Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Mermaid
  
81 Reviews Found

Review #26, by taps_017 The Fiery Unicorn

15th March 2010:
this story is devloping so well!
i love how she sees everything as if she were still in the lake aha, like the compartments being caves etc
keep up the good work & update soon!

Author's Response: Yes, well, one thing I've noticed is that whenever someone is exposed to something new they relate it to something they already know about. Erin knows the lake and nothing else, so for now that's what she relates everything to. That'll change as she grows more comfortable with her surroundings. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by MorteLlina Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

8th March 2010:
I can't think of any flaws with this story. It has a fantastic plots and a brilliant idea for a main character. Please continue to write.

Author's Response: Wow, such high praise! I have to say that I am totally flattered. Life's been busy lately, but I should have the next chapter up soon. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by i love you sort of Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

5th March 2010:
no! i would love some more of this story! i can't wait for chapter five!

Author's Response: I'd like to apologize for the delay. I'm afraid I've been having some difficulties remaining in contact with my betas, which has slowed me down rather considerably. I'll do my best to get something up soon! Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by Blue Biro Of Stairs and Fire

6th February 2010:
aw, love the mermaid crying bit at the end there! i am rereading this story! its been a while! really, this story is amazing, i probably should have mentioned eariler, but chapter 5? pleae, im dying!
plot is, s ever, fantastic, as are you and you're stories!
:)
loving it!
Becky1
p.s 1 milion and a half out of ten! :)

Author's Response: That's one of my favorite lines in the story up to this point as well. As for chapter five, yes, I promise it's coming. It's all written, it just needs to be beta-ed. My beta has a very busy schedule this semester, so it's taking a little while. But I promise that I will post it as soon as I can. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Blue Biro The Unnatural Caves

6th February 2010:
is that a new chapter image at the beggining? or am i halluncinating? orobably the latter!. really liked this chapter; you're characters are so orignanal, i don't think ive ever read a fanfic where the heroine is so...stuck up no offence! very cool! i like you're writing style, you're really amazinmg and talensted! :)
100/10 AGAIN!

Author's Response: Haha, no, same chapter image as always. It's really cool, isn't it? And no offense taken about the observation about Erin. She's extremelly stuck up, proud, conceited, and self-centered. Obviously that's something that she's going to need to work on during this story. I'm so glad that you like my style, I take that as a very high compliment. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Blue Biro Legs

6th February 2010:
wow, most original plot i think ive read! by the ay, i read this story ages ago before christmas, but forgot i havent reviwed the chapters! sorry! :)
100/10 for coolness!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for coming back to review! I'm so glad that you did. I don't think I've run into another story quite like this one on this site. Just kind of popped into my head, so I'm glad that you're enjoying it. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by MeteorFreak Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

14th January 2010:
very interesting. i love the way you portray all the characters.

Author's Response: I'm real big on character development; characters are the real heart of this story. So I'm glad that you're liking the portrayal. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Blue Biro Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

6th December 2009:
really cool, most original idea for a storey ive read, great work!
p.s plz update soon!
Blue Biro
:)

Author's Response: I'm glad that you like it! It is a rather different storyline than most on this site, which makes it particular fun to write. I'm in the midst of finals right now, but I will do my best to get another chapter up soon. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by person4567 Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

2nd December 2009:
the chapter waz geat u hax no need 2 worry

Author's Response: Ah, gee thanks. And thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Person4567 Of Stairs and Fire

2nd December 2009:
great chapter! i cud b ur beta but its been a wile so u probably have som1

Author's Response: Thanks for the offer, but I have now found a beta. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Strikea Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

1st December 2009:
I, for one, think this story is original, unique, and incredibly hilarious. ;D Certainly a pleasure to read.
It's not to often that I come across such a story as yours and I would love to help you beta and stuff of the sort. (Though I do not have much experience in this, I get the general idea and will do the best I can if you take my offer)

- Gwen

P.S. I could also make chapter images for the posted chapters and the ones to come, if you'd like.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, this made me exceedingly happy. I would love to have you beta and I would very much appreciate chapter images. I'm glad that you like the story so much! Why don't you email me at laughhard91 @ gmail . com so we can continue discussing details?

