Reading Reviews for The Art of Surviving.
  
602 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AlexFan Sincerity.

24th October 2013:
Oh my gosh this is beautiful! They've gotten together and I can be happy and yay!

It's good that they had that talk though, they really needed to and at least now James and Lily can have a proper relationship or at least are heading to a proper relationship.

Maybe I'm weird but I was so amused when Lily refused to talk about anything and was asking to move on from everything that happened but ended up spilling her guys anyway. And I was glad she spilled the beans too, I feel like I know her better now and I understand her a lot better than before.

I can see why she would want to experience the Cruciatus Curse but that was still a stupid thing to do, going out there and looking for a Slytherin or a Deatheater to curse her.

 Report Review

Review #27, by AlexFan Unwelcome.

24th October 2013:
You know, if it weren't for the fact that there was another chapter right after this one I'd probably be making some absurd high-pitched shrieking sound at this ending.

Good thing I can keep reading (I had originally planned on going to sleep after this but clearly that's not going to happen). I was going to suggest the same thing as James. Lily could always ask out James, it didn't always had to be him so you can imagine how excited I was when Lily got the guys up to ask James out.

Honestly, I'd expected some hesitation but she didn't even blink before asking James out.

I love his parents though, you can tell that he's related to them because they're all so similar. Especially Carolyn . . . And Magnus, I can't pick between those two, they're both equally awesome.

I hope they're around more as I keep reading.

 Report Review

Review #28, by AlexFan Inevitability.

24th October 2013:
You know, this is the only time that I've probably ever liked Vernon Dursley. I kept thinking that maybe he wasn't such a bad chap with the way that he was acting around Lily and James but then again, he doesn't know they can do magic.

Still though, it was awfully nice of him to buy Lily's family a television set. Sometimes I forget that not everyone had a television set in that time period so I was a bit surprised when Petunia got excited about a television before I came to that realisation.

And her enthusiasm, I thought the Evans had won the lottery or something because Petunia was so happy and talking to Lily!

 Report Review

Review #29, by AlexFan Burn out.

23rd October 2013:
Those two *sigh* I don't know what I'm going to do with James and Lily. I will never get tired of their arguments and their weird forms of love.

My favourite part about this entire thing is that Lily realises that she depends on James a lot and that she doesn't like it. That's overlooked a lot whenever it does happen, whether it's fiction or fanfiction, and I like that Lily acknowledged that she had become dependent and was struggling to deal with that. She'd gone from being someone who didn't really need to depend on people for all that much to depending on just James who could screw her up pretty bad if he permanently left.

I feel like I'm being all philiosophical in this review and like I'm making no sense. But basically, I love that Lily recognises that she's become too dependent on someone and isn't okay with that fact.

 Report Review

Review #30, by AlexFan Pain.

22nd October 2013:
Oh my God, that was Lily's genius plan?! Really?! My thought process was right up there with James and Sirius. She went on a suicide mission! Lily could've been killed for all she knew! She might've not made it back to her common room alive!

And I don't understand what she was hoping to achieve by getting tortured! Did Lily think that if you had the Cruciatus curse put on you enough times that eventually you got used to the pain and it stopped hurting. If that's what she thought, she's wrong, pain is pain. Every time my knee gets scraped it hurts as much the second time as it did the first time.

And I feel like I mention that I want to hug a character in every review that I leave but it's true. I pretty much just want to take all of the characters and just give them a big fat hug and make everything better.

Honestly, Lily is lucky to be alive considering she was in the hands of Bellatrix and everything. I admit though, for someone who just got tortured, she performed some pretty cool magic in that hallway to escape. And I admit, the way that she ticked off the Slytherins/Deatheaters was pretty cool and I kind of enjoyed that part.

 Report Review

Review #31, by AlexFan Tough and Powerful.

22nd October 2013:
Don't apologise for the sappiness. I enjoyed it, I enjoyed all of it. You will never hear me complain when it comes to Jily.

