still is trying to convince herself she hates Reid. I am glad at the end though that she decided to end things with Icarus, because she really wasn't very involved with that relationship.

I thought the scene with McGonagall was excellent. I think it really captured Cecilia's feelings and dilemma. Reid IS forcing himself on her, and he is out of line, and yet she is not convincingly discouraging him because part of her wants it. And taking those points . . . your characterization seemed so real. By the way, I thought Roddy's line about the pent-up aggression was hilarious.

I do think Reid's behavior is on the despicable side. I would feel so violated if someone intruded on my bath like that! That is so inappropriate. I definitely would not have given him another chance after that. And I do think he was being a creep, lurking in the bushes. His behavior and personality rubs me the wrong way at times, but then, so does Cecilia. I still like reading about them though. :-)

Author's Response: He really is a creep. I still like both of them, even though neither one is a particularly good person. They have their moments, but they are well-suited - arrogant, smart, and usually very sure of themselves. I think McGonagall is a much more perceptive person than she's usually given credit for. I can honestly say I feel the most pity for Icarus in the whole situation, and I would have chosen him if I were Cecilia, but then I'm almost 30 years old and my 16 year old self did go for the bad boys more often than good ones, so maybe I've just gotten over that part of life. And I totally feel ya - in real life I would have dragged Cecilia down to the police station by now, but for some reason it's fun to write about. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #31, by hsw Don't Ask Me

29th November 2008:
I really like this mini-story so far. There are two things (that I can think of at the moment, anyway) that I really admire about your writing. One is your sense of humor. So much of what you write is very funny. The other is how you are able to create suspense. Even when it is perfectly obvious what is going to happen next, there is still an element of suspense and anticipation, which not every author can create convincingly. Thirdly (I thought of another thing), your characters seem so real, even if the situations they are in are not always realistic.

Now for some specific comments about this chapter. I don't especially swoon over the hate-into-love storyline, but it works much better with well-developed characters like yours. I do not find the falling-into-a-passionate-kiss-during-a-row scenario all that realistic, no matter where I read it, although I suppose arguing is another form of passion. I always wonder, does that actually happen? I can't see it happening to me or anyone I know. Anyway, when I first read that scene in the garden, I was expecting to find the rest of the chapter to be a bit on the cheesy side (for my taste), but to my pleasant surprise, it wasn't. Your writing makes it all seem quite realistic and natural somehow.

As for Reid, he is the ultimately annoying teenage boy! He's like a magnified version of the average teenage boy. It was oddly satisfiying to read about him finally getting upset, rather than that smooth and irritating smugness and self-confidence he usually projects. I do think he was a little out of line on the Astronomy Tower; that is not behavior I approve of. It had to happen, though. I could say some things about Cecilia too, but I think I will save that for one of the next three chapters.

Author's Response: Reid and Cecilia are both jerks, frankly (or a word that begins with a...). However, both are only 16 and might just outgrow it. Reid would certainly be prosecuted for stalking (and sexual assault) by any judge. It's funny how many fans see this as a really romantic relationship. I think it's got its hot moments but for the most part, they're both in need of therapy.

I once dated a guy where we tended to react to fights in that way, but he's not the man I married. It's fun at first and gets old fast, in real life, but makes a fun story.

Thanks for reviewing! I love your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #32, by Vesper Til Today

24th November 2008:
Aww, that was the sweetest. And I liked it so much better than the sappy Molly-Arthur romance. Sorry, but true. All it had was an overdose of sweetness; although Fabian n Gideon were definite bright spots, but the best thing about it was Cecilia n Reid, and thank you so much for writing a separate story about them. This one had passion and romance both. I really wish it had been longer, but thanks just the same. Hats off for such an amazing characterisation that your fans asked you to write a separate story only on your OCs. Good work.

