Reading Reviews for Behind the Mask
  
121 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Girldetective85 Late Night Meetings

24th September 2009:
Wow! Holden was so decent to confess that much to Lauren. Unfortunately he also told her a lie (about not liking Alyssa at all) because if he didn't like her, he wouldn't even have given her a chance at friendship. Poor Lauren, I can definitely feel for her and you write her insecurities so well. She reacted exactly the way anyone could react - sort of cautious and nervous at the same time. I really hope Holden's feelings for Alyssa don't change with time, but who knows? She seems devious enough to try to win him over and the fact that he gets to her sometimes proves how much she likes him, no matter what she might say to her friends. This is great Leslie, keep writing!

Author's Response: Ah, but maybe Holden is just too nice of a guy to turn down anyone, no matter how awful they are to others ;). And I'm so happy that you found Lauren's reactions and insecurities to be sincere, that really means a lot because I am really trying to make the characters seem as real as I can. As for Holden's feelings for Alyssa changing as time progresses, well, I don't think that's going to mess with any chances he has with whoever he hands up with xD. Thanks so much for reviewing, Jules, I really appreciate you're opinions and the feedback that you give me.

xD Leslie


 Report Review

Review #27, by Girldetective85 Friendship

24th September 2009:
Ugh no Holden no!! LOL No secret friendship with Alyssa. This poor guy - I have a feeling things might blow up in his face after this. His friends will be appalled at the friendship if they ever find out and I know that Lauren will be really upset if she discovers that Alyssa is Holden's Masquerade Girl. I wonder why Holden gave her a chance - I suppose he's nice and he also felt something between them, but I feel like it's just physical attraction and the fact that the two of them were playing some kind of twisted game. Gah! The tension is building!

Author's Response: heheh, I'm glad you're still enjoying the story xD And things are only going to get more twisted from here... -attempts to whistle- It's times like these I wish I could whistle. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Girldetective85 Atop the Astronomy Tower

24th September 2009:
Hi Leslie! Sorry I haven't been reviewing in a while :) I'm taking a break from validating and getting back to some reading, and I just now saw your request from months before! I'm so excited that this next chapter has finally come up and it did not disappoint! I was very worried that Holden and Alyssa would not meet because of that nosy Natalie. But I'm glad that Holden had the presence of mind to think of a way around it. And now he finally knows that his Masquerade Girl is none other than Alyssa, who spread horrible rumors about his friends. She sure has a lot of nerve, asking him not to hate her for what she did and looking so smug and confident. I don't blame Holden for leaving! I wonder what will happen next... it seems as though Alyssa will not get what she wants after all. Yay because I want Holden to end up with Lauren!!

Author's Response: Yes, Holden does have quite a sharp mind with working around something or in this case, someone. And I'm still not saying who Holden will end up with... lots to come. ;)

Thanks so much for the review, Jules! It was just what I needed after the very long weekend that I've had.


 Report Review

Review #29, by V.H. Atop the Astronomy Tower

23rd May 2009:
LOVE IT! i prefer alyssa soo soo soo much than to lauren! pls let holden and alyssa end up together!

Author's Response: Ah, well, there\\\'s still plenty to come before Holden chooses. And I\\\'ll never tell who he ends up with... hahah! Thanks for reviewing, I really do appreciate it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Labby Atop the Astronomy Tower

17th May 2009:
Of course he had to go see her and of course he reacted that way. Poor Alyssa. Still not sure if I like her or not, but it still sucks to be judged on something she did before without really getting to know her. I know she'll keep fighting for him though and that he's probably going to eventually warm up to her.. if there's something there, she's probably going to be able to get through to him. I really liked how Holden made sure not to meet up with her in front of Chow. Of course he wouldn't want Lauren to know, but I do wonder if Chow found out anyway. She does seem to be particularly bright in the snooping department. Anyway, great chapter again, and I'm looking forward to more and seeing how it develops from here!

Author's Response: Ah, see Natalie Chow doesn\\\'t find out about Alyssa being the MG here, but she will be the one to find out and spread the news... or will she??? I will never tell, hahah! Anyway, there will be more to come of the unbeknown triangle of Alyssa/Holden/Lauren. And again, thanks for reviewing! ;)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Labby Lost in Thoughts

17th May 2009:
I'm so sorry for taking about two months to read this, but I'm finally catching up! I really missed reading this story, and I'm glad I have some chapters to catch up on! This was a great chapter as usual. Holden's got some conflicting feelings there, doesn't he? I really have been annoyed at the MG, but hearing a bit more of her story gives her more character and makes me like her better. Even if she seems kind rude on the she always gets what she wants thing, it seems to go with her character and how she was raised, and I do kind of like her. But I also like Holden and Lauren. I have a feeling that he's going to end up going to talk to her and that's going to create a lot of tension in the relationship. I guess I have to keep reading!