But Gah! James is just so awesome and I just want him and Lily to get together already and just fix everything but they can't because the story doesn't work that way. But anyway, that was nice what James did for Lily's mum.

nd I eslecyove how Vernon wasn't a total jerk to James. That seems to happen a lot. This is the first Jily story that I've read where Vernon hasn't been a complete jerk and made fun of James for what his parents do or made some insult about the Wizarding community.

I agree with Lily and James on him, Vernon is nice enough (well in your story anyway). And oh no, I have a feeling that whatever Lily's planning will not end good (obviously if the Enron was any indication).

 Report Review

Review #32, by AlexFan Progress.

21st October 2013:
Hot damn that was emotional. I'm emotional now and I'm never one to get emotional (I'm overusing that word but it's okay). I've never really felt grief like Lily and Sirius. The only person I've ever lost was one of my aunts and I cried for like a week when I heard.

I feel like finding Mary in heaven and shaking her while yelling "YOU SEE PEOPLE DO CARE ABOUT YOU!"

I'm stuck in two phases when it comes to Sirius. One phase is the I want to slap the absolute heck out of him for being such a jerk and the other one is wanting to hug him so hard that he had trouble breathing. I'm in the latter one this time.

My poor baby is hurting so much and there's nothing that anyone can do to make it better. I'm actually wondering how Sirius even got to being the Sirius that we know and love in the books. He just sounds and seems so broken that it's hard to imagine him getting any better.

But yay! At least Charlotte is alive! That's some good news in this depressing time.

 Report Review

Review #33, by AlexFan Perspective.

20th October 2013:
Sirius sounds like a right little day of sunshine, doesn't he. What with telling people with missing loved ones that they were probably dead. But on the Longbottom thin it turns out he was actually right.

And I have to disagree with Lily on one thing. Just because person problems some times aren't as big or as important as the problems going on and affecting everyone else, doesn't mean they're not important. Any problem is important and has to be dealt with, it may just not be as big of a problem or priority is all.

But anyway, jus out of curiosity, will Lily ever find out about Remus and his furry situation?

 Report Review

Review #34, by AlexFan Descent.

20th October 2013:
Poor Peter. That was definitely the humor that everyone was looking for.

I'm not usual one to dislike Slytherins but can we just take all of the Slytherins in this story, line them up and then can I past them with my arm out and just smack all of them across the face as I sprint by?

They're just so unbelivably mean. It's understandable that stuff like this would happen given the year and everything that was going on with everyone but still.

That Head Girl jab thought was pretty witty, I've got to admit that. And I've got an idea of why James was avoiding Lily but it's kind of a giant mess in my head at the moment.

And damn, Frank. That must've been horrible to witness, how is he dealing with this? Things just keep getting worse and worse (stating the obvious, I know).

And I don't think I've ever seen Lily this excited for a Quidditch match before ever. I like how you managed to work everything bigger and more important and dangerous into the Quidditch match. I like how there was this connection between everything going on outside of Hogwarts and Quidditch.

 Report Review

Review #35, by AlexFan Awakening.

19th October 2013:
Yes! Lily is back! Kind of. Okay, well, she's slowly making her way back to being the strong Lily that she used to be.

And I don't think that Lily really needs James or has become too dependent on him. I think it's just that he's been around for so long that when he's not around her it's just kind of weird for her because she's so used to his presence.

That moment between the two of them though was so sweet. I like that it was just a little peck, things would've been more awkward in my opinion if they'd been full out snogging.

And I'm especially excited that Lily is embracing the fact that she and James are going somewhere instead of denying it. My favourite part definitely had to be the one with Mary though. I just love that you brought her back a little bit in that way. It was like Lily getting to hear what she needed to hear from someone that she truly truly cares about and understands what she's going through.

 Report Review

Review #36, by AlexFan Scratching the surface.

18th October 2013:
At first I was angry with Sirius for doing something so stupid (in my head he will always be with Mary now no matter what) but he made up for it in my opinion by admitting that he needed Lily when Mary was gone.

It's funny because Sirius seems to be the first person to find out alt of secres these days.

And I had a suspicion that this was why Marlene wasn't in shook anymore but I thought it was really far fetched so I just pushed it to the back of my mind and dismissed the whole idea of Marlene being pregnant.