Author's Response: lol it's ok. I know Unsinkable's not to everyone's taste. I'm glad you enjoyed this one, and Reidilia :) Thanks for reviewing! I have some stories planned to work on next month, after NaNoWriMo is over, so there might be more Reidilia but I know I'm writing more Molly/Arthur.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Thesilentforce Til Today

8th November 2008:
This is a lovely story! I'm so glad they ended up together and I liked getting a little insight in Cecilias thoughts. She is one of my favourite characters from "Unsinkable". She and Reid make a great couple, even though it took Cecilia some time to realize it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm pretty fond of Cecilia, she's a fun character to write.

 Report Review

Review #34, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Til Today

28th October 2008:
Ah, such a sweet, nice fill-er-in-er. It explained a lot, it was very well written. You better write more stories about the group! Maybe even one that's not a romance, like about Siobhan's life or what was really up with Professor Ampara. Yes, both of those would be great. So please write more! This was so amazing, I really understand Cecilia better now. All her jumbled, confused thoughts. . . Well, 10/10, I love this.

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad it filled in some pieces of Cecilia's personality. I actually like her quite a lot. I've got a Siobhan story written, it's about halfway down my author page - "The Black Velvet Band". Non-romance. I've started writing Ampara's story, also no romance there, but it's getting put on hold for NaNoWriMo. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #35, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Ask Me Again

28th October 2008:
Oh, another great chapter!!! That paragraph about the rivers, comparing Reid to Icarus was really amazing. . . really well-written. Of course, this entire chapter is well-written. I love! I hadn't realized how stressed Cecilia was! I knew she was in bad shape, but seeing everything through her eyes. . . It was amazing. Well done, can't wait for the next chapter!!! 10/10!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Cecilia was definitely in a little downward spiral of sanity thanks to Reid haha. Very stressed out!

 Report Review

Review #36, by long_live_luna_bellatrix What's There To Fear?

28th October 2008:
Oh man, another amazing chapter! This really explains every we missed in Unsinkable, I can't believe so many details weren't in it! I'm so glad you wrote this though, it's really fun to read, and I love it. All your characters are so well developed, they're amazing!!! Way to go, 10/10!!!

Author's Response: I wanted to fill in the gaps - there was a lot that happened that Molly and Arthur didn't see and so I couldn't write it for Unsinkable. So I wrote this :) I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #37, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Don't Ask Me

28th October 2008:
HA! This was really excellent, it nicely filled in all the gaps in Umsinkable. It was really fun seeing things through Cecilia's eyes, you write all your characters excellently!

I was wondering why Cecilia took so many points from Reid, and I thought it was because he was kissing her, but I had no idea she was kissing him back, even during Christmas vacation. But I like it better this way, it makes a better story.

Well done, 10/10, of course!!!

Author's Response: It was Easter vacation, not Christmas, but yeah she did kiss him back. She's a very torn about that lol. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Girldetective85 Til Today

15th October 2008:
I'm squeeing again - I'm crazy about this scene. I adore Siobhan and how completely sweet she is. She just wants Cecilia to be happy and she knows Reid can make her so. My favorite part (of course) was when Reid told Cecilia that he loved her without joking or being annoying like always and she said she loved him back. How do you make your original characters so awesome?! I keep forgetting that none of these characters aside from Molly and Arthur are canon. I don't know if anyone's requested this but I'd love to see a Siobhan story *hint hint wink wink* She's my favorite. Wonderful fic, it completely satisfied my Reid/Cecilia craving. 10/10

Author's Response: Ah, if you look through my author page, you'll see I've already done a Siobhan one-shot. It's called "The Black Velvet Band" and is set the summer after Unsinkable. I've been half-heartedly writing on a post-DH-era story for Siobhan. It's in the queue eventually behind a few other stories. Wow thank you - I love hearing that my characters fit so well in canon. I really wasn't big on the idea of inventing a ton of people for Molly & Arthur's social circle at school, since it isn't known in canon, and almost didn't write Unsinkable because of it.

