Reading Reviews for All Hallow's Eve
  
95 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Bex All Hallow's Eve

23rd November 2007:
Brilliant, absolutely amazing. I thought it was good the way you told the story from different points of view. You could give J.K Rowling a run for her money...

Author's Response: Thank you for your amazing review! I can't stop blushing, you have made my day!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Randolf All Hallow's Eve

9th November 2007:
Great story. Keep writing, you have the makings of a good writer and only practice, practice, practice will do the trick. Although this is very good, do not get a big head based on the reviews. . . keep honing your skills and you will be published.

One final thought, when you do finish a manuscript, patience is the name of the game. Very few writers hit the ball like Rowling did so quickly. What I am trying to tell you is not to give up because you do have the talent to go far if you continue two things: reading other fiction and writing lots of fiction.

I wish you luck!

Author's Response: Don't worry, I'm not getting a big head from all the good reviews. They are building my confidence as a writer, which is a good thing, because I tend to doubt my abilities a lot. HPFF has been a great way to develop and hone my writing skills, I'm so glad I found it.

I realise that patience is required, which fortunately I am a very patient person. Even Rowling was not successful at first. Harry Potter was rejected quite a few times before a publisher took a chance on it.

It is my dream to one day become a published author, but at the moment I am happy to write fanfiction and develop my skills.

Thanks for your advice and for your review, it is appreciated. :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by Rae sparkling All Hallow's Eve

7th November 2007:
wow
thats suberb penmanship there!
exellent climax, i was petrified to the spot and couldnt avert my eyes for one second
i loved the way you didnt use the character names directly
what a top author youd make!
maybe a little more dialogue could have been used but other than that, a good read.

X

Author's Response: Thank-you so much! You are totally making me blush! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this fic. I really wanted to use as little dialogue as possible in this story and focus more on describing what was happening, but thanks for the suggestion. Your review really makes me feel confident about becoming a published author one day.

 Report Review

Review #29, by ginny_roxmysox All Hallow's Eve

4th November 2007:
This was great! Spooky, but funny too. Great limerick! Also,I love your descriptions. You never said who the pug-faced Slytherin, the twins, or the two gluttons were, but we figured it out from your descriptions. Awesome job!!
Sabrina :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you saw both the scary and funny sides of this fic, and I'm glad you liked the limerick! The portrayal of the characters through descriptions alone was something I wanted to try as a challenge to myself, and I am thrilled that it worked so well. I'm glad you enjoyed reading this fic and I appreciate your review!

 Report Review

Review #30, by essenni All Hallow's Eve

4th November 2007:
Oh! I didn't even suspect that it was Peeves. I imagined that it could be Harry under his invisibility cloak, but it's a joke, of course! That is a funny horror-story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you thought it was funny. And I'm glad I managed to surprise you at the end.

 Report Review

Review #31, by Ephemeral All Hallow's Eve

2nd November 2007:
Very good twist, good story

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #32, by MyronWin All Hallow's Eve

31st October 2007:
I enjoyed your story very much. As you can prpbably guess from the date on this review, I read the story on Halloween night. The question of what would be "the" Halloween story for the world that is the Harry Potter stories, I believe has been answered by your story. The usual trappings of "scary stories", are almost daily occurrances in Hogwarts and the world around it. Ghosts, werewolves, zombies (inferi), wraiths (dementors), vampires (or the rumors of), and monsters of all sorts (basilisks, dragons, giants, huge spiders, living cars and so many others), not to mention more witches than you can shake a (broom)stick at and the ever-present evil of you-know-who, already fill the pages with the essence of Halloween. It makes it difficult to choose the subject of a "Halloween story". Your choice was, in my opinion, the definitive one. Having Peeves "celebrate" the day works much better than trying to create something new that is supposed to scare the characters (and the readers) who are already used to everyday (and everynight) in Hogwarts, which is frightening enough. I also liked the fact that you avoided Harry, Hermione and Ron. It shows that things happen that do not have to involve them. At least, sometimes. Thank you for your story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I agree that the Harry Potter World is already definitive of all that is Halloween, for the reasons you have mentioned.

I definitely wanted to stay away from the trio for this fic and focus on some of the minor characters of the series. I think it is always interesting to explore the minor characters, as we really know so little about them, and as you say, not everything at Hogwarts revolves around Harry, Ron and Hermione. I definitely enjoyed writing about the minor characters in this story.

Peeves, is really the epitome of Halloween when you think about it, always the trickster. I thought it would be fitting that he used Halloween to create more mischief than usual, not to mention scare a few people in the process and utterly annoy Filch.

I am so flattered that you thought my fic was the 'definitive' choice for a Halloween story. Thank-you again, so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed reading my story.


 Report Review

Review #33, by morgana67 All Hallow's Eve

30th October 2007:
It's an intriguing story. I like how you bring up characters such as Cho. I take the twins were the Patil twins and the glutton boys Crabe and Goyle, but it doesn't really matter in terms of the plot. I was surprised that it was just Peeves though. I really was expecting something a bit more evil, but this being said, I think this is meant to be a light hearted story so if he had been Voldy for instance, it wouldn't have worked I don't think. Nice story though.

