Reading Reviews for The Divide That Corrupts Us
  
173 Reviews Found

Review #26, by LittleWelshGirl99 Finding Friends

12th January 2012:
Hey, look who's back :)
Ok, this was a lovely chater. Shorter than the others, but it was definitely quality not quantity!
I absolutely love the moments with Aurora and Barty! It's so cute and well written.

Will leave a better, longer review next chapter
LWG x

 Report Review

Review #27, by maskedmuggle A Plan Fulfilled

12th January 2012:
Oh another fantastic chapter! I really enjoyed this one - it was really great to be able to read about this happening from Barty's POV. (Since the HP series is focused on Harry) - so i loved the conversations with Dumbledore, and Barty looking through the maze and stunning Fleur/imperiusing Krum, etc. As always, great continuing characterisation!

And I again loved the Flitwick/Grey Lady bit - their characterisation is just.. so perfect! Well written - a wonderful chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by NaidatheRavenclaw A Plan Fulfilled

11th January 2012:
YES NEW CHAPTER. AND I GET TO BE FIRST :D

Jane/tenthweasleywriter, you did such a fabulous job at writing this. I felt like this was going to be one of the most difficult chapters to write, because it ties in so closely with canon, but you managed to do it really well. Barty's voice was clear, and yet I could still see how everyone was so easily fooled into thinking it was the real Moody. It really is a huge accomplishment, and it's why the Claw collab is easily the best. We've managed to write a proper story, and we've done that through excellent writers like you.

One of my favorite parts of this was the description of Snape. It seems so natural that Barty would hate him. In fact, all of Barty's mental thoughts were great. You could definitely see that pride and thirst for power in him, and I liked that he had to struggle to pretend to be Moody.

Another lovely chapter. Only four left!! :D

-Naida

 Report Review

Review #29, by LittleWelshGirl99 Initial Intelligence

11th January 2012:
Hi Guys!

I am slowly getting through the story, reviewing as I go! Sorry for my absence since the last review, I've been busy xD Hopefully I'll manage to get a review on every chapter before the end of the month.

Ok! So I really love this chapter. It was a great 'first' chapter, where the plot really starts mounting and drawing in interest. It's also an interesting sort of POV, and that really adds some depth to the writing. I love how Barty wasn't portrayed as evil from the beginning, but how we can see a few little signs that indicate the way he's heading. It makes the characterisation VERY realistic and an intriguing, lovely read.

Great work once more! Well done long_live_luna_bellatrix and ohcrapidroppedmybrain, and the rest of the Claws!
LWG :) x

 Report Review

Review #30, by maskedmuggle Escape and Espionage

5th January 2012:
Wow - a lot of action in this one! Again, I loved the consistency and how closely it followed with canon! It was great to read about all this from Barty's perspective - like how he actually overcame Moody - it made sense that the Dark Lord's magic was stronger. Hmm wondering a bit about Wormtail - how did he (or Voldemort) know Crouch would be heading to the Forbidden Forest?

The end action happened really fast. I would have loved to know more about what was in Barty's head as he saw his father, and then made the decision to kill him - but I suppose it also relates back to Barty having already cut off all attachment to his father earlier in the story already.

But yes, a well-written chapter that maintains the high quality of this story and moves it along really well! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by maskedmuggle Chasing Freedom

5th January 2012:
Oh wow! Another great chapter! I really love the continuity, how closely it follows with canon, and the development of the characterisation of Barty, and also Winky and Mr. Crouch. I feel like they're perfectly in character, and this chapter particularly echoes what we know from canon, but with even more detail, making it even better! I loved hearing Barty's thoughts throughout this chapter - showing me his perspective on stealing the wand and trying to chase freedom (love the chapter title!).

I also loved that bit with Bertha Jorkins, it was great to see how that came along! And as always, I love the Helena and Flitwick bit - they're both so wise and characterised wonderfully and it's just a lovely part of the story and really connects everything up!

So all in all, wonderful chapter!

 Report Review

Review #32, by LittleWelshGirl99 Prologue

1st January 2012:
Hi guys!
I'm so glad I finally got a chance to read our collab! And I must say it is AMAZING so far!

I love the conversation between Flitwick and Helena, and their opinions on the battle. I've never read a teacher/ghost communication before and Flitwick and Helena do seem like good...friends. It's lovely.
Helena describes the battle very interestingly, and in a way that I think really suits her (as a ghost!) “It was a fine battle, wasn’t it?” A fine battle. Not a terrible battle, a horrible battle. A fine one.

'and the soft noises was almost' (were instead of was :D)

It also leads on nicely as a first chapter into the rest of the story!
Great job, Indigo Seas, x0xcaitlinx0x. and the rest of Ravenclaw!
LWG :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Snapdragons Initial Intelligence

1st January 2012:
First review of 2012 and it's on the collab - good omen for the rest of the year I hope! :)

I thought that this was a great chapter to set things up and let us know a bit more about Barty. I liked how he wasn't portrayed as evil from the beginning, but how there were subtle warning signs.

