Reading Reviews for Infringement
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #26, by icanspeaktosnakes The Evening Hell Descended

8th January 2012:
I'm so in love with this story. I'm going to fail my exams because I enjoy reading too much Helsie x

Author's Response: I should have known letting you near here was a bad idea. Although technically, you just did it all on your own. I enjoyed writing this chapter sooo much.

Sorry Billie-wa

-AC


 Report Review

Review #27, by icanspeaktosnakes The September it Began

8th January 2012:
Loving the parallels here, made me smile :) I love McGonagall and I think you're writing her really well x (am i logged in now? newbs ey?)

Author's Response: Yeah, you're logged in dear :) Thanks for the review (as this one's lacking). Love you :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #28, by julia The Evening Hell Descended

8th January 2012:
I honestly love this story. I really have no idea why, but you're a great author and have just perfectly captured minnie and tom and the first chamber of secrets opening. please update soon!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I classify this story as one of my under-loved stories... and this is just such a lovely lovely review. Thank you SO much! :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #29, by icanspeaktosnakes The Summer Before

7th January 2012:
Helen-wa this is my favourite so far (admittedly tis only the third/fourth piece that i've read, but shhh) . Canney wait to read the rest, which is why i'm going to continue ;) much love x

Author's Response: Holy Bananas! Its you!!! I knew this would be your favourite. I was going to text you and tell you to read this one first, as I figured you'd like it a little bit more :P

(why aren't you signed in?? Just saying. You have an account now and everything).

-Helen-wa


 Report Review

Review #30, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Evening Hell Descended

6th January 2012:
-claims first review-

I better still be first by the time I post this!

THIS WAS SO DRAMATIC. But why Walter?! I /liked/ him. Sigh. I shall miss him until he is able to come back. I hope he comes back. I'll cry if he doesn't.

I love Tom and Minerva's dynamic. Gold finding spider?! That was absolutely hilarious. I love how he knows exactly what her weaknesses are. He knew that she would cover for him for the sake of transifguration, which was really cool.

Also wondering about the potion and Tristan. I wonder if he will be able to figure out what it is, and also what he'll do if he does. I don't like Tristan much. Ironically, I'm friends with a Tristan in RL who's actually a lot like the Tristan in your story, so now I picture him as Tristan, which is actually quite hilarious because the Tristan I know is super short xD

Definitely my favorite chapter so far!

-Naida

Author's Response: I adore your reviews, and I think you've sucessfully gotten first and last all bagged up for quite some time (Ac feels pathetically sorry for herself for a minute, before realising she's a huge hippocrite and should shut up). Sorry, when you said how much you liked Walter I was like DOH. But he was in this chapter a lot... yay? He'll be back, like... eventually. Ahha.

Our Tom is a little manipulatively (read: a lot) and why would Dumbledore ever question little Miss Minnie's word?

From now on my picture of Tristan will always be short. Little man syndrome, I guess :P

EE! Thank you for the lovely review (as always) :) ♥
-AC


 Report Review

Review #31, by Not even a mouse. The Night of Change

23rd December 2011:
This is definitely my favorite chapter to date. The potion stealing, the rounds with Riddle, the cats, the chamber. So much happened in this chapter, but it didn't feel over bearing or too much in the least. I literally couldn't read it fast enough. I really found Minerva's interactions with the cat to be very sweet -- that you included that cats made her feel comfortable and reminded her of summers with Peter. It made me so happy to think of her animagus form. The parallel between the two cats with the two opening of the chamber of secrets was brilliantly executed. So cool, in a very creepy, eery sort of way. I wonder, if Minerva regretted splitting up from Riddle that night. Seeing as that's when the chamber was opened. If she hadn't broken the rules and stayed with him, maybe the chamber wouldn't hae been opened? Maybe Myrtle never would have died, etc etc.

This fic is excellent and I can't wait until it's updated. I'll be adding this to my favourites as soon as the secret santa is over.