Author's Response: Yes, you will definitely see more of Alyssa, but you\\\'ll also see a lot of Holden and Lauren to come, too. I\\\'m glad that you\\\'re still enjoying the story, and thanks for reviewing! xD

 Report Review

Review #32, by TwilightPrincess Atop the Astronomy Tower

3rd May 2009:
Hi there! Ilia here from TGS to fulfill your request. Sorry it's taken me so long. Real life has been kicking my ass lately.

Oh, yes. I remember this story. =)

The plot in this is very interesting by itself, but what enhances it is the shining personalities of your characters. I feel that most of the time they are like they are real people, walking around and interacting. You also have a good sense of suspense, as demonstrated in this line: He would pull the girl into the classroom when she walked by, and then he would finally discover her identity. That line alone is very powerful. Simple, but it keeps readers paying attention. By reading this, you've intrigued us. We know that when that time comes, it will be exciting ^_^

I'll admit that when the mask business started happening in this story, I wasn't liking it. I figured it would be similar to all the other Masquerade stories, and in general, I think doing something like that is very overdone and kind of like cheating. But I've never actually read a story where the second main character physically takes off the mask of the first main character, and I must say, that was one of the most suspenseful moments in fanfiction I've ever read. You handled it beautifully and I could tell that you thought about this moment a lot. Brilliant.

Ah, this story is so good. I really like the plot, but more than that I like the way you're writing it. You're a very thoughtful writer, I can tell. You're doing great.

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Hey Ilia! I'm so happy that you still like the story, and am uberly happy that you found my characters realistic and enjoyable. And that you liked the whole suspense of Holden finally discovering MG's identity out.

I also am quite happy to hear that this story is different as opposed to all the other overdone Masquerade fanfictions there are on the site. It definitely relieves me that the plot is more original than the others. And I did think about how I wanted her to reveal herself to Holden... quite a lot, actually. I thought of different scenes and in the end I thought this one worked out best as it fit the characters better.

Thanks so much for another fantastic, and thorough, review! I really do appreciate it, and I'll definitely be requesting another review when I update ;)


 Report Review

Review #33, by The Empress Discovered

15th April 2009:
I knew it!! I knew she was going to be Daphne's daughter! I'm feeling very smug right now. :D That will really make things interesting. I can't wait to see what happens! I'd feel bad for Lauren if Holden leaves her for Alyssa, but I really want Alyssa to get together with him too. *sigh* That's great though, you've written it so well I can't decide whom he'll choose, or whom I'd prefer. Great chapter!
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Oh, the choices to be made here! Even though I already know who Holden is going to choose... but I'm not telling :P Heh, thanks, it makes me so happy that you can't decide who Holden will end up picking, it means that my plan to string readers along and then shock them is working. Hahah! Thanks for another fabulous review, hun!

 Report Review

Review #34, by The Empress Gossip and Emotions

15th April 2009:
Who is she? The suspense is killing me Leslie! But in a good way. ;) Great chapter hun, loved it.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: La de da da! I'm glad to read that you're still interesting and enjoying the story ;)

 Report Review

Review #35, by The Empress Secrets 101

15th April 2009:
Oooh, cliffhanger! Yay, I love it. :) Great chapter Leslie. You write so well! I like the twist with Lauren, I'll be interested to see how things work out. He really seems to like her, and she likes him, and she's a very nice girl, just no the masquerade girl. And pictures? What will happen next!!
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Of course, I love leaving off with a good cliffhanger every now and again. It lets me know how many people are still reading because more than not that's the way to get readers to respond to your story by leaving a review. I just love building up the suspense, heheh. Thanks for another exciting review, you're awesome hon!

 Report Review

Review #36, by The Empress Search for Masquerade Girl

15th April 2009:
Mmm... great! I love the idea, of the two boys doing that for Holden. :D Awesome chapter dearie!
And I'm realyyy curious! Who is she?
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Hmm... you'll find out in the next chapter or so... Anyway, thanks bunches for another review, Shiloh!

 Report Review

Review #37, by The Empress New Year's Masquerade

15th April 2009:
Leslie! I loved it. :D Sorry it took me so long to come back and finish reviewing. Life has been absolutely crazy!
Anyhoo...
My favorite part was definitely Holden and the mysterious girl. I can't wait to find out who she is! Awesome chapter hun.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: It's alright, life's been kind of hectic for me, too, so I completely understand. I'm glad to read you're still enjoying the story, and thanks again! As for the mysterious girl's identity, well you'll find out soon enough ;)