I actually found myself liking Barty here, even though I know he goes bad later. But he's so bright here and seems kind - like how he helps the others with the spells. Intelligence can be dangerous though, I guess... but as I'm a Claw, I firmly believe that knowledge is power! :P

Flitwick was nicely done, too - I loved his and Barty's interactions. I can't wait to see how this innocent boy turns into the man that we know he becomes.

A fabulous job! :) Looking forward to reading the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #34, by NaidatheRavenclaw Escape and Espionage

25th October 2011:
Yay, new chapter! *makes mental note to check story for updates more often*

Great job to TenthWeasleyWriter for writing this one! It was amazing. I loved the part where Flitwick told Helena about Barty helping Harry out so much. I've always felt the same way, actually, that Barty pretty much brought along his own downfall. It was really interesting to see Barty's feelings on being Moody. The part about the eye was brilliant.

We're 3/4 of the way done! Great job as always, Claws :D
-Naida

 Report Review

Review #35, by Bobby Dazzler Chasing Freedom

8th September 2011:
Absolutely wonderful guys! I can't believe I'm all caught up now, when all I want to do is read more and more and more lol! Such a riviting read, I've enjoyed every chapter of this story so far, it's just been put together so well and you all deserve a thousand house points for your efforts! Just so well done :)

there were a few silly grammar mistakes in this one I noticed, but tbh I'm too upset that there's no more to follow after this one and I'm going to have to wait for antoehr update that I dont really mind lol. I hate that you've all got me hooked and the story ain't over yet, so cruel guys, but it's such a good read that I'll wait for it to be finished... Sigh lol.

Gotta love Winky, and I love how you're all melding it in so nicely with the events of GoF, the last few chapters, being so close to canon and relying on its timeline, have been wonderful. You've all put a lot of effort into making sure it's all correct, well done :)

Anyways, time for bed for this happy little reader, but tomorrow the graphic demon will emerge, mwhahahahaha... Excellent stuff 'Claws, truly amazing, I'm so proud of you all :) xx

 Report Review

Review #36, by Bobby Dazzler Cold as the Grave

8th September 2011:
Oh that was excellent guys! The sacrifice Barty's mum made to save her son, you wrote it so perfectly and made it really redeeming for the parents characters, even if Barty's dad was still a bit of a jerk. Regardless, you guys really pulled it off excellently and it was a joy to read. It was just so canon, and yet so creative at the same time, you made it your own, well done :)

I really loved the portrayal of Azkaban in this. I'm not just saying this, but I truly have not seen a finer example of the prison in any other fanfic I've read, it was just haunting and disturbing and exactly how it would've been from the inside. I'm sure Jo would've been extremely proud of the interpretation provided here :)

Only one more chapter to go... Aw... Dunno if I wanna read it or not, gunna get upset there isn't more to follow justyet lol... Ah well, off to read it I go, then bed, and tomorrow it's onto the graphics! :D Excellent work guys, so amazing!!!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Bobby Dazzler Dead Ends

8th September 2011:
Storms going away, thankg god! I might actualy get to catch up to the rest of you all tonight, yay! It's made for a wonderful few days of reading and the ideas for chapter images are just flowing fast and many through my head. I'll have to go image hunting tomorrow and see what I come up with so I can start making some graphics to go with these wonderful chapters you all have written :)

I'm seriously still so impressed by the effort you've all gone to to write this. I love how so many authors have joined forces, and yet for the most part it reads as if it was all written by the one person. That's talent right there guys, it's really, really clever and just seems so convincing, and yet there are just so many hard working people behind the scenes putting this all together. Absolutely marvellous guys, you're an inspiration! :)

I've been waiting for this chapter all series, the part where Barty goes to Azkaban and from now on, his story, although known from here on in thanks to the books, will be brought to life and the gaps filled in by our lovely talented 'Claw authors. I can't wait to see how it goes from here! I'm loving this story so much, it's just so different and interesting, very very well written and myserious! Off to read the next chapter, and hopefully the last one updated as well before I go to bed. Well done ladies! :) x

 Report Review

Review #38, by Bobby Dazzler Falling Apart

8th September 2011:
Oh wow, she ratted on him! I knew somehow he would've ended up caught, but Aurora dobbed him in?? Ouch! I like how she went via Flitwick, as if seeking his advice as well as informing him of where the guilty party would be. Barty's gunna be less than impressed when he finds out who ratted on them...

