Reading Reviews for The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew
  
56 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Miss_Luna_Lovegood The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

29th September 2007:
A very well-written and enjoyable fic, in my opinion. I got a few good chuckles out of it and that's just how I've always been imagining Peter! Keep writing! (Just do try to add a tad more description. ;D)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Description is usually something I have problems with, as I can never seem to put in enough. I'm glad it amused you, as there are far too many evil Peter stories out there, he needs a bit of...fun :P

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #27, by Last Laugh The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

28th September 2007:
I found this story to be an entertaining read. Since Peter Pettigrew is my favorite Marauder, I'm always looking for new material about him, and, I've got to say, it's pretty hard to find. As delighted as I am to have discovered another piece about him, I do have a few criticisms.



I found this story to be painfully short. It deserved a lot more elaboration. For some reason, the pace was all too fast. I think it could've been longer and more detail-attentive.



Also, I'm not sure that the Sorting Hat dwelled long enough on its decision. I personally believe that Peter is a Gryffindor not because he has the potential for bravery, but because he possesses disloyalty, a very Gryffindor-esque trait. Note that in the books the Slytherin students remained constantly loyal to their teachers and the adults to Voldemort, while Harry's fellow classmates changed their opinion on him at any moment they had the chance to. Slytherins are more stubborn and less likely to sway, while Gryffindors are constantly moving, somewhat reckless people. However, I respect that it's your story and, hence, your decision as to the Sorting Hat's motivations.



That said, I thought it was quite a fun story to read. While I did disagree with some points, I did enjoy it, and I hope you don't take offense from this review.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I agree that this is a very short piece, if memory serves me correctly, it's somewhere around 800 words. Part of the reason it's so short is that it felt too stretched out when I had written more words. I admit that one of my problems as a writer is that I am often unable to add great length and details to my stories. I prefer to use shorter sentences that don't have as much detail as they could have. I'm glad you pointed that out.

As far as his reasoning for being Sorted into Gryffindor, I (as you have read) think that the potential for bravery would weigh more in the Hat's mind than his disloyalty. I've always imagined that the Hat was, for lack of a better term, 'programmed to search for certain traits in people. As a gryffindor, that Hat would search for bravery or the potential of bravery. I say potential bravery because courage is not so much the lack of being afraid, but the will to continue on even if you are afraid. The Hat was imagining that Peter had a stronger will than he demonstrated in the books. The hat was measuring whether or not Peter would be brave as opposed to if he was. As disloyalty is not a trait the hat was 'programmed' to look for, I doubt that it would place him in gryffindor for that reason.

Slytherins, in my mind, only stay loyal becasuse they can gain something from it. Yes, they are people too and can be loyal regardless, but one of the main traits of the slytherin is to be cunning and ambitious. All too often ambition leads to other people being stepped on in order to move up. I believe that part of the reason some of the Death Eaters stayed loyal to the Dark Lord was because they were afraid not to. you'll notice that Lucius, Nott, Avery and several others were talked down to in GoF because they moved on when Voldemort fell. As with all groups of people, there are the loyal ones, Bellatrix included. However, in a general view, I'd tend to think that slytherins aren't always as loyal as you seem to hint that they are.

I'm glad you thought this was a fun story and that you enjoyed it! And thank you very much for leaving this review, as you can see, I like to ramble about my stories and you gave me plenty to ramble about! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #28, by kiwigirl The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

24th September 2007:
oh, interesting- definetly a different perspective.

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought it was interesting. Peter is a cool character to write, especially since there aren't so many stories with him as a mian character in them.

 Report Review

Review #29, by netballpro13 The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

16th September 2007:
that was a surprisinly good story and i really enjoyed reading it well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #30, by rdheyes The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

10th September 2007:
i really liked it. it was short and sweet but got to the point. i thought the voice that you used was great and really fit the mood. i have always wondered why peter was in gryffindor but i dont need to anymore. thanks. =D

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the tone of voice!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Snapegirl The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

10th September 2007:
I really liked this, it was funny nad rather sad at the same time. It fits his personality too, because rats normally ARE scared of everything, since verything is out to eat them. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! THe 10/10 is very kind of you :)

I'm glad you liked the thing with the rats as well. The connections were supposed to be amusing...

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #32, by norapotter The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

31st August 2007:
you said it isn't your writing style but whatever style it is it goes with this story well. Your summary is very good because i HAVE always wondered why he was sorted into gryffindor. This was a very logical and proboble answere. Besides, as dumbledore says (do i always have to bring this up in reviews? I don't know why but for some reason i bring this up alot hehehe) "it is our choices that make us who we are". The hat may have seen the choices he had made in the past and the ones he MIGHT make in the future. which makes what happens to him later very believable. After reading this story and thinking about how JKR wrote him, i guess i truly CAN imagine peter as a true gryffindor. Thank you so much for helping me to answer the question i have speculated since...well...when we met peter! : )

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the story, and now that I think of it, that quote really does make sense with this story. As you said, the Hat was seeing the potential he had as a gryffindor, I think that if Peter had made soem different choices he may very well have been what most would define as a true Gryff.