 Report Review

Review #38, by The Empress Eventful Holiday

9th April 2009:
Another excellent chapter Leslie. :D
I love how you introduced Holden, that was so well done! And the interacting between him and James really gave insight into their friendship. I feel so bad for him. :( But it'll all work out!!! Right?
Once again, I love your use of description. Great work hon!
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Yay, thanks for another lovely review! I have so much fun writing this story... and it's just torture that all the assignments for my classes have been taking up basically all of my free time, leaving me to only dream of writing when the semester is over after next week. Anyway, I'm rambling so I guess I should stop here... thanks again =)

 Report Review

Review #39, by The Empress Start of the Holidays

9th April 2009:
Leslie! Sorry it took me so long dear. :) But I am here with your review at last!
I love the character Marisol! I have to confess, I hadn't read the story before this yet, but I'm glad I went back to it. I was just going to read the first and last chapters to get a feel for what was going on here, but I got hooked and read the whole thing. ;) I'll go back and review it when I've got the time.
Okay, so I love Marisol. I also like how you've thrown some Spanish in there every so often. It gives it a very nice feeling to your writing, as if I'm looking down on the characters and watching rather than just reading. Your descriptions are so wonderful! I particularly like those. Anyone I've reviewed for knows I plug for showing statements, not telling, and you did that so well!
I think my favorite part was the scene with the Potter family and the chess game. It gives great insight into their family and I really liked it.
I can't wait to read the rest! Great work hon
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the awesome review! I'm glad that you are enjoying the story already, and am even more happy that you like my descriptions in this story. Sometimes I worry if I don't write enough, or if I write too much, so it's always great to read that I'm doing a good job with the descriptions. Thanks again, Shiloh!

 Report Review

Review #40, by SilverShadow04 Start of the Holidays

13th March 2009:
A real nice start and your main character is unique I like that she is Spanish since I'm half Spanish so I understood the words! There usually isn't much difference in nationalities with OCs so I am glad that you went different with yours.

Sandy

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad to that you're enjoying the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Girldetective85 Lost in Thoughts

10th March 2009:
Ugh a cliff-hanger!! You know, I really wanted to smack Holden. LOL. Obviously he's curious as to the identity of Masquerade Girl. Why not tell Lauren that even though he likes her and wants to be with her, he's also dying to know who his secret admirer is? If I were him, I would even offer her a chance to come along. The note never said he had to come alone, right? ;) Then Lauren could find out who it was and chaperone, Holden would finally be at peace, and Alyssa would finally get a clue that no matter how much she wants Holden, he should be with Lauren. But things are never that simple right!? This builds up the drama so much better :D I can't wait to see what happens on the Astronomy Tower because I feel sure that even though Holden said no, he's going up there anyway. I'm not saying he's not a gentleman of honor (LOL) but even gentlemen of honor get curious. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Heheh, don't we all feel like smacking guys every now and again? =P And perhaps he's just scared that she'll take it the wrong way, but then again, maybe he'll end up telling Lauren before the time of the meeting that he really only wants to find out who it is... then again, since when have I wrote things the easy way without avoiding all of the drama ;)

Heheh, I'm so close to finishing chapter 12 that I am literally getting antsy because I haven't had as much time to write anymore of it to finish the chapter because I was a lot busier than I thought I was going to be for spring break last week. And then this week I have been super busy getting all my assignments completed and turned in. And next week is also another busy week for me because I have more to turn in, but hopefully I'll have chapter 12 finished by next weekend and be able to post it then. Thanks again for reviewing, and I'm sorry that it took me a month to respond to it ;)


 Report Review

Review #42, by Acompletemarauder Lost in Thoughts

10th March 2009:
It was a good chapter. I am very curious to know whether Holden meets Alyssa or not, and I really feel bad for Alyssa, for her insecurity with men.
As for the chapter title, I guess, "Lost in thoughts" is a bit better than just "Thoughts".

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad that you liked it, and also I appreciate the chapter title suggestion. I've chosen "Lost in Thoughts" and I gave you credit in the Chapter Summary on the story contents page. Thanks again ;)

 Report Review

Review #43, by charmfacee Lost in Thoughts

6th March 2009:
gahh i was so pumped for the Holden + MG meeting =.="
NOW I HAVE TO WAIT ANOTHER CHAPTER :( :(
LOL oh well, its worth the wait :D
nd i know i've already expressed my hatred towards lauren beefore, but i shall do it again :) - lauren should go sie somewhere :D
i cant wait for the next chapterr :)
and good job on this chap!
xxcharm

Author's Response: Okay, I'll try to have the next chapter completed, but it probably won't be until Spring break because I have a lot on my plate for my classes at the moment. And my Spring break isn't until March 30th-April 5th.

