Reading Reviews for Muggle Studies
  
190 Reviews Found

Review #51, by Alex Webs iPod Injuries

16th March 2013:
u should b a famous writer

Author's Response: THANKS VERY MUCH :)

 Report Review

Review #52, by Hope's Mom A Good sport

15th March 2013:
Another (mostly) positive outcome for Archie - is his luck finally turning. He even got a public kiss (on the cheek) from his purported secret wife Professor Scrivenshaft. The Hunger games references made me laugh out loud as did the James Bond bit. So funny... Thanks for the new chapter.

Author's Response: The James bond bit was my favourite. Here's me cracking up over my computer screen feeling really pleased with myself... oh well. Thanks for the lovely review! :D

 Report Review

Review #53, by Rumbleroar goes roar Regular Dom-foolery

15th March 2013:
Hahaha as hilarious as always! Loved this so much! Archie is so my favorite :3

Author's Response: Thanks! I love Archie, b'awwhhh. He's a cutie :D

 Report Review

Review #54, by academica A Bunch of Crushing Disappointments

11th March 2013:
Hello! Here from Team Blue for the Review Battle!

I love how you took an event as simple as a student asking to transfer classes and pumped it full of life. What could have been sort of a boring conversation was funny and easy to follow, and I liked seeing Archibald's head spin as he tried to keep his students from getting at each other's throats.

Speaking of Archibald, the characterization is great. I like how working with so few students allows him to get each of them down to a science. It was interesting to get his take on the lackluster pupils in his class--and thank goodness someone brought up the McDonald's connection, because it was sitting in the front of my mind the whole time.

I noticed a few minor typos and punctuation errors, but nothing too big. Overall, it flowed quite nicely.

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

Archibald is one of my favourite character-characterisations of all time, just because he's so world weary and lovely... and it makes my day everytime I hear someone else likes my Archie too.

This was a really fun chapter to write so I'm really glad you liked it! And I'll be sure to actually go back over this chapter and edit it soon :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #55, by alicia and anne Compulsions and Convulsions

27th February 2013:
I love that Archie is doing anything he can to avoid the head teachers office :D
Seriously Helen these names are hilarious! I love that the wizards are naming their children this without realising :D
The students are pretty crazy, I blame it on having to deal with their names.
Go Archie telling James off! *snaps fingers sassily*
Will a lesson or activity ever go smoothly?

Author's Response: I genuinely just have a book of stupid name for Muggle Studies. And then I sit there scrolling through the lexicon going 'do any of these magical surnames have potential?' and then that's my lifffe.

i doubt smooth is on the agenda :')


 Report Review

Review #56, by alicia and anne A Bunch of Crushing Disappointments

27th February 2013:
I love the character names so much! How do you come up with them all to have those specific names?
Have you ever seen Greg Davies live stand up? Archie makes me think of him so much, when Greg talks about when he used to teach.
I love seeing a story from a teachers point of view :D
Can't wait to reread more of your awesome story!

Author's Response: I have not seen such a thing! I think I may have to actually look him up though, because I reaally love Archie so it's always nice to think that he ha a real life inclination somewhere.

Thank you, Tammi! :D


 Report Review

Review #57, by alicia and anne iPod Injuries

27th February 2013:
I really thought that I had reviewed this story a lot more then I actually have so I'm leaving my reviews now and rereading your awesome story :D
That was a very entertaining first lesson. No other lesson would have been that fun!
I love that Goliath has been tied to a chair, Archie really can't leave the students alone for a few minutes can he?
I love Fred and Dom's chapter so I can't wait to reread them again :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Reviews are always appreciated, of course. I don't know why he EVER thought leaving them was a remotely good idea, but I don't suppose he had a great deal of choice in the matter. Stil.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #58, by Hope's Mom Regular Dom-foolery

26th February 2013:
Poor Archie - hiding from his own students. It seems likely that more teachers might actually like to do this but can't. I am amazed that not only are there more than one brand of dung bombs but that Archie can differentiate between them - such talent! I am amused that Archie considered his Boons and Mills collection to be "fine literature". If I haven't mentioned it before I love the use of actual authors names as some of the students names- the irony is so much fun! I think perhaps Archie should collaborate (or just allow her to come up with the plan) with Professor Scrivenshaft more often. Great chapter!

Author's Response: See, Zonkos made dung bombs. And I couldn't imagine WWW not doing dung bombs... so I decided there must be multiple brands. And of course Archie would know. ahhha. Oh, I work in a bookshop and the Mills and Boons section is always a source of amusement and jokes for us. Could. not. resist.