Another very nicely written chapter and I think I only found one spelling mistake this time. Unfortunately my review can't be long as the powers about to be cut in a storm lol, how wonderful... Another great chapter guys, excellent story work so far, I'm loving it and crying inside that it's nearly over (the published part, anyway lol). Loving it! :) x

 Report Review

Review #39, by Bobby Dazzler Drifting into the Deep

8th September 2011:
Oh, the plot thickens! I hate that I'm catching up with the chapters, means I'm gunna run out of story soon *tear* :(

There were only a few minor spelling mistakes in this one that I could pick up on, but it was so action packed and interesting from start to finish I'll forgive it lol. Poor Aurora, all she wanted was to be his friend... :( Boys, can't live with them...

I really loved the attack on the Longbottoms, and for my part I forgot that it took place after Voldemort's death. Might have to reread the books hehe... Been a while. I really enjoyed this chapter, so full of action and despair, really great read! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by Bobby Dazzler A Marked Man

8th September 2011:
Oh that was such a great chapter!! I'm sure that the mirror in question would be the Mirror of Erised, yes? Or something similar?? I love how Barty saw Aurora, not that of victory for himself or anything, it showed what he truly wanted even if he didn't admit to it and went ahead with becoming a Death Eater anyway. What a good little inclusion, I really liked that :)

And Voldemort's presence in this chapter, even if he didn't say a word, was haunting! I loved the slow revolution of his chair, that was a really strong image in my mind and definitely one that sent chills down my spine (rhyme! :P)

Another wonderful chapter and I just cannot get over the hard work and effort put into this story by you all, it's such a wonderful team effort, I'm so proud to be a 'Claw cuz you guys are genius'! :D Next chapter now!!!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Bobby Dazzler The Weighty Choice

7th September 2011:
Another excellent chapter guys! I really enjoyed it, the turning point in the story and the reason why Barty chose the life that he did. I thought it was excellent, very well written indeed and I did enjoy the quarral between Barty and his parents too, which forshadows later things in the story to come as well, no doubt.

Sorry for the short review, haven't had my morning coffee yet and words are escaping me, although it was another wonderful chapter :) Rock on 'Claws!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Bobby Dazzler The Point of No Return

7th September 2011:
Oh yes, I've been looking forward to this part all series! I absolutely LOVE that you guys have created a revenge plot regaring Barty and the Longbottom's! I think it's pure genius and really clever! It just adds something else to the story that - until I got to that part of the story - I had trouble figuring out how this chapter fit in with the rest of the story. Now I see why and I think it's bloody marvellous and very, very clever! I see it clearly now, ignore my momentary stupidity folks lol!

Such an action packed and interesting chapter, I loved the ending of this. It makes me wonder if Lysandra was a death eater, or if she was just in the wrong place at the wrong time. Oh I can't wait to find out! Next chapter!!!

 Report Review

Review #43, by NaidatheRavenclaw Chasing Freedom

7th September 2011:
Brilliant job as always, Claws! Thanks to PP for writing this for us: you really did an excellent job.

I love the idea of how Barty broke free in this. That the spell broke because of Aurora is both terrifying and beautiful at the same time. I was half expecting Aurora not to come back at all, so to have her in this way was absolutely perfect. And it was great to see that Barty still had some love in him.

One little thing though, Barty stole Harry's wand; he didn't have his own. I think somewhere, it said "his wand" or "my wand", and you never mentioned him taking it. But that's really no big deal!

Can't believe we're almost 3/4 of the way done! Loving it as always, Claws!
-Naida

 Report Review

Review #44, by Bobby Dazzler The Year of the Broom Closet

7th September 2011:
Oh, mysterious! I do so enjoy a good mystery, and what on earth were they doing in the broom closet that, unless mistaken, would be of similar purpose to what Barty and Aurora were up to. Very confusing and yet interesting. One makes you think they're making out, the other makes you think that Barty was being branded, and both could be completely wrong and misleading. I like it, very confusing... Nice work.

I'm loving how this story is unfolding and I'm sorry this review isn't as long as some of my previous ones, but quite frankly I'm sure you're all sick and tired of me repeating myself and I want to play catch up as much as I can and get started on some graphics to accompany some of these chapters that are feeling kind of lonely... :( Off to read the next one, keep up the good work 'Claws!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Bobby Dazzler Curiouser and Curiouser

7th September 2011:
Back again! :)

Another very enjoyable chapter to add to the many before it. I'm really enjoying how this story is unfolding. It just goes to show the sheer amount of effort you all put into it. I'm kind of upset that there are so few reviews to the following chapters... It's sad because the numbers definitely dont reflect the effort put in behind the scenes in creating this very unique and interesting story. I wish more people would review, definitely gunna have to join the bandwagon to get people to review some more! :)

I wonder if the other houses have put in as much effort as you all have and created their own stories... Doubt they'd be as good as us Ravenclaws though lol, kidding... or am I? :P

Another extremely well written and enjoyable chapter. I love the slow progression into darkness that Barty's making. Kinda reminds me of, (dare I say it on HPFF??) Star Wars *GASP!*

But still, you know what I'm saying by that, of the slow progression and events that can change a persons views from good to evil, even unwillingly. It just happens. I love how that's been captured in this chapter. I really can't get over how well everyone's doing at continuing the plotline despite the multiple authors. I reckon you all deserve a gold star just for that effort alone, well done :)

Next chapter now, very enjoyable so far guys, can't wait to see where things go from here!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Bobby Dazzler Reaching Out

7th September 2011:
These cliffhangers will be the death of me... it's all ok atm while there are still more chapters to read, but god forbid I get to the end before the story is finished! I'll be driving everyone nuts in the house demanding to know wht happens next lol.