Merry Christmas!!
xx
Your secret santa

Author's Response: This was my favourite chapter to write too (apart from number five, but that one wasn't up at this point). Writing Minnie breaking the rules and stealing things was just so fun :D

Yeah, I'm almost entirely sure that Minnie regretted splitting up with him a LOT. In fact, I'd hazard a guess that Minerva might regret a lot of the events that happened in this year of her life. Just saying... ahem. There are going to be so many what ifs :D

Thank you so much for this lovely review! And yay! Favourite :D

Merry Christmas to you too :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #32, by Not a creature was stirring The Days of Calm

23rd December 2011:
I LOVE MINERVA.

Like really truly love her here. You can feel the self assured sharpness behind her words that she has later in life as a professor. Her confidence with the quidditch boys and then again later talking to Tom. He's deplorably cocky. Ew. The only reason I can't totally hate him is because he eventually ends up noseless and pale. lol. I just hate egotistical people when they have no real claim to it, and yeah of course Tom is an amazing wizard, but a little dose of humility would do him some good. (clearly you did a fabulous job at characterizing our future dark lord...seeing as it prompted a full out rant about it).

Plans!! I can't wait to see what you have planned. I'm so happy I got you as a secret santa. I don't know if I'd have read this fic otherwise, and I'm so glad that I did.

Now, onto chapter four!!
Merry Christmas (times three)
xx
Your Secret Santa

Author's Response: I love Minnie so much! She's infected me and I can't stop writing about her. Hmm. unexpected. Ahha. I had FAR too much fun with her verbally abusing anyone and everyone, I must admit, and ALTHOUGH Tom did come out sounding surprisingly camp in my first draft... eventually I managed to get him more, you know, not.

The only reason I can't totally hate him is because he eventually ends up noseless and pale. lol

^ That might be one of my favourite quotes of all time. I absolutely love and, for typing it, you're obviously quite brilliant.

I'm so happy that you're my secret santa too! These reviews are beautiful things :) :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #33, by And all through the house The September it Began

23rd December 2011:
Merry christmas (again)

I liked the introduction to the cast in this chapter. Jane and Franny. It's good that Minerva has a solid basis of friendship. She seemed so generally down in the dumps over the summer. I can relate though... the overly stuffy parents who forget what it's like to be youthful and full of vitality. I really like that there hadn't been any girls on the Quidditch team before. I have a sneaking hunch that Minerva's the first?? The replay of the scene when Harry catches the snitch and is put on the team by Minerva only with Minerva and Dumbledore was precious. Loved it.

And the chamber. gahhh. Omg.

Quickly scampering off to chapter three!
Merry christmas
xx
Your secret santa

Author's Response: I had real troubles with this chapter because I didn't want to go through the whole September 1st ritual and have it be really boring, but it felt neccesary at the same time. so in the end it crept there.

I couldn't resist that! I could just imagine when Minnie saw Harry make the catch that she must have been thinking of a time when that was HER and then... yup, just couldn't resit.

Thank you so much! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #34, by Twas the Night Before Christmas The Summer Before

23rd December 2011:
AC this is such a unique story.

I love, love love Minerva stories (Ripples by Margravine got me into the character) and so when I clicked on this, I was really excited. I love the angle you use for this story. This chapter isn't Hogwarts and Wizard heavy. Her interactions with the Muggles and her views of their war. Really quite interesting. The culture of the wizarding world in terms of the war was interesting to see. And Peter. I like him, and feel badly for him. He's very endearing.

Can't wait to see what's next!
Merry almost christmas!!!
xx
Your Secret Santa

Author's Response: Hey there Secret Santa!

Thank you very much for this lovely review! I was given this for the impossible challenge and I was really excited about it, still am actually. I must read Ripples by Margavine because I've heard some really good things about it :)

Thank you for this lovely review! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #35, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Night of Change

22nd December 2011:
:DDD

Ooooh, I love the action in this chapter. With Minerva stealing the potion, and then the attack! The parallell with the cats is really cool, too, and I loved the way you described that at the end. Just the thought of Voldemort having nostalgia made me laugh xD

Walter Davis is my new favorite character. Maybe because of how much he annoys Minerva, maybe it's because his name sounds a lot like Warwick Davis, or maybe it's my subconscious speaking to me...(fine, far fetched, but this IS Harry Potter after all). Anyways, the point is that I loved him in this chappie and can't wait to see what happens between him and Minerva as well!