Thank you for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #59, by Juicey_Moosey Squabbles and Squibbles

26th February 2013:
Hello Helen :) I always feel bad for not reviewing, so yeah... here I am. Muggle Studies always puts a smile on my face, and makes me laugh quietly to myself like a nutter... One of my favourite bits was this: '"What would happen if you put your hand in a toaster?" // "I donít know, Lockhart, why donít you just try it?" Archibald snapped' It sounds like something either my parents or our head of DT would say :P I think it's even funnier just how clueless they are as to muggle things, like you have to wonder where their common sense kicks in :P Archie is just so funny in that sarcastic way of his, I just csn't help but love him, and secretly wish he was my teacher :P And the end line of 'Sometimes, even cross-dressing-squib-teachers needed to comfort eat.' was perfect! Keep writing this :)

Author's Response: Hi Julia!

Don't worry about not reviewing! I always used to be terrible about it myself and I'm just honoured that you're here now. I think that has to be one of my favourite lines (although I am a little intrigued) and ack... I love their utter cluelessness! It makes for such ffun :D


 Report Review

Review #60, by alicia and anne Regular Dom-foolery

25th February 2013:
Dionne had a incident with a space hopper? Her and Archibald are made for each other!
Also Robin Hood as a wizard? I love it!
Boot and Corner are so mean to Archibald aren't they? I love that the professors are basically acting like the students, it's so funny :D No wonder he was hiding until midday from them.
Although it's funny that Fred managed to get them with Dungbombs.
I love that they all want to save Archibald's job, they must really like him :D Fred's 'charging' was my favourite part :D
Oh my they're protesting! I'm laughing so much at imagining them protesting haha.
How do you keep coming up with all of this brilliantness? It's amazing!

Author's Response: OF COURSE SHE DID.

I couldn't resist her having one... I just couldn't.

I really love the whole colleaguey relationships in this, mostly because I secretly want Minerva and Severus to have been playing tricks on each other way back when. Aha.

They love him. Who can blame them? Oh man, the protest was one of my favourite ideas thus far (but then again, they all are).

Thank you for your lovely reviews! :D

AC


 Report Review

Review #61, by alicia and anne Squabbles and Squibbles

25th February 2013:
This is definately one of my favourite stories ever! You write this brilliantly and I love love love it!
I love Archibald so much, and I love all of his students, I feel so sorry for him sometimes but it's so funny to read about his struggles as a Muggle Studies teacher.
I love the bet he has going on though and how he said Silencio without a wand, causing the students to ask if he was a squib. Hilarious! I wonder how long that will go on for?
Brilliant chapter! :D

Author's Response: oh, I reckon the squib questioning continued on for a SIGNIFICANT amount of time. I feel like I need to re-mention it soon for that extra affect. Thanks for the heads up on that one!

And yes, i do feel sorry for him... but he loves it really. In a world weary 'why do I doo this' sort of way. He loves it :D


 Report Review

Review #62, by Crescent Moon  Regular Dom-foolery

24th February 2013:
Archie's back!! And as funny as always!
I loved it! And more of charming charms teacher which is always a bonus!
How do you come up with the ideas for this, they're always so funny and original! Not to mention really well written.
I can't wait to see what he gets up to next.

Author's Response: Awh, thank you my dear for this truly lovely review! I think Archie will be back again very shortly (because I'm on a bit of a spree) and I've missed his wacky ways. And of course, the charm of our favourite charms teacher ;)

 Report Review

Review #63, by TearsIMustConceal Parashoot-me-now-please

26th January 2013:
So, i have just read all 8 chapters in succession and i am seriously hooked. I haven't laughed that much whilst reading a story in a long time, i enjoyed having aching stomach muscles because it was so completely worth it. The muggle references are hysterical; James Herriot, Thomas Hardy, DH Lawrence, Katie Price (if that one was intentional, then i salute you!) ...i absolutely love spotting them! This story is so witty and amazing that i need more. More i tell you!

I may have just become a little obsessed with Archibald!

Ps - Your writing is incredible! :)

Author's Response: This review properly made me grin and announce to my flatmates the glory of humanity. Thank you! I loved slipping in all those references (and that one was intentional) and I'm so glad you appreciate them! More soon :D

 Report Review

Review #64, by Jessica_GinnyizGr8 Frying the flag

27th December 2012:
I was floured by this chapter. Really. Yummy pancake puns.m/

Author's Response: AHHA. Love it. Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #65, by Jessica_GinnyizGr8 Compulsions and Convulsions

26th December 2012:
The chapter was so punny! Yummy.
(Though that was the oldest most cliched pun, it was intended)
I was giggling throughout this chapter. How do you get these little sparky ideas of DH Lawrence and Guy Fawkes and Herriot? Ah! They were a joy to read.

Just one thing though:
'Ignore him,'Miss Barbie said, 'he's just bitter because he's signed his robes.'

I'm sure that it is a typo and you meant singed but when I first read it I was like 'Eh, What?'

