Photo
- - - - -

Of Great Importance

Posted by TenthWeasleyWriter , 07 April 2012 · 384 views

I'm not good at doing really massive blog entries, but there are some things worth saying that would take up too much room in a status update. :) It's just a quick thought, this blog, but I've been thinking about it a lot lately, so maybe it's not so quick, in retrospect. It's one of the most important things I've found that goes along with writing, and fan fiction in particular, and I've been meaning to share this for a while. So, here goes.

I think one of the things about writing that is lost when one begins to write fan fiction, is the need to make the story appealing to you. So often people will tap into formulas (playing with characters they see to be the most popular alongside storylines they also know to be crowd favorites) in order to get more reads, or review, or favorites, or whatever they're striving for, and in the process I think they lose a bit of themselves along the way.

It's been said that anyone can write -- and if you have a knowledge of language, then yes, you can literally write, more often than not. But not just anyone can write in the sense that authors and poets and essayists, ad infinitum, can. It's a bit difficult for me to explain my thoughts in that regard. But I'm fairly confident we've all had that sort of experience where we read a story, and it just lacks... passion. And for me, a passionless story doesn't spark my interest enough to continue on, no matter how many reviews the story's got or how many people profess that it's the best thing since sliced bread.