I'm glad you liked the writing style. My main concern for it was that it might have been to dry or too lacking in detail, I don't know. I generally write first person, so this was a tad different for me to do.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #33, by StillWaiting4MyHogwartsLetter The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

31st August 2007:
Very amusing!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #34, by xSirius will never diex The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

29th August 2007:
Hilarious. =)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #35, by xxMugglePrincess The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

23rd August 2007:
haha, he did trip in the end. It was cool to see how Peter was sorted, his memories seemed amusing. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! And yes, I liked how he tripped...thought it might be funny if he did ;)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Firenze Fan The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

19th August 2007:
Hee hee! I like your story, how you showed Peter as an innocent 11-year-old before, well, everything. Nice mix of humor and description.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked Peter when he wasn't bad...he wasn't always a traitor! And I"m glad you liked the humor and description, I don't often write third person, so it was a little different for me to write this. Thanks again, Firenze Fan!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Lexi Mazingx3 The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

18th August 2007:
This is pretty good! Keep doing it!

Author's Response: Thank you! This story is actually just a one-shot, but I've got other stories as well. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Faiiry_PriiNceSs The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

17th August 2007:
Your take on his sorting seems so right! It was really funny and enjoyable =]

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you found it funny! Thanks for the review, Faiiry PriiNceSs! wow, you're penname...took me awhile type out :P

 Report Review

Review #39, by JuicyJuice The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

17th August 2007:
I've written so much (and posted so little :) ) about Peter Pettigrew that I feel like I know him through and through by now, and I happen to think your story does a really good job trying to explain why on EARTH he was Sorted into Gryffindor (the first Marauder fic I ever wrote, about a million years ago, had Peter buy his way into Gryffindor--don't ask me how that worked...but I like your way much better!). You captured what I imagine Peter to be at that age very nicely. It was funny, too (believe it or not, I'm not talking about the potty humor--I mean the writing style was amusing and very well done...I liked the hiding under the tables thing!) Another original and engaging story! Bravo! And Puff Power :)!

Author's Response: *squee!* I'm so happy to hear that a Peter expert likes my Peter story!

I'm glad you liked the writing style, this one was different for me and felt a little weird to write, so I'm doubly glad that you enjoyed it!

Hehe, I was hoping the tone itself would be funny, I imagined a very dry british lady narrating in my head the entire time...

I'm not crazy... :P

Puffs rule!


 Report Review

Review #40, by k2_vet The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

16th August 2007:
hehe lol. intresting the on the idea - not one i've seen before :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This was actually done for a challenege..."The Sorting of..." and I picked up Peter...so yeah...i'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Elf_ears13 The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

7th August 2007:
Two words: how cute! The little narrator tone going on was just lovely, and the exaggerated emotions of a nervous little boy were portrayed just right. The shoelace, the rat about to be eaten, the hope for another Peter Pettigrew to show up - it was all endearing, and I couldn't help but be reminded of Nevile. I like the Sorting Hat's reasoning, though I don't particularly like the idea of it feeling sorry for him. The end was fitting. =)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so gald you enjoyed it! This isn't usually my writing style, and i'm glad you liked the narrator tone (everything else I've got is 1st person) To be honest, I was having a bti of difficulty trying to find out exactly how Peter was brave...so I had the Hat feel a little bad for him...hey, if it has a mind of it's own, it might have emotion too, right?

Thanks again Elf ears!!!

As an added note...Neville rules!!!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Fallstar The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

27th July 2007:
What Joy, What Happiness there is in Hogwarts; for justice is at last given to Wormtail, whom all despise yet pity, and who could have been great but let himself be low.
Your having him allow himself go where told is in line with the poetic rules that seem to fit him. Harry chose Gryffindor against all odds. Here for Peter, Certain Forces (hat) chose Gryffindor for Peter, who submitted to those Forces. He dislikes it and will rebel against the ideals of the place he is put by the forces.

You touch on Marxian Poetic rules on Peter and it makes sense.
Hegelian Poetic rules(what are used with Harry in Canon) make sense for him.

This was brilliant, in character, and deserves to be considered canon. 10/10



Author's Response: Thank you...um...I don't mean to offend or anything, but I just barely understood your review...such language is beyond me, hehe *scratches back of neck thoguhtfully*

But let's see...Marx was all about communism...and basically people doing what they're told...and I have no idea what Hegelian is, but I assume that it has something to do with making your own choices...

And you're saying that Peter later becomes a traitor because he's always done what he's told to do...and he dislikes it...starting from when the Hat put him in gryffindor...

I get it. I'm really glad you liked the story :) Thank you so much for the review, I don't think I'll forget this one anytime soon!!!


 Report Review

Review #43, by mirroredmalice The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

18th July 2007:
Haha I really like it!! It wasn't how I saw Peter Petigew, but then again, I don't really know how I would have seen him.