Author's Response: YUMMY PUNNY.
Aha. Guy Fawkes was the idea of TGK, and I just love James Herriot so much it just had to happen. AND YES that should be singed (I'll go back and check that over right now). Thnks for this lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #66, by Jessica_GinnyizGr8 iPod Injuries

26th December 2012:
It is so refreshing to read a Next-Gen fic which has a unique angle. Archibald is an intriguing character- witty and quirky and it is fun to read his point of view. Love his sarcasm. And way you've started writing about Lily and Hugo... their character development looks promising. You've set the stage beautifully for the upcoming chapters. Good job!

Author's Response: Hey there Jessica! I'm really glad that you liked it. I really loved writing how off the wall this story is, so I'm really glad to have received such a positive reception for it too :)

 Report Review

Review #67, by ChaosWednesday A Bunch of Crushing Disappointments

16th December 2012:
Hey it's Whiskey from Holiday Review Swap!

I chose this story because it sounded fun and original, and it didn't disappoint ( that's also why I decided to read a second chapter :P)!

I like the idea of a sarcastic teacher sticking to his subject against all odds. Some of his comments are hillarious (I liked the part about him never leaving the walls of the classroom). Although I wish we knew more about his motivation and life, I think it would add more perspective.

You had the good idea to give all the students nick-names, which helps keep them apart although there are so many, and makes them seem more unique and eccentric. This way, you also focus on the group-dynamic of each class rather than on individuals or situations, which is different and more interesting.

Basically, this was fun and the only advice for improvement I can offer is that maybe you could add some back-story to the Professor. He is our narrator, after all, and we see everything through his eyes. It would help to know about who he is and how he really feels (he can't always be experiencing only irritation-discomfort, can he :P).

Also, some more conflict, plot development or theme-choice could help make each chapter seem more complete and consequential. Either have each chapter function like a short-story, or have them actually follow up on one another. So far, you seemed sort of unsure as to what you actually wanted to say...
Every real story is tells more than just itself, you know what I mean? Maybe you could turn this into a reflection on the way Muggles are peceived different after the war, or you can switch to making this a story about exploring the life and times of the professor. Or something else, of course. But there has to be a point...

Well, good luck, I hope I could be of some help ^^ Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #68, by marinahill Charming Assessments

13th December 2012:
YES he found love!

I laughed so much (as always). He's so snarky and smart and so very much like me when I'm teaching that I've concluded you're following me around with a dictaphone. Poor poor Archie, I knew the prank was going to get him eventually, and bless him he didn't need for his students to hear that story.

I hope you're updating this soon, because I do believe I've finally caught up. We need more puns, more stark, some ROMANCE and more hilariously named students.

Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: HE FOUND LOVE IN A HOPELESS PLACE.

I think this song was mostly written about Archie.

I LOVE the idea of you being like this when you teach. Honestly, it warms my heart that there is someone in the world teaching in such a way.

Merry christmas, Marina!


 Report Review

Review #69, by Tonks1247 iPod Injuries

9th December 2012:
Ahahahahahahaha! I was debating between reading Azkaban and this one, as Iím somewhere in the middle of Azkaban and Muggle Studies has been on my Ďto readí list for a while, and I can say Iím quite glad I choose this one. I was definitely in the mood for something light and just a little bit ridiculous, and this story was just fantastic.

Archibald is just a character all his own. His whole thought process is just so easy to see and it really makes him out to be that slightly eccentric Muggle Studies teacher that no one seems to have much concern about. His whole demeanour towards teaching is also entertaining. He doesnít necessarily like children or their attitudes towards Muggle Studies but here he finds himself teaching them. Itís great!

As for his third year class? Oh, heís in for a fun year. Johnny English? Goliath? Franklinstein? Jessie James? Ahahaha, heís got plenty of fun teaching points to go off of here. Plenty of movies and books to readÖplenty of people to make question their parentsí ability to name them. It should be great! Especially with the idea of Fred and Dominique Weasley using interpretive dance to help explain the concepts they go over in Muggle StudiesÖ

Canít wait to come back and read more! This really was fantastic!

~Grimmerz

 Report Review

Review #70, by ValWitch21 Parashoot-me-now-please

9th December 2012:
This story is not good for my health, at all. It has me in stitches, wheezing my way through, with tears of laughter coming out of my eyes and me snorting in a very undignified manner for a proper lady such as me.

I am so impressed by your writing span. I finished TAOB two nights ago at half past one in the morning, crying, because I actually thought Mary was going to live. So yes, have got to admit that between TAOB, this, the Abstract Noun series, and EEFFJP, you have speechless - or as Deadlus Diggle would put it, "completely and utterly bamboozled."

This is light and funny, and Archibald Penrose is just so clueless and desperate sometimes that I feel sorry for him (you know, behind my snickering at his expense). This particular story is like cotton candy: it's delicious and it leaves you craving more.

There, that was my (terrible) comparison of the week. I get to go back to reading some more of your writing now!

