Reading Reviews for A Year of Change
  
133 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ShieldWolf Suprises!

27th January 2012:
I Dunno if it's just me but the chapters seem out of order cause the last chapter didn't make sense and this one really confused me

Author's Response: I haven't read my first few chapters in a while so i don't really remember what i had in them but i do know they weren't very good. However i swear they get a whole lot better. I started this when i was in 7th or 8th grade and now im a senior so i've matured and gained a lot more expierience/knowledge. Just push through to the next few chapters and i promise it'll be worth it:D!! thanks for the review, im gladd you told me what you thought. I will try and go back one day and fix everythingg:]

 Report Review

Review #27, by ms simone Happy New Years!

22nd January 2012:
love it!!! love that draco show up!! what going to happen next?

Author's Response: You'll just have to keep reading!! I posted the next chapter yesterday so once it gets validated you'll find out!:]

 Report Review

Review #28, by Kon Weasley Happy New Years!

3rd January 2012:
Great! Much better chapter and I loved the twist! I love how this story is progressing and I would appreciate it if you continued to write amazing chapters! Please can you get the next chapter up as soon as it is ready- no pressure because I know how hard it is to write a good chapter AND get it posted in time to please all of the readers! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Aw yeah i'm sooo sorry I take so long to post. I am almost done with the next chapter I'm just not sure how to end it:/ so once i figure out all that good stuff it will be up:D

 Report Review

Review #29, by Jakumo1 Happy New Years!

18th December 2011:
So let me get this strait... Draco and Ginny are like... together right? Like officially, without a doubt together? ...Tell me more! XD

Author's Response: ummm i never said that!;] Just wait, you'll see soon!:D

 Report Review

Review #30, by Jakumo1 Weasley is our Queen

18th December 2011:
Even Karaoke at Hogwarts would surprise me! XD

Author's Response: I know it's difference but come on, I could definitely see Dumbledore doing something like this:] Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by thelovinspoonful Suprises!

28th November 2011:
Okay, now things make a little more sense. You can rearrange the order of chapters under the manage stories page on your account, btw. I think you've written Ginny's reasoning and reactions to the changes fairly well. I liked how you pointed out that if she stayed in Gryffindor she would just be the youngest Weasley, whereas if she moved into Slytherin, she really had a chance to develop herself. That was well played.

However, I was really confused about Harry. In the first chapter you made it sound as if he was pining after Ginny, and now, on the way to Dumbledore's office, he's got his heart set (a little distastefully) on Cho - but is checking to make sure Ginny still has a crush on him? That could use a little straightening out. Another point was the sudden introduction of skipping grades... I'm not sure if I missed that information, or if you didn't mention it until Ron and Harry got back to the common room. There's a lot, lot of drastic changes going on so far, and it's getting a little difficult to keep track of what's going on.

Author's Response: The whole Harry thing was one of my biggest mess-ups. When I wrote this chapter I didn't really pay attention to what had happened in the first one so I contradicted myself and it's just a mess. I never went back to fix it and i should but as I said in my first review response I really don't have much time.
I'm glad you liked Ginny's reaction and thank you again for this review. I do truly appreciate it:]


 Report Review

Review #32, by thelovinspoonful Anger manegment and Family issues

28th November 2011:
I think you accidentally cut out a big chunk of story in this chapter. But if I understand right, the surprise was that everyone was being resorted for some indefinite amount of time and Ginny was put into Slytherin? But why are the 'major' Slytherin characters still in Slytherin? The expectation would be that some of them would have been changed or chose to change as well. It sounds like a unique twist, but it would be much easier to follow with the explanation of how the switch is working.

Grammar wise, the most disconcerting mistakes are the capitalization issues (don't forget that the Burrow is a distinct place - the name of the Weasley's home!), homophones (to, too; their, there, they're; etc), and possessive/plural mistakes (Ron's ball is a ball belonging to Ron and noted with an apostrophe. The Weasleys are made up of 7 people and are therefore plural.). The only other consistant issue was dialogue format. There were (again) some capitalization issues, but there were also formatting errors and basic dialogue grammar errors. If a spoken line is followed with a he said/she muttered/whatever indicating the speaker spoke, the last sentence should be punctuated with a comma inside the quotations (unless it's a question, in which case a question mark is acceptable). Ex: "The cat was black," he said. If the line following the spoken bit is a complete sentence and unrelated to who spoke the dialogue, you can punctuate with a period inside the quotation marks. "The cat ran out in front of me." John threw his hands in the air.

To help sort out confusion over who is speaking and who is responding in some of these paragraphs, you might re-read and put actions that belong to a different character in thier own paragraph. I'm going to try to give you an example, because I know that is a very vague sounding trick.
"Well, I guess I just don't understand then."
Susie flipped her hair in Mary's face. "I suppose not." She smiled cruelly.
Mary turned her eyes down, unable to find anything else to say.
"Buhbye, now," Susie said, flaunting past Mary with one last triumphant hair flip.
Mary smiled as Susie tripped over the foot she'd stuck into Susie's path.