Very well done!!

Author's Response: Thanks! A lot of people see Peter as rather stupid, but i wonder if it's not because we're all biased against him in the first place. We don't really know how he used to be and this is what I got. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Daanana The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

9th July 2007:
Aww, that was funny and sweet
I like your style of writing and I specially love the first line ; The dwindling crowd of first years seemed to gasp slightly before giving a sigh and releasing one very scared looking blonde boy.

Good job !

Author's Response: Thank you! I usually write first person fics, so it felt a little weird writing this, but i'm glad you liked it! and i'm glad you liked the frist line...I don't think I've ever written anything that's been quoted so often in reviews before! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Pronunciation_Hermy_One The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

30th June 2007:
Hello there!

I didn't get a chance to review this the day I read it, so I figured I should get over here and do it now :P

I read it the same day I left my last Memoirs of Petunia review, and I have to tell you- I've never laughed so hard! I immediately sent this on to at least half a dozen other people to read, and they had the same reaction- so funny! You've managed to be amusing here without making the situations too contrived. I don't feel as if you're trying to get a forced laugh, but rather, am taken unawares by witty and well planned humor. It’s not too long, yet manages to capture precisely the air it needed with its length. I’m so impressed!

This is some of, if not, the best humor I’ve ever read, and I’ve said as much at the Dobby’s. You’re an amazingly talented writer, and I really hope that you are recognized as such by the HPFF masses soon. :)

Best of luck!

~C/PH1


Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! Not only am I honored that you mentioned me in the Dobbys (I never got around to sending out all those thank you PMs) but the fact that yuo sent this to other people...I'm so...flattered. Thank you so so much, I was rather surprised by the amount of people actually reading this, I've got 106 reads in the few short weeks it's been out. This has never happened for one of my one shots before...thank you, thank you, thank you...I don't think I could ever say this enough times to you, thank you!!!

 Report Review

Review #46, by ballet_dancer The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

29th June 2007:
Wow! Peter is so cute! The poor guy... No wonder he leaped at the chance to be friends with the other three marauders. He had the potential for huge unpopularity there. And I love how you wrote the hat. It sounds a lot like how it would talk. Good job!

Author's Response: Haha, it's fun to poke fun at Peter sometimes...I'm glad you liked what I did with the Hat, I was trying to think of how it would speak, so yay! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Wingless The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

26th June 2007:
AWW. I chuckled at the end there. That was quite amusing. But I felt bad for him. Poor Peter.. I like Peter. He's a favorite of mine now.

Anyways, this was splendid. :D I really like Peter's random thoughts and ideas thrown in there, in conjunction with his true feelings. Especially how he hopes he'll trip over his shoelace and fall into a coma until graduation and then he actually does trip at the end. SUPERB! Very amusing. I daresay, this was a very amusing story, but since it features Peter, there is a very slight feeling of.. ambition.. and darkness oozing from it. Ok, it might just be me! But with Peter, I always imagine him as ambitious. :P It's clever how you incorporated memories with the Sorting Hat. Provided plenty of insight towards Peter's embarrassing memories!

I could not find many mistakes here, but there was one thing that has been nagging me this whole time As it so happens, -- seeing as how the story is written in past tense, I think 'happened' would help the sentence flow better. :P That's it. The single thing that would not leave my mind. I thought it'd be evil of me not to say anything!

ANYWAYS! I really enjoyed reading this. :D You've made me love Peter all that much more. Fantastic job!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad i'm doing an okay job with Peter...I don't think people give him enough credit...and there really aren't enough Peter stories...

Um...I think you may be imagining the darkness...I could have soem in there, but it would be unintentional if there is any...yeah...

Haha, thanks, this was amusing to write, and thank you for finding my little error, I'll go and fix it now...interesting, becuase I always do pick up the grammar errors on other people's stories, but i can never pick out all of mine, ah well, thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #48, by liandhate The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

24th June 2007:
aww, i love it.
10/10 and on my favorites
cheers
li


Author's Response: Yay! I love it when people put my stories on thier favorites...

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #49, by HermyJane The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

23rd June 2007:
That was very funny! Poor Peter embarassed himself and tripped over his shoelace anyway. I like how the Hat placed him in Gryffindor, though, because I agree that Peter could have been very brave, but he just made a huge, cowardly mistake. I also liked how you compared Peter and McGonagall to a rat and cat, their Animaguses. Very clever simile! I enjoyed this fic very much!

Author's Response: Thank you! And yes, I agree with you on both counnts, Peter had the potential to be very brave, and the poor kid still tripped on his shoe and mised the whole feast....tough luck...

 Report Review

Review #50, by Lily Opal Evans The Sorting of Peter Pettigrew

23rd June 2007:
lol, i liked it! i even felt slightly sorry for peter and thats a change!


Author's Response: This one was writtne to make fun of Peter just a bit. And I do think that people should feel a little sorry for Peter...but I'm about to ramble so I'll end this now. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>