And sorry if these reviews aren't making any sense! *is too lazy to reread them*

This story is lovely :) Can't wait to read on, and I promise to be more timely! (Now off to go review Azkaban and TAOS and probably something else :P)

-Naida

Author's Response: I loved writing this chapter. It was SUCH good fun. Actually, this story just really... ah, I love writing it. THE END BIT? I don't know where that came from. Seriously, it just INVADED. I didn't know it was going to happen :S

Oh, I can't wait to post the next chapter. It got a big crazy, actually (I wrote it today) but you might not like me after the next chapter if Walter Davis is your new homeboy (its not even that late, I'm just crazy).

Thanks for all this mouthwateringly lovely reviews!!

-AC


 Report Review

Review #36, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Days of Calm

22nd December 2011:
TARTAN RIBBON. BEST THING EVER.

Ahem, I'm attempting to write coherrent reviews at one in the morning, so apologies if none of this makes sense.

But seriously, the whole thing with the tartan ribbon was amazing. It gave me strange flashbacks (or would it be flashforwards...) to GoF and the thing about her having a wreath in her hair. It was a great little burst of her canonness (is that a word?...I'm making it a word!). It's good to see Minnie had a thing for tartan and tight buns even at this age.

Your Tom Riddle is absolutely perfect, too. He was so calm and devious in this chapter. Glad Minerva picked up on that, though. I really like the dynamic between them, so I hope they have a few more encounters xD

GOING TO READ ON. And probably make even less sense in my next review xD

-Naida

Author's Response: Wheelll, this was all for the depth of character challenge. So in my head I was like 'lets break Minerva down and explain all thoes little bits' although my explanations esentially ended up as 'Peter' but, ah, yeah...

I really don't think Minnie ever changes, like ever. So of COURSE she'd have her hair up in a bun.

Tom kepy coming out gay for the longest time. You have no idea how long it took for me to make him not camp. HOJSdajojsaidjs. I was confused, to say the least.

-AC


 Report Review

Review #37, by You Have No Idea Who The Night of Change

22nd December 2011:
This is an awesome chapter! I really love this story and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The next chapter is pretty much written, so hopefully it wont be too long :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by NaidatheRavenclaw The September it Began

21st December 2011:
I AM SO SORRY. I've been meaning to review everything of yours on my favorites (which, let's face it, is almost all your WIPs) for months now. Quite literally. But with NaNo and then Christmas and then ugh, but I am here now!

I love that you're writing a Canon character in this story. It's great to see your perception of McGonagall, and I have to say that I like it a lot. You have her as a teenage girl, which is definitely hard to pull off as I can't picture her as anything other than a teacher, but she also retains the character traits we see later in life. And the line about Tom Riddle made me laugh, so I'm glad that there's still some humor in here.

I'm definitely interested to see how you weave all these subplots together.

Happy Holidays!

-Naida

Author's Response: Oh its okaay, I've certainly missed your reviews but I knew that you were busy. AND NOW I HAVE LOVELY REVIEWS TO RESPOND TO.

Haha, this is me flirting with the idea of writing a Canon character. BUt Minnie is FUN. I loved making her all teenage-oid. Especially in this chapter actually... it was really fun :D

Thanks! This is possibly my most subploty story of them all... I'm verrryyy excited :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #39, by Loony_Scorpy The Night of Change

19th December 2011:
Rebel! haha I love the way you made Minerva be rebellious but in a way that is realistic for her personality! Gotta love pretending to do work ;P I do that often. I also love how you have created Tom Riddle, you have done a really good job with him! I can't wait for more :D And I hope Peter gets better!

Author's Response: I have sucessfully been pretending to do work all day. Tom Riddle was so very very hard to write... he came out gay the first three times his first scene was written. I think I eliminated all traces of campness here though ;)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #40, by You Have No Idea Who The Days of Calm

15th December 2011:
This is an awesome story! I really like it. Keep going : )

Author's Response: Thanks! The next chapter is in the queue as we speak (type) :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #41, by M - The Days of Calm

15th December 2011:
Brilliant! I can't wait for more. I also need to mention that the chapter image is wonderful. I never imagined Keira as a young McGonagall, but that photograph is perfection.