I think you've got a good start going. If you need any help or have any questions over the critique, feel free to pm me on the forums - my name is the same as my pen name.

Author's Response: Oh wow I am astonished by this comment. I know my grammar is not great and i have some small plot holes. I'm both ecstatic and annoyed that you noticed them:p I love that you aren't just scanning the story but actually looking deeper into it. I started writing this story in 8th grade and now I am a senior and to be honest I truly wish I could go back and edit all of the chapters and fix all of my mistakes but i don't have the patience or the time. I've gone through 3 betas with this story, the first two stopped being betas after my first ten chapters and the third one just never did anything. If you are interested in maybe being a beta for me, let me know. I would love to have someone go through and help correct my grammar mistakes. I know there are a lot. Thank you for this review:D

 Report Review

Review #33, by JayyBee1223 Christmas with the Weaselys

11th September 2011:
I love this story and this chapter was great! I can't wait for the next one :)

Author's Response: thank you, the next one will be out soon:D

 Report Review

Review #34, by angel Train Ride

4th September 2011:
i like this story already

Author's Response: im glad to hear that! Thank you:D!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Kon Weasley Christmas with the Weaselys

3rd September 2011:
Not your best, but it was fantastic! Can't wait for the next chapter!!!

Author's Response: thank you for your honesty! I wasn't really fond of it either. Don't worry the next one is a lot better and will be up shortly:]

 Report Review

Review #36, by Kon Weasley Goodnight Ginevra

3rd September 2011:
Amazing! Brilliant twist with the mysterious guy. Love it!

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Kon Weasley A Promise is a Promise

3rd September 2011:
Cool. Really enjoyed the chapter! K x

Author's Response: thanks!!!:]

 Report Review

Review #38, by Kon Weasley Weasley is our Queen

3rd September 2011:
Again, a fantastic chapter! Brilliant!

Author's Response: thank you soo much!:D

 Report Review

Review #39, by Kon Weasley Sod off

3rd September 2011:
Awesome. Love it! Kon x

Author's Response: im happy you liked it! Thank you for the review:]

 Report Review

Review #40, by Kon Weasley The Aftermath

3rd September 2011:
Great follow up to the previous chapter.

x Kon x

Author's Response: thank you!:D

 Report Review

Review #41, by Kon Weasley Sweet Dreams

3rd September 2011:
Strange twist, very intersting though!

Author's Response: I love all of your reviews, thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Kon Weasley Try outs

3rd September 2011:
Reasons why I love this story:
1) Awesome plot

1,000,000,000,000) I'm not going to list any more because you'll get bored and quite frankly I think you get the point. I love it.

Author's Response: Wow that is soo sweeet. I actually wouldn't get bored ahahah but i do get the point, thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Kon Weasley Lesson one on being a Slytherin

3rd September 2011:
Awww. Poor Ginny! I'm a Dramione fan, but I love this 'Drinny' story. It's the first one of this pairing that I've liked. Love it!!

Author's Response: I've read a few dramione fics but Drinnys def my fav. thank you so much that is the best compliment i could ever get:D!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Kon Weasley A little too perfect...

1st September 2011:
Brilliant yet again. I'd be grateful if you could check out my stories; It would mean a lot to me!

Author's Response: Thank you! I will defintly do that!:D

 Report Review

Review #45, by Kon Weasley Quiditch Match

1st September 2011:
Cool chapter. I really enjoy your story and I'm certain that a lot of people feel the same way!

Author's Response: thank you so much! That means a lot!!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Kon Weasley Starts with a fight ends with a...?

1st September 2011:
Aweome yet again. Loved the dueling scene. I'd have loved to teach malfoy a lesson- but not the kissing part. Ginny played well.

Author's Response: aw i'm glad you liked it! ahah would love to teach him a lesson and to kisss himXD thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Kon Weasley You've gone too far.

31st August 2011:
Yet again an awesome chapter. I had no hesitation to turn it into one of my favourites!

Author's Response: That means a lot:] Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Kon Weasley Making friends

31st August 2011:
Awesome. I think Ron just feels it's his duty to protect her because without Ginny, he'd be the bottom rung of the ladder in their family. Sorry, I'm a massive Ron lover and I'll defend him like a shot. Brilliant chapter though! X

Author's Response: I love Ron too but I can't help but feel he's a bit too over protective some times. But i like your thoughts on it! Thank you!:]

 Report Review

Review #49, by Kon Weasley Anger manegment and Family issues

31st August 2011:
Cool. Love the story, even though I don't think she should be in Slytherin.

Author's Response: It might be weird but i prefer that you don't think she should be in Slytherin because if you still like the story even after that it means I must be doing something right:] I hope that made sense ahah but thanks for the review:]

 Report Review

Review #50, by lunylucy Christmas with the Weaselys

22nd August 2011:
one word... AMAZING xoxo

Author's Response: aw thank you so much!!!:D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>