Oh, come on, be nice to Lauren. She isn't the one standing in the way between Holden and MG, but rather the one standing in the way is Holden himself because he is overthinking everything instead of just choosing to go meet her. Well, you'll see in the next chapter what he decides to do ;) Thanks for reviewing again, I really appreciate your reviews as they make me laugh, even when I am having a long and tiring day =)


 Report Review

Review #44, by wolverine83 Lost in Thoughts

6th March 2009:
I really hope that Holden goes to meet Alyssa because I think it will make the story much more interesting

Author's Response: You'll see, it's a mystery ;) Thanks so much for reviewing, I really appreciated it!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Girldetective85 One More Note

3rd March 2009:
Ugh I really don't like Alyssa. She seems to just want attention and she can't stand it that Holden has gotten tired of playing games and has found someone else to be with. I'm glad she's going to finally reveal herself to him because it's about time they ended the game. I hope Holden picks Lauren because she really does seem to care for him genuinely. And I hope Holden is smart enough to know which girl is best for him! Can't wait to see what happens. You write a mean Quidditch match by the way! Keep up the great work and let me know when you update! *huggles*

Author's Response: *huggles back*

Thanks so much, I'm glad you're still enjoying the story. As for Alyssa, well, you find out a bit more about her in Ch. 11, which is now posted as of a few minutes ago ;) Which I had fun writing, if that tells you anything. And I'm happy to read that you liked the Quidditch match because I was wondering how readers would take it that I didn't go too into it since I was writing it from Lauren's point of view and she isn't much of a Quidditch fanatic as the others are. Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Girldetective85 Frustrations

3rd March 2009:
Phew! I'm so glad Holden and Lauren got back together, I was scared there for a moment. They are adorable together and I hope Masquerade Girl stays quiet like this and doesn't ruin it. I feel as though she and Holden had some good chemistry together, but Holden and Lauren are a real couple. I can definitely understand Lauren's insecurity about the whole thing though. It would be kind of weird if your boyfriend had had another girl that he met at a party and might still be wondering about her. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Of course they're still together... or for now anyway ;) My lips are sealed. I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter, and thanks for reviewing! It's very much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Labby One More Note

26th February 2009:
Haha.. I loved Lauren's analyzation of the Quidditch game. She can't quite grasp what's so good about it, and I loved how she zoned in and out thinking about Holden and the Masquarade girl and all of that again. She's definitely worried, but I wonder if Holden would even betray her. I still am not a huge fan of Alyssa.. so now we know she's a Scorpius relative too.. I'm guessing Daphne's daughter. Guess we'll be finding more about her soon. Great chapter and I look forward to more as usual!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're still enjoying the story! I had fun writing Lauren in this chapter because she's not much of a Quidditch fan, in yet she's dating a Quidditch player :P I also enjoy writing her worries because Lauren is just a natural worrier, and it makes sense for her to worry about losing Holden to a girl that she doesn't even know, yet a girl that Holden may have feelings for based on one night. And you will definitely learn more about Alyssa in the upcoming chapters. I am close to being halfway through the next chapter and am planning on having Alyssa's point of view in it, and how she feels about the meet-up that she's scheduled atop the Astronomy Tower. Thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Georgia Weasley Discovered

24th February 2009:
Will Alyssa tell him, or won't she? Will Marisol keep the secret? Will Jazzy proclaim all over school that Holden has the wrong girl? dun-dun-dun!
Sorry, just needed the drama effect. :) Marisol does have a slight issue, doesn't she? I think I'd go with keeping my mouth shut and waiting to see what happens. I wouldn't want to be the reason a couple split up, either.
Fred has violated one of the 'Guy Rules'. You don't date an ex. Period. That ought to put a strain on their relationship.
Well done.

Author's Response: You'll just have to see... it won't be too much longer before the plot really starts to unravel ;) As for Fred, well, he and James will work it all out eventually after not talking for a few chapters. You know how guys are ;) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Georgia Weasley Gossip and Emotions

24th February 2009:
It isn't Lauren's fault that Holden doesn't believe her. She tried to tell him! It is a little superficial of him if he drops her so suddenly when he discovers she's not Masquerade Girl after all. Does Lauren really think it will be so simple for him to do that? I hope not.
Marisol is so easily distracted from her mission! Not that I blame her when James is around. Let's see--snog a cute boy who loves you, or listen in to some Slytherin girls gossip? not a hard choice, is it? Nice chapter!

Author's Response: Well you know how dense guys can be some times when it comes to girls that they like; and clueless :P

As for Marisol being distracted by James, I hadn't really planned on it happening that way but when the little plot decoy popped into my head I just had to write it that way. I just could see Marisol being distracted by James sneaking up on her, and then ending up snogging. Thanks again for reviewing! =)


 Report Review

Review #50, by Georgia Weasley Secrets 101

24th February 2009:
Wrong girl! Holden! Oh well, if he's happy then what's the difference, I guess. Unfortunately, the git with the camera is going to make life difficult, aren't they? I'm interested to see where all this is going to go.

Author's Response: Hmm... you'll just have to wait in see, now won't you? ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>