The next fics coming through, after NaNoWriMo of course, will be the Ampara backstory from Unsinkable, a DH-era Hattie piece, and Molly & Arthur's elopement. That's my current personal writing queue :)

Thank you so much for reading and leaving your always-wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Girldetective85 Ask Me Again

15th October 2008:
I love the ending of this chapter :) Cecilia's a fantastic character. She really doesn't know what to do, does she? It's so obvious to everyone that she wants Reid as much as he wants her, but pride won't let her. She's gone on "hating" him this long, she feels like she can't change her mind now or everyone will say she weakened. The descriptions of the two boys were great - Icarus is a paddleboat on a quiet stream and Reid is white water rafting. She knows she wants adventure! I wasn't surprised that Siobhan had suspected something all along - she seems pretty in tune with romantic stuff and she could probably sense the vibes coming off Reid and Cecilia.

Author's Response: She sees the appeal of Icarus intellectually, but it just doesn't sink in for her. Her mind knows she should go with him but her heart wants Reid, even though he's a jerk (she's kind of a jerk sometimes herself lol). They really do have a lot in common. Siobhan is quite perceptive when it comes to sexual attraction. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Girldetective85 What's There To Fear?

15th October 2008:
I recognize this scene!! I had a feeling that was what she was thinking about - Cecilia, you scarlet woman, you. Almost as bad as Siobhan! Actually no, no one is as bad as Siobhan in that department... But I loved seeing this scene from Cecilia's point of view. She's a pretty scary girl, isn't she? Especially when she freaked out at everyone about Icarus. The bathtub scene was hot. Of course Reid would find a way to come in while she was taking a bath - makes you wonder if this isn't the first time, and the other times he didn't announce himself. Bad Reid! :P I'm surprised everyone is getting mad at Reid for losing them house points when Cecilia's the one who's taking ridiculous amounts away and inflicting her anger at Reid on Gryffindor! She is kissing him every chance she gets, she has sex dreams about him, and even McGonagall has an inkling of what's going on. Girlfriend needs to dump Icarus and fast!

Author's Response: hehe, I liked the bathtub scene too. Cecilis is going a little overboard with the points, but nobody gets to her quite the way Reid does. I think McGonagall is much more perceptive than she's given credit for by the students. She's a smart cookie. I can totally picture Reid sneaking around the girls' locker room with a camera, can't you? lol. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Girldetective85 Don't Ask Me

15th October 2008:
Squee! Thank you for satisfying all of us Cecilia/Reid shippers and writing a whole story about them *huggles* I like them way better than I like James/Lily fics. The formula is the same - annoying boy loves annoyed girl - but somehow you make it so original and funny and sweet. So this is why Reid will never give up ... everyone thinks he's crazy but they haven't seen him and Cecilia making out on several occasions! And I did suspect that something like this happened up on top of the Astronomy Tower (hence the -40 points from Gryffindor) and I hoped it would only be a matter of time before Cecilia finally caved in! I love them together. Poor Icarus sounds really sweet but let's face it, there's just no comparison to Reid. :) Love it so far, of course.

Author's Response: He did hang in there for over a year before she ever kissed him. He's just as tenacious as Cecilia is with her anger. Icarus is great but not for Cecilia, she would have been walking all over him within a year. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #42, by luvjamesnoliver Til Today

12th October 2008:
lol I guess Reid likes bossy woman, maybe that's why him and Arthur hang out together. Though I totally love Molly and Cecilia for it.
*does a little happy dance* They got together! Yay! I'm so happy. I was cheering for Cecilia/Reid right along with Molly/Arthur in Unsinkable.
Another wonderful story. It helped fill in some of the blanks about Cecilia and Reid, and was hilrious.

Author's Response: lol. Reid does like a bossy girl - remember he got all brooding when Arthur mentioned Gemma was a nice girl? He didn't want nice, he wanted Cecilia. Glad to hear you liked it! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #43, by luvjamesnoliver Ask Me Again

12th October 2008:
Wow I can't belive Professor Ampara died, though I should since I've read Unsinkable. Maybe Ampara death well help Cecilia that you can't live life if you do what seems safe that you need to take risk. And the biggest risk she needs to take is letting herself forgive Reid.

