Photo
- - - - -

What Makes a Story Appealing...

Posted by BoOkWoRm24 , 11 April 2012 · 460 views

Alright so first off I want to say hello to everyone as this is my first blog entry. I am going to tell you now that I have no intention of blogging regularly. I am going to blog when I feel I have something to say. Right now I feel like I have something to say.

As a writer I must admit that a question that commonly crosses my mind is how can I make my stories more appealing? When it comes down to it I write because I love writing, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t care about people seeing my work. The obvious answer here is to get a banner and chapter images from TDA so that it looks the part. The second thing to do is clean up the grammar errors and make sure the writing itself is well done. But what happens after that? Do you just hope that you have readers and people like it? There isn’t much else that you yourself can do about getting readers.

I was thinking on this today and started to think about what draws me to a story. To be honest the first thing is the banner on the archive. If it’s pretty I open the story up and check it out. Beyond that though, I also find myself reading a lot of next gen fics. The concept of continuing the Harry Potter story was what brought me to fanfiction after all. It is also true that a lot of these fics can be a bit repetitive to the point where there are clichés for each character and plot line. The few stories that I am following like a stalker are exceedingly original.