 Report Review

Review #37, by AlexFan Companionship.

17th October 2013:
Holy cow. Can I punch Severus? Please? Permission to knock him out?

Lily wasn't exactly being nice what with the jabs that she was throwing about his father and stuff but what did Severus think was going to happen? That Lily would just accept his sympathy and become friends with him again? Did he just assume that she would forget about everything that he did to her?

I just want to make Lily some tea and cake, give her a teddy bear and tell her that everything will be okay even though it won't.

 Report Review

Review #38, by AlexFan Alienation.

14th October 2013:
I don't think I've ever hated Petunia so much before ever. I mean sure, she was a horrible human being in the books but I hated Vernon more than I hated her. The case is different this time, I actually like Vernon. You've shown him in a light where he's actually a little bit likeable. I like that he hasn't treated Liky like dirt.

And I don't know why Lily's Uncle Charlie was hanging around her house so much but I could only come up with one explanation, it wasn't a pretty one but that's the only one that I could think of.

But wow, I had absolutely no idea that Lily's life was this horrible. I don't know how she's managed to put up with that every single summer and not snap.

 Report Review

Review #39, by AlexFan Concern.

13th October 2013:
If it weren't for the note at the beginning of the chapter I would've been totally lost throughout this chapter. I would've realized that you'd gone back in time until I was three quarters through this chapter.

And I can definitely relate to Lily and wanting to have some control over your life. The death of someone very close to you can definitely turn your world upside down and it'll seem like everything is out of control and there's nothing you can do to gain back that control.

But man, hearing that her dad had died so soon after Mary leaving was literally a kick to the feel for Lily. That's got to be tough. I can't even imagine how I would deal with that if I was in her shoes.

Anyway, awesome sauce chapter!

 Report Review

Review #40, by AlexFan Average.

12th October 2013:
I'm on my touchscreen and the stupid thing froze and I lost the entire review that I had written out and now I'm retyping it and dealing with autocorrect and the fact that I want nothing more than to punch my touchscreen in the face.

Anyway, because I'm lazy this is going to be a shorter version of what I had originally written.

It's so strange to be seeing things from Lily's point of view because I never imagined that things would be his dark with her. It's understandable of course what with Mary dying and her dad dying (apparently). But still, I just never pictured happy Lily Evans to be this sad or this broken but at the same time I like this side of her. It just goes to show that there's more to a person than you think.

Lily's probably always felt something like this but she just hid it from everyone so that no one would ask questions or something. Her year is definitely not off to a good start and I'm definitely looking forward to what happened over the summer with her and her family and find out what's going on there.

And Sirius, my poor baby! LET ME HUG YOU!

 Report Review

Review #41, by LainaLuv Good Day?

8th October 2013:
You cannot end here. This story is wonderful but I feel like your rushing it. Of course there needed to be confusion in the Death Eater scene but it could have been a lot more dramatic and there probably should have been more of a transition. The relationship developments are wonderful. Please don't end here.

 Report Review

Review #42, by John Good Day?

8th October 2013:
It's good, but where's the last chapter?? :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Francis Good Day?

5th October 2013:
Please please please write more, this story is so good, and I am utterly obsessed with it!! I think you've written James spectacularly and is what I thought he would be, and also the relationship between him and Lily! After this, you should write one on Frank and Alice :)

Author's Response: They will be more very soon! Although this one goes right up to the end of... well, actually you'll see, but I don't think I'll have enough timeline left to cover Frank and Alice before their story endds. But, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Shay_Gryff Good Day?

2nd October 2013:
Oh my god!

I would just like to say ENGAGEMENT RING! I can't believe she didn't realize what the boys were hiding!

And as always, I love you! Helen, I love you so much! Jily is just perfect and I love you.

The way you write so that even the saddest moments have their thin silver linings just makes things so much... I don't know how to describe it but even though James and Lily don't have a happy ending you make it seem like a happy ending is possible.

I can't wait until the next chapter, you never disappoint me

Author's Response: I will neither confirm or deny nothing, I tell you. NOTHING. And Lily can be a little bit dense... pah.