Author's Response: Ampara's death was definitely a catalyst for Cecilia. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #44, by luvjamesnoliver What's There To Fear?

12th October 2008:
I think Cecilia has been reading too many of Molly's book. lol
Poor Icarus , he really seems to like Cecilia but her head is to full of Reid to think about him.
Cecilia needs to quit being so stubburn about the fireworks accident and forgive Reid. Though honestly Cecilia sounds like me. Guess that's the pot calling the kettle black. lol
Another wonderful chapter.

Author's Response: Icarus is a good guy, and he did really like her. Poor thing. I totally wouldn't have forgiven him either, especially when I was 16! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #45, by luvjamesnoliver Don't Ask Me

12th October 2008:
Everytime I read this I fall more in love with Reid's and Cecilia's story. They were one of my favorite pairing, right after Molly/Arthur, in Unsinkable.
Poor Cecilia she tries so hard to hate Reid but her heart just isn't having it.
Excellent chapter. On to the next one.

Author's Response: Aw thank you! That's nice to hear. I like them even though they're both jerks sometimes lol.

 Report Review

Review #46, by evil little devil Til Today

9th October 2008:
Who'd Siobhan see die? If she can see the thestrals.
Great ending! Absolutely brilliant! Cecilia certainly is bossy, a lot more so than Molly in any case. I really loved this story! Your writing was excellent as always, and I do so love reading about Cecelia and Reid. They really are a very interesting couple :)

Author's Response: Siobhan's grandmother died shortly before she got her Hogwarts letter. Siobhan was home alone with her when she died, which I never mentioned directly in "Black Velvet Band" (the Siobhan one-shot), it seemed extraneous to the story but it helps to explain why Siobhan is so distant. She was quite young, and her grandmother was the only real family she had.

I'm glad you liked it! Reidilia is a lot of fun, a nice contrast to writing Molly/Arthur, who are much fluffier of course. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #47, by evil little devil Ask Me Again

9th October 2008:
How I do love Siobhan! She's such an excellent character. I love how there's a lot more insight into her and Cecilia's friendship in this story, it wasn't all that mentioned in Unsinkable. I'm guessing the next chapter is the train? Ooh I can't wait to read it ;)

Author's Response: Yeah I wanted to show a little more of Cecilia, and Siobhan too. They really do care about each other like sisters, but they're far closer to each other than to Molly (who is BFFs with Hattie) so that didn't get shown much in Unsinkable. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #48, by evil little devil What's There To Fear?

9th October 2008:
This is a highly amusing read. I always wanted to know more about these two. I just love the tension and the passion between them, you write it brilliantly!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #49, by evil little devil Don't Ask Me

9th October 2008:
Ah they're hilarious those two. I just love Cecilia and Reid, I'm so happy you gave them their own little story. It's so interesting reading about their characters. Cecilia is getting so frustrated with him, it's funny to watch. I really do admire Reid for how persistent he is, though if I was Cecilia I'd probably slap him a few times too.

Author's Response: I probably would have slapped him too. Cecilia's very conflicted :) hehe. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Georgia Weasley Til Today

9th October 2008:
That was utterly brilliant. I love how you tied it in to Unsinkable (which is quite possibly my most fave fanfic ever written!). Again, Siobhan is written so well. She is quite a complex character. Mostly, though, as infuriating as Reid is, isn't that what all women ultimately want? A man to pursue them as if nothing else matters? That passion was so well done, and her moment of realization is just wonderful. So sad to see it end! Especially after reading your hints about what is to come in Cecilia and Reid's lives in the next installment of your addictive writing. Boo HOO! Anyway, it won't keep me from reading it. I'd read a Chinese take-out menu if your name was signed to it.

Author's Response: Siobhan is one of my favorites, and the OC I've put the most thought into fleshing out. Don't give away the Reidilia future yet! I haven't gotten that posted. It's coming soon though. Hopefully no one will hunt me down and stone me. Aw you're so sweet. I think a take-out menu could be interesting: sweet and sour chicken with curves in all the right places *mwahahaha*

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>