 Report Review

Review #37, by jetteblack Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

10th November 2009:
bloody hell this is brilliant.
keep writing please quick quick quick,this is really good.
It is so interesting, where did you come up with the idea?

Author's Response: Well thank you. I don't think I've ever been complimented at in that particular way. And honestly, I don't really remember where I came up with this idea. It might have been after reading about the merpeople in the Harry Potter books, but I really don't know. I'm glad you like it though! I'll try to get the next chapter up as soon as I can. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Lalagal Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

9th November 2009:
Yay! I loved it, heheh Sirius is Odd hair and James is Glasses. That made me laugh for forever.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm glad that you thought it was funny. It made me feel really childish writing it, but it made me laugh as well. Those names should stick around for at least another chapter until Erin gives them up. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Lalagal Of Stairs and Fire

9th November 2009:
Wow, somebody lost their temper. The chapter was still amazing even without your Beta.

Author's Response: Yes, two somebodies lost their tempers. Erin really blew the roof off though, didn't she? I'm glad you liked the chapter! I thought it was a tad bit dramatic, but Erin's just a tad bit dramatic herself, so I thought that I'd have to go with what she wanted. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by dyqw1700 Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

5th November 2009:
This was fantastic! Please upate soon!

Author's Response: I'll do my best! I have to get a little bit more written and a little more editing done before the next chapter can be posted. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by Pooiness Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

5th November 2009:
This story is awesomesaucesuperduperspactatular! :D
Odd Hair.. ahaha.
Ouch. The stupid Taxi man.
Under the water, you had to be kissed to be married?
That's strange.
That's unique.
Good job with your story ♥

Author's Response: Yes, Odd Hair. Just for fun you know. And yeah, this was a bit of mermaid culture that I wasn't sure about putting in. But in my personal world of the under water people would wait until they were engaged before ever kissing. They're not real big on that sort of display of affection; really they're very conservative. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by poopiness Legs

5th November 2009:
Hi hi hi!
I'm Poopiness-- and to lazy to log in.
Anyways, the way you explained this chapter was amazing. I adore the way she looks down on humans. You made walking sound like it is extremely hard! Although, her logic makes sense. Shifting your weight from one side to another? That is a bit dangerous.
I cannot wait until I read the next chapter!
Extremely good work, 9/10,
-Poopiness.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like Erin's attitude. It'll change eventually, but for now that's how she was raised. And I was thinking about how difficult it would be to learn to walk if you'd never done it before, so I was trying to be logical. I'm glad you agree. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by CaSurferGrl Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

3rd November 2009:
Ugh I would have been seriously freaking out if that happened to me. Guys can be so creepy in general but I would flip if some taxi lunatic attacked me. great story. keep it up.

Author's Response: Yeah. That was the part I was a little heisitant about including. I got the idea for it at a rather odd time of night when I was in a rather odd mood, and it stuck. I actually have never personally used a taxi, but I think it would be a little bit creepy to be a young girl in a taxi with just the driver, so I suppose that's where this came from. I'm still not sure about it though. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by saltyavocado Legs

3rd November 2009:
Wow, just wow! Excellent work with your attention to detail. I love how you made the whole experience of being a mermaid so realistic by adding all those small experiences that one might expect in a world that consists of water with little or no gravity. I enjoy physics and such, so this is a big deal for me. I also especially like the passage that contains Erins first steps. "Put one foot in front of the other. Was he crazy?" (or something like that). Very good job. You are now entrusted with the honor and curse of my high expectations.

Author's Response: I thank you for your honor and I actually welcome your curse as well. It's good to have people expect a lot. Gives me a reason to rise to the expectations.