I think I like writing things as though there are a happy ending just to torture people, maybe? Ha, no... but Lily has to believe there's a happy ending sight, or else she'd just give up.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #45, by John Alienation.

1st October 2013:
You writing style and your convincing dialogs make up for slight grammar mistakes. Good story so far.

Author's Response: Cheers, John! Glad you like it :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by Alison Good Day?

22nd September 2013:
So I just spent my whole weekend reading The Art of Breathing and now The Art of Surviving (when I should have been getting work done... oops). I've cried, I've laughed, I've swore and I can't believe I've never read this until now.

You're a fantastic writer, and I'll add this to my list of the few fanfics that I obsessively check back for updates (...and I don't read that much fanfic anymore).

You've just snagged a loyal new reader.

Also, The Art of Breathing had me crying harder than any other work of fiction that I've read; both in the fanfic world and the published world. Simply heart wrenching.

Author's Response: Hullo there Alison! Well, I'm very honoured that you choose to spend your weekend reading one of my humble little stories! And I'm sure your work wasn't that important... or at least, well, I hope you enjoyed procrastinating so utterly?


And, wow, thank you for all your lovely words. You're awesome, Alison!

Thanks for reviewing!

Helen


 Report Review

Review #47, by Hope's Mom Good Day?

18th September 2013:
Sirius is mighty good at cheering up the survivors - I laughed, too. My stomach dropped out with the ending, however. I know how it has to end and I don't know if I can read it! TAOB just about did me in at the end and I knew it was coming, too. Great job with this chapter - thank you for sharing your talents.

Author's Response: Ack, hi Hope's Mom! I totally know what you mean about the ending... like, I'm not sure I have it in me to actually write it. It's going to be REALLY hard... but, I'm glad you liked the chapter!

Thanks for reviewing!

Helen


 Report Review

Review #48, by rez Good Day?

12th September 2013:
so beautifully sad, love love love this whole series and everything you write, keep going love :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much Rex, that's so lovely to hear! More coming soon :D

 Report Review

Review #49, by Mutt N Feathers Good Day?

7th September 2013:
Yes, that sad ending is not all that far away, but they need to have the baby first...or else the canon stories won't happen at all!

I don't always get the relationship between Sirius and Lily, not saying I don't like it, I just don't get it.

Great chapter. I don't want to think about the end (although that just means you'll need to get me a new story to beta --tee hee).

Author's Response: Yep, there's lots of stuff still to come for Lily and James... and, all too quickly. Aa.

I have a lot of thoughts about the Sirius Lily relationship, because I think it's really important for them to be actually friends because otherwise I don't see Lily trusting him with her/James and Harry's lives?

And I'm sure I can find another story from somewhere ;)

-Helen


 Report Review

Review #50, by classicblack Good Day?

7th September 2013:
I just... Helen I don't know what to say. I am quite literally a blithering fool right now, which has partially to do with the fact that I'm running on 3 hours of sleep and partially to do with the fact that THAT CHAPTER KILLED MY SOUL.

THAT IS NOT AN EXAGGERATION.

This chapter was so full of irony and foreshadowing and gooey loveliness and sadness and I'm just... GAH! There's irony because James says he'd die so Lily could live which is what he does some years later. And then foreshadowing because oh my gods they met Voldemort and the prophecy and wow. And James was totally showing his friends the ring he's planning to propose with (a scene I demand quite vehemently be included somewhere in this story) and it's just so cute and it would make an excellent prank for Snape (I'm sadistic like that. Sirius and I could be best mates). At first I was sort of disappointed that you didn't write the battle scene but I suppose it makes sense since Lily was out in a minute and you had to make room for Sirius being Sirius and James's parents dying. Not expecting that by the way. I didn't know how you'd kill them off, though I knew they'd have to die before you ended it.

Dear Lord Helen my emotions are all skewed and this review is terrible but it's the best I've got. So there you are. I suggest you post the new chapter asap so that you gain a greater possibility of getting a coherent review from me next time.

Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>