:)

 Report Review

Review #71, by justonemorefic Squabbles and Squibbles

8th December 2012:
HEEELENN. Now jogging back to January from wherever I last left off. Archie is a looper.
Poor squibs; can't even win musically.

Ohoho and in corner, we have Michael Corner, high roller. Do note, there is banzai and bonsai, and I think you mean the former unless he's shouting about a tree. But you know me; I love bonsais. And omg Neville you are as precious as ever. All of them, really, because gawd it's like they never left Hogwarts. But then boys don't ever grow up until the age of 36.

by the look of the serious sexual tension conveyed through that pat on the arm, young love was still blooming snorting haaa Archie you bitter ol' coot.

I had to look up Roderigo because I never read Othello, and I felt the references whizzing over my head. AND YES ARCHIE/KEVIN BROMANCE PLZ I feel a bit of the bitter ol' cootness deep in Kevin's back chat. He'll be yelling at kids to get off his lawn (desk?) in no time.

When I really think about it, Archie is a rather terrible professor. Can't keep his students under control, assigns homework that doesn't get done, wants to kill them in deep fat fryers... I feel like I should have noticed this earlier, but I was too busy adoring him.

HOUSE ELVES. Ahh, I love House Elves; they're so precious. Theyíve been given strict instructions not to do all the work for you, so it would be nice if you didnít cause a House Elf order-confusion breakdown in the next hour. Looove.

Yes Archie, keep all the students away from the fire. Just candles - no, not even candles.

concerning both on the level that student thought he was on the edge of a mental break down, and the fact that Hugo genuinely diverted enough attention away from the teenage norms Ė sex and food Ė to consider the mental state of his Muggle Studies Professor I THINK THIS IS SWEET in you know, a disturbing sort of way I suppose, but IT IS. It's like teacher-student bonding over breakdowns.

Oh my god that scene. WHAT HAVE YOU COOKED UP MICHAEL CORNER AND CO. Dettie and her partner in crime, Winky, switched over to major clean up mode almost instantaneously See, they are so adorable. I can see this utter chaos and them, also in chaos but futilely trying to clean up said other chaos and then taking the time to think of Archie and hand him a cookie.

And oh how he needs that cookie.

♥ SO MUCH FUN HELEN :3

 Report Review

Review #72, by MissMdsty iPod Injuries

7th December 2012:
Review swap tag! Is that even a thing? I'll get back to you on that...

Now the story. This is hilarious! The main character seems like the ind of bored wizard that would teach Muggle studies and I loved how he stereotyped his students in his mind (how very Muggle of him).

Johnny English and Jessie James, that's so funny. It would be priceless to see the kids' faces when they see the movies!

I'll be coming back for more! Good job!

Author's Response: Oh man, I mostly imagine Johnny English to be like really unimpressed and all 'is this guy serious?' if he saw the movie, giving Archie all these weird looks and scathing expressions.

Bah.

Glad you liked it! :)


 Report Review

Review #73, by marinahill Squabbles and Squibbles

7th December 2012:
Oh my god, Helen. You know what I just realised? Archibald is me. I am Archibald.

This is exactly my teaching style. I'm so sarcastic with my pupils it's unreal, except that they don't answer back because sarcasm is lost on French kids. Just... I was just reading this and relating to everything he felt. Damn, is this good or bad? Good for you, because now I can say with assurance that this is realistic! But bad that I'm like a grumpy man who's just been dumped. Wow.

Anyway, this was hilarious as usual. The pupils are a delight to read about, though I'm sure not to teach. Lots of funny lines, and I love that he was bet not to use magic and yet that's caused him no end of troubles with his pupils. And then there's the elf that thinks he's a woman...

I loved it. Sorry it's been so long. Merry Christmas!

 Report Review

Review #74, by academica iPod Injuries

5th December 2012:
Hey! I'm here for the Holiday Review Swap!

I have been meaning to read this for ages. It just looked so hilarious, and totally out of left field. And I think it's going to make me wish I'd started earlier :)

Love the names. Mostly, I love how awkward Archibald is with them, especially with that bit about Franklinstein... haha. I have a feeling that his word vomit is going to be the star of the show. I also like the little commentary about wizards' horrible choices of names for their children as he went through the roll, and kudos to you for choosing such fantastically awful and cliche names!

The class itself is interesting, too. Pretty standard first day assignment, and of course the next gen kids manage to mess it all up. Hugo is one of my favorites; he seems to have inherited Hermione's curiosity and Ron's common sense, poor kid.

Nice first chapter! I'm sure I'll be back :)

Amanda

 Report Review

Review #75, by Werewolfs Rule Squabbles and Squibbles

28th October 2012:
The last line was the best, it made me burst out laughing. Well done! I loved the newest chapter, can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you liked it! More coming soon :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>