And yes, detail is a huge part of this story. So far it's slowed down the plot rather significantlly, but it's important enough at this point that it's all in there too. And I started writing this story while taking AP Physics, so I was thinking about this sort of thing while writing this, so excellent call. Thanks for the encouraging review! :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by ginnygirl808 Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

3rd November 2009:
haha awww poor sirius! i love his hair and u can tell him that i sad taht. . . it will boost his ego a little bit i hope. . . really good chapter. . . update soon!

Author's Response: Haha. I will most definitely pass the message on. I sincerely doubt that he needs the ego boost though. This particular Sirius has it in spades. I will do my best to update soon, but I do want to do some more writing to get ahead. I have chapter five written, but I'm at a standstill in six, so I want to get past that before I post more. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by ruby_slippers Of Stairs and Fire

3rd November 2009:
i get that Erin is a mermaid and all but can we eventually make her a little lesshaughty - just so she is a tad more relatable as a character. I definitely see the value and necessity in her having haughtyness its just making it difficult to read coz its difficult to relate to. Ultimatelly up to you though. Great story :) love the originality
Cheers

Author's Response: Thanks for the criticism! I'm always looking for ways to improve, so I appreciate your honesty. I hadn't really thought about how Erin's arrogance would make her less relatable, but it makes sense. Thankfully Erin will very soon begin to take steps away from her queen-of-the-world attitude. But you do have to remember that due to the extreme detailed view we've had so far the time span so far has been less than a week. She will be humbled though, that's an enormous part of the story. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by ruby_slippers Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

3rd November 2009:
i like this story - its good the way that Erin is really very ignorant of all things human. There are plenty of writers who would just assume she new, as well as with the walking and clothes and royal attitude. However, i do hope that something happens soon to make her a little more redeemable - dont get me wrong i love the sass and sarcasm and the reality of her haughtiness i would just like for something to happen that made her feel good in a non-mean way so that i could feel good. Anyway thats all just oppinion - bottom line great writing and stick at it!
Cheers

Author's Response: Thank you again for the criticism and the compliment as well. The idea that a mermaid wouldn't automatically know everything was a big part of what led me to write the story. It's so very different from Stephanie in my other story, After She Awoke, so I'm enjoying showing Erin learn. Haha, and I totally agree. Erin's entertaining right now, but not exactly nice. Don't worry, as school starts Erin's going to very quickly learn that being so self-centered is not always the best thing. We'll be exploring lots of different ideas together, and the bottom line is that hopefully by the end of the story Erin will be a much better person. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by Snargaluffpod Of Stairs and Fire

13th October 2009:
DANG! intense ending! This was a really great chapter, as usual, and again I would like to say how interesting this idea is! Im totally in love with this story, I just wish you would update more!! :)

I would love to beta for you, but I just don't get on this website very often so you'd probably have the same problems with me that you're having with your beta now. ha ha ha. But, if no one else offers, then feel free to contact me.

Keep it up! I love your writing!

Author's Response: Yes, a very intense ending. I'm afraid that I gave Erin a bit of a free rein with the end of this chapter. And I will try to update faster on this story, but I just haven't been writing as much recently. I'm glad you like my writing so much and I will consider the offer of a beta, and I'll be sure to let you know about what I decide. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by CaSurferGrl Of Stairs and Fire

4th October 2009:
OH you updated! Yay! I really like this story because it is so original. Please update again soon.

Kind regards,
Maggie

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it. And I'm glad that the original appeal is still there. I really love writing this story, and I'll try my best to update more quickly this time. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by giantsquidlover Of Stairs and Fire

4th October 2009:
Hey this story is so cool! Its such a cool idea, I havent read a fic about mermaids before. Im sad Erin and Jack fought though, that was very dramatic. Update soon please!

Author's Response: Yes, really rather dramatic. I'm wondering if maybe it was a bit too dramatic, especially so early in the story. I'm open to suggestions, as always. I'll try to update much more quickly this time. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>