Author's Response: Thanks Vicky. Yes the twins were the Patil twins, and the gluttons were Crabbe and Goyle. I wanted the reader to think something horrible was happening, only to find out it was just Peeves causing mischief and mayhem.

It was supposed to be a scary story, with a lighthearted ending. This was my first attempt at the horror genre.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #34, by erised713 All Hallow's Eve

29th October 2007:
This was a cool story. You're a really good writer. For a moment I thought someone was murdering everybody. It's cool how you passed it on from one person to the next - someone saw what was happening to one person and then something happened to them. It was an interesting device.

Author's Response: Thank-you for your review. I'm glad you liked the way the story passed from one person to the next and that you think I am a really good writer. It's always nice to get positive feedback in reviews. :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Tally♥ All Hallow's Eve

28th October 2007:
Soo good!! I kind of suspected Peeves at the start, but the story was amazing! WoW...10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by sirius2 All Hallow's Eve

27th October 2007:
wow…….. GREAT story !!!
you managed to scare me !……. But wow, you write awesome !
it was like some scary movie, the swaying chandelier and the Jack-o-lanterns … really good !
I love the way you wrote it all connecting different scares... and didn't mention the names of the victims ... and the just perfect descriptions too.
You can be sure you can move to more of this genre !
I love the story !

*thumbs up*


Author's Response: Thanks so much!

This is the first time I've attempted a horror so I am really pleased you thought I wrote it well and managed to scare you! I am also glad you liked the way I described the characters, this was also a first for me, describing the characters without naming them, so I'm glad you thought it worked well. Hmm...I may have to consider writing other horrors in the future. I do like trying new genres though, it definitely tests my skills as a writer.

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Book077 All Hallow's Eve

27th October 2007:
I was thinking something was out to get the students but it was just Peeves! I loved it! 10/10

Author's Response: hehe, thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #38, by unspokenwords All Hallow's Eve

26th October 2007:
Wow that was an aamazinggg story! I was quite scared and didn't realise until the end it was Peeves - that was so clever!!! I thought you described the events very well with good dramatic tension and descriptions, I loved it! Nice one xxx

Author's Response: Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you! I'm sorry I scared you, but I'm glad you enjoyed reading it and that you thought it was aamazinggg! :D

 Report Review

Review #39, by June Riddle (not logged in) All Hallow's Eve

26th October 2007:
LOL it was so good. your every word left me wanting more

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked it and that it gripped you. :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by Death by Feathers All Hallow's Eve

25th October 2007:
Wow... just wow! I was worried about darker forces, and it was just Peeves all along!

Author's Response: hehe, that Peeves, he's such a trickster! I'm glad you liked this story and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Melmo All Hallow's Eve

25th October 2007:
Wow! I loved the suspense you created. It was one of those stories that you just can't stop reading. It just pulls you in.
I totally wasn't expecting it to be Peeves. I thought it would have been something so much scarier. But it works! Of course it must've been Peeves. Everything was just so much more intense.
I also loved your writing style. Descriptive, but not too much so that it laggs. It annoys me so much when people make spelling and grammatical errors. You however, didn't make any mistakes that i could see.

Loved it! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank-you so much for you review, I'm so glad it pulled you in. And I'm glad you like my writing style, especially of this piece as horror isn't a genre that I've tried before.

I'm a real perfectionist when it comes to spelling and grammar, lol.

I'm glad you enjoyed reading my scary tale!


 Report Review

Review #42, by bubu All Hallow's Eve

24th October 2007:
good .you rock!

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Padfootfan777 All Hallow's Eve

23rd October 2007:
that was very good i liked it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #44, by lilyrox All Hallow's Eve

23rd October 2007:
ahh well done



Author's Response: Thank-you

 Report Review

Review #45, by aron12323 All Hallow's Eve

23rd October 2007:
wow that was awesome

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #46, by mclovin All Hallow's Eve

23rd October 2007:
nice story, intense and suspenful

Author's Response: Thanks for your review.

 Report Review

Review #47, by Kylee Irene All Hallow's Eve

22nd October 2007:
Haha oh wow that was actually pretty good, I totally didn't expect it to be Peeves! Although the story wasn't too too scary it was a good One-Shot. Also I really enjoyed your style of writting, its better then most of the writters on here.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading my story. And I am so flattered that you like my style of writing so much. You're a total sweetie!

 Report Review

Review #48, by shadowkitty22 All Hallow's Eve

21st October 2007:
I loved how you didn't really name many names of the various characters that you used as "victims", with the exception of Cho of course, but that you gave just enough hints for the readers to be able to figure it out.

Emilie
=^_^=

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked the way I used the descriptions rather than names, it's something I haven't tried before :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by mattie_gibbons All Hallow's Eve

21st October 2007:
OMG

I was so afraid that it was something scarier!!

Peeves

Wow

Great story!
---Mattie

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! Glad you liked my story.

 Report Review

Review #50, by AliKt716 All Hallow's Eve

21st October 2007:
heh. cute.

Author's Response: Thanks.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>