I'm really loving the simultanious storylines going on here, I think they've been carried through effortlessly and intertwined seemlessly! It's very impressive and a very useful story technique for dual plotlines. I think you guys are doing an excellent job constructing this story, it's just such a delight to read. So cleverly written :)

Things are going to get very interesting from now on I do believe, the transformation has started, he's starting to shy away from Aurora and the darkness is creeping into the plot. I love how it actually seems like there's a cloud starting to move across the page as the story continues, bringing about the darker side of Barty's character that he grows into as an adult. It's very interesting how it's starting to unfold :)

Only a few very slight spelling errors in this chapter, otherwise absolutely marvellous! Off to read the next chapter, can't wait to read it! :D

 Report Review

Review #47, by Bobby Dazzler Finding Friends

7th September 2011:
Oh the suspense, how evil! I'm definitely noticing a pattern here regarding the ending lol. I find it both entertaining and different. I just like the contrast of Flitwick and Helena just talking about Barty's life as if they were having a nice afternoon tea, rather than amidst the rubble of the castle after the battle. That just amuses me a little, must be my warped sense of humour at the irony of it sneaking in hehe...

Another great chapter 'Claws, I'm finding this story extremely enjoyable and I must commend each and every one of you for all the hard work you've gone through to bring it to life! Collabs are hard at the best of times, let alone on such a large scale as this is! I think you've all done a marvellous job thus far, well done! *hands out cookies!*

Now the chapter itself... :D I think I noticed only one (possibly two?) spelling mistakes, but otherwise it was absolutely perfect. I love this undeveloped relationship forming between Aurora and Barty. I say undeveloped cuz I'm sure they're going to be paired up in the future chapters. But as it stands, their friendship at age 14/15 is really well written, it's both casual and hinting at that slightly awkward adolecent stage. I think it's been very well adapted to the story, nice work!

Oh, I wish i could stay here talking about this chapter forever but I'm sure that everyone knows it's a knock out one, and there are many more to follow and I can't wait to read them, so cutting this review a little short, I'm off to read the next chapter! Go 'Claws! :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by June Knight Chasing Freedom

6th September 2011:
10/10 for a full Ravenclaw effort :) I want to help write a chapter but I'm not very good xD

 Report Review

Review #49, by Bobby Dazzler Initial Intelligence

6th September 2011:
Back again! :)

Very interesting chapter and I thought it was written marvellously! It carried on with the plot from the first chapter seemlessly (as seen with the ending of this chapter), and yet brought so much more to the table with the introduction of Barty's character and life during his time at school. I thought his boyhood characterisation was fantastic and I'm so looking forward to seeing how Barty written on the page above becomes the Barty from within the books, I can't wait for the transformation, I'm sure it will be excellent and well worth the read!

The description within this chapter was beautiful as well and I loved the interaction between Barty and Flitwick in particular, although I did like the inclusion of Barty having a more "human" side I suppose and helping others around him who needed it. I just like how it contrasts his character in the book and I really hope already that we see Barty turn on the likes of Gary, for example, in his fall into darkness. I'm sure you all have something up your sleeves!!! :)

Off to read the next chapter, wonderful so far! :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by Bobby Dazzler Prologue

6th September 2011:
Hello guys! Thought I'd get started reading this wonderful collab fic all the clever people in Ravenclaw have managed to put together, kudos to you all for such a wonderful effort thus far, I'm sure it'll be great given how many chapters I've still got to read, and I hope I can be of some assistance along the way, even if I'm a little late to the party, lol :)

First chapter was really interesting, I thought it was very different having it start off with Flitwick and Helena, and then trail off to be about a completely different character and his life at school. How unique and surprising, I quite liked that. To the author of this chapter, you set up a different way about bringing the plot into the story and I quite liked it, very clever indeed :)

I'm eagarly looking forward to the next chapter so I'm very sorry this review is a bit on the short side (I might also have stopped to make a chapter image for it before actually posting this review too lol, sorry...), but aside for a few small grammatical errors still remaining, I found the flow of this chapter very nice and engaging for the reader, well done!

Can't wait to read the next one, go 'Claws! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>