Author's Response: I hadn't thought of her either! It was the lovely artist who suggested her so its her you have to thank! And thank you very much - the next chapter is in the queue right this second :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #42, by megaaan  The Days of Calm

11th November 2011:
Another wonderful chapter - I really am enjoying reviewing these!

I have one problem with the character of Peakes...Perhaps this is just because it was a long time ago and they all speak much better than we do now, but sometimes I feel like he should be speaking completely differently to how he does - e.g. if he was supposed to be less intelligent, he shouldn't use intelligent words like "farce" or "formality." It isn't that he shouldn't know what they mean; but I can see him using simpler words?

I now see that the whole Quidditch thing is important for what her plan is, and so ignore my last review when I wasn't so sure about it. ;) I stand by it not fitting her personality in my opinion, but I think that for this it's just fine :-)

I also love her growing friendship with Walter, the brief introduction to Bathilda Bagshot, and the conversation with Riddle. I like how she wasn't too keen on him, even though he was very smooth - I think it all works wonderfully.

All in all, another wonderful chapter, and I'm looking forward to the next review I have to give (on a different story, obviously)!

I hear you have 25,000 words? Congratulations, that's fantastic! Megan xoxo

 Report Review

Review #43, by megaaan  The September it Began

6th November 2011:
Another lovely chapter! I love her hatred of Divination that kept cropping up, and the short conversation she had with Jane's parents, however I'm not as sure on the part where you said she didn't feel the need for necessities, when talking about Francesca's parents.

I really enjoyed the references to Riddle; showing that he seemed perhaps attractive and nice, which is completely unlike the Riddle we know. The talk about Minerva flying unnerved me at first - I thought it was a mistake or a typo, but obviously not! Personally I can't ever imagine her on a broom, let alone being on the Quidditch team - but I'm looking forward to seeing how it connects to the plot!

Also, I'm not sure if I agree with Francesca's comment about her never doing anything for fun: I just don't see how this could be true of anyone and Minerva McGonagall is no exception - although perhaps that's just me :P

Once again, there are a couple of spelling and grammar points, but these are small and easily fixed :-) And when you described Walter sitting next to her, you had just been talking about Nora Rabnott and I thought that you still were - it took me a while to realise it was actually Minerva. I do like Walter's character though, you developed him nicely in a short space of time.

And I love how the time period is that of the Chamber of Secrets opening the first time! Dramatic ending to a great chapter, well done! And it looks like I'll be reviewing chapter three too - 15,000; congratulations!!!

Your NaNo mummy - Megan xxx

 Report Review

Review #44, by megaaan  The Summer Before

4th November 2011:
Hiya, here I am with your 5,000 NaNo gift ;) - I'm innocence from the forums - sorry this has taken a while!

First of all, I adore the setting and time period of this. The wars have always fascinated me (eugh that sounds like I'm a really horrible person; I'm not, honestly), and I love McGonagall so this is a really good excuse for me to read something slightly different to normal. You've written it incredibly well for the time period - the language that Minerva and the chapter in general is great, and makes me feel like it was written in that period.

I only have a couple of niggles - and they are literally just that; niggles. At times the grammar isn't perfect - although it is pretty much spot on throughout the chapter, there are one or two spots where I feel could be changed slightly. However, this is a really tiny point.

My other point is at the beginning of the chapter, when you said: "she used it as a place to practice spells and potions away from the eyes of her parents (even though she was over six months too young)." If she was too young to be able to practise magic, then how was she getting away with it without the Ministry interfering?

Once again, this was a brilliant beginning, and - NaNo mummy or not - I'm looking forward to reviewing the next couple of chapters :-) A little bunny has told me that you've reached 10,000; so it should be very soon!

Megan xo

 Report Review

Review #45, by slytherinchica08 The Days of Calm

31st October 2011:
Yay! I was so excited to see that this was the chapter that needed reviewing! Your story is just so wonderfully written and I absolutely love it! I feel like I've gotten to know Minerva so well just from your three chapters and the story is really only just beginning!

Your characterization is absolutely wonderful as well! I love how you have Tom Riddle in this chapter and the conversation that goes on between him and Minerva. I feel that it was so well done and I could honestly see it as something Tom would say.

I'm interested to see how Minerva plans to get in the Infirmary and take the healing potions without getting caught. I think you have such a wonderful plot idea on your hands and I can't wait to see where things go from here! I would love to say so much more but basically its all just going to praise the story/chapter (and i'm in class). Great Job!

~Happy Halloween~
~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #46, by Loony_Scorpy The September it Began

19th October 2011:
I really loved this! I actually haven't read anything about a young Minerva before, so this is really interesting! I really love her characterisation and how she is developing; I can't wait for more! ♥

Author's Response: Yaaayyy! Thank you so much! I've sort of fallen in love with this story and it getting reviews pretty much makes my life. Hopefully more will be along soon!

Your reviews really make my day :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #47, by slytherinchica08 The September it Began

4th October 2011:
Poor Minerva. I really feel for her in this chapter especailly with the interactions that you describe her having with her parents. Them being ones to think she shouldn't even really talk with boys unless they were her potion partner. Also that they think she should know what she wants to do for the rest of her life as a teenager, not many kids do know exactly what they want to do at the time frame so its rather sad that her interactions with her parents are more robotic then any real relationship.

This was a brillient chapter about the opening of the Chamber of Secrets. I always forget that Tom Riddle is actually handsome and probably well sought after so it was interesting to read this chapter and see all the girls fawning over him so to speak.

I just found a few minor errors throughout the chapter. In your first sentence you have "now she was stood on" it should be "now that she stood on". Here: "by the idea that he was cleverer that her" that should be than. I feel like in this sentence: "Despite all his glaring faults it seemed that the Dippet quite liked him." it should say Professor Dippet instead of the Dippet. Here your just missing "be", "theres always got to a purpose or a reason or something". Here: "She tucked an escaped hair behind her eyes" should be ear.

Other then those things though it was a really wonderful chapter. Your characterization was amazing. I love the way you have Minerva and her relationship with her friends and the little banter that goes on between them (that was almost a smile, you dont ever do anything unless there is a reason, that type of stuff).

It's a very interesting chapter and I'm particularly interested to see how Hagrid will get incorporated into your story. Also I can't wait to see more between Minerva and Peter such as letter snippets or secret meetings or anything really. Pretty much I'm excited to see where you're going to take this story because your beginning already holds so much promise for the future chapters! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out all thoes little mistakes! I went back and edited it with you review at hand. I must have been super tired or something to miss all of that, but never mind eh.

Poor Minnie, I think there are a lot of parents who don't really understand their children. Not their fault of course, its easy to forget, but it makes things uncomfortabe at times.

Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you like my Minerva, she's been growing on me a lot - especially recently :D


 Report Review

Review #48, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Summer Before

3rd October 2011:
Hey, this is SamMalfoy93 with your review. :)

I have to say, honestly, this is only the second Minerva fic I've ever read, so I don't really have an opinion of her as a Hogwarts student. :)

It's an interesting plot, and first chapter. It's drew me in, which is amazing, I love when that happens (I actually don't read much).

Her character seems pretty canon (as stated above, Minerva is not my strong point). I really like how you're portraying her so far. I can't wait to read more of this story, partly to know how you continue to portray her. :)

Sorry if this wasn't the best review in terms of being constructive.

I'm goin to favourite and carry on reading this story. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stoping by with my review! So sorry for being rude and not responding immediately, everythings been really hectic recently D:

Thank you so much! I've never read a Minerva fic before, and I'm really excited to be started on my latest project xD

Thank you!

-AC


 Report Review

Review #49, by Jade Sterling The Summer Before

29th September 2011:
You.. this... Oh God. You are amazing. xx

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #50, by Remus The Summer Before

21st September 2011:
Hey! Its Perelandra from the forums!

I honestly don't have that much to say aside from the fact that this is 1) well written 2) perfect grammar 3) great detail in your paragraphs. The idea of Minerva having to break rules makes me laugh. I never would've thought of it but we all know that she has a wild streak.

Anyway, that's really all I have to say!
Continue writing because you're amazing at it! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so very very much! All of thoes things are just humungous compliments and I'm really glad you think my grammars good (a serious week spot). Thank you very much!

(and I'll certainly